Find Current Events

Access World News supports all academic disciplines by providing unique primary sources not found in other resources and extensive news coverage at local, regional, national, and international levels. This product offers complete electronic editions of thousands of authoritative U.S. and global news sources. Includes thousands of broadcast transcripts, newswires, video clips, and news blogs and it features a customizable, map-based interface and powerful search capabilities. Enables students to examine subjects geographically and over time, analyze trends and statistics, and compare perspectives.

CQ Researcher is your #1 source for original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues shaping our world. CQ Researcher is used by students, teachers, librarians, journalists, and more, who need to complete an assignment, prepare for a debate, or become a quick expert on a topic.

Full-text content of Miami Herald newspaper from 1983 to present.

Online version of The New York Times includes all articles, features, interviews, columns, obituaries, audio/video/images, and multimedia since site was launched in 1996 (no crosswords). Also includes some content from 1851 to the present and content from pre-1981 is growing. The New York Times is a critical source of journalism for politics, finance, health, science, the arts, sports, and fashion in the U.S. and abroad. Mobile apps available for multiple devices, including Apple, Android, Kindle, Windows, and Blackberry. Personal registration is required for using this resource. For additional help with activating your account please see this video tutorial. For help using New York Times on mobile devices see this guide!

Opposing Viewpoints in Context provides information on today's social issues. It's an excellent source for social studies projects, current events papers, and debate preparation.

Full-text content of Sun-Sentinel newspaper from 1986 to present.

This digital version of the Wall Street Journal includes newsletters and podcasts, as well as websites for students and for professors.
Note: A one-time personal account registration using your NSU email and a password of your choice is required for using this resource. On subsequent visits, users will automatically be signed into their WSJ personal accounts after logging into the resource with Shark username and password. Please note that your email address and the password you created for your personal account will become your login credentials when accessing content via the WSJ app.
Faculty and Staff must refresh access every 365 days by clicking on the link in the email that will be sent 7 days prior to expiration. Students accounts will expire on their graduation dates.

Flipster is a next-generation digital magazine distribution service where users can access their favorite magazines from a variety of publishers through their local libraries via a web browser or a custom app made specifically for the iPad, iPad mini, Android or Kindle Fire (3rd and 4thGeneration) and download magazines to read offline, anytime, anywhere.