Featured Resources
Discrete Mathematics by
Aimed at undergraduate mathematics and computer science students, this book is an excellent introduction to a lot of problems of discrete mathematics. It discusses a number of selected results and methods, mostly from areas of combinatorics and graph theory, and it uses proofs and problem solving to help students understand the solutions to problems. Numerous examples, figures, and exercises are spread throughout the book.
Call Number: QA39.3 .L68 2003ISBN: 0387955844Publication Date: 2003-01-27
Essential Discrete Mathematics by
Written for freshman/sophomore, one-semester introductory courses in discrete mathematics designated for computer science students, this text introduces the mathematics of computer science and prepares students for the mathematics they are likely to encounter in later courses. It includes applications that are specific to computer science.
Call Number: QA76.9.M35 F44 2003ISBN: 0130186619Publication Date: 2002-11-14
Guide to Discrete Mathematics by
This stimulating textbook presents a broad and accessible guide to the fundamentals of discrete mathematics, highlighting how the techniques may be applied to various exciting areas in computing. The text is designed to motivate and inspire the reader, encouraging further study in this important skill. Features: provides an introduction to the building blocks of discrete mathematics, including sets, relations and functions; describes the basics of number theory, the techniques of induction and recursion, and the applications of mathematical sequences, series, permutations, and combinations; presents the essentials of algebra; explains the fundamentals of automata theory, matrices, graph theory, cryptography, coding theory, language theory, and the concepts of computability and decidability; reviews the history of logic, discussing propositional and predicate logic, as well as advanced topics; examines the field of software engineering, describing formal methods; investigates probability and statistics.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9783319445618Publication Date: 2016-09-16
Discrete Mathematics Books & E-Books
Discrete Mathematics and Its Applications by
Discrete Mathematics and Its Applications is intended for one or two term introductory Discrete Mathematics courses taken by students from a wide variety of majors, including Computer Science, Mathematics, and Engineering. This renowned best-selling text, which has been used at over 500 institutions around the world, gives a focused introduction to the primary themes in a Discrete Mathematics course and demonstrates the relevance and practicality of Discrete Mathematics to a wide variety of real-world applications--from Computer Science to Data Networking, to Psychology, to Chemistry, to Engineering, to Linguistics, to Biology, to Business, and many other important fields. McGraw-Hill's Connect, is also available as an optional, add on item. Connect is the only integrated learning system that empowers students by continuously adapting to deliver precisely what they need, when they need it, how they need it, so that class time is more effective. Connect allows the professor to assign homework, quizzes, and tests easily and automatically grades and records the scores of the student's work. Problems are randomized to prevent sharing of answers an may also have a "multi-step solution" which helps move the students' learning along if they experience difficulty.
Call Number: QA39.3 .R67 2012ISBN: 9780073383095Publication Date: 2011-06-14
Discrete Mathematics by
This books gives an introduction to discrete mathematics for beginning undergraduates. One of original features of this book is that it begins with a presentation of the rules of logic as used in mathematics. Many examples of formal and informal proofs are given. With this logical framework firmly in place, the book describes the major axioms of set theory and introduces the natural numbers. The rest of the book is more standard. It deals with functions and relations, directed and undirected graphs, and an introduction to combinatorics. There is a section on public key cryptography and RSA, with complete proofs of Fermat's little theorem and the correctness of the RSA scheme, as well as explicit algorithms to perform modular arithmetic. The last chapter provides more graph theory. Eulerian and Hamiltonian cycles are discussed. Then, we study flows and tensions and state and prove the max flow min-cut theorem. We also discuss matchings, covering, bipartite graphs.
Call Number: QA76.9.M35 G35 2011ISBN: 9781441980465Publication Date: 2011-01-25
Introduction to Computational Mathematics by
This unique book provides a comprehensive introduction to computational mathematics, which forms an essential part of contemporary numerical algorithms, scientific computing and optimization. It uses a theorem-free approach with just the right balance between mathematics and numerical algorithms. This edition covers all major topics in computational mathematics with a wide range of carefully selected numerical algorithms, ranging from the root-finding algorithm, numerical integration, numerical methods of partial differential equations, finite element methods, optimization algorithms, stochastic models, nonlinear curve-fitting to data modelling, bio-inspired algorithms and swarm intelligence. This book is especially suitable for both undergraduates and graduates in computational mathematics, numerical algorithms, scientific computing, mathematical programming, artificial intelligence and engineering optimization. Thus, it can be used as a textbook and/or reference book.
Call Number: QA297 .Y36 2015ISBN: 9789814635776Publication Date: 2015-01-01
How to Guard an Art Gallery and Other Discrete Mathematical Adventures by
What is the maximum number of pizza slices one can get by making four straight cuts through a circular pizza? How does a computer determine the best set of pixels to represent a straight line on a computer screen? How many people at a minimum does it take to guard an art gallery? Discrete mathematics has the answer to these-and many other-questions of picking, choosing, and shuffling. T. S. Michael's gem of a book brings this vital but tough-to-teach subject to life using examples from real life and popular culture. Each chapter uses one problem-such as slicing a pizza-to detail key concepts about counting numbers and arranging finite sets. Michael takes a different perspective in tackling each of eight problems and explains them in differing degrees of generality, showing in the process how the same mathematical concepts appear in varied guises and contexts. In doing so, he imparts a broader understanding of the ideas underlying discrete mathematics and helps readers appreciate and understand mathematical thinking and discovery. This book explains the basic concepts of discrete mathematics and demonstrates how to apply them in largely nontechnical language. The explanations and formulas can be grasped with a basic understanding of linear equations.
Call Number: QA164 .M53 2009ISBN: 9780801892981Publication Date: 2009-07-30
Probabilistic Forecasting and Bayesian Data Assimilation by
In this book the authors describe the principles and methods behind probabilistic forecasting and Bayesian data assimilation. Instead of focusing on particular application areas, the authors adopt a general dynamical systems approach, with a profusion of low-dimensional, discrete-time numerical examples designed to build intuition about the subject. Part I explains the mathematical framework of ensemble-based probabilistic forecasting and uncertainty quantification. Part II is devoted to Bayesian filtering algorithms, from classical data assimilation algorithms such as the Kalman filter, variational techniques, and sequential Monte Carlo methods, through to more recent developments such as the ensemble Kalman filter and ensemble transform filters. The McKean approach to sequential filtering in combination with coupling of measures serves as a unifying mathematical framework throughout Part II. Assuming only some basic familiarity with probability, this book is an ideal introduction for graduate students in applied mathematics, computer science, engineering, geoscience and other emerging application areas.
Call Number: QA279.5 .R45 2015ISBN: 9781107069398Publication Date: 2015-05-14
Graph Theory with Applications to Engineering and Computer Science by
This outstanding introductory treatment of graph theory and its applications has had a long life in the instruction of advanced undergraduates and graduate students in all areas that require knowledge of this subject. The first nine chapters constitute an excellent overall introduction, requiring only some knowledge of set theory and matrix algebra. Topics include paths and circuits, trees and fundamental circuits, planar and dual graphs, vector and matrix representation of graphs, and related subjects.The remaining six chapters are more advanced, covering graph theory algorithms and computer programs, graphs in switching and coding theory, electrical network analysis by graph theory, graph theory in operations research, and more. Instructors may combine these chapters with the preceding material for courses in a variety of fields, including electrical engineering, computer science, operations research, and applied mathematics.
Call Number: TA338.G7 D46 2016ISBN: 9780486807935Publication Date: 2016-08-17
Graph Theory and Interconnection Networks by
The advancement of large scale integrated circuit technology has enabled the construction of complex interconnection networks. Graph theory provides a fundamental tool for designing and analyzing such networks. Graph Theory and Interconnection Networks provides a thorough understanding of these interrelated topics. After a brief introduction to graph terminology, the book presents well-known interconnection networks as examples of graphs, followed by in-depth coverage of Hamiltonian graphs. Different types of problems illustrate the wide range of available methods for solving such problems. The text also explores recent progress on the diagnosability of graphs under various models.
Call Number: QA166 .H78 2009ISBN: 9781420044812Publication Date: 2008-09-26
Logic and Discrete Mathematics by
A concise yet rigorous introduction to logic and discrete mathematics. This book features a unique combination of comprehensive coverage of logic with a solid exposition of the most important fields of discrete mathematics, presenting material that has been tested and refined by the authors in university courses taught over more than a decade. The chapters on logic - propositional and first-order - provide a robust toolkit for logical reasoning, emphasizing the conceptual understanding of the language and the semantics of classical logic as well as practical applications through the easy to understand and use deductive systems of Semantic Tableaux and Resolution. The chapters on set theory, number theory, combinatorics and graph theory combine the necessary minimum of theory with numerous examples and selected applications. Written in a clear and reader-friendly style, each section ends with an extensive set of exercises, most of them provided with complete solutions which are available in the accompanying solutions manual. Key Features: Suitable for a variety of courses for students in both Mathematics and Computer Science. Extensive, in-depth coverage of classical logic, combined with a solid exposition of a selection of the most important fields of discrete mathematics Concise, clear and uncluttered presentation with numerous examples. Covers some applications including cryptographic systems, discrete probability and network algorithms. Logic and Discrete Mathematics: A Concise Introduction is aimed mainly at undergraduate courses for students in mathematics and computer science, but the book will also be a valuable resource for graduate modules and for self-study.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781118751275Publication Date: 2015-06-15
Advances in Interdisciplinary Applied Discrete Mathematics by
In the past 50 years, discrete mathematics has developed as a far-reaching and popular language for modeling fundamental problems in computer science, biology, sociology, operations research, economics, engineering, etc. The same model may appear in different guises, or a variety of models may have enough similarities such that same ideas and techniques can be applied in diverse applications. This book focuses on fields such as consensus and voting theory, clustering, location theory, mathematical biology, and optimization that have seen an upsurge of new and exciting works over the past two decades using discrete models in modern applications. Featuring survey articles written by experts in these fields, the articles emphasize the interconnectedness of the mathematical models and techniques used in various areas, and elucidate the possibilities for future interdisciplinary research. Additionally, this book discusses recent advances in the fields, highlighting the approach of cross-fertilization of ideas across disciplines.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9789814299145Publication Date: 2010-09-21
Invitation to Discrete Mathematics by
Invitation to Discrete Mathematics is an introduction and a thoroughly comprehensive text at the same time. A lively and entertaining style with mathematical precision and maturity uniquely combine into an intellectual happening and should delight the interested reader. A master example of teaching contemporary discrete mathematics, and of teaching science in general.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9780198570431Publication Date: 2008-12-15
The Discrete Math Workbook by
This practically-oriented textbook presents an accessible introduction to discrete mathematics through a substantial collection of classroom-tested exercises. Each chapter opens with concise coverage of the theory underlying the topic, reviewing the basic concepts and establishing the terminology, as well as providing the key formulae and instructions on their use. This is then followed by a detailed account of the most common problems in the area, before the reader is invited to practice solving such problems for themselves through a varied series of questions and assignments. Topics and features: provides an extensive set of exercises and examples of varying levels of complexity, suitable for both laboratory practical training and self-study; offers detailed solutions to many problems, applying commonly-used methods and computational schemes; introduces the fundamentals of mathematical logic, the theory of algorithms, Boolean algebra, graph theory, sets, relations, functions, and combinatorics; presents more advanced material on the design and analysis of algorithms, including asymptotic analysis, and parallel algorithms; includes reference lists of trigonometric and finite summation formulae in an appendix, together with basic rules for differential and integral calculus. This hands-on study guide is designed to address the core needs of undergraduate students training in computer science, informatics, and electronic engineering, emphasizing the skills required to develop and implement an algorithm in a specific programming language.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9783319926452Publication Date: 2018-08-09
A First Course in Bayesian Statistical Methods by
A self-contained introduction to probability, exchangeability and Bayes' rule provides a theoretical understanding of the applied material. Numerous examples with R-code that can be run "as-is" allow the reader to perform the data analyses themselves. The development of Monte Carlo and Markov chain Monte Carlo methods in the context of data analysis examples provides motivation for these computational methods.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9780387922997Publication Date: 2009-07-14
Introduction to Bayesian Statistics by
"...this edition is useful and effective in teaching Bayesian inference at both elementary and intermediate levels. It is a well-written book on elementary Bayesian inference, and the material is easily accessible. It is both concise and timely, and provides a good collection of overviews and reviews of important tools used in Bayesian statistical methods." There is a strong upsurge in the use of Bayesian methods in applied statistical analysis, yet most introductory statistics texts only present frequentist methods. Bayesian statistics has many important advantages that students should learn about if they are going into fields where statistics will be used. In this third Edition, four newly-added chapters address topics that reflect the rapid advances in the field of Bayesian statistics. The authors continue to provide a Bayesian treatment of introductory statistical topics, such as scientific data gathering, discrete random variables, robust Bayesian methods, and Bayesian approaches to inference for discrete random variables, binomial proportions, Poisson, and normal means, and simple linear regression. In addition, more advanced topics in the field are presented in four new chapters: Bayesian inference for a normal with unknown mean and variance; Bayesian inference for a Multivariate Normal mean vector; Bayesian inference for the Multiple Linear Regression Model; and Computational Bayesian Statistics including Markov Chain Monte Carlo. The inclusion of these topics will facilitate readers' ability to advance from a minimal understanding of Statistics to the ability to tackle topics in more applied, advanced level books. Minitab macros and R functions are available on the book's related website to assist with chapter exercises. Introduction to Bayesian Statistics, Third Edition also features: Topics including the Joint Likelihood function and inference using independent Jeffreys priors and join conjugate prior The cutting-edge topic of computational Bayesian Statistics in a new chapter, with a unique focus on Markov Chain Monte Carlo methods Exercises throughout the book that have been updated to reflect new applications and the latest software applications Detailed appendices that guide readers through the use of R and Minitab software for Bayesian analysis and Monte Carlo simulations, with all related macros available on the book's website Introduction to Bayesian Statistics, Third Edition is a textbook for upper-undergraduate or first-year graduate level courses on introductory statistics course with a Bayesian emphasis. It can also be used as a reference work for statisticians who require a working knowledge of Bayesian statistics.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781118091562Publication Date: 2016-10-03
Bayesian Statistics by
Bayesian Statistics is the school of thought that combines priorbeliefs with the likelihood of a hypothesis to arrive at posteriorbeliefs. The first edition of Peter Lee?s book appeared in1989, but the subject has moved ever onwards, with increasingemphasis on Monte Carlo based techniques. This new fourth edition looks at recent techniques such asvariational methods, Bayesian importance sampling, approximateBayesian computation and Reversible Jump Markov Chain Monte Carlo(RJMCMC), providing a concise account of the way in which theBayesian approach to statistics develops as well as how itcontrasts with the conventional approach. The theory is built upstep by step, and important notions such as sufficiency are broughtout of a discussion of the salient features of specificexamples. This edition: Includes expanded coverage of Gibbs sampling, including morenumerical examples and treatments of OpenBUGS, R2WinBUGS andR2OpenBUGS. Presents significant new material on recent techniques such asBayesian importance sampling, variational Bayes, ApproximateBayesian Computation (ABC) and Reversible Jump Markov Chain MonteCarlo (RJMCMC). Provides extensive examples throughout the book to complementthe theory presented. Accompanied by a supporting website featuring new material andsolutions. More and more students are realizing that they need to learnBayesian statistics to meet their academic and professional goals.This book is best suited for use as a main text in courses onBayesian statistics for third and fourth year undergraduates andpostgraduate students.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781118332573Publication Date: 2012-09-04
Fundamentals of Discrete Math for Computer Science by
This clearly written textbook presents an accessible introduction to discrete mathematics for computer science students, offering the reader an enjoyable and stimulating path to improve their programming competence. The text empowers students to think critically, to be effective problem solvers, to integrate theory and practice, and to recognize the importance of abstraction. Its motivational and interactive style provokes a conversation with the reader through a questioning commentary, and supplies detailed walkthroughs of several algorithms. This updated and enhanced new edition also includes new material on directed graphs, and on drawing and coloring graphs, in addition to more than 100 new exercises (with solutions to selected exercises). Topics and features: assumes no prior mathematical knowledge, and discusses concepts in programming as and when they are needed; designed for both classroom use and self-study, presenting modular and self-contained chapters that follow ACM curriculum recommendations; describes mathematical processes in an algorithmic manner, often supported by a walkthrough demonstrating how the algorithm performs the desired task; includes an extensive set of exercises throughout the text, together with numerous examples, and shaded boxes highlighting key concepts; selects examples that demonstrate a practical use for the concept in question. Students embarking on the start of their studies of computer science will find this book to be an easy-to-understand and fun-to-read primer, ideal for use in a mathematics course taken concurrently with their first programming course.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 3319701509Publication Date: 2018-05-08
Computability in Context by
Computability has played a crucial role in mathematics and computer science, leading to the discovery, understanding and classification of decidable/undecidable problems, paving the way for the modern computer era, and affecting deeply our view of the world. Recent new paradigms of computation, based on biological and physical models, address in a radically new way questions of efficiency and challenge assumptions about the so-called Turing barrier.This volume addresses various aspects of the ways computability and theoretical computer science enable scientists and philosophers to deal with mathematical and real-world issues, covering problems related to logic, mathematics, physical processes, real computation and learning theory. At the same time it will focus on different ways in which computability emerges from the real world, and how this affects our way of thinking about everyday computational issues.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781848162457Publication Date: 2011-02-25
A First Course in Mathematical Logic and Set Theory by
A mathematical introduction to the theory and applications of logic and set theory with an emphasis on writing proofs Highlighting the applications and notations of basic mathematical concepts within the framework of logic and set theory, A First Course in Mathematical Logic and Set Theory introduces how logic is used to prepare and structure proofs and solve more complex problems. The book begins with propositional logic, including two-column proofs and truth table applications, followed by first-order logic, which provides the structure for writing mathematical proofs. Set theory is then introduced and serves as the basis for defining relations, functions, numbers, mathematical induction, ordinals, and cardinals. The book concludes with a primer on basic model theory with applications to abstract algebra. A First Course in Mathematical Logic and Set Theory also includes: Section exercises designed to show the interactions between topics and reinforce the presented ideas and concepts Numerous examples that illustrate theorems and employ basic concepts such as Euclid's lemma, the Fibonacci sequence, and unique factorization Coverage of important theorems including the well-ordering theorem, completeness theorem, compactness theorem, as well as the theorems of Löwenheim-Skolem, Burali-Forti, Hartogs, Cantor-Schröder-Bernstein, and König An excellent textbook for students studying the foundations of mathematics and mathematical proofs, A First Course in Mathematical Logic and Set Theory is also appropriate for readers preparing for careers in mathematics education or computer science. In addition, the book is ideal for introductory courses on mathematical logic and/or set theory and appropriate for upper-undergraduate transition courses with rigorous mathematical reasoning involving algebra, number theory, or analysis.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9780470905883Publication Date: 2015-09-08
Combinatorics by
Combinatorics is mathematics of enumeration, existence, construction, and optimization questions concerning finite sets. This text focuses on the first three types of questions and covers basic counting and existence principles, distributions, generating functions, recurrence relations, Polya theory, combinatorial designs, error correcting codes, partially ordered sets, and selected applications to graph theory including the enumeration of trees, the chromatic polynomial, and introductory Ramsey theory. The only prerequisites are single-variable calculus and familiarity with sets and basic proof techniques. The text emphasizes the brands of thinking that are characteristic of combinatorics: bijective and combinatorial proofs, recursive analysis, and counting problem classification. It is flexible enough to be used for undergraduate courses in combinatorics, second courses in discrete mathematics, introductory graduate courses in applied mathematics programs, as well as for independent study or reading courses. What makes this text a guided tour are the approximately 350 reading questions spread throughout its eight chapters. These questions provide checkpoints for learning and prepare the reader for the end-of-section exercises of which there are over 470. Most sections conclude with Travel Notes that add color to the material of the section via anecdotes, open problems, suggestions for further reading, and biographical information about mathematicians involved in the discoveries.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9780883857625Publication Date: 2010-12-31
Combinatorics by
Bridges combinatorics and probability and uniquely includes detailed formulas and proofs to promote mathematical thinking Combinatorics: An Introduction introduces readers to counting combinatorics, offers examples that feature unique approaches and ideas, and presents case-by-case methods for solving problems. Detailing how combinatorial problems arise in many areas of pure mathematics, most notably in algebra, probability theory, topology, and geometry, this book provides discussion on logic and paradoxes; sets and set notations; power sets and their cardinality; Venn diagrams; the multiplication principal; and permutations, combinations, and problems combining the multiplication principal. Additional features of this enlightening introduction include: Worked examples, proofs, and exercises in every chapter Detailed explanations of formulas to promote fundamental understanding Promotion of mathematical thinking by examining presented ideas and seeing proofs before reaching conclusions Elementary applications that do not advance beyond the use of Venn diagrams, the inclusion/exclusion formula, the multiplication principal, permutations, and combinations Combinatorics: An Introduction is an excellent book for discrete and finite mathematics courses at the upper-undergraduate level. This book is also ideal for readers who wish to better understand the various applications of elementary combinatorics.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781118480298Publication Date: 2014-08-21
Discrete Mathematics with Graph Theory by
For courses in Discrete Mathematics. Adopting a user-friendly, conversational-and at times humorous-style, these authors make the principles and practices of discrete mathematics as stimulating as possible while presenting comprehensive, rigorous coverage. Examples and exercises integrated throughout each chapter serve to pique student interest and bring clarity to even the most complex concepts. Above all, the book is designed to engage todays students in the interesting, applicable facets of modern mathematics. *NEW - Chapter One is completely rewritten - Includes new sections on truth tables, the algebra of propositions and logical arguments. Provides students with greater coverage of logic and truth tables at the beginning of the text. *NEW - Most algorithms have been rewritten. Allows students to see algorithms in a less casual way so as to more closely resemble computer code. *NEW - Review exercises - Added to the end of every chapter. Helps students to review and reinforce text concepts. *NEW - Emphasis on writing and critical thinking skills, allows students to strengthen their skills in these areas. *More than 200 worked examples and problems as well as over 2500 exercises
Call Number: QA39.3 .G66 2002ISBN: 0130920002Publication Date: 2001-07-19
Discrete Mathematics by
The long-awaited second edition of Norman Bigg's best-selling Discrete Mathematics includes new chapters on statements and proof, logical framework, natural numbers and the integers, in addition to updated chapters from the previous edition. Carefully structured, coherent and comprehensive, each chapter contains tailored exercises and solutions to selected questions and miscellaneous exercises are presented throughout. This is an invaluable text for students seeking a clear introduction to discrete mathematics, graph theory, combinatorics, number theory and abstract algebra.Key Features:* Contains nine new introductory chapters, in addition to updated chapters from the previous edition* Contains over 1000 individual exercises and selected solutions* Companion website www.oup.com/mathematics/discretemath contains hints and solutions to all exercisesContents:The Language of Mathematics1. Statements and proofs2. Set notation3. The logical framework4. Natural numbers5. Functions6. How to count 7. Integers8. Divisibility and prime numbers9. Fractions and real numbersTechniques10. Principles of counting11. Subsets and designs12. Partition, classification and distribution13. Modular arithmeticAlgorithms and Graphs14. Algorithms and their efficiency15. Graphs16. Trees, sorting and searching17. Bipartite graphs and matching problems18. Digraphs, networks and flows19. Recursive techniquesAlgebraic Methods20. Groups21. Groups of permutations22. Rings, fields and polynomials23. Finite fields and some applications24. Error-correcting codes25. Generating functions26. Partitions of a positive integer27. Symmetry and counting
Call Number: QA76.9.M35 B54 2002ISBN: 0198507178Publication Date: 2003-02-20
A Beginner's Guide to Discrete Mathematics by
This introduction to discrete mathematics is aimed primarily at undergraduates in mathematics and computer science at the freshmen and sophomore levels. The text has a distinctly applied orientation and begins with a survey of number systems and elementary set theory. Included are discussions of scientific notation and the representation of numbers in computers. An introduction to set theory includes mathematical induction and leads into a discussion of Boolean algebras and circuits. the Bonomial Theorem, is used in studying the basics of probability theory. Graph study is discussed, including Euler and Hamilton cycles and trees. This is a vehicle for some easy proofs as well as serving as another example of a data structure. Matrices and vectors are then defined. The book concludes with an introduction to cryptography, including the RSA cryptosystem together with the necessary elementary number theory, such as the Euclidean algorithm. solutions are provided. At the end of each section there is a problem set, with solutions to odd-numbered exercises. There is also a full index. college algebra being the most helpful. However, students with greater mathematical preparation will benefit from some of the more challenging sections.
Call Number: QA39.3 .W35 2002ISBN: 0817642692Publication Date: 2002-11-08
Discrete Mathematics with Combinatorics by
For freshman-level, one- or two-semester courses in Discrete Mathematics. This carefully organized, very readable text covers every essential topic in discrete mathematics in a logical fashion. Placing each topic in context, it covers concepts associated with discrete mathematical systems that have applications in computer science, engineering, and mathematics. The author introduces more basic concepts at the freshman level than are found in other texts, in a simple, accessible form. Introductory material is balanced with extensive coverage of graphs, trees, recursion, algebra, theory of computing, and combinatorics. Extensive examples throughout the text reinforce concepts.
Call Number: QA39.2 .A534 2001ISBN: 0130869988Publication Date: 2000-07-20
Discrete Mathematics by
An accessible introduction to discrete mathematics through an algorithmic approach that focuses on problem-solving techniques. This edition has woven techniques of proofs into the text as a running theme. Each chapter has a problem-solving corner that shows students how to attack and solve problems.
Call Number: QA39.2 .J65 2001ISBN: 0130890081Publication Date: 2000-08-23
A First Course in Discrete Mathematics by
Drawing on many years'experience of teaching discrete mathem atics to students of all levels, Anderson introduces such as pects as enumeration, graph theory and configurations or arr angements. Starting with an introduction to counting and rel ated problems, he moves on to the basic ideas of graph theor y with particular emphasis on trees and planar graphs. He de scribes the inclusion-exclusion principle followed by partit ions of sets which in turn leads to a study of Stirling and Bell numbers. Then follows a treatment of Hamiltonian cycles, Eulerian circuits in graphs, and Latin squares as well as proof of Hall's theorem. He concludes with the constructions of schedules and a brief introduction to block designs. Each chapter is backed by a number of examples, with straightforw ard applications of ideas and more challenging problems.
Call Number: QA39.2 .A533 2000ISBN: 1852332360Publication Date: 2000-10-27
Discrete Mathematics by
The strong algorithmic emphasis of "Discrete Mathematics" is independent of a specific programming language, allowing students to concentrate on foundational problem-solving and analytical skills. Instructors get the topical breadth and organizational flexibility to tailor the course to the level and interests of their students. Algorithms are presented in English, eliminating the need for knowledge of a particular programming language. Computational and algorithmic exercise sets follow each chapter section and supplementary exercises and computer projects are included in the end-of-chapter material. This Fifth Edition features a new Chapter 3 covering matrix codes, error correcting codes, congruence, Euclidean algorithm and Diophantine equations, and the RSA algorithm. MARKET: Intended for use in a one-semester introductory course in discrete mathematics.
Call Number: QA39.2 .D57 1997ISBN: 0673980391Publication Date: 1997-01-07
Discrete Mathematics by
The strong algorithmic emphasis of Discrete Mathematics is independent of a specific programming language, allowing students to concentrate on foundational problem-solving and analytical skills. Instructors get the topical breadth and organizational flexibility to tailor the course to the level and interests of their students. Algorithms are presented in English, eliminating the need for knowledge of a particular programming language. Computational and algorithmic exercise sets follow each chapter section and supplementary exercises and computer projects are included in the end-of-chapter material. This Fifth Edition features a new Chapter 3 covering matrix codes, error correcting codes, congruence, Euclidean algorithm and Diophantine equations, and the RSA algorithm. MARKET: Intended for use in a one-semester introductory course in discrete mathematics.
Call Number: QA39.3 .D58 2006ISBN: 9780321305152Publication Date: 2005-11-18
Discrete Mathematics with Applications by
This approachable text studies discrete objects and the relationsips that bind them. It helps students understand and apply the power of discrete math to digital computer systems and other modern applications. It provides excellent preparation for courses in linear algebra, number theory, and modern/abstract algebra and for computer science courses in data structures, algorithms, programming languages, compilers, databases, and computation.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 0124211801Publication Date: 2003-12-12
Introduction to the Design and Analysis of Algorithms by
This text introduces the reader to the design and analysis of algorithms. It teaches broad problem-solving skills alongside an introduction to algorithms. The author achieves this by using three unique features: a table of contents that is based on a more effective taxonomy of algorithm design techniques; a style of presentation that emphasizes understanding over excessively formal treatment; and extensive use of puzzles and exercises that motivate the presentation of the material.
Call Number: QA76.9.A43 L48 2003ISBN: 0201743957Publication Date: 2002-10-30
Basic Set Theory by
Although this book deals with basic set theory (in general, it stops short of areas where model-theoretic methods are used) on a rather advanced level, it does it at an unhurried pace. This enables the author to pay close attention to interesting and important aspects of the topic that might otherwise be skipped over. Written for upper-level undergraduate and graduate students, the book is divided into two parts. The first covers pure set theory, including the basic notions, order and well-foundedness, cardinal numbers, the ordinals, and the axiom of choice and some of its consequences. The second part deals with applications and advanced topics, among them a review of point set topology, the real spaces, Boolean algebras, and infinite combinatorics and large cardinals. A helpful appendix deals with eliminability and conservation theorems, while numerous exercises supply additional information on the subject matter and help students test their grasp of the material. 1979 edition. 20 figures.
Call Number: QA248 .L398 2002ISBN: 0486420795Publication Date: 2002-08-13
Foundations of Computing by
Set theory and logic are the twin pillars of computing science. Their mastery is an essential part of the software engineer's education. This book provides a clear introduction to the key ideas of these two subjects and shows how they can be applied successfully in formal system development. Highlights of the book include: A presentation of set theory as a modelling language of universal applicability A wealth of practical examples demonstrating the remarkable simplicity and naturalness of set theory as a description tool A description of logic as a formal language, and as a simple way of introducing the key concepts of formal syntax, semantics and deduction calculus A practical methodology of system development based on set theory and illustrated by several substantial case studies The book starts from first principles and requires no prior knowledge of mathematics. It will be equally valuable for students of computing science and software engineers wishing to develop the skills required to apply formal methods successfully.
Call Number: QA76.9.S88 S29 1994ISBN: 0201544296Publication Date: 1994-10-31
Find Books, Journals, Media:
E-Books | Advanced Search | My Library Account | ILL - Interlibrary Loan |