Public Administration
Getting started
Introduction to public administration
Here is a list of books you can use if you need to familiarize yourself with public administration related terms.
International Dictionary of Public Management and Governance by ISBN: 9780765612618Publication Date: 2005-04-30
Please note some of these books might be reference books; reference books are only available for use in the library. You can identify those by looking at the Copies tab in the record of each book – the Location section should say Sherman Library Reference and the Status section should say LIB USE ONLY.
Encyclopedia of Public Administration and Public Policy by ISBN: 9781420052756Publication Date: 2007-12-04
Please note some of these books might be reference books; reference books are only available for use in the library. You can identify those by looking at the Copies tab in the record of each book – the Location section should say Sherman Library Reference and the Status section should say LIB USE ONLY.
Handbook of Research Methods in Public Administration by ISBN: 9780849353840Publication Date: 2007-11-14
Handbook of Research on Sub-National Governance and Development by
Effective governance is a crucial aspect of all modern nations. Through various collaborative efforts and processes, nations can enhance their current governance systems. The Handbook of Research on Sub-National Governance and Development is a pivotal reference source for the latest scholarly material on the intersection between local and national politics, analyzing how this relationship affects nations' economy and administration. Highlighting theoretical foundations and real-world applications, this book is ideally designed for professionals, academics, students, and practitioners actively involved in the fields of public policy and governance.
ISBN: 9781522516460Publication Date: 2016-11-30
The International Handbook of Public Administration and Governance by ISBN: 9781781954492Publication Date: 2015-04-24
The Routledge Handbook of Global Public Policy and Administration by
The Routledge Handbook of Global Public Policy and Administration is a comprehensive leading-edge guide for students, scholars and practitioners of public policy and administration. Public policy and administration are key aspects of modern societies that affect the daily lives of all citizens. This handbook examines current trends and reforms in public policy and administration, such as financial regulation, risk management, public health, e-government and many others at the local, national and international levels. The two themes of the book are that public policy and administration have acquired an important global aspect, and that a critical role for government is the regulation of capital. The handbook is organized into three thematic sections - Contemporary Challenges, Policy and Administration Responses and Forging a Resilient Public Administration - to allow readers to quickly access knowledge and improve their understanding of topics. The opening chapter, introductions to sections and extensive glossary aid readers to most effectively learn from the book. Each chapter provides a balanced overview of current knowledge, identifying issues and discussing relevant debates. The book is written by authors from Europe, Asia, North and South America, Africa and Australia.
ISBN: 9781315710020Publication Date: 2016-11-10
Please note some of these books might be reference books; reference books are only available for use in the library. You can identify those by looking at the Copies tab in the record of each book – the Location section should say Sherman Library Reference and the Status section should say LIB USE ONLY.
Required/recommended materials for selected Public Administration courses
| Course | Required or recommended materials |
| PUB 5409 |
Shafritz, Jay M. / Russell, E.W. / Borick, Christopher P. / Hyde, Albert C. Introducing Public Administration. (2023) is not available. The library has an older edition - Shafritz, Jay M. / Russell, E.W. / Borick, Christopher P. / Hyde, Albert C. Introducing Public Administration. (2013) |
| PUB 5429 |
Privitera, Gregory J. Statistics for the Behavioral Sciences. (2023) Privitera, Gregory J. Statistics for Behavioral Sciences - Student Study Guide (2018) |
| PUB 5439 | Feldman, Daniel L. (Ed.) Administrative Law. (2016) |
| PUB 5449 |
Clemons, Randyall S. Public policy praxis: A case approach for understanding policy and analysis. (2020) is not available. The library has an older edition - Clemons, Randyall S. Public policy praxis: A case approach for understanding policy and analysis. (2009) |
| PUB 5469 | Mikesell, John. Fiscal Administration. (2018) |
| PUB 5926 |
Mikesell, John. Fiscal Administration. (2018) |
| PUB 5932 |
Roseland, Mark. Toward Sustainable Communities. (2024) Flint, R. Warren. Practice of Sustainable Community Development. (2013) |
| Course | Required or recommended materials |
| PUB 6000 |
Perry, James L. Handbook of Public Administration. (2015) Raadschelders, Jos C.N. Mastering Public Administration: From Max Weber to Dwight Waldo. (2023) is not available. The library has an older edition - Raadschelders, Jos C.N. Mastering Public Administration: From Max Weber to Dwight Waldo. (2014) Guy, Mary E. Public Administration Evolving: From Foundations to the Future. (2015) |
| PUB 6449 |
Patton, Carl. Basic Methods of Policy Analysis and Planning. (2013) Bardach, Eugene S. / Patashnik, Eric M. Practical Guide for Policy Analysis: The Eightfold Path to More Effective Problem Solving. (2020) Weible, Christopher M. Theories Of The Policy Process. (2023) is not available. The library has an older edition - Weible, Christopher M. Theories Of The Policy Process. (2018) Neustadt, Richard E./May, Ernest R. Thinking In Time: The Uses Of History For Decision Makers. (1986) Sunstein, Cass R. Ethics of Influence: Government in the Age of Behavioral Science. (2016) |
| PUB 6927 | McDavid, James C. / Huse, Irene / Ingleson, Laura R. L. Program Evaluation and Performance Measurement (2019) |
