Textbooks from Previous Years
Genetics: a Conceptual Approach by
Focusing on the big picture concepts in genetics, Genetics: A Conceptual Approach makes the connection between relevant topics to help clarify genetics overall for the introductory learner.
Call Number: AVAILABLE FOR PURCHASE ONLINEISBN: 9781319050962Publication Date: 2016-12-19
Genetics by
Ben Pierce is known for his ability to make the complex subject of genetics accessible to students, teaching them to see the big picture amid the details of the subject. By aiding students in identifying key concepts in genetics and showing them how concepts connect to one another, Pierce helps students learn genetics with greater ease.
Call Number: QH430 .P54 2012ISBN: 9781429232500Publication Date: 2010-12-10
Genetics Books & E-Books
Conservation and the Genomics of Populations by
The relentless loss of biodiversity is among the greatest problems facing the world today. The third edition of this established textbook provides an updated and comprehensive overview of the essential background, concepts, and tools required to understand how genetics can be used to conserve species, reduce threat of extinction, and manage species of ecological or commercial importance. This edition is thoroughly revised to reflect the major contribution of genomics to conservation of populations and species. It includes two new chapters: "Genetic Monitoring" and a final "Conservation Genetics in Practice" chapter that addresses the role of science and policy in conservation genetics. New genomic techniques and statistical analyses are crucial tools for the conservation geneticist. This accessible and authoritative textbook provides an essential toolkit grounded in population genetics theory, coupled with basic and applied research examples from plants, animals, and microbes. The book examines genetic and phenotypic variation in natural populations, the principles and mechanisms of evolutionary change, evolutionary response to anthropogenic change, and applications in conservation and management.Conservation and the Genomics of Populations helps demystify genetics and genomics for conservation practitioners and early career scientists, so that population genetic theory and new genomic data can help raise the bar in conserving biodiversity in the most critical 20 year period in the history of life on Earth. It is aimed at a global market of applied population geneticists, conservation practitioners, and natural resource managers working for wildlife and habitat management agencies. It will be of particular relevance and use to upper undergraduate and graduate students taking courses in conservation biology, conservation genetics, and wildlife management.
Call Number: QH75 .A42 2022ISBN: 9780198856566Publication Date: 2022-05-10
Concepts of Genetics by
For all introductory genetics courses Teach students core genetics concepts and applications Concepts of Genetics emphasizes the fundamental ideas of genetics, while exploring modern techniques and applications of genetic analysis. This best-selling text continues to provide understandable explanations of complex, analytical topics and recognizes the importance of teaching students how to become effective problem solvers. The 12th Edition has been extensively updated to provide comprehensive coverage of important, emerging topics such as CRISPR-Cas and the study of posttranscriptional gene regulation in eukaryotes. An expanded emphasis on ethical considerations that genetics is bringing into everyday life is addressed in Genetics, Ethics, and Society and Case Study features. The accompanying MasteringTM Genetics online platform is updated with new tutorials and Dynamic Study Modules. Also available with Mastering Genetics MasteringTM is the teaching and learning platform that empowers you to reach every student. By combining trusted author content with digital tools developed to engage students and emulate the office-hour experience, Mastering personalizes learning and improves results for each student. With a wide range of interactive, engaging, and assignable activities, students are encouraged to actively learn and retain tough course concepts.
Call Number: QU 500 K66c 2019ISBN: 9780134604718Publication Date: 2019-05-09
Molecular Population Genetics by
Molecular Population Genetics is a general text covering one of the most active and exciting areas in biology. Combining advances in molecular biology and genomics with mathematical and empirical findings from population genetics, work in molecular population genetics has uncovered the extraordinary history of natural selection and demographic shifts in many organisms, including humans. While basic descriptions of the methods and tools of this field can be found in disparate places, no previous book has brought them together in a single volume. Rather than cobble together pieces from books, reviews, and primary research articles, Molecular Population Genetics presents a coherent user's guide to the field. Intended as a text for upper-level undergraduate and graduate students, the book will also be useful as a detailed reference for active professionals.This title is available as an eBook. Please contact your Sales and Learning Resource Consultant for more information.
Call Number: QH352 .H34 2019ISBN: 9780878939657Publication Date: 2018-04-17
Genetics by
In the past, introductory biology courses based on evolution tended to give short shrift to molecular biology. Introductory molecular biology and genetics courses tended to ignore evolutionary principles altogether or included them as concluding chapters that were often skipped. Bacteria were usually treated separately from eukaryotes. Using the analysis of genomes as the organizing approach in Genetics: Genes, Genomes, and Evolution provides the opportunity to unite these topics in one narrative. Genomic analysis is inherently both molecular and evolutionary, and in Genetics: Genes, Genomes, and Evolution, includes this unified perspective in every chapter. Thus, rather than relying on separate chapters on "genome analysis" or "evolutionary principles" and hoping that the student can synthesize them, these ideas are integrated into every topic.
Call Number: QH430 .M46 2017ISBN: 9780198795360Publication Date: 2017-07-25
Genomes by
Genomes 4has been completely revised and updated. It is a thoroughly modern textbook about genomes and how they are investigated. As with Genomes 3, techniques come first, then genome anatomies, followed by genome function, and finally genome evolution. The genomes of all types of organism are covered: viruses, bacteria, fungi, plants, and animals including humans and other hominids. Genome sequencing and assembly methods have been thoroughly revised including a survey of four genome projects: human, Neanderthal, giant panda, and barley. Coverage of genome annotation emphasizes genome-wide RNA mapping, with CRISPR-Cas 9 and GWAS methods of determining gene function covered. The knowledge gained from these techniques forms the basis of the three chapters that describe the three main types of genomes: eukaryotic, prokaryotic (including eukaryotic organelles), and viral (including mobile genetic elements). Coverage of genome expression and replication is truly genomic, concentrating on the genome-wide implications of DNA packaging, epigenome modifications, DNA-binding proteins, non-coding RNAs, regulatory genome sequences, and protein-protein interactions. Also included are applications of transcriptome analysis, metabolomics, and systems biology. The final chapter is on genome evolution, focusing on the evolution of the epigenome, using genomics to study human evolution, and using population genomics to advance plant breeding. Established methods of molecular biology are included if they are still relevant today and there is always an explanation as to why the method is still important. Each chapter has a set of short-answer questions, in-depth problems, and annotated further reading. There is also an extensive glossary. Genomes 4is the ideal text for upper level courses focused on genomes and genomics.
Call Number: QH447 .B76 2018ISBN: 0815345089Publication Date: 2017-05-24
Introduction to Coevolutionary Theory by
Coevolution drives biological diversification, structures ecological communities, and promotes major evolutionary transitions such as the evolution of sexual reproduction. Introduction to Coevolutionary Theory develops the mathematical models and key theoretical results upon which our current understanding of coevolution rests. By anchoring each chapter in the biology of a well-studied species interaction and providing a step by step guide to model development, analysis, and interpretation, Nuismer takes the mystery out of mathematical modeling and provides readers with the tools they need to develop and analyze coevolutionary models of their own.
Call Number: QH372 .N85 2017ISBN: 9781319106195Publication Date: 2017-01-09
Molecular Data Analysis Using R by
This book addresses the difficulties experienced by wet lab researchers with the statistical analysis of molecular biology related data. The authors explain how to use R and Bioconductor for the analysis of experimental data in the field of molecular biology. The content is based upon two university courses for bioinformatics and experimental biology students (Biological Data Analysis with R and High-throughput Data Analysis with R). The material is divided into chapters based upon the experimental methods used in the laboratories. Key features include: * Broad appeal--the authors target their material to researchers in several levels, ensuring that the basics are always covered. * First book to explain how to use R and Bioconductor for the analysis of several types of experimental data in the field of molecular biology. * Focuses on R and Bioconductor, which are widely used for data analysis. One great benefit of R and Bioconductor is that there is a vast user community and very active discussion in place, in addition to the practice of sharing codes. Further, R is the platform for implementing new analysis approaches, therefore novel methods are available early for R users.
Call Number: QH506 .O78 2017ISBN: 9781119165026Publication Date: 2017-02-06
Molecular Cell Biology by
With its acclaimed author team, cutting-edge content, emphasis on medical relevance, and coverage based on key experiments, Molecular Cell Biology has justly earned an impeccable reputation as an exciting and authoritative text. Avoiding an encyclopedic approach, the book grounds its coverage in the experiments that define our understanding of cell biology, engaging students with the exciting breakthroughs that define the field's history and point to its future. The authors, all world-class researchers and teachers, incorporate medically relevant examples where appropriate to help illustrate the connections between cell biology and health and human disease.
Call Number: QH581.2 .M655 2016ISBN: 9781464183393Publication Date: 2016-04-01
Evolving Animals by
What do we know about animal evolution in the early twenty-first century? How much more do we know today than Darwin did? What are the most exciting discoveries that have been made in the last few decades? Covering all the main animal groups, from jellyfish to mammals, this book considers all of these questions and more. Its 30 short chapters, each written in a conversational, nontechnical style and accompanied by numerous original illustrations, deal equally with the pattern and the process of evolution - with both evolutionary trees and evolutionary mechanisms. They cover diverse evolutionary themes, including: the animal toolkit, natural selection, embryos and larvae, animal consciousness, fossils, human evolution, and even the possibility of animal life existing elsewhere than on Earth. This unique text will make an excellent introduction for undergraduates and others with an interest in the subject.
Call Number: QH366.2 .A775 2014ISBN: 9781107049635Publication Date: 2014-08-07
The Princeton Guide to Evolution by
The Princeton Guide to Evolution is a comprehensive, concise, and authoritative reference to the major subjects and key concepts in evolutionary biology, from genes to mass extinctions. Edited by a distinguished team of evolutionary biologists, with contributions from leading researchers, the guide contains some 100 clear, accurate, and up-to-date articles on the most important topics in seven major areas: phylogenetics and the history of life; selection and adaptation; evolutionary processes; genes, genomes, and phenotypes; speciation and macroevolution; evolution of behavior, society, and humans; and evolution and modern society. Complete with more than 100 illustrations (including eight pages in color), glossaries of key terms, suggestions for further reading on each topic, and an index, this is an essential volume for undergraduate and graduate students, scientists in related fields, and anyone else with a serious interest in evolution. Explains key topics in some 100 concise and authoritative articles written by a team of leading evolutionary biologists Contains more than 100 illustrations, including eight pages in color Each article includes an outline, glossary, bibliography, and cross-references Covers phylogenetics and the history of life; selection and adaptation; evolutionary processes; genes, genomes, and phenotypes; speciation and macroevolution; evolution of behavior, society, and humans; and evolution and modern society
Call Number: QH367 .P85 2014ISBN: 9780691149776Publication Date: 2013-12-01
A Dictionary of Genetics by
Few fields over the past few years have experienced the phenomenal developments of genetics. In the five years since the fifth edition of this book (1997), geneticists have added more than enough new words and revised existing meanings to warrant a new edition. With approximately 7,000 entries, ranging from a few lines to often a column, and frequent illustrations, this handy volume deserves the designation "encyclopedic dictionary." Multidisciplinary in approach, the dictionary incorporates terms from medicine, statistics, geology, physics, etc., frequently found in genetic literature along with those from closely allied disciplines of molecular and cell biology, and is particularly useful in explaining them in relation to genetics. Almost as valuable as the body of definitions are the five appendixes, including an extensive chronology, 16th century to 2001, and a thorough index of scientists. Bibliographies cite landmark works in genetics, genetics periodicals, and important Web sites.
Call Number: QH427 .K55 2013ISBN: 9780199766437Publication Date: 2012-08-01
Molecular Biology by
The biological world operates on a multitude of scales - from molecules to cells to tissues to organisms to ecosystems. Throughout all these levels runs a common thread: the communication and onward passage of information - from cell to cell, from organism to organism and, ultimately, fromgeneration to generation. This information is stored, at the most fundamental level, in each living cell in our body. But how does this information - no more than a static repository of data - come alive to govern the processes that constitute life? The answer lies in the concerted action of molecular components which cooperate in a series of ingenious processes to bring the information deposited in each of us, in our genome, to life. These components and processes lie at the heart of one of the most endlessly fascinating subjects to engage theminds of scientists today: molecular biology. Molecular Biology: Principles of Genome Function offers a fresh, distinctive approach to the teaching of molecular biology. It is an approach that reflects the challenge of teaching a subject that is in many ways unrecognizable from the molecular biology of the 20th century - a discipline in whichour understanding has advanced immeasurably, but about which many intriguing questions remain to be answered. It is written with several guiding themes in mind: * A focus on key principles, rather than an attempt to offer exhaustive detail, provides a robust conceptual framework on which students can build a solid understanding of the discipline;* An emphasis on the commonalities that exist between the three kingdoms of life, and the discussion of differences between the three kingdoms where such differences offer instructive insights into molecular processes and components, gives students an accurate depiction of our current understandingof the conserved nature of molecular biology, and the differences that underpin biological diversity;* An integrated approach demonstrates how certain molecular phenomena have diverse impacts on genome function by presenting them as themes that recur throughout the book, rather than as artificially separated topics.At heart, molecular biology is an experimental science, and a central element to the understanding of molecular biology is an appreciation of the approaches taken to yield the information from which concepts and principles are deduced. However, a mass of experimental evidence can make the grasping of the central ideas and paradigms that the experimental evidence has allowed us to elucidate more difficult. Molecular Biology responds to this challenge by complementing its coverage of key concepts in the main body of the text withseparate Experimental Approach panels, which branch off from the text in a clearly-signposted way. These Experimental Approach panels describe pieces of research that have been undertaken, and which have been particularly valuable in elucidating difference aspects of molecular biology.Beyond this, Molecular Biology further enriches the learning experience with full-colour, custom-drawn artwork; end-of-chapter summaries; relevant suggested further readings grouped by topic; and an extensive glossary of key terms.Among the students being taught today are the molecular biologists of tomorrow; these individuals will be in a position to ask fascinating questions about fields whose complexity and sophistication become more apparent with each year that passes. Molecular Biology: Principles of Genome Function isthe perfect introduction to this challenging, dynamic, but ultimately fascinating discipline.The Online Resource Centre to accompany Molecular Biology: Principles of Genome Function featuresFor registered adopters of the text:Electronic artwork:Figures from the book are available to download, for use in lectures.Journal Club:Suggested research papers and discussion questions linked to topics featured in the book build on the Experimental Approach panels in the book itself, to guide the process of assimilating knowledge from the research literatureFor everyone:New and noteworthy:A note of key highlights from the field of molecular biology since the book''s publication are updated for the start of each semester.Library of molecular structures:A library of three-dimensional models of key molecular structures featured in the book allow students to investigate these molecular components in more detail.
Call Number: QH506 .M6628 2010ISBN: 9780199562060Publication Date: 2010-01-01
Advances in Genetics by
Advances in Genetics, Volume 109 in this ongoing series, highlights new advances in the field, with this new volume presenting interesting chapters written by an international board of authors. Chapters in this new release include Epigenetic regulation of angiogenesis in tumor progression, RecBCD and Chi hotspots as determinants of self vs. non-self: A re-evaluation, Horizontal gene transfer to plants from Agrobacterium and related bacterial species, and more. Provides the authority and expertise of leading contributors from an international board of authors Presents the latest release in the Advances in Genetics series Includes the latest information on advances in this growing field of study
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9780443185816Publication Date: 2022-09-09
Conservation and the Genomics of Populations by
The relentless loss of biodiversity is among the greatest problems facing the world today. The third edition of this established textbook provides an updated and comprehensive overview of the essential background, concepts, and tools required to understand how genetics can be used to conserve species, reduce threat of extinction, and manage species of ecological or commercial importance. This edition is thoroughly revised to reflect the major contribution of genomics to conservation of populations and species. It includes two new chapters: "Genetic Monitoring" and a final "Conservation Genetics in Practice" chapter that addresses the role of science and policy in conservation genetics. New genomic techniques and statistical analyses are crucial tools for the conservation geneticist. This accessible and authoritative textbook provides an essential toolkit grounded in population genetics theory, coupled with basic and applied research examples from plants, animals, and microbes. The book examines genetic and phenotypic variation in natural populations, the principles and mechanisms of evolutionary change, evolutionary response to anthropogenic change, and applications in conservation and management.Conservation and the Genomics of Populations helps demystify genetics and genomics for conservation practitioners and early career scientists, so that population genetic theory and new genomic data can help raise the bar in conserving biodiversity in the most critical 20 year period in the history of life on Earth. It is aimed at a global market of applied population geneticists, conservation practitioners, and natural resource managers working for wildlife and habitat management agencies. It will be of particular relevance and use to upper undergraduate and graduate students taking courses in conservation biology, conservation genetics, and wildlife management.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9780198856573Publication Date: 2022-05-10
Genetics for Dummies by
Your no-nonsense guide to genetics With rapid advances in genomic technologies, genetic testing has become a key part of both clinical practice and research. Scientists are constantly discovering more about how genetics plays a role in health and disease, and healthcare providers are using this information to more accurately identify their patients' particular medical needs. Genetic information is also increasingly being used for a wide range of non-clinical purposes, such as exploring one's ancestry. This new edition of Genetics For Dummies serves as a perfect course supplement for students pursuing degrees in the sciences. It also provides science-lovers of all skill levels with easy-to-follow and easy-to-understand information about this exciting and constantly evolving field. This edition includes recent developments and applications in the field of genetics, such as: Whole-genome and whole-exome sequencing Precision medicine and pharmacogenetics Direct-to-consumer genetic testing for health risks Ancestry testing Featuring information on some of the hottest topics in genetics right now, this book makes it easier than ever to wrap your head around this fascinating subject.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781119633037Publication Date: 2020-01-02
Behavioral and Neural Genetics of Zebrafish by
Behavioral and Neural Genetics of Zebrafish assembles the state-of-the-art methodologies and current concepts pertinent to their neurobehavioral genetics. Discussing their natural behavior, motor function, learning and memory, this book focuses on the fry and adult zebrafish, featuring a comprehensive account of modern genetic and neural methods adapted to, or specifically developed for, Danio rerio. Numerous examples of how these behavioral methods may be utilized for disease models using the zebrafish are presented, as is a section on bioinformatics and "big-data" related questions. Provides the most comprehensive snapshot of the fast-evolving zebrafish neurobehavior genetics field Describes behavioral, genetic and neural methods and concepts for use in adult and larval zebrafish Features examples of zebrafish models of human central nervous system disorders Discusses bioinformatics questions pertinent to zebrafish neurobehavioral genetics
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9780128175293Publication Date: 2020-04-03
The Evolution of Molecular Biology by
The Evolution of Molecular Biology: The Search for the Secrets of Life provides the historical knowledge behind techniques founded in molecular biology, also presenting an appreciation of how, and by whom, these discoveries were made. It deals with the evolution of intellectual concepts in the context of active research in an approachable language that accommodates readers from a variety of backgrounds. Each chapter contains a prologue and epilogue to create continuity and provide a complete framework of molecular biology. This foundational work also functions as a historical and conceptual supplement to many related courses in biochemistry, biology, chemistry, genetics and history of science. In addition, the book demonstrates how the roots of discovery and advances-and an individual's own research-have grown out of the history of the field, presenting a more complete understanding and context for scientific discovery. Expands on the development of molecular biology from the convergence of two independent disciplines, biochemistry and genetics Discusses the value of molecular biology in a variety of applications Includes research ethics and the societal implications of research Emphasizes the human aspects of research and the consequences of such advances to society
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9780128129180Publication Date: 2018-02-20
The Story of Genetics, Development and Evolution: A Historical Dialogue by
This unique story offers an introductory conversation to genetics, embryology and evolution, taking us on a historical journey of biology through the ages. Using a series of dialogues between the Greek philosopher Democritus and his disciple Alkimos, we travel through time visiting eminent scientists throughout the centuries, from Lazzaro Spallanzani and Theodor Boveri to Francis Crick, Max Perutz and Christiane N sslein-Volhard. We find ourselves at the intersection of competing theories in biology and witness the progression from the debunking the theory of spontaneous generation to the mapping of the genome. Attention is given not only to the great successes in the field but also to the equally important and exciting failures.Originally published in Hungarian, The Story of Genetics, Development and Evolution provides a historical background to the life sciences, with complex scientific concepts stripped down and explained carefully for academics and anyone interested in going back to the roots and philosophies of scientific progress.Translated from: J kely G Master, are you awake? A fictitious dialogue on genetics, development and evolution. 2006, Bratislava: Kalligram
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781786342539Publication Date: 2017-05-02
The Source of Genetic Information by
Everyone who has taken any biology class knows that DNA is the heritable material. However, very few people know the evidence that led to this conclusion. Science is a discipline based on evidence not acceptance based on faith in a teacher or other authority. This book presents the historical and scientific context to understand how we know DNA is the heritable material. Furthermore, how the structure of DNA reveals its function will be discussed. The famous double helix shape foretold how it would be replicated. Two biochemists conducted the research to confirm that each of the two strands serve as template for new DNA synthesis. Despite its central role in cell function, the order of bases in DNA is not the full story. This book also introduces the topic of epigenetics by presenting the first animal experiments that showed epigenetic changes can lead to a change in phenotype even though the DNA is not mutated.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781944749163Publication Date: 2016-04-21
Variation and Population Genetics by
This book describes and analyzes genetic and environmental factors that cause variation in individuals and populations. Data will be used to evaluate the processes by which variation is generated in organisms and how variation affects natural selection. Genetic factors include mutation, independent assortment, crossing over, and recombination. Environmental factors include gradients and differences in abiotic conditions. Genotype frequencies can be used to determine allele frequencies and this information can be used to determine whether a population is evolving at a genetic locus. The Hardy-Weinberg equilibrium will be applied as a null model to make this determination. Non-Mendelian genetics can affect the evolution of viruses and reassortment in viruses will be used to illustrate another mechanism that generates variation in organisms and how this mechanism relates to rapid evolution of viruses and the need for annual flu vaccines.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781606509470Publication Date: 2016-04-27
Molecular Evolution and Population Genetics for Marine Biologists by
Research in modern experimental and theoretical population genetics has been strengthened by advances in molecular techniques for the analysis of genetic variability. The evolutionary relationships of organisms may be investigated by comparing DNA sequences. This book covers chapters on population genetics, DNA polymorphism, genetic homeostasis, and biochemical genetics, plus a chapter on phylogenetic tree construction. In addition, each chapter contains training materials with numerical examples.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781498701600Publication Date: 2015-08-24
Bioinformatics and Functional Genomics by
The bestselling introduction to bioinformatics and genomics - now in its third edition Widely received in its previous editions, Bioinformatics and Functional Genomics offers the most broad-based introduction to this explosive new discipline. Now in a thoroughly updated and expanded third edition, it continues to be the go-to source for students and professionals involved in biomedical research. This book provides up-to-the-minute coverage of the fields of bioinformatics and genomics. Features new to this edition include: Extensive revisions and a slight reorder of chapters for a more effective organization A brand new chapter on next-generation sequencing An expanded companion website, also updated as and when new information becomes available Greater emphasis on a computational approach, with clear guidance of how software tools work and introductions to the use of command-line tools such as software for next-generation sequence analysis, the R programming language, and NCBI search utilities The book is complemented by lavish illustrations and more than 500 figures and tables - many newly-created for the third edition to enhance clarity and understanding. Each chapter includes learning objectives, a problem set, pitfalls section, boxes explaining key techniques and mathematics/statistics principles, a summary, recommended reading, and a list of freely available software. Readers may visit a related Web page for supplemental information such as PowerPoints and audiovisual files of lectures, and videocasts of how to perform many basic operations: www.wiley.com/go/pevsnerbioinformatics. Bioinformatics and Functional Genomics, Third Edition serves as an excellent single-source textbook for advanced undergraduate and beginning graduate-level courses in the biological sciences and computer sciences. It is also an indispensable resource for biologists in a broad variety of disciplines who use the tools of bioinformatics and genomics to study particular research problems; bioinformaticists and computer scientists who develop computer algorithms and databases; and medical researchers and clinicians who want to understand the genomic basis of viral, bacterial, parasitic, or other diseases.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781118581766Publication Date: 2015-08-17
Conceptual Breakthroughs in Evolutionary Genetics by
"Conceptual Breakthroughs in Evolutionary Genetics" is a pithy, lively book occupying a special niche the conceptual history of evolutionary genetics not inhabited by any other available treatment. Written by a world-leading authority in evolutionary genetics, this work encapsulates and ranks 70 of the most significant paradigm shifts in evolutionary biology and genetics during the century-and-a-half since Darwin and Mendel. The science of evolutionary genetics is central to all of biology, but many students and other practitioners have little knowledge of its historical roots and conceptual developments. This book fills that knowledge gap in a thought-provoking and readable format. This fascinating chronological journey along the many conceptual pathways to our modern understanding of evolutionary and genetic principles is a wonderful springboard for discussions in undergraduate or graduate seminars in evolutionary biology and genetics. But more than that, anyone interested in the history and philosophy of science will find much of value between its covers. Provides a relative ranking of 70 seminal breakthroughs and paradigm shifts in the field of evolutionary biology and geneticsModular format permits ready access to each described subjectHistorical overview of a field whose concepts are central to all of biology and relevant to a broad audience of biologists, science historians, and philosophers of scienceExtensively cross-referenced with a guide to landmark papers and books for each topic"
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781306384216Publication Date: 2014-01-24
Conservation and the Genetics of Populations by
Loss of biodiversity is among the greatest problems facing the world today. Conservation and the Genetics of Populations gives a comprehensive overview of the essential background, concepts, and tools needed to understand how genetic information can be used to conserve species threatened with extinction, and to manage species of ecological or commercial importance. New molecular techniques, statistical methods, and computer programs, genetic principles, and methods are becoming increasingly useful in the conservation of biological diversity. Using a balance of data and theory, coupled with basic and applied research examples, this book examines genetic and phenotypic variation in natural populations, the principles and mechanisms of evolutionary change, the interpretation of genetic data from natural populations, and how these can be applied to conservation. The book includes examples from plants, animals, and microbes in wild and captive populations. This second edition contains new chapters on Climate Change and Exploited Populations as well as new sections on genomics, genetic monitoring, emerging diseases, metagenomics, and more. One-third of the references in this edition were published after the first edition. Each of the 22 chapters and the statistical appendix have a Guest Box written by an expert in that particular topic (including James Crow, Louis Bernatchez, Loren Rieseberg, Rick Shine, and Lisette Waits). This book is essential for advanced undergraduate and graduate students of conservation genetics, natural resource management, and conservation biology, as well as professional conservation biologists working for wildlife and habitat management agencies. Additional resources for this book can be found at: www.wiley.com/go/allendorf/populations.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9780470671450Publication Date: 2012-12-17
Genetics and Neurobiology of down Syndrome by
Genetics and Neurobiology of Down Syndrome provides a thorough review of the genetic etiology and mechanisms of trisomy 21. The author discusses the history of the syndrome, along with the clinical features and health consequences, including physical features, cognitive, and neurologic symptoms. Genetic counseling on pros and cons of prenatal screening and testing and associated ethical issues are explored. This unique book also covers the societal and demographic aspects as well as the future direction of therapeutic development. Reviews genetic etiology and mechanisms of trisomy 21 Discusses prenatal screening and genetic counseling, including ethical aspects Explores link between Down Syndrome and susceptibility to Alzheimer's and early brain aging Covers cognitive and neurological symptoms and other health consequences Identifies future therapeutic developments
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9780323904575Publication Date: 2022-08-21
Genetics and the Behavior of Domestic Animals by
Genetics and the Behavior of Domestic Animals: Third Edition offers the latest and most valuable information on animal science and behavioral genetics, carrying on the book's legacy since its original publication in 1998. This book synthesizes research from behavioral genetics and animal and veterinary science, bridging the gap between these fields. The objective is to show that principles of behavioral genetics have practical applications to agricultural and companion animals. The continuing domestication of animals is a complex process whose myriad impacts on animal behavior are commonly under-appreciated. Genetic factors play a significant role in both species-specific behaviors and behavioral differences exhibited by individuals in the same species. Leading authorities explore the impact of increased intensities of selection on domestic animal behavior. Rodents, cattle, pigs, sheep, horses, herding and guard dogs, and poultry are all included in these discussions of genetics and behavior, making this book useful to veterinarians, livestock producers, laboratory animal researchers and technicians, animal trainers and breeders, and any researcher interested in animal behavior. Genetics and the Behavior of Domestic Animals: Third Edition is the most valuable resource for researchers and practitioners in animal and veterinary science, animal behavior, genetics, ethology, and similar fields. Advanced undergraduate and graduate students in these disciplines will also benefit from the global expertise featured in this newest edition.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9780323857529Publication Date: 2022-07-07
First in Fly by
A single species of fly, Drosophila melanogaster, has been the subject of scientific research for more than one hundred years. Why does this tiny insect merit such intense scrutiny? Drosophila's importance as a research organism began with its short life cycle, ability to reproduce in large numbers, and easy-to-see mutant phenotypes. Over time, laboratory investigation revealed surprising similarities between flies and other animals at the level of genes, gene networks, cell interactions, physiology, immunity, and behavior. Like humans, flies learn and remember, fight microbial infection, and slow down as they age. Scientists use Drosophila to investigate complex biological activities in a simple but intact living system. Fly research provides answers to some of the most challenging questions in biology and biomedicine, including how cells transmit signals and form ordered structures, how we can interpret the wealth of human genome data now available, and how we can develop effective treatments for cancer, diabetes, and neurodegenerative diseases. Written by a leader in the Drosophila research community, First in Fly celebrates key insights uncovered by investigators using this model organism. Stephanie Elizabeth Mohr draws on these "first in fly" findings to introduce fundamental biological concepts gained over the last century and explore how research in the common fruit fly has expanded our understanding of human health and disease.
Call Number: QL537.D76 M65 2018ISBN: 9780674971011Publication Date: 2018-03-09
Handbook of Statistical Genetics by
The Handbook for Statistical Genetics is widely regarded as the reference work in the field. However, the field has developed considerably over the past three years. In particular the modeling of genetic networks has advanced considerably via the evolution of microarray analysis. As a consequence the 3rd edition of the handbook contains a much expanded section on Network Modeling, including 5 new chapters covering metabolic networks, graphical modeling and inference and simulation of pedigrees and genealogies. Other chapters new to the 3rd edition include Human Population Genetics, Genome-wide Association Studies, Family-based Association Studies, Pharmacogenetics, Epigenetics, Ethic and Insurance. As with the second Edition, the Handbook includes a glossary of terms, acronyms and abbreviations, and features extensive cross-referencing between the chapters, tying the different areas together. With heavy use of up-to-date examples, real-life case studies and references to web-based resources, this continues to be must-have reference in a vital area of research. Edited by the leading international authorities in the field. David Balding - Department of Epidemiology & Public Health, Imperial College An advisor for our Probability & Statistics series, Professor Balding is also a previous Wiley author, having written Weight-of-Evidence for Forensic DNA Profiles, as well as having edited the two previous editions of HSG. With over 20 years teaching experience, he's also had dozens of articles published in numerous international journals. Martin Bishop - Head of the Bioinformatics Division at the HGMP Resource Centre As well as the first two editions of HSG, Dr Bishop has edited a number of introductory books on the application of informatics to molecular biology and genetics. He is the Associate Editor of the journal Bioinformatics and Managing Editor of Briefings in Bioinformatics. Chris Cannings - Division of Genomic Medicine, University of Sheffield With over 40 years teaching in the area, Professor Cannings has published over 100 papers and is on the editorial board of many related journals. Co-editor of the two previous editions of HSG, he also authored a book on this topic.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9780470997628Publication Date: 2008-06-10
A Primer of Conservation Genetics by
This concise, entry level text provides an introduction to the importance of genetic studies in conservation and presents the essentials of the discipline in an easy-to-follow format, with main points and terms clearly highlighted. The authors assume only a basic knowledge of Mendelian genetics and simple statistics, making the book accessible to those with a limited background in these areas. Connections between conservation genetics and the wider field of conservation biology are interwoven throughout the book. Worked examples are provided throughout to help illustrate key equations and glossary and suggestions for further reading provide additional support for the reader. Many beautiful pen and ink portraits of endangered species are included to enhance the text. Written for short, introductory level courses in genetics, conservation genetics and conservation biology, this book will also be suitable for practising conservation biologists, zoo biologists and wildlife managers.
Call Number: QH456 .F73 2004ISBN: 0521831105Publication Date: 2004-02-12
Evolutionary Analysis by
This book presents evolution as a process, emphasizing the interplay between theory, observation, testing, and interpretation.The book conveys the excitement and logic of evolutionary science through the use of real-world applications.For anyone interested in the dynamic study of evolution.
Call Number: QH366.2 .F73 2004ISBN: 9780131018594Publication Date: 2003-07-14
Genetics by
With genetics and genetic engineering receiving almost daily coverage in the media, this book is an introduction for general readers who wish to know more about a science that is changing our world. Starting with the history of genetics, from primitive breeding programmes to Mendel's Law, and moving on to a full explanation of genetics and its role in our future, this is a comprehensive survey of genetics past, present and future.
Call Number: QH430 .G464 2002ISBN: 1851683046Publication Date: 2002-11-25
Genetics by
Intended for courses in genetics in departments of biology, genetics, and agriculture. This book emphasizes those things that students should come to understand and take away with them, not the details that must be memorized and are soon forgotten.
Call Number: QH442 .K59 2003ISBN: 0130085308Publication Date: 2002-08-05
A Primer of Genome Science by
While over a dozen new journals devoted to genomics have appeared in the last few years, no introductory textbook that covers the range of disciplines incorporated into Genome Science has materialized, until now. A Primer in Genome Sciences bridges the gap between standard genetics textbooks and highly specialized, technical, and advanced treatments of the sub-disciplines. It provides an affordable and up-to-date introduction to the field that is well suited to advanced undergraduate or early graduate courses. Bioinformatic principles and experimental strategies are explained side-by-side with the experimental methods, establishing a framework that allows teachers to explore topics and the literature at their own pace. Each of the Primer's six chapters includes: exercises that can be worked by students using the internet and freely available software for analysis of genomic data; discussion questions; a summary; and suggestions for further reading. An Appendix includes a glossary of terms, with a brief review of key genetic concepts.
Call Number: QH447 .G534 2002ISBN: 0878932348Publication Date: 2001-12-01
Adaptive Genetic Variation in the Wild by
Two of the great mysteries of biology yet to be explored concern the distribution and abundance of genetic variation in natural populations and the genetic architecture of complex traits. These are tied together by their relationship to natural selection and evolutionary history, and some ofthe keys to disclosing these secrets lie in the study of wild organisms in their natural environments. This book, featuring a superb selection of papers from leading authors, summarizes the state of current understanding about the extent of genetic variation within wild populations and the ways to monitor such variation. It proposes the idea that a fundamental objective of evolutionary ecology isnecessary to predict organism, population, community, and ecosystem response to environmental change. In fact, the overall theme of the papers centers around the expression of genetic variation and how it is shaped by the action of natural selection in the natural environment.Patterns of adaptation in the past and the genetic basis of traits likely to be under selection in a dynamically changing environment is discussed along with a wide variety of techniques to test for genetic variation and its consequences, ranging from classical demography to the use of molecularmarkers. This book is perfect for professionals and graduate students in genetics, biology, ecology, conservation biology, and evolution.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 019512183XPublication Date: 2000-01-13
Genetics and the Origin of Species by
Featuring an introduction by Stephen Jay Gould, "Genetics and the Origin of Species" presents the first edition of Dobzhansky's groundbreaking and now classic inquiry into what has emerged as the most important single area of scientific inquiry in the twentieth century: biological theory of evolution. Genetics and the Origin of Species went through three editions (1937, 1941, and 1951) in which the importance accorded natural selection changed radically.
Call Number: QH366.2 .D59 1982ISBN: 0231054750Publication Date: 1982-07-22
