Foreign and International Legal Research

This guide provides resources meant to assist with foreign and international legal research.

Use NovaCat to find resources in the Law Library

NOVACAT

Most research tools available to NSU users can be accessed through NovaCat, NSU's library catalog. It includes a link to access databases and a link to search our online journal collection.

You can search NovaCat using keyword searches. For example, search for "international law".

You can also use subject heading searches (switch Keyword to Subject in the drop down menu). For example, search for "New Zealand - Foreign Investments."

If searching in NovaCat does not produce satisfactory results, you can use the Worldcat website to broaden your search (Worldcat will search through library catalogs worldwide). You may need to request material via Interlibrary Loan if the NSU libraries does not have the item you require. Law librarians can walk you through this process.

NSU Database List (Law & Non-Law Databases)

Databases
Access a list of all NSU databases by subject or by material type.

NSU Full Text Finder

Full Text Finder
Full Text Finder will let you search to see whether NSU provides you with access to a particular scholarly journal. Just type in the name of the journal - if NSU provides access, you will see a list of all databases within which you can access the journal including coverage dates.

Worldcat

Worldcat.org
Worldcat connects library catalogs from around the world. If NSU does not have an item that you wish to consult, we will make every effort to borrow that item for you from another library through interlibrary loan. See below for a brochure on how to place an Interlibrary Loan request (librarians are also available to assist you with this process.

Interlibrary Loan

If the NSU library system does not have a copy of an item you wish to consult, you can place an interlibrary loan request for the item.