Panza Maurer Law Library
The Panza Maurer Library
Welcome to the Panza Maurer Law Library at NSU Shepard Broad College of Law. We invite you to utilize the extensive resources and engage in the many learning opportunities we offer. We strive to meet the information needs of the NSU College of Law students, faculty, staff, alumni, and community.
Our collection is housed on two floors in a 43,000 square foot facility. The first floor contains study space as well as the office for the International Law Students Association (ILSA) Journal. The second floor contains our Student Collection, Practitioner Collection, Core Collection, Faculty Reserve, and General Collection. Library Administration, Circulation, Reference Services and Technical Services are also located on this floor. The third floor includes the Johnny C. Burris Collection, our Federal and New York law materials, as well as the offices of the Nova Law Review and Moot Court. The law library continually adds new resources to its print and electronic collections.
Copiers and student printers are located on the second and third floors. Scanners capable of scanning to patron's e-mail address, eletronic devices, or USB drives are also available behind the Circulation Desk on the second floor. Study Rooms and carrels are available throughout the library for NSU College of Law Students, and comfortable seating is available on all floors.
Panza Maurer Law Library Hours
Monday - Sunday
8:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Monday - Thursday
8:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Friday
8:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Saturday - Sunday
12:00 PM - 2:00 PM
(954) 262-6202
Get Reference Help/Schedule a Reference Appointment
Monday - Friday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
By Phone - (954) 262-6201
By E-mail: E-Mail a Reference Librarian
Click the below button to request and schedule a reference appointment.
Book a Study Room
Click the button below to link to the Law Library's study rooms reservation system.
NOTE: Study rooms in the Law Library are available for reservation by law students only.
Staff Information
Panza Maurer Law Library Mission Statement
The Panza Maurer Law Library connects members of the law school community to information, ideas, and resources.
We accomplish this mission by:
- Creating a pathway to research and learning by educating students, faculty, and staff.
- Providing comprehensive, current, and relevant collections while adhering to fiscally responsible acquisitions.
- Aligning our services and resources with the evolving needs of the law school.
- Engaging students and faculty with innovative library resources and technology services.
Law Library FAQs
You will need your NSU Shark Card I.D. or your Broward County library card to check out materials. College of Law alumni may provide a photo I.D. to check out materials. Please note that many items in the collection do not circulate. Items that do not circulate include codes, reporters, loose-leaf materials, periodicals, multi volume series, and books with pocket parts. For information on which materials circulate and the length of our checkout periods, please check the Panza Maurer Law Library Policy page (https://nsufl.libguides.com/lawlibrary/policies).
The copier rooms are located on the 2nd and 3rd floors next to the elevators. Each room has copy machines and student printers. Copies are 10 cents a page. You can use your NSU Shark Card to make copies after adding value to your card. Non-NSU patrons can use cash to make copies. The law library provides two scanners for use by students and the public located behind the Circulation Desk.
Law librarians that have both J.D.s and Master's degrees in Library and Information Science (and are also licensed to practice law in various jurisdictions) are available for consult. The Circulation Desk staff can call a librarian to assist you if a librarian is available. If you have a question that may take more than 10-15 minutes to answer, please make an appointment with a reference librarian (https://law-nova.libcal.com/appointments/).
Food and drinks are permitted in the library. Please make sure to throw all waste in trash cans and report any spills to the circulation desk.
Please put the books you use on the red carts at the end of the stacks so that our staff can re-shelve them. This ensure that that they are in their proper resting spot and saves you the hassle or putting them back.
There are 23 study rooms available for checkout by NSU College of Law students only. (https://law-nova.libcal.com/reserve/spaces/studyrooms)
The second floor entrance level is a collaborative zone where talking at a reasonable volume is cool, but cell phone conversations may be disruptive to others so we ask that onto the bridge or Atrium for extended discussions. The other two floors are quiet areas so please do not talk on your phone on these levels.
Maps of the Library
Mailing Address and Directions
The Law Library's Mailing Address is:
Panza Maurer Law Library
Shepard Broad College of Law
Leo Goodwin, Sr. Building
Nova Southeastern University
Davie, Florida 33314
The Law Library's GPS Address is:
6778 SW 30th Street
Davie, Florida 33314
DIRECTIONS TO NSU SHEPARD BROAD COLLEGE OF LAW
From East Broward County, Palm Beach and Miami via I-95:
(1) Take I-95 to I-595 West. [NOTE: Coming from West Broward via Sawgrass or I-75, take I-595 East and exit at University Drive and turn right on University, then follow instructions below starting with (4).
(2) Travel west about 5 miles to University Drive exit.
(3) At end of exit ramp, turn left on University Drive.
(4) Continue south past Nova Drive then get in left lane and be ready to turn left at SW 30th Street, (a/k/a Abe Fischler Blvd.) and then turn left (east) on SW 30th Street.
(5) Continue east on SW 30th 0.7 miles. The NSU Medical/Health Professions school is on your right as you head east on SW 30th Street. Pass the Miami Dolphins training center, pass the NSU North entrance. NSU College of Law entrance will be the last entrance on your right. If you get to Broward College on College Ave, you have gone too far. GPS address: 6778 SW 30th Street, Davie, FL.
Law Library Parking:
Visitors may use the main parking garage located to the west of the law school.