Theories of Ethnicity and Nationalism
Finding Books
Search the library catalog (NovaCat) to locate books, ebooks, videos, dvds, games and other material the libraries own. The catalog will indicate the format (online or in-print), location, and availability of an item. Remember, if you are looking for articles and other types of research material you will want to consult the databases. Use the search box below to begin searching. Or click the link below to go directly into the NovaCat catalog.
- Search NovaCat
- Search NovaCat for ebooks:
Downloading eBooks
What do you need to download an entire ebook using the NSU databases?
1. A device that supports Adobe Digital Editions or Bluefire Reader. Ebooks can be downloaded to iPads, PCs and several types of ereaders including a NOOK and Sony ereader. (Not sure if your device supports these applications? Check here.)
2. A library card or Sharklink ID to use the NSU databases.
3. Adobe Digital Editions or Bluefire Reader. Adobe Digital Editions is a free program that allows you to load the entire ebook for viewing and transfer it to a device. If you want to download to an ipad (or Apple device) you will want to download the Bluefire Reader application or the database specific application.
4. Create a free account with the ebook database(s). Both eBook Central and EBSCO ebooks allow you to download ebooks. You will need to create a free account for each database to be able to send the ebook to Adobe Digital Editions or Bluefire. Instructions to create an account are located in the box below.
eBook Collections
Selection of eBooks
Studying Ethnic Identity by ISBN: 9781433819797Publication Date: 2015-03-01Humans are a fundamentally social species. As individuals, we construct our identity through our affiliation, interaction, and identification with larger groups. And in diverse and multiethnic societies like ours, ethnic identity takes on an especially profound importance. In recent years, social scientists have been increasingly studying the meaning, process, and content of ethnic identity, but these efforts have been piecemeal, and the field as a whole has suffered from a lack of conceptual clarity and methodological rigor. In this book, editors Carlos Santos and Adriana Umaña-Taylor bring together a diverse group of social and applied scientists from a wide range of fields including educational anthropology, developmental, community and social psychology, and sociology. Together, they investigate the process by which ethnic identity is formed and maintained throughout the lifespan. Authors present qualitative and quantitative approaches to conceptualizing and measuring ethnic identity, including narrative psychology and ethnographic approaches, cognitive schemas and semi-structured interviews, as well as analyses of social networks. Throughout, authors present contextually-rich accounts of ethnic identity that keep the focus where it belongs, on the lived experience of real people.
Nationalism and Human Rights by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780230338562Publication Date: 2012-03-12By critically addressing the tension between nationalism and human rights that is presumed in much of the existing literature, the essays in this volume confront the question of how we should construe human rights: as a normative challenge to the excesses of modernity, particularly those associated with the modern nation-state, or as an adjunct of globalization, with its attendant goal of constructing a universal civilization based on neoliberal economic principles and individual liberty.
Encyclopedia of Global Studies by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781412964296Publication Date: 2012-03-15The Encyclopedia of Global Studies is the reference work for the emerging field of global studies. It covers both transnational topics and intellectual approaches to the study of global themes, including: the globalization of economies and technologies; the diaspora of cultures and dispersion of peoples; the transnational aspects of social and political change; the global impact of environmental, technological and health changes; and the organizations and issues related to global civil society.
The Ethics of Nationalism by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780198297468Publication Date: 2001-08-16The Ethics of Nationalism blends a philosophical discussion of the ethical merits and limits of nationalism with a detailed understanding of nationalist aspirations and a variety of national conflict zones. The author discusses the controversial and contemporary issues of rights of secession,the policies of the state in privileging a particular national group, the kinds of accommodations of minority national, and multi cultural identity groups that are justifiable and appropriate. These insights are then applied to two central nationalist aspirations: nation-building and nationalself-determination projects. The discussion of nation-building projects invloves a theory of the appropriate policies and principles that the state should follow in giving preferences to a particular national group. The discussion of national self-determination projets analyses the kind of prodedualright to secession that should be institutionalized in domestic constitutions or international law, and the psooibilities for accomodation rival caims to national recognition in the changing international order.
New Dictionary of the History of IdeasCall Number: eBookISBN: 0684313774Publication Date: 2004-12-03Experts examine major developments in intellectual history during the past 30 years. A board of specialists from various disciplines was assembled to reflect all aspects of knowledge from a global and gender-inclusive perspective, which allows readers to trace ideas and concepts across culture and time periods.
