Calculus
MATH 2100, 2200, 3200, 4050, 4060
Fall 2025
Functions, limits, and derivatives of algebraic functions. Introduction to derivatives of trigonometric functions, logarithmic functions; application of derivatives to physics problems; related rates and maximum/minimum problems, and definite and indefinite integrals with applications.
Riemann sums; the definite integral; method of integration; continuation of exponential, logarithmic functions, and inverse trigonometric functions. L'Hopital's rule and improper integrals.
Functions of several variables, surfaces, in three-space, vectors, techniques of partial differentiation and multiple integration with applications. Vector calculus topics will include the theorems of Green, Gauss and Strokes.
The course is an introduction to the theoretical treatment of the real numbers, sets, functions, sequences, limits and calculus. The course places an emphasis on reading and writing formal mathematical proofs. Topics include: the real number system, convergence of sequence and series, continuity, limits, functions of one real variable, and the theoretical foundations of differentiation and integration of functions of a single variable.
This course is a continuation of Advanced Calculus I providing an introduction to metric spaces and their topology. The course places an emphasis on extending results for real functions to multivariable functions. Topics include: metric spaces and topology, integration, differentiation, optimization and analysis in several variables.
Required Textbooks for Calculus I, II (MATH 2100, 2200):
-
Calculus: Early Transcendentals
by
For 3- to 4-semester courses covering single-variable and multivariable calculus, taken by students of mathematics, engineering, natural sciences, or economics. The most successful new calculus text in the last two decades The much-anticipated 3rd Edition of Briggs' Calculus Series retains its hallmark features while introducing important advances and refinements. Briggs, Cochran, Gillett, and Schulz build from a foundation of meticulously crafted exercise sets, then draw students into the narrative through writing that reflects the voice of the instructor. Examples are stepped out and thoughtfully annotated, and figures are designed to teach rather than simply supplement the narrative. The groundbreaking eBook contains approximately 700 Interactive Figures that can be manipulated to shed light on key concepts. For the 3rd Edition, the authors synthesized feedback on the text and MyLab(tm) Math content from over 140 instructors and an Engineering Review Panel. This thorough and extensive review process, paired with the authors' own teaching experiences, helped create a text that was designed for today's calculus instructors and students. Also available with MyLab Math MyLab Math is the teaching and learning platform that empowers instructors to reach every student. By combining trusted author content with digital tools and a flexible platform, MyLab Math personalizes the learning experience and improves results for each student. Note: You are purchasing a standalone product; MyLab Math does not come packaged with this content. Students, if interested in purchasing this title with MyLab Math, ask your instructor to confirm the correct package ISBN and Course ID. Instructors, contact your Pearson representative for more information. If you would like to purchase both the physical text and MyLab Math, search for: 0134995996 / 9780134995991 Calculus: Early Transcendentals and MyLab Math with Pearson eText - Title-Specific Access Card Package, 3/e Package consists of: 0134763645 / 9780134763644 Calculus: Early Transcendentals 0134856929 / 9780134856926 MyLab Math with Pearson eText - Standalone Access Card - for Calculus: Early Transcendentals
Call Number: QA303.2 .B75 2019ISBN: 9780134763644Publication Date: 2018-01-02 -
Calculus: Early Transcendentals
by
NOTE: Before purchasing, check with your instructor to ensure you select the correct ISBN. Several versions of the MyLabâ„¢ and Masteringâ„¢ platforms exist for each title, and registrations are not transferable. To register for and use MyLab or Mastering, you may also need a Course ID, which your instructor will provide.
Used books, rentals, and purchases made outside of Pearson
If purchasing or renting from companies other than Pearson, the access codes for the MyLab or Mastering platform may not be included, may be incorrect, or may be previously redeemed. Check with the seller before completing your purchase.
For 3- to 4-semester courses covering single-variable and multivariable calculus, taken by students of mathematics, engineering, natural sciences, or economics.
Available for fall 2020 classes
The DIGITAL UPDATE gives you revised content and resources that keep your course current
The most successful new calculus text in the last two decades
The much-anticipated 3rd Edition of Briggs' Calculus: Early Transcendentals retains its hallmark features while introducing important advances and refinements. Briggs, Cochran, Gillett, and Schulz build from a foundation of meticulously crafted exercise sets, then draw students into the narrative through writing that reflects the voice of the instructor. Examples are stepped out and thoughtfully annotated, and figures are designed to teach rather than simply supplement the narrative. The groundbreaking eText contains approximately 700 Interactive Figures that can be manipulated to shed light on key concepts. For the 3rd Edition, the authors synthesized feedback on the text and MyLabâ„¢ Math content from over 140 instructors. This thorough and extensive review process, paired with the authors' own teaching experiences, helped create a text that is designed for today's calculus instructors and students.
This MyLab Update of the 3rd Edition introduces a much requested change: The Wolfram CDF Player has been replaced by Wolfram Cloud. So the interactive eText with its 700 Interactive Figures now runs on all browsers, with no plug-in required! Upgrade now to take advantage of this great new feature!
Personalize learning with MyLab Math
By combining trusted author content with digital tools and a flexible platform, MyLab Math personalizes the learning experience and improves results for each student.
Call Number: AVAILABLE FOR PURCHASE ONLINEISBN: 8220144718742 -
Calculus: Early Transcendental Functions
by
Please check the ISBN that your instructor provided. If the ISBN-13 does not match this product (9780357759431) or its Printed Access Card equivalent (9780357759448) this may not be the correct product. In some cases, you may also require a course code from your Instructor.
WebAssign for Larson/Edwards' Calculus: Early Transcendental Functions, 8th Edition, helps you prepare for class with confidence. Its online learning platform for your math, statistics and science courses helps you practice and absorb what you learn. Videos and tutorials walk you through concepts when you're stuck, and instant feedback and grading let you know where you stand--so you can focus your study time and perform better on in-class assignments. Study smarter with WebAssign!
Instructor Assigned: Please be aware that the product you are purchasing is usable only if assigned by your instructor. If your instructor has not assigned this product, you should not continue with your purchase.
Call Number: AVAILABLE FOR PURCHASE ONLINEISBN: 8220130652067
No required textbooks for Calculus III.
Required Textbooks for Advanced Calculus I, II (MATH 4050, 4060):
-
Introduction to Real Analysis
by
This text provides the fundamental concepts and techniques of real analysis for students in all of these areas. It helps one develop the ability to think deductively, analyse mathematical situations and extend ideas to a new context. Like the first three editions, this edition maintains the same spirit and user-friendly approach with addition examples and expansion on Logical Operations and Set Theory. There is also content revision in the following areas: introducing point-set topology before discussing continuity, including a more thorough discussion of limsup and limimf, covering series directly following sequences, adding coverage of Lebesgue Integral and the construction of the reals, and drawing student attention to possible applications wherever possible.
Call Number: AVAILABLE FOR PURCHASE ONLINEISBN: 9780471433316Publication Date: 2011-01-18
- Describe the concept of limit of a function at a point and at infinity and the concept of continuity at a point and over an interval. Compute limits of sums, products, differences, and quotients of functions.
- Describe the relationship between line slope, rate change, and derivative and apply the definition of derivative to compute the derivative of a function.
- Compute derivatives of functions using the product, quotient, power and chain rules explicitly and implicitly.
- Use the second derivative to find intervals where a function is concave up/down.
- Describe how the integral came about and be able to compute areas under curves.
- Understand and apply differentiation rules to exponential and logarithmic functions as well as inverse trigonometric functions.
- Learn new techniques of integration by parts, integration by trigonometric substitution, and integration via a partial fraction decomposition and utilize them where appropriate.
- Apply the Fundamental Theorem of Calculus to solve a variety of applied problems such as the area between 2 curves, volumes of revolution, surface area, length of a curve, and problems involving the concept of work.
- Comprehend the fundamental concepts and differences between sequences and series of numbers and apply the appropriate tests to determine their convergence or divergence.
- Define and use vector operations in two and three dimensions.
- Demonstrate an understanding of partial derivatives and multiple integrals.
- Perform applications of partial derivatives and multiple integrals.
- Understand the fundamentals of vector space calculus including the Green, Gauss and Stokes theorems.
- Construct mathematically rigorous proofs of the real number line from the axioms for the field of real numbers.
- Utilize a rigorous approach to applying limits to problems on limits of sequences and functions.
- Apply the definition of derivative to prove elementary results of differentiation.
- Apply the definition of the Riemann integral to prove elementary properties of Riemann Integral and Fundamental Theorem of Calculus.
- Utilize the definition and topology of metric spaces and prove basic results of compactness.
- Apply the definition of derivatives in a multi-dimensional space to prove elementary results of differentiation.
- Demonstrate the pointwise and uniform convergence of infinite series of functions.
- Apply the integration in multi-variable spaces to prove basic results of line integrals.
Library Quick Search
Search our library resources by selecting an option below:
Find Books, Journals, Media:
E-Books | Advanced Search | My Library Account | ILL - Interlibrary Loan
Search Full Text Finder to find the full text of a publication.
If you see an embargo next to a e-journal title: An embargo period is a period of time which an official academic publication is not yet available online, either due to publishing restrictions or subscription contracts. Ex: "Embargo: 1 Year" = access begins one year ago from today's date.
Search Full Text Finder to find the full text of a publication.
|
Databases: search for articles, datasets, and videos on your topic |
|
|
View Databases by Subject OR All Databases |
|
Search NSUWorks - NSU's Institutional Repository:
Browse or search scholarship in Digital Commons @ NSUWorks!
Find Research Tips and Useful Resources
Oceanographic Campus Library Guides
News, Events, & Training | Writing & Citation Style | Course Guides | Browse by Subject | How-To Guides | LibraryLearn : Short Video Tutorials | Razor's Research Bytes
NSU Oceanographic Campus Library, 8000 North Ocean Drive, Dania Beach, Florida 33004
(954) 262-3699 | oclibrary@nova.edu | Hours | NSU Libraries