MBIO 2500 Oceanography / Lab: Getting Started
This introductory course for the marine biology major will expose the student to more comprehensive principles of physical, chemical and geological oceanography, and functions as a complementary course to Marine Biology (MBIO 2410). Oceanographic sampling
Oceanography
Oceanography / Lab
MBIO 2500
Winter 2024
This introductory course for the marine biology major will expose the student to more comprehensive principles of physical, chemical and geological oceanography, and functions as a complementary course to Marine Biology (MBIO 2410). Oceanographic sampling and laboratory analysis techniques will be covered. Prerequisites: BIOL 1500 and 1510.
Required Textbooks:
Essentials of Oceanography by
For courses in Oceanography. Oceanography: The Geological, Chemical, Biological, and Physical Essentials of Oceanography guides readers through the complexities of what lies beneath the ocean. With an interdisciplinary approach and accessible writing style, the text is engaging for all readers. The 12th Edition discusses the ocean's biological, chemical, geological, and physical components for an in-depth understanding of this vast and elaborate topic. Complex concepts are made engaging with extensively revised art and interactive study aids that keep readers interested and excited about the material. Also available with Mastering Oceanography Mastering(tm) Oceanography from Pearson is the leading online homework, tutorial, and assessment system, designed to improve results by engaging readers before, during, and after class with powerful content. Instructors ensure readers arrive ready to learn by assigning educationally effective content before class, and encourage critical thinking and retention with in-class resources such as Learning Catalytics. Readers can further master concepts after class through traditional and adaptive homework assignments that provide hints and answer-specific feedback. The Mastering gradebook records scores for all automatically graded assignments in one place, while diagnostic tools give instructors access to rich data to assess reader understanding and misconceptions. Mastering brings learning full circle by continuously adapting to each reader and making learning more personal than ever--before, during, and after class. Note: You are purchasing a standalone product; MyLab & Mastering does not come packaged with this content. Students, if interested in purchasing this title with MyLab & Mastering, ask your instructor for the correct package ISBN and Course ID. Instructors, contact your Pearson representative for more information. If you would like to purchase both the physical text and MyLab & Mastering, search for: 0134113047 / 9780134113043 Essentials of Oceanography Plus Mastering Oceanography with eText -- Access Card Package, 12/e Package consists of: 0134298063 / 9780134298061 Mastering Oceanography with Pearson eText - ValuePack Access Card -- for Essentials of Oceanography 0134073541 / 9780134073545 Essentials of Oceanography Essentials of Oceanography , 12th Edition is also available via Pearson eText, a simple-to-use, mobile, personalized reading experience that lets instructors connect with and motivate students -- right in their eTextbook. Learn more.
Call Number: GC11.2 .T49 2020ISBN: 9780134073545Publication Date: 2016-01-22
Supplemental Readings:
An Introduction to the Worlds Oceans by
An Introduction to the World's Oceans, Tenth Edition, is an introductory oceanography text intended for students without a background in mathematics, chemistry, physics, geology, or biology. It emphasizes the role of basic scientific principles in helping understand the processes that govern the ocean and the earth. To keep the text as current as possible, the authors conduct their own research and examine other findings such as analyzing satellite data and large-scale oceanographic programs. From this vast amount of data, they select interesting, relevant, and understandable examples that illustrate contemporary principles of oceanography. An Introduction to the World's Oceans places greater emphasis on the physical and geological aspects of the oceans than on the chemical and geochemical properties, because the latter disciplines require more specific background knowledge. An ecological approach helps integrate the biological chapters with other subjects. Students are encouraged to look at oceanography as a cohesive and united discipline rather than a collection of subjects gathered under a marine umbrella. As with all previous editions, the authors continue to make each chapter stand as independently as possible, so that professors can assign chapters in the order that best suits their classrooms.
Call Number: Oceanography ReserveISBN: 9780073376707Publication Date: 2008-11-03- An Introduction to the World's Oceans by
An Introduction to the World's Oceans, Tenth Edition, is an introductory oceanography text intended for students without a background in mathematics, chemistry, physics, geology, or biology. It emphasizes the role of basic scientific principles in helping understand the processes that govern the ocean and the earth. To keep the text as current as possible, the authors conduct their own research and examine other findings such as analyzing satellite data and large-scale oceanographic programs. From this vast amount of data, they select interesting, relevant, and understandable examples that illustrate contemporary principles of oceanography. An Introduction to the World's Oceans places greater emphasis on the physical and geological aspects of the oceans than on the chemical and geochemical properties, because the latter disciplines require more specific background knowledge. An ecological approach helps integrate the biological chapters with other subjects. Students are encouraged to look at oceanography as a cohesive and united discipline rather than a collection of subjects gathered under a marine umbrella. As with all previous editions, the authors continue to make each chapter stand as independently as possible, so that professors can assign chapters in the order that best suits their classrooms.
Call Number: AVAILABLE FOR PURCHASE ONLINEISBN: 9780073376707Publication Date: 2008-11-03
Longitude by
The Illustrated Longitude recounts in words and images the epic quest to solve the greatest scientific problem of the eighteenth and three prior centuries- determining how a captain could pinpoint his ship's location at sea. All too often throughout the ages of exploration, voyages ended in disaster when crew and cargo were either lost at sea or destroyed upon the rocks of an unexpected landfall. Thousands of lives and the fortunes of nations hung on a resolution to the longitude problem. To encourage a solution, governments established prizes for anyone whose method or device proved successful. The largest reward of o20,000 - truly a king's ransom - was offered by Britain's Parliament in 1714. The scientific establishment - from Galileo to Sir Isaac Newton - had been certain that a celestial answer would be found and invested untold effort in this pursuit. By contrast, John Harrison imagined and built the unimaginable- a clock that told perfect time at sea, known today as the chronometer. Harrison's trials and tribulations during his forty-year quest to win the prize are the culmination of this remarkable story. The Illustrated Longitude brings a new and important dimension to Dava Sobel's celebrated story. It contains the entire original narrative of Longitude, redesigned to accompany 183 images chosen by William Andrewes - from portraints of every important figure in the story to maps and diagrams, scientifc instruments, and John Harrison's remarkable sea clocks themselves. Andrewes's elegant captions and sidebars on scientific and historical events tell their own story of longitude.
Call Number: QB225 .S63 2003ISBN: 9780802775931Publication Date: 2003-10-01
Longitude by
The dramatic human story of an epic scientific quest and of one man's forty-year obsession to find a solution to the thorniest scientific dilemma of the day--"the longitude problem."Anyone alive in the eighteenth century would have known that "the longitude problem" was the thorniest scientific dilemma of the day-and had been for centuries. Lacking the ability to measure their longitude, sailors throughout the great ages of exploration had been literally lost at sea as soon as they lost sight of land. Thousands of lives and the increasing fortunes of nations hung on a resolution. One man, John Harrison, in complete opposition to the scientific community, dared to imagine a mechanical solution-a clock that would keep precise time at sea, something no clock had ever been able to do on land. Longitude is the dramatic human story of an epic scientific quest and of Harrison's forty-year obsession with building his perfect timekeeper, known today as the chronometer. Full of heroism and chicanery, it is also a fascinating brief history of astronomy, navigation, and clockmaking, and opens a new window on our world.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9780802779434Publication Date: 2010-07-05
Longitude by
The dramatic human story of an epic scientific quest and of one man's forty-year obsession to find a solution to the thorniest scientific dilemma of the day--"the longitude problem." Anyone alive in the eighteenth century would have known that "the longitude problem" was the thorniest scientific dilemma of the day-and had been for centuries. Lacking the ability to measure their longitude, sailors throughout the great ages of exploration had been literally lost at sea as soon as they lost sight of land. Thousands of lives and the increasing fortunes of nations hung on a resolution. One man, John Harrison, in complete opposition to the scientific community, dared to imagine a mechanical solution-a clock that would keep precise time at sea, something no clock had ever been able to do on land. Longitude is the dramatic human story of an epic scientific quest and of Harrison's forty-year obsession with building his perfect timekeeper, known today as the chronometer. Full of heroism and chicanery, it is also a fascinating brief history of astronomy, navigation, and clockmaking, and opens a new window on our world.
Call Number: QB225 .S64 2007ISBN: 9780802715296Publication Date: 2007-11-05
- Describe how scientists have contributed to our understanding of oceanography through history
- Explain applications of oceanography in ancient and modern societies
- Document how physical, chemical, geological and biological processes relate to our understanding of oceanography
- Describe how marine organisms are distributed and function in the ocean
- Illustrate and identify the major currents of the world's oceans
- Use the Internet to search and retrieve information about Oceanography
- Produce laboratory reports that demonstrate an understanding of the scientific method, basic statistical analyses, and the ability to read and interpret data
- Develop an aesthetic, literary and spiritual appreciation of the ocean
Other Course Guides
Quick Search
Find Books, Journals, Media:
E-Books | Advanced Search | My Library Account | ILL - Interlibrary Loan
Search Full Text Finder to find the full text of a publication.
If you see an embargo next to a e-journal title: An embargo period is a period of time which an official academic publication is not yet available online, either due to publishing restrictions or subscription contracts. Ex: "Embargo: 1 Year" = access begins one year ago from today's date.
Search Full Text Finder to find the full text of a publication.
|
Databases: search for articles, datasets, and videos on your topic |
|
|
View Databases by Subject OR All Databases |
|
Search NSUWorks - NSU's Institutional Repository:
Browse or search scholarship in Digital Commons @ NSUWorks!
Find Research Tips and Useful Resources
Oceanographic Campus Library Guides
News, Events, & Training | Writing & Citation Style | Course Guides | Browse by Subject | How-To Guides | LibraryLearn : Short Video Tutorials | Razor's Research Bytes