2024-10-24
- Hero of 1000 Faces: Richard IngrahamRecorded October 16, 2024
Chef Richard Ingraham's career is truly impressive, blending his passion for culinary arts with a deep understanding of sports nutrition. He's renowned for his role as a personal chef to Dwyane Wade and family, as well as for his leadership in the personal chef industry. His mission goes beyond just cooking; it's about optimizing performance through diet, emphasizing both health and the pleasure of food.
Born and raised in Miami, Florida, Richard discovered his love for cooking early on. After formal training at the Art Institute of Atlanta, he initially focused on pastry but found his calling in private chef work. His clientele spans elite athletes like Dwyane Wade and numerous other sports and entertainment figures across the country.
Richard's approach isn't just about fueling athletes; it's about creating culinary experiences that nourish both body and soul. In his first cook book 'Eating Well to Win' he reflects his holistic philosophy on food and life, highlighting the impact of nutrition on overall well-being and performance. He's also deeply engaged in culinary research and trends, constantly evolving his craft to offer innovative dishes that inspire both professionals and amateurs alike.
Beyond his kitchen duties, Richard is active in his community, embodying a commitment to excellence in both his cooking and his personal ethos. His dedication to combining fine cuisine with sports nutrition has undoubtedly set new standards in performance eating, making him a pivotal figure in the culinary world.
- Open Classroom: The Most Important Election of Our Lives-The 2024 Presidential Election and America's Place in the WorldRecorded October 15, 2024
How will our choices this November impact our nation and its place in the world? Learn about what's shaping up to be one of the most important elections in living memory.
Hosted by Andrea Nevins Ph.D., M.F.A.
Featured speaker: Charles Zelden, Ph.D.- Professor, Department of Humanities and Politics, Halmos College of Arts and Sciences
- Open Classroom: The Challenges and Conflicts of Immigration and Transnationalism in FloridaRecorded October 1, 2024
What are the challenges faced by immigrants and receiving communities as a result of transnational ism in Florida? Learn about the varying perspectives on these challenges beyond what's covered in the media.
Hosted by Andrea Nevins Ph.D., M.F.A.
Featured speaker: Ismael Muvingi, Ph.D., Professor, Department of Conflict Resolution Studies, Halmos College of Arts and Sciences
- Open Classroom: Whose story to tell? Questions of Representation and Erasure in Oppenheimer and Recent Historical FilmsRecorded September 24, 2024
What responsibilities do filmmakers have when depicting stories that are not their own? Learn about the different responses to the portrayal of traumatic historical events in popular films.
Hosted by Andrea Nevins Ph.D., M.F.A.
Featured speaker: Yair Solan, Ph.D., Assistant Professor, Assistant Professor, Department of Humanities and Politics,
Halmos College of Arts and Sciences
- Hero of 1000 Faces: AJ Donaldson and Dr. Gregory SaltersRecorded September 18, 2024
We have a double feature in September - two Heroes!
A.J. Donaldson
From the "poster child of Education” (4.0 GPA, ~1400 SAT Score, Received superlatives in every category available at a predominately Hispanic private school in Miami) to playing Division-1 football at the University of Miami, while earning a DUAL degree in both Audio & Electrical Engineering.
• Tutored 1000’s of students over 20yrs with a 93+% success rate, then became a successful entrepreneur in the space of Education & Tutoring, using a $20k Line Of Credit, turning it into a $1M Revenue generating business,
• transitioning into the nonprofit sector to help those who couldn't afford academic support, The EPIC Foundation has now impacted over 800 students and given more than a half million dollars in scholarships and programming!
https://www.linkedin.com/in/aj-donaldson-60745aa3/
https://www.instagram.com/theajdonaldson/
https://www.facebook.com/theajdonaldson/
Dr. Gregory A. Salters
Dr Salters served for over 28 years with the Fort Lauderdale Police Department. He concluded his career as an Assistant Police Chief/Chief’s Executive Officer. He is the Founder/Managing Partner of The S.A.L.T. Mine Success and Leadership Training Institute LLC. He is also the Director of Campus Safety at Florida Memorial University.
Working with Dr. Salters, organizations have improved their teamwork, efficiency, retention, and recruitment. Their team members have grown personally and professionally, received advanced educational degrees, prestigious certifications, and career advancement; up to executive level positions. He is a bridge builder, standard raiser, and barrier breaker.
He earned his Doctorate degree in Adult Education/Human Resource Development from Florida International University. His dissertation explored the impact of racial profiling on Black males seeking jobs in law enforcement and committing to law enforcement careers.
Dr. Salters’ training has includes: The Center for Advanced Criminal Justice Studies, Executive Leadership Program; the Police Executive Research Forum’s (PERF)- The Senior Management Institute for Police (SMIP) Session 34, the Southern Police Institute (SPI); and the FBI National Academy (Session 240).
Dr. Salters' scholarly research and experiences enable him to add value as he consults and/or facilitates courses for organizations. He facilitated courses for the Florida Department of Law Enforcement’s (FDLE) Florida Leadership Academy. Dr. Salters has also facilitated FDLE’s Minority Recruitment and Retention Forum, National Association for the Advancement of Colored People’s School to Prison Pipeline at Florida Atlantic University, and the Federal Bureau of Investigation’s (FBI) Race and Law Enforcement course at the Miami Field Office. Dr. Salters also prepares individuals for employment and promotional processes.
Dr. Salters is active in the community. He has served as the Chairman of the Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity Incorporated, Zeta Alpha Lambda Chapter’s Men of Tomorrow mentoring program. In 2014, he was recognized as Zeta Alpha Lambda’s Brother of the Year. He was also recognized as Broward County School Board’s “Mentor of the Year” for the 2014 – 2015 school year. I was honored as one of “South Florida’s Most Influential Black Leaders” by Legacy Magazine. Additionally, he serves as Senior Deacon of Tom Raines Lodge #484 F&AM PHA and is a member of Prince Hall Shriners SABA Temple.
- Hero of 1000 Faces: Kirk BrownRecorded August 21, 2024
Discover the Hero of a Thousand Faces project - an exploration of diverse narratives shaping the perception of Black men. Join us to uncover untold stories and celebrate the impactful contributions of Black men from various backgrounds.
Our featured speaker for August is Kirk Brown - a transformational leader that navigates diverse business challenges to power revenue gains and strengthen operational performance through inspired solutions, empowering teams and enhancing performance.
Brown is an accomplished management professional with over 20 years of experience working with a broad range of organizations and individuals, from privately held middle market companies to government, nonprofit organizations to community based committees focused on impacting change. Proven ability to work with executives and community leaders to analyze complex statewide issues, to develop sound business strategies and successfully implement large change initiatives.
- Perfecting Pixels: Exploring Image Creation and Editing Resources Available Through the LibraryRecorded July 25, 2024
This workshop highlights software and other library resources focused on digital image creation and alteration. Some of the software covered includes Adobe Photoshop, GIMP, and Inkscape.
Additionally, other topics of interest covered during the session are editing someone else's images and copyright, Creative Commons licenses, and resources where on can find high quality images.
- Artists Panel DiscussionRecorded June 14, 2024
SANARTE Exhibit Artists Panel
- Back to the GardenRecorded June 12, 2024
In this session we will explore the healing power of gardening as well as demonstrate library and Internet resources on the propagation and nurturing of plants in southeast Florida. In the second part we will also talk about creating a personal seed library – a how to guide that focuses on various ways of organizing collections and principles one needs to apply to end up with a well-organized seed “catalog”.
- Art Therapy Resources at the ASLRecorded May 22, 2024
In this virtual session discover art therapy resources available through the Alvin Sherman Library and online.
- Hero of 1000 Faces: Cilk McSweeneyRecorded May 15, 2024
Discover the Hero of a Thousand Faces Project. An exploration of diverse narratives shaping the perception of Black men. Join us to uncover untold stories and celebrate the impactful contributions of Black men from various backgrounds.
Speaker’s bio:
Cilk McSweeney is a dynamic profile that seamlessly blends creativity, athleticism, and leadership. He is a figure of inspiration and influence. As an author, Cilk has harnessed the power of words to captivate and motivate, penning works that resonate with readers of all ages. Transitioning from the pen to the stage, Cilk’s prowess as an actor showcases a versatility and depth that connects with audiences, bringing characters to life with authenticity and passion.
Beyond the arts, Cilk stands at the helm of the basketball court as the Head Varsity Basketball Coach at Calvary Christian Academy. Here, his passion for the game and commitment to excellence has not only shaped winning strategies but has also cultivated the lives of young athletes, instilling in them the values of teamwork, discipline, and perseverance.
- Conflict Resolution and the Holocaust - Resources (April 2024)Recorded April 30, 2024
In this virtual session explore conflict resolution databases to find Holocaust resources available through the Sherman Library.
- Hero of 1000 Faces: Rashad D. ThomasRecorded April 17, 2024
Have you ever questioned your value? Even in the midst of success, Rashad D. Thomas had a moment when he thought he didn't belong. Growing up in challenging Liberty City, Rashad Thomas became a pastor...but not like you would think.
Hero of 1000 faces seeks to highlight 1000 heroes of the Black diaspora from all ages and walks of life to help provide a greater perspective on who Black men really are and who they can become.
- The Open Classroom: To Slap or Not to SlapRecorded April 16, 2024
Hosted by Andrea Nevins Ph.D., M.F.A.
Featured speaker: Tracey-Ann Spencer, Ph.D., LMFT, MSHRM, Assistant Professor, Department of Couple and Family Therapy, Dr. Kiran C. Patel College of Osteopathic Medicine
What can we learn from the infamous slap heard around the world at the 2022 Oscars? Explore the Influence Differentiation of Self and Emotional Intelligence in regulating and managing our impulses and achieving our goals with this insightful talk.
- Researching Race-Based ViolenceRecorded April 11, 2024
Incidences of race-based violence surround us--on the news, on the Internet, on our phones. How can we research the number and kind of incidences that occur using Sherman Library databases, academic resources, non-profit organizational reports, and government information sources? In this session, we will define the term “race-based violence”, describe the manner and form of selected documentation, and recommend sources that examine the societal impact of this plague.
- Surviving Genocide: Testimonies from SurvivorsJoin us to learn more about the Visual History Archive (VHA), a streaming collection of primary source video testimonies from survivors of and witnesses to genocide. The collection is the largest digital archive of its kind in the world, and offers insight into life before, during, and after the interviewee’s experience with genocide. The collection includes information on:
-Anti-Rohingya Mass Violence (August-October 2017)
-Armenian Genocide (1915-23)
-Cambodian Genocide (1975-1979)
-Central African Republic Conflict (2012-Present)
-European Holocaust (1939-1945)
-Genocide against the Tutsi in Rwanda (1994)
-Guatemalan Genocide (1978-1996)
-Nanjing Massacre (1937)
-South Sudan Civil War, (2013-present)
-War and genocide in Bosnia & Herzegovina (1992-1995)
- Open Dialogues Films: Gen QueerZRecorded April 2, 2024
Open Dialogues: GenQueer Z captures the LGBTQ+ narratives of eight South Florida students who are part of Generation Z. Produced by the Art and Culture Center/Hollywood and directed by Freddy Rodriguez, Gen QueerZ was developed in association with Safe Schools South Florida, an LGBTQ student and educator advocacy nonprofit.
The April 2, 2024 screening and discussion panel were presented as part of Nova Southeastern University's second annual Belonging, Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion Council's Diversity Summit.
- Hero of 1000 Faces: George GadsonRecorded March 21, 2024
“You have everything you need inside of you already...”
National artist George Gadson speaks about the influences that led him from being a successful banking executive to a national artist and the truth about life that he now understands.
- The Open Classroom: History & MemoryRecorded March 6, 2024
Hosted by Andrea Nevins, Ph.D., M.F.A.
Featured speaker: David Kilroy, Ph.D., Chair/Professor, Department of Humanities and Politics, Halmos College of Arts and Sciences
What happens when we confuse memory with history? Learn about the differences between the two and the rise of censorship in education when talking about the past with this timely talk.
- The Open Classroom: Diving into the Blue Zone - Secrets to Longevity and WellnessRecorded February 6, 2024
Hosted by Andrea Nevins, Ph.D., M.F.A.
Featured speaker: Ioana Scripa, Ph.D., RDN, LDN, Program Director/Assistant Professor, Department of Nutrition, Dr. Kiran C. Patel College of Osteopathic Medicine
How can we live longer, healthier lives? Explore the cultural norms, diets, and behaviors that allow people in the Deep Blue Zone— five locations around the world where residents live the longest— to thrive.
- The Open Classroom: Making our Workplaces (and our World) Fairer: Tools for Overcoming BiasRecorded January 16, 2024
Hosted by Andrea Nevins, Ph.D., M.F.A.
Featured Speaker: Rita Shea-Van Fossen, Ph.D., Associate Professor, Department of Management, H. Wayne Huizenga College of Business & Entrepreneurship
How can we overcome our implicit biases? learn about evidence-based ways we can make our world fairer for all with this engaging talk.
- The Open Classroom: The X's, Y's and O's: The Biologic Basis of Gender IdentityRecorded November 15, 2023
Hosted by Andrea Nevins Ph.D., M.F.A.
Featured speaker: Mark Cayabyab, Ph.D., Associate Professor, Department of Oral Science and Translational Research, Health Professions Division, College of Dental Medicine
Is there a biological basis for gender identity? Learn about the possible genetic, epigenetic, and physiologic forces that make us male, female, or gendernonconforming with this important talk.
- The Open Classroom: Beyond Fake News & Deepfake Fear: Hope & Media LiteracyRecorded November 7, 2023
Hosted by Andrea Nevins Ph.D., M.F.A.
Featured speaker: Janine Morris, Ph.D., Assistant Professor, Department of Communication, Media, and the Arts, Halmos College of Arts & Sciences
How do we know what's real in the era of fake news and deep fakes? Learn about the history of these pressing issues and the importance of media literacy in combatting falsehoods with this enlightening talk.
- The Open Classroom: Beyond Earth: Technology & Culture on Humanity's Final FrontierRecorded October 17, 2023
Hosted by Andrea Nevins Ph.D., M.F.A.
Featured speaker: Amanda Furiasse, Ph.D., Assistant Professor, Department of Humanities and Politics, Halmos College of Arts & Sciences
Beyond Earth: Technology & Culture on Humanity's Final Frontier
Should we establish off-world settlements? Learn about the ethical and cultural implications of space exploration using the humanities and technology with this timely talk.
- The Open Classroom: Protest Music's Power to Transform American Civic LifeRecorded September 13, 2023
Hosted by Andrea Nevins Ph.D., M.F.A.
Featured speaker: Mario D'Agostino, Ph.D., Assistant Professor, Department of Communication, Media, and the Arts, Halmos College of Arts & Sciences
'That ain't got nothing to do with rap, check the facts, expose those cats': Protest Music's Power to Transform American Civic Life
Can a song effect change or function as a catalyst for a social/political movement? Learn about the power of music to shape society and politics with this engaging talk.
- The Grand LadyScreened August 10, 2023
The Historic Hollywood Beach Resort, also known as the "Grand Lady," has a famous and storied past. In 1925, founder Joseph Young opened the Hollywood Beach Hotel as the crowning achievement of his new city. From lavish parties and visiting celebrities to a naval training facility during World War II, hear the history, the rebirth and the complicate state of The Grand Lady today.
Runtime: 26m 29s
Closed Captioned
Link opens to PBS player in new window.
- A Motion Picture Paradise!: A History of Florida's Film and Television IndustryRecorded July 27, 2023
Hosted by Dr. David Morton
- Wild Miami: Author PanelRecorded May 17, 2023
Join us for a conversation with the authors of Wild Miami, a nature guide to the local species that call South Florida their home.
Learn about the various nature trips available in the area and what natural wonders you might find along the way.
- Impacts of Climate Change with Dr. Betsy WeatherheadRecorded May 11, 2023
Climate Change is constantly in the news. Processing the latest discovery can be daunting and even confusing. In this talk, a climate science researcher will walk through how the various aspects of climate science link together and how all of these aspects impact Wild Miami.
- Pen to Purpose: Cultivating Writing as a Brand of Professionalism with Jeanine CumminsRecorded April 27, 2023
Jeanine Cummins is the author of the bestselling memoir A Rip in Heaven, and the novels The Outside Boy and The Crooked Branch. Her fourth book, American Dirt, was an Oprah’s Book Club and a Barnes & Noble book Club selection. It has been translated into 34 languages and has sold more than two million copies worldwide. She lives in New York with her husband and two children.
Sponsored by Peter and Fran Woolf.
- Pen to Purpose: Cultivating Writing as a Brand of Professionalism with Michael FrankRecorded April 22, 2023
During this Pen to Purpose, join us for a conversation with Michael Frank, author of One Hundred Saturdays, the story of Stella Levi and her once vibrant Jewish community of Rhodes, Greece. Frank's novel delves into the culturally rich traditions of the Sephardic Juderia, whose members originally migrated from Turkey and Spain and who communicated in a plethora of languages, including Hebrew, Spanish, Turkish, and Italian.
Topics covered during the discussion will include: Stella’s coming-of-age on this luminous, legendary island in the eastern Aegean, the cultural vibrancy of the Rhodes Jewish community, the significance of the Italian colonization of Rhodes in 1912, and the deportation and destruction of the Jewish community from the furthest location under Nazi influence.
Sponsored by the Soref JCC.
- The Open Classroom: Florida Man: Public Nuisance or Public Health Concern?Recorded April 11, 2023
Hosted by Andrea Nevins Ph.D., M.F.A.
Featured speaker: Christi M. Navarro, Ph.D., Assistant Professor, Public Health, Dr. Kiran C. Patel College of Osteopathic Medicine
Come to this Open Classroom session and learn about how the "Florida Man" trend on the news and social media highlights public health issues with a focus on mental health illness, substance abuse, and injuries.
- The Open Classroom: Microorganisms and Their Impact on Humanity: A Brief Insight Into How They Have Impacted Humans Over TimeRecorded April 4, 2023
Hosted by Andrea Nevins Ph.D., M.F.A.
Featured speaker: Aarti Raja, Ph.D., Professor, Department of Biological Sciences, Halmos College of Arts and Sciences
Microorganisms have been around since the early days of planet Earth’s existence. With the arrival of humans’ microorganisms and we have learned to co-exist or rather we are still learning how to co-exist. These organisms are experts at adapting to changing conditions around them. Over time they have greatly impacted human civilization from human expansion on the planet to the many things’ we humans do.
With a PhD in microbiology, my interest lies in microorganisms, specifically viruses. Majority of my work involved studying the virus HIV trying to understand its proteins in an attempt to find a protein that can serve as a vaccine candidate against the virus. I currently work with bacteria to help in the search for the next new antibiotic. Besides research, I have worked as a consultant for the pharmaceutical industry and the financial industry. Additionally, I serve as NSU’s spokesperson for the local media (TV news and local newspapers) on viral infections/diseases in an effort to educate the local community about SARS-COv2 and other viral infections. Teaching remains my passion and I hope to provide students a lens into the many fields they can play a role in.
I remain in awe of microorganisms and their ability to survive on this planet for billions of years. Through this talk I will share some of this information to showcase to people that microorganisms while tiny and invisible to the naked eye have had and continue to have a remarkable impact on us humans; specifically impact on religion, art, societal impacts, and innovations in the field of medicine.
- Pen to Purpose: Leading with Care in a Tough World: Beyond Servant Leadership with Bob DeKoch and Phillip G. ClampittRecorded March 23, 2023
During this Pen to Purpose session, NSU Department of Communication, Media, and the Arts professor Efrat Friedman will interview the authors of Leading With Care in a Tough World: Beyond Servant Leadership. According to the authors, Bob DeKoch and Phillip G. Clampitt, poor leadership is the cause of many of today's organizational ills (for example, employee disengagement, turnover, and absenteeism). What is the problem? It is true that some leaders possess the right beliefs and sentiments. Other individuals may be able to provide the necessary skills. Yet, in order to address the current challenges facing employees and organizations, world-class leaders must have BOTH the right beliefs as well as the right practices.
- Conversation with NASA Astronaut Winston ScottRecorded March 9, 2023
Please join us as we welcome Miami native and former NASA astronaut Winston Scott to NSU. We will begin with a screening of WLRN's documentary Hometown Hero: Winston Scott, produced by multiple Emmy award-winner Michael Anderson. Following the screening, Michael and Winston will discuss Winston's journey from segregated Coconut Grove where he did not have access to science, technology, and engineering courses that would have fostered these interests. Winston discovers that he has a talent for music, and he begins to pursue it. As a result, this route proves to be the key that unlocks the door to his future and demonstrates that anything is possible with a little ingenuity and perseverance.
- The Open Classroom: The 2022 World Cup--Human Rights and NeoliberalismRecorded March 9, 2023
Hosted by Andrea Nevins, Ph.D., M.F.A.
Featured speaker: G. Nelson Bass III, J.D., Ph.D., Assistant Professor & Associate Chair Department of Humanities & Politics, Halmos College of Arts and Sciences
Join this Open Classroom session and learn about the human rights concerns and controversies surrounding the World Cup through the broader lens of political science and global inequality.
- NEA Big Read - Infinite Country: ColombiaRecorded February 22, 2023
Join us as we discuss the book Infinite Country and explore cultural insights with Freda Mosquera.
Promoted by the National Endowment of the Arts (NEA) The Big Read is an initiative to encourage conversation by inspiring the community to read the same book.
- Pen to Purpose: Cultivating Writing as a Brand of Professionalism with Debby ApplegateRecorded February 14, 2023
Debby Applegate is a historian and writer of two critically acclaimed biographies. Her first book, The Most Famous Man in America: The Biography of Henry Ward Beecher, won the Pulitzer Prize for biography in 2007, was a finalist for the Los Angeles Book Prize and the National Book Critics Circle Award for biography, and was named one of the best books of the year.
With her second book, Madam: The Biography of Polly Adler, Icon of the Jazz Age, she plunged from the world of virtue to the underbelly of vice.
Debby was a Sterling Fellow in American Studies at Yale University, where she earned her Ph.D. She has taught at Yale University, Wesleyan University, and Marymount College.
- The Open Classroom: Are Businesses Doing Well While Doing Good?Recorded February 10, 2023
Hosted by Andrea Nevins, Ph.D., M.F.A.
Featured speaker: Kershen Huang, Ph.D. Associate Professor of Finance Huizenga College of Business and Entrepreneurship
Traditional corporate theory emphasizes the maximization of shareholder wealth as the single objective of firms. In more recent decades, changes in social norms, as well as the accessibility to broader and more granular data, have allowed more detailed examinations of a wide array of stakeholder aspects. These include creditors, managers, employees, and even bystanders that are outside of financial contracts. Researchers have since studied how corporate actions intertwine with stakeholder well-being and ultimately the implications of these relationships on agency issues, valuations, and economic conditions. During this talk, I will introduce to the Open Classroom audience the important concept of negative externalities and how they take a toll on the state of a free market (through both theoretical concepts and a short session of economic experiment on Poll Everywhere). From there, I will review some of the most recent evidence on how the internalization of externalities by firms can contribute to desirable outcomes not only for the society, but also eventually for the firms themselves.
- Pen to Purpose: Cultivating Writing as a Brand of Professionalism with Cristina GarcíaRecorded January 24, 2023
A conversation with Cristina García, author of Here in Berlin.
Cristina García is the author of eight novels, including Dreaming in Cuban, The Agüero Sisters, Monkey Hunting, A Handbook to Luck, The Lady Matador’s Hotel, King of Cuba, Here in Berlin, and the forthcoming Vanishing Maps (Knopf, June 2023). García's novels incorporate themes relating to Cuban culture, the tumultuous revolution, and the Cuban diaspora in the United States. García’s work has been nominated for a National Book Award and translated into fifteen languages. She has taught at universities nationwide and is currently playwright-in-residence at Central Works Theater in Berkeley.
- The Open Classroom: Social Vulnerability and Safe Building Recertification Violations in Miami, FloridaRecorded January 11, 2023
Hosted by Andrea Nevins Ph.D., M.F.A.
Featured speaker: Dr. Lucas Hollar, Associate Professor, Department of Public Health, Dr. Kiran C. Patel College of Osteopathic Medicine
Learn about the aftermath of the Champlain Towers South Collapse in Surfside and the importance of public health and public administration when discussing safe structures, social vulnerability, and equity.
- Pen to Purpose: Cultivating Writing as a Brand of Professionalism with David SipressRecorded November 29, 2022
A conversation with David Sipress, author of What’s So Funny, A Cartoonist’s Memoir.
David Sipress has been a staff cartoonist at The New Yorker since 1998. He has published nearly seven hundred cartoons in the magazine. His cartoons have also appeared in many other publications including: Time, Parade, Playboy, Funny Times, and The Washington Post. David has published eight collections of his cartoons and has lectured widely on his work. What’s So Funny, A Cartoonist’s Memoir is a compelling story about David’s life and the art of cartooning.
- Pen to Purpose: Cultivating Writing as a Brand of Professionalism with Neal BascombRecorded October 20, 2022
A conversation with Neal Bascomb about his latest book Faster; How a Jewish Driver, an American Heiress, and a Legendary Car beat Hitler’s Best.
Bascomb is a national award-winning and New York Times bestselling author of multiple non-fiction narratives including: The Escape Artists, Hunting Eichmann, and Red Mutiny. Bascomb’s stories incorporate history, adventure and achievement, and bravery, often times set against the backdrop of war or revolution. His work has been translated into over fifteen languages, featured in several documentaries, and optioned for major film and television projects. Bascomb is also the creator of Work/Craft/Life, a newsletter about the illuminating stories of our lives told through our work/craft.
Topics covered during the discussion include: Faster and its materialization into an action-packed adventure, Bascomb’s literary journey, and the intersectionality of journalism, non-fiction, and fiction.
- The Open Classroom: Ancestors, Orishas, and Ocean Conservation: The Rhetoric of (Mami) Water in Afro Diasporic Environmentalist Education in FloridaRecorded October 11, 2022
Hosted by Andrea Nevins Ph.D., M.F.A.
Featured speakers: Dr. Charlene Désir, Professor, Abraham S. Fischler College of Education and School of Criminal Justice, and Dr. Rachel Panton, Assistant Professor, Department of Communications, Media, and the Arts, Halmos College of Arts and Sciences
Within this Open Classroom experience, connections between African Diasporic Religions and environmentalism, specifically ocean conservation, are derived and analyzed in order to further understand the importance of natural elements and forces of nature within various religions, and why climate change threatens these connections.
- The Open Classroom: The Science of ScienceRecorded November 8, 2022
Hosted by Andrea Nevins Ph.D., M.F.A.
Featured speakers: Leanne Boucher, PhD, Professor of Psychology, Department of Psychology and Neuroscience, College of Psychology
Within this Open Classroom experience, conspiracies surrounding COVID, autism, and the distrust that people of the general public have about the way science progresses is discussed.
- Art of Duty Exhibit Artist PanelRecorded November 7, 2022
Support our veterans as we celebrate their art by joining us for the Art of Duty panel presentation as they share their experiences as post-9/11 veterans and the inspiration behind their artmaking.
- Pen to Purpose: Cultivating Writing as a Brand of Professionalism with Jen MaxfieldRecorded November 1, 2022
A conversation with Jen Maxfield about her new book More After the Break: A Reporter Returns to Ten Unforgettable News Stories. In More After the Break, Maxfield revisits the most memorable stories she has covered during her two-decade career, describing in heart-pounding detail how the events unfolded through eyewitness perspectives and her own.
Jen Maxfield is an Emmy award-winning reporter and anchor who started at NBC New York in 2013. Prior to joining the station, she worked for Eyewitness News (ABC7) In New York City. She launched her journalism career with WIVT-TV (Binghamton, NY) and WIXT-TV (Syracuse, NY). She has reported live from thousands of news events over her twenty-two-year career.
Maxfield is also an Adjunct Professor at the Columbia Graduate School of Journalism, where she teaches broadcast journalism.
Topics covered during the discussion will include: How strong writing skills correspond to high-level reporting, the different types of writing within the medium, and the change in quality of reporting with news publications downsizing.
- Crossing Borders: A Musical Evening with Matt MardiniRecorded July 29, 2022
Matt Mardini is an accomplished artist, Crooner, and Entrepreneur born in Aleppo, Syria. As a stage act, Matt has exemplified excellence in every aspect of the entertainment world. Singing for a wide range of events worldwide; at theaters, TV shows, weddings, corporate, and private events. Whether singing Jazz, Blues, standards, Rock & Roll or classics from the 40s up to the latest hits, our front man can charm crowds in English, French, Spanish, Italian, Armenian, Russian, and Arabic. In his musical journey, crooner Matt Mardini has performed countless live shows and touched audiences with his remarkable voice and his interpretations of the most romantic songs of all time, in Canada, the USA, Europe and the Middle East. Along with his talent and positive energy, this drive recently earned him an impressive gig at the iconic Bell Center.
Tony Khawam is an award-winning artist and curator, born in Aleppo, Syria, lives and works in South Florida. His work is exhibited nationally and has been collected by several museums and private collectors in the Americas, Europe, and the Middle East, and has been featured in numerous art magazines. He is the author of several cultural exhibition catalogues with a focus on heritage, social concerns, and immigration intertwined with the American culture. His work examines the cross-cultural dynamic in our communities for better cultural bridge building and understanding, and he is dedicated to nurturing new art to engage and connect our diverse communities through dynamic exhibits with stimulating specialty programs and inspired events to ignite cultural enrichment.
- Crossing Borders Exhibit: Artists PanelRecorded June 30, 2022
An interactive panel discussion with the artists from the Crossing Borders exhibit; Panelists discuss their cultural heritage, art education, inspiration for art-making, and how their new lives in America influence their artistic work.
The panel was curated by Tony Khawam. Tony was born in Aleppo, Syria and now lives and works in Florida. He earned a Bachelor of Fine Arts degree from the School of Visual Arts in New York City and a Master in Commercial Art from Montclair State University in New Jersey. He is deeply rooted in his Middle Eastern heritage and the American experience through history, current events, and the surrounding urban landscape to where he lives and works.
- The Open Classroom: Mirror Reflections-- Examining the Rhetoric of Language and InclusivityRecorded May 31, 2022
Hosted by Andrea Nevins Ph.D., M.F.A.
Featured speaker: Kelly Concannon, Assistant Professor Halmos College of Arts and Sciences, Department of Writing and Communication
Language is one of the most powerful tools through which to create our realities and it reflects what we do and do not value. While there has been progress in the cultural attitudes toward the LGBTQA+ community, language gender bias impacts all areas of private and public life. In this lecture, we will discuss the evolution of language inclusivity—paying close attention to how the language we use reinforces harmful binaries—and will explore approaches to integrating more inclusive uses of language (I.e. gender-neutral pronouns).
- The Open Classroom: Queer History-- Out, Proud, and Here to StayRecorded May 21, 2022
Hosted by Andrea Nevins Ph.D., M.F.A.
Featured speaker: Kate Waites, Professor Emerita, Halmos College of Arts and Sciences, Department of Humanities and Politics
As with most historically marginalized and repressed groups, Queer History is fraught, fractured, and not at all monolithic. Originally, the word “queer” was an adjective used to refer to a strange or peculiar behavior. By the early 20th century however, the word Queer became a noun, and a pejorative one at that since it referred in a condemnatory way to a homosexual. By the 1990s, a sea-change in social attitudes, stemming from two decades of political activism that began with the 1969 Stonewall Riots in NYC, led to an empowering reclaiming of both the word and the personal identifier, “Queer.” This activism was accompanied by a kind of theorizing about queerness that would add to the discourse and, once again, stretch the flexible boundaries of the word itself. Viewed through the lens of popular culture, specifically, epochal films and theatrical productions, as well as groundbreaking theoretical texts, such as Judith Butler’s Gender Trouble, Queer History is a rich and complicated account of a social and political identity formed in struggle.
- Fireside Chat with Misty EyezRecorded May 19, 2022
Presented by Misty Eyez Alicea
Misty will lead an Interactive discussion with the audience allowing them to gain insights into her personal life, as well as an inclusive perspective of the entire LGBTQIA2S+ community. Misty is comfortable answering questions and sharing her personal journey to offer a more in-depth understanding of transgender individuals. The audience can expect to learn about the gender spectrum, gender identity, and the history and life experiences of transgender individuals. They will also learn how to serve the LGBTQ+ population more effectively with a higher level of understanding. Providing participants the skills on how to better relate to LGBTQ+ coworkers and students.
Presented by Misty Eyez Alicea a highly celebrated and award-winning entertainer, emcee, educator, journalist, and makeup artist whose accomplishments have been featured in popular TV and print vehicles, including the New York Times. She is currently featured prominently in promotional videos and print campaigns for The Greater Fort Lauderdale Convention and Visitors Bureau highlighting Fort Lauderdale’s welcoming environment. She is a regular on the Happening Out Network as a guest Anchor for Queer News Tonight and a permanent Host for TRANSlation.
- Say Gay! LGBTQ+ Censorship and SafetyRecorded May 10, 2022
Panel Members: Peter Caproni, Associate Professor, NSU College of Psychology, Department of Clinical and School Psychology
Brandon Hensler, Executive Director, NSU Division of Public Relations, Marketing, and Creative Services
Sherry Hindelang, Fifth Grade Teacher/Team Leader, NSU University School
Jeanette Jennings, Co-Founder TransKids Purple Rainbow Foundation
Moderator: Dr. Jim Doan, Professor, NSU Halmos College of Arts and Sciences, Department of Humanities and Politics
This engaging panel comprised of local parents, activists, and NSU faculty will discuss current events and topics surrounding the LGBTQ+ community. Drawing from their own experiences and expertise they will lead the audience in an interactive discussion regarding student safety, censorship, and access to information.
- Welcome to Fairyland: Snapshots of Miami's LGBTQ PastRecorded May 3, 2022
Presented by Julio Capó, Jr., an Associate Professor of History and Deputy Director of the Wolfsonian Public Humanities Lab at Florida International University.
This lecture provides snapshots of Miami’s lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer (LGBTQ) past and describes those events in their national and international contexts. Stories include the Klan raid of a gay bar in 1937, a transgender woman sparking a marriage equality debate in the 1950s, the Anita Bryant-led campaign to overturn a progressive ordinance shielding sexual minorities from discrimination, the Mariel boatlift, and more.
Dr. Capó is the award-winning author of the book Welcome to Fairyland: Queer Miami before 1940 and curator of the Queer Miami: A History of LGBTQ Communities exhibition at HistoryMiami Museum.
- The Open Classroom: Financial Literacy and Credit: Pitfalls from the Misuse of Big DataRecorded April 13, 2022
Hosted by Andrea Nevins Ph.D., M.F.A.
Featured speaker: Jason Gershman, Chair and Associate Professor in the Department of Mathematics
Learn how the abuses and misuses of big data lead to unfair credit scoring and explore potential solutions to this pervasive problem.
- Pen to Purpose: Cultivating Writing as a Brand of Professionalism with Malcolm MitchellRecorded April 11, 2022
A conversation with Malcolm Mitchell, former wide receiver for the New England Patriots and author of the children’s book, The Magician’s Hat and My Very Favorite Book in the Whole Wide World.
Malcolm Mitchell presents the story of a magician who reveals an awe-inspiring treasure from his bag of tricks -- books that make every kid's dream come true! This is not your typical afternoon at the library -- a magician invites kids to reach into his hat to pull out whatever they find when they dig down deep. Soon -- poof! -- each child comes away with something better than they could've imagined -- a book that helps them become whatever they want to be, and makes their dreams come true through pages and words, and the adventures that follow.
Malcolm Mitchell is the rookie who helped the New England Patriots win Super Bowl LI. He's also the founder of an initiative called Read with Malcolm, which introduces book ownership to students, and works to improve literacy in schools. Malcolm's Share the Magic Foundation promotes the benefits of reading to kids in underserved communities.
- Pen to Purpose: Cultivating Writing as a Brand of Professionalism with Jean Hanff KorelitzRecorded March 29, 2022
A conversation with Jean Hanff Korelitz, the New York Times bestselling author of the novels The Plot and You Should Have Known (adapted for HBO as "The Undoing" by David E. Kelley and starring Nicole Kidman and Hugh Grant).
Jacob Finch Bonner was once a promising young novelist with a respectably published first book. Today, he's teaching in a third-rate MFA program and struggling to maintain what's left of his self-respect; he hasn't written--let alone published--anything decent in years. When Evan Parker, his most arrogant student, announces he doesn't need Jake's help because the plot of his book in progress is a sure thing, Jake is prepared to dismiss the boast as typical amateur narcissism. But then . . . he hears The Plot.
- The Open Classroom: TikTok Tourette's: Social Media & Patient NarrativesRecorded March 15, 2022
Hosted by Andrea Nevins Ph.D., M.F.A.
Featured speaker: Aileen Farrar, Ph.D., Associate Professor of Literature in the Department of Humanities and Politics in the Halmos College of Arts and Sciences
Explore how social media narratives are changing experiences, expressions, and perceptions of disability. The Open Classroom series is a collaboration between the Farquhar Honors College and the Alvin Sherman Library.
- Pen to Purpose: Cultivating Writing as a Brand of Professionalism with David Weill, MDRecorded February 23, 2022
A conversation with David Weill, MD, author of Exhale.
Exhale is the riveting memoir of a top transplant doctor who rode the emotional rollercoaster of saving and losing lives—until it was time to step back and reassess his own life.
- The Open Classroom: Social Change Through ArtRecorded February 21, 2022
Hosted by Andrea Nevins Ph.D., M.F.A.
Featured speaker: Kandy Lopez-Moreno, M.F.A., Associate Professor in the Department of Communication, Media, and the Arts
The Open Classroom features conversations with scholars from various disciplines who share their expertise on important issues and provide insightful perspectives rarely seen in the media. The first installment, Social Change Through Art, discusses how contemporary artists use art as a form of social activism to challenge the historic use of images as a tool to marginalize women of color.
- Civil Rights in the Sunshine State: Eula Johnson and the Fort Lauderdale Wade-insRecorded February 18, 2022
Presented by Janay Joseph and Tara Chadwick, History and International Studies Majors in the Department of Humanities and Politics at the Halmos College of Arts and Sciences.
Prior to the 1961 Wade-ins on Fort Lauderdale Beach, and a landmark district case, public facilities in Broward county were segregated. Eula Johnson was the first woman president of the Broward chapter of the NAACP. Johnson, along with Dr. Von D. Mizell coordinated and organized a series of protests called the "Wade-ins" in the summer of 1961 to desegregate the beaches. Both faced white supremacist backlash during and after the protests. The City of Fort Lauderdale eventually sued Johnson and Mizell for "disturbing the peace" during their demonstrations. Johnson and Mizell won their case, which set the precedent for the future desegregation of Broward county. This talk will be led by Janay Joseph and Tara Chadwick on Johnson's legacy, and the work that can be done today within our current political climate. A preview of the documentary short film "She Had A Dream: Eula Johnson's Fight to Desegregate Broward County" will also be featured, along with a discussion on the research and production of the film.
- Civil Rights in the Sunshine State: The Lynching of Rubin StacyRecorded February 15, 2022
Presented by David Kilroy Ph.D., a Professor of History and Chair of the Department of Humanities and Politics at NSU. A native of Dublin, Ireland, his research interests fall broadly within the parameters of U.S. political and cultural engagement on the world stage.
According to records maintained by the NAACP, between 1882 and 1968 there were 4,743 documented cases of lynching across the United States, with the majority of victims being African American. A combination of their frequency and the system of white supremacy which condoned these mob killings ensured that most victims were soon forgotten. The case of Rubin Stacy, who was lynched by a mob in 1935 on what is today the corner of Davie Boulevard and SW 31st Avenue, stands out though because it was a recorded in a number of searing photographs taken that day. From the NAACP fliers that used these images in support of its anti-lynching campaign to the recent decision of the City of Fort Lauderdale to rename a stretch of Davie Boulevard in his memory, this talk will revisit the story of Rubin Stacy's murder and photographs which propelled it to national attention.
- Pen to Purpose: Cultivating Writing as a Brand of Professionalism with Jai ChakrabartiRecorded January 18, 2022
A conversation with Jai Chakrabarti, author of A Play for the End of the World.
Travel with us from the Warsaw Ghetto to Shantiniketan, India, to discover how the same play was both a source of comfort during the darkest of hours, and decades later, an act of protest against political injustice.
- Alvin Sherman Library's 20th Anniversary EventRecorded December 6, 2021
NSU Alvin Sherman Library, Research, and Information Technology Center
20th Anniversary Celebration
The Photography of Marc Hauser
June 30 - August 25, 2024
This exhibit showcases the masterful lenswork of Marc Hauser, a photographer renowned for his ability to capture the essence of his subjects with unparalleled sensitivity and depth.
Through a curated selection of photographs spanning his career, visitors are invited to explore a diverse tapestry of visual narratives. From intimate portraits that illuminate the soul of individuals to everyday lifestyle shots that evoke a sense of wonder, Hauser's work transcends mere documentation, offering a profound reflection on life, identity, and the interconnectedness of our world.
Hauser's keen eye for detail and his mastery of light and composition are evident in every photograph, whether depicting everyday scenes imbued with a sense of nostalgia or moments of extraordinary beauty that resonate long after viewing. His work not only celebrates the artistry of photography but also serves as a powerful testament to the human experience in all its complexity.
SANARTE/INIM (Institute for Neuro-Immune Medicine)
Awaken Your Soul - Mindfulness
May 11-June 23, 2024
In partnership with SANARTE Foundation and NSU's Neuro-Immune Medicine (INIM), this exhibit is the product of a collaborative effort between medical researchers and professionals, and JU, SANARTE Foundation's founder, to create a bridge between medical science and fine art. This exhibit features work by artists who hope to make a difference in the lives of those suffering from debilitating and chronic medical conditions.
The Awaken Your Soul - Mindfulness exhibit strives to awaken in all of us any of the heightened senses of human experience, among them, compassion, love, and gratitude. Each work in this exhibit reflects upon some healing aspect meant to improve and elevate the lives of each and every human being.
All fine art pieces in this exhibit are available for purchase via the event site. Contributions are tax deductible and a portion of the proceeds will be disbursed to fund the continued research undertaken by the Institute for Neuro-Immune Medicine (INIM) at Nova Southeastern University.
March 16 - May 5, 2024
The exhibition "Holocaust by Bullets 10 Years of Investigation" presents the results of Yahad-In Unum’s research in Eastern Europe. It also underscores the "Holocaust by Bullets" as a precursor and model for mass murder crimes today. The exhibit showcases the painstaking research uncovering the step-by-step nature of the crimes committed against Jews and Roma by the Nazi killing units. The exhibition is built around the five steps of the crime identified by Yahad-In Unum researchers based on eyewitness accounts:
1. The Arrest
2. The Road
3. The Undressing
4. The Shooting
5. The Looting
The steps are described through quotes from eyewitness testimonies and through archival photographs. A short summary defining each step and highlighting the criminal nature of the Holocaust by Bullets are provided on a separate introductory panel.
January 14 - March 10, 2024
Many notable blues artists had roots in Florida and they are featured in an engaging exhibit that explores topics such as Early Blues, Florida Women and the Blues, Blues Clubs and Jook Joints, Depression Blues and the WPA Recordings, Popular Music and the Blues, and Contemporary Blues.
Did you know that the blues artist with the highest number of 78–rpm records was Tampa Red, who grew up in Florida? And did you know that Blind Blake–perhaps the greatest ragtime and blues guitarist–is connected with Jacksonville, Florida? These early blues men are just a few of the highlighted artists in this popular exhibit celebrating Florida’s blues tradition.
Athletic Legacy: 40 Years of NSU Sports Achievements
October 27, 2023 - January 7, 2024
This exhibition celebrates four decades of remarkable athletic prowess and the indomitable spirit of university sports by paying tribute to the exceptional achievements, dedication and passion of athletes who have left an indelible mark on the athletic history of Nova Southeastern University.
Historic photographs, trophies, sports ephemera and memorabilia tell a story of dedication, teamwork, and the pursuit of personal and collective greatness. Through the exhibit narratives and images we will celebrate the unwavering dedication and perseverance of the athletes, coaches, and supportive community from the first intramural sport at NSU to the success of the four national championships won this year.
Spain-Latin American History, Culture, Language, Unity and Diversity
August 27 - October 17, 2023
Delve into the intricate connections between history, culture, and language as six remarkable artists come together to showcase their distinctive visions and perspectives. This exhibition features talented artists including: Sergio Payares, Sonia Sanchez-Nieto, Daniel Bottero, Adriana Torres, Santiago Medina, and Emilio Martinez. Each artist brings their unique flair, employing diverse mediums and techniques to explore the theme of interconnectedness in their works. From vivid paintings to thought-provoking sculptures that embody cultural heritage, the exhibit encompasses a wide range of artistic expressions.
Beaches, Creatures, and Cowboys: Film in Florida
June 18-August 20, 2023
Movie producers have been making films in Florida almost since the dawn of the industry. For a short time in the early twentieth century, Florida even rivaled California as a place for movie making.
April 16-June 11, 2023
Based on the book Wild Miami, take a walk through the various ecosystems of south Florida to explore this nature guide to the 305. Learn about the history of South Florida, plants and animals that call this region home, and ways to assist in the ongoing conservation of these ecosystems. Included in the exhibition are the garments created for Young At Art Museum's 16th Annual Recycled Fashion Show: Everglades Recycled. Talented teen designers debuted their original couture looks made from recycled materials representing the diverse ecosystem of the Everglades, unique to South Florida and the environmental threats impacting it.
Black Wings: American Dreams of Flight
January 17-March 31, 2023
Soar with the stories of African Americans in aviation history. Discover what these American aviators achieved and what they overcame.
Art of Duty: Celebrating Veteran Artists
October 20, 2022 - January 8, 2023
Art of Duty is an exhibit of art and personal stories of military veteran artists. Veterans from the United States Army, Air Force, and Marine Corps are represented and their artwork is a visualization of both their military and civilian viewpoints. Much of the material provides an up-close depiction of deployment and a first hand account of serving in the United States military post-9/11 during the Global War on Terror.
This exhibit has been curated as a partnership between the Alvin Sherman Library, Research, and Information Technology Center and Military Affairs of Nova Southeastern University.
20th Anniversary: Cine y Arte Argentino Latino
September 4 - October 16, 2022
In celebration of Hispanic Heritage Month, the NSU Alvin Sherman Library will host a free art exhibit and film series. Cine Argentino is celebrating their 20th Festival Anniversary in South Florida. This exhibit is dedicated to Peru, as well as Women in Art and Cinema. “The Woman in Art” will feature Latin American Artists and will have a “Tribute to Fernando de Szyszlo”, courtesy of the America Collection Gallery. The 20th Anniversary will be celebrated with photos and posters of previous events.
Crossing Borders: Artists from the Middle East & The Americas
June 16 - August 11, 2022
Immigrant artists from Israel, Syria, Turkey, Switzerland, Cuba, Haiti, and Venezuela share their art and personal stories about their cultural heritage intertwined with their American experience, and the impact of immigration and the new American culture on their lives and art making. The project entitled “Crossing Borders: Artists from the Middle East & the Americas” an art exhibition with cultural events from South Florida’s rich multicultural community. At the exhibit opening, attendants will experience “A Taste of the Middle East, and Latin America,” and engage the attendants in a facilitated dialogue focusing on building cultural understanding, dispelling stereotypes, and fostering awareness of immigrants from the Middle East, the Americas and beyond with stories of their history in the U.S. This will be shared through videos, photos, and text as it contributes to the American fabric.
April 6-June 4, 2022
In partnership with the Stonewall National Museum & Archives in Fort Lauderdale, this exhibition explores the LGBTQ civil rights movement from the first part of the 20th century to the present day. Drawing on Stonewall’s vast archive of over six million pages of materials, including many serials and publications, we look at a time when it was illegal for gay people to congregate together. We see how in the 1950s the first gay civil rights movement developed, and many people found ways to communicate, network, and support each other. We see the impact of the 1960s cultural revolution on LGBTQ rights which led to the Stonewall uprising in 1969. The 1970s brought about an age of enlightenment and cultural growth. The 1980s saw a continuation of the fight for legal rights, while at the same time, gay men were confronted with a new and terrifying deadly disease. Despite continued opposition, progress continued, and changes were made to state laws. LGBTQ people began to see success in their professional and personal lives which ultimately led to the US Supreme Court recognizing the right to marry and prevention of discrimination based on sexual orientation.
Civil Rights in the Sunshine State
February 1-March 12, 2022
Produced to commemorate the 50th anniversary of the signing of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, this rich and engaging exhibit explores the struggle of African Americans for equality in Florida from the end of Reconstruction (1877) through the 1970s. It examines the deep history of black activism in the state and reveals the multi-generational effort of men and women whose courage and sacrifice ended centuries of institutionalized racism. Civil Rights in the Sunshine State is one of the first attempts to view the Florida civil rights movement through a statewide lens. From Miami to Tallahassee and St. Petersburg to St. Augustine, the Florida movement is explored at the local, state, and national levels.