NSU Oceanographic Campus Library: Web Resources
Web Resources
- Biodiversity Heritage LibraryThe Biodiversity Heritage Library is a collection of natural sciences literature with historical information on plants and animals. The books are reproduced in PDF form. Searching can be done by author, title, tag cloud, and an interactive map that shows books available for different geographic areas. At this time there are over 45,000 books in the collection.
- FishBaseFishBase is a comprehensive database of information about fish, with 31600 Species, 279100 Common names, 49300 Pictures, 44200 References, 1770 Collaborators, and 33 million Hits/month.
- NCBI - National Center for Biotechnology InformationWelcome to NCBI - The National Center for Biotechnology Information advances science and health by providing access to biomedical and genomic information.
- NOAA Deep Sea Coral Data PortalThis Portal provides access to deep sea coral and sponge data, images, and technical reports from research funded by NOAA’s Deep Sea Coral Research and Technology Program (DSCRTP) and its partners.
- NOAA Professional Papers NMFS & NOAA Technical Reports NMFSThe NOAA Professional Paper NMFS series, begun in 2003, replaces the NOAA Technical Report NMFS series. Both series are available in PDF format, including all Professional Papers published to date, and Technical Reports 1 through 154 (the final one in the TR series).
- ReefBaseReefBase is a global database of coral reefs. It includes information on reef structures, the fish and other organisms that coexist with the reefs, threats to the reefs, and other information.
- Office of Ocean and Coastal Resource Management (OCRM)The Office of Ocean and Coastal Resource Management (OCRM), part of the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA), provides national leadership, strategic direction and guidance to state and territory coastal programs and estuarine research reserves.
- Atlas of Artificial Reefs in Florida, 5th Ed.Atlas of Artificial Reefs in Florida, 5th Ed. from the Florida Seagrant College Program on the Aquatic Commons web page.
- Gulf of Mexico Corals and Coral ReefsThe coral web mapper created by the Gulf Council allows scientists, managers, and the public to explore the different corals in the Gulf of Mexico. The five categories of corals/organisms that are depicted on the map tool are: Black Coral; Octocoral; Sea Pen; Soft Coral; Sponge; Stony Coral.
- The World Clock – Time ZonesThe World Clock was originally made in November 1995 and it has been very popular, with millions of page views on the old site. It was moved to timeanddate.com in May 1998. The World Clock was 10 years old in November 2005.
- AlgaebaseAlgaeBase is a database of information on algae that includes terrestrial, marine and freshwater organisms. At present, the data for the marine algae, particularly seaweeds, are the most complete. For convenience, we have included the sea-grasses even though they are flowering plants.
- Center for Aquatic and Invasive PlantsThe UF/IFAS Center for Aquatic and Invasive Plants is a multidisciplinary research, teaching and extension unit directed to develop environmentally sound techniques for the management of aquatic and natural area weed species and to coordinate aquatic plant research activities within the State of Florida. The mission of the CAIP Information Office is to inform and educate all stakeholders about the impacts and management of invasive plants.
- Diatoms.orgProvides analysts, academics and managers with tools for diatom taxonomy, nomenclature and ecology.
- Aquafind - Aquatic Fish DatabaseFrom the beginning the Aquafind mission has been to deliver relevant, useful information to International Aquaculturists and Aquarists using the efficiency of the Internet. This is being accomplished by providing searchable directories with contact data for aquatic suppliers, equipment suppliers, and service suppliers. This information resource is free and openly available.
- Catalog of FishesThe Catalog of Fishes covers more than 53,000 species and subspecies, over 10,000 genera and subgenera, and includes in excess of 16,000 bibliographic references. Entries for species, for example, consist of species/subspecies name, genus, author, date, publication, pages, figures, type locality, location of type specimen(s), current status (with references), family/subfamily, and important publication, taxonomic, or nomenclatural notes.
- FAO FishFinder - Regional GuidesThe Species Identification and Data Program Objectives: Improve the identification of marine organisms of actual and potential interest to fisheries; Provide and disseminate tools to facilitate species identification in fisheries, and in so doing, improve fisheries data quality; Provide a global and coherent system of scientific and common nomenclature.
- FishBaseFishBase is a comprehensive database of information about fish, with 31600 Species, 279100 Common names, 49300 Pictures, 44200 References, 1770 Collaborators, and 33 million Hits/month.
- SouthEast Data, Assessment, and Review (SEDAR)SouthEast Data, Assessment, and Review (SEDAR) is the cooperative process by which stock assessment projects are conducted in NOAA Fisheries' Southeast Region. SEDAR was initiated to improve planning and coordination of stock assessment activities and to improve the quality and reliability of assessments. SEDAR strives to provide an open and transparent approach for development and review of the scientific information on fish stocks that is critical to management decision making.
- Bibliography and Index of the Sirenia and DesmostyliaThe significant published literature on the neobiology, paleobiology, and ethnobiology of the mammalian orders Sirenia and Desmostylia is exhaustively cataloged in over 5,300 main entries alphabetized by author. Both technical and popular works are included, and many entries are annotated. The earliest work cited is a letter by N. Syllacio published in 1494 or 1495, describing Columbus's second voyage to the New World.
- IWC Publications - International Whaling CommissionThe IWC publishes the Annual Report of the International Whaling Commission and the Journal of Cetacean Research and Management. Annual Reports can be downloaded free of charge.
- Marine Mammal Commission (MMC)The Commission was created under Title II of the Marine Mammal Protection Act of 1972. The Commission's primary focus and duties are the protection and conservation of marine mammals. This site provides a single point of information on the activities, programs, and publications of the Marine Mammal Commission and its Committee of Scientific Advisors on Marine Mammals, and conveys other relevant information on the conservation and protection of marine mammals and their ecosystems.
- The Marine Mammals BibliographyThe Marine Mammals Bibliography is based on a large collection of publications collected by various U.S. government agencies and indexed in this database by staff at the the Smithsonian Institution.
- EDENThis page contains the publicly available protocols developed to date with EDEN funding.
Some protocols were developed by EDEN exchange participants (graduate students, postdocs, or faculty). Other protocols were developed by undergraduate students who held EDEN summer internships (indicated with an asterisk *). We hope to eventually make these protocols accessible via a searchable database. For now, they are simply grouped roughly into taxonomic groups based on the origanisms the protocols were designed for. Please browse through them to find ones that might be applicable to your work! - Marine Species Identification PortalThis website has extensive information for identifying marine organisms, animal, plant, and microorganisms. Entries include pictures, descriptions, distribution, habitat, and other relevant information. There are also literature references.
- ReefBaseReefBase is a global database of coral reefs. It includes information on reef structures, the fish and other organisms that coexist with the reefs, threats to the reefs, and other information.
- South Florida Sponges: A Guide to IdentificationA database of information on sponges hosted by Nova Southeastern University. Database includes scientific and common names, photographs, physical descriptions, and distribution information.
- WoRMS - World Register of Marine SpeciesThe aim of a World Register of Marine Species (WoRMS) is to provide an authoritative and comprehensive list of names of marine organisms, including information on synonymy. While highest priority goes to valid names, other names in use are included so that this register can serve as a guide to interpret taxonomic literature. WoRMS is a contribution to Lifewatch, Catalogue of Life, Encyclopedia of Life, Global Biodiversity Information Facility and the Census of Marine Life.
- Government of Canada - Federal Science Library The Federal Science Library (FSL) is a one-stop, self-serve portal where you can access library services and search the print collections and repositories of seven science-based departments and agencies from a single place. Wherever possible, departmental publications, reports, data sets and other content are freely available for anyone to access or download.
- Climatological Data (by State, Monthly)Monthly collections of weather data by state. Each report is available as a pdf file. The data is gathered and distributed by the National Climatic Data Center.
- Florida Climate CenterThe Center distributes the Federal data for Florida from many of the National Climatic Data Center series also listed in this box. There are also a number historical sets that it redistributes. It also links to special data collections on such topics as climate change that are not part of the regular data sets.
- Global Observing Systems Information Center (GOSIC)GOSIC is hosted at the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration's (NOAA) National Climatic Data Center (NCDC), located in Asheville, NC, and provides an information center that facilitates the search of and access to data, data products, metadata and information for the Global Climate Observing System (GCOS), Global Ocean Observing System (GOOS) and the Global Terrestrial Observing System (GTOS) and their partner programs.
- National Centers for Environmental InformationNOAA's National Centers for Environmental Information (NCEI) hosts and provides public access to one of the most significant archives for environmental data on Earth. Through the Center for Weather and Climate and the Center for Coasts, Oceans, and Geophysics, we provide over 25 petabytes of comprehensive atmospheric, coastal, oceanic, and geophysical data.
- NOAA Ocean ServiceNOAA's National Ocean Service (NOS) is the nation's premier science agency for oceans and coasts. NOS Mission: To provide science-based solutions through collaborative partnerships to address evolving economic, environmental, and social pressures on our oceans and coasts.
- World Meteorological Organization (WMO) CatalogueThe World Meteorological Organization (WMO) is a specialized agency of the United Nations. It is the UN system's authoritative voice on the state and behaviour of the Earth's atmosphere, its interaction with the oceans, the climate it produces and the resulting distribution of water resources. Established in 1950, WMO became the specialized agency of the United Nations in 1951 for meteorology (weather and climate), operational hydrology and related geophysical sciences.
- DataONE Data Repository DataONE is a federation of 30 data repositories in the natural sciences (including, for example, Dryad, NOAA's NCEI, the KNB Data repository, and LTER Europe). Some are domain-specific subject repositories, others are institutional repositories at government agencies and universities. Cumulatively, there are currently 216,425 data sets held by the member repositories in the federation, which can all be accessed from https://search.dataone.org. Data coverage is global, as can be seen on the map on the search page showing the number of data sets from each geographic region.
NSU Oceanographic Campus Library, 8000 North Ocean Drive, Dania Beach, Florida 33004
(954) 262-3699 | oclibrary@nova.edu | Hours | NSU Libraries