Panza Maurer Law Library
Bar Examination Resources
Welcome Bar Applicants!
This guide is intended to assist NSU College of Law students prepare for the Multi-State Professional Responsibility Exam (MPRE) and the Bar Exam by highlighting the Bar preparation materials made available through the Panza Maurer Law Library.
- Comprehensive Guide to Bar Admission RequirementsIncludes application requirements, score requirements, and character and fitness information.
About the MPRE
The Multistate Professional Responsibility Exam (MPRE) is a two-hour 60-question exam administered three times a year. It is required for admission in all US Jurisdictions (except Wisconsin and Puerto Rico). According to the NCBE, "the purpose of the MPRE is to measure candidates' knowledge and understanding of established standards related to the professional conduct of lawyers."
Registering for the MPRE is a multi-step process. You must first complete the NCBE portion of the registration process. Then, you will receive an email within 24 hours that will allow you to schedule your test appointment with Pearson VUE and pay the test fee. The test fee must be paid by 11:59 p.m. Central time on the registration deadline.
2024 Test Dates
| Test Administration Date | Recommended Submission Date to Apply For Accommodations | Registration Deadline Fee: $160 |
|---|---|---|
| March 26 or 27, 2024 | December 5, 2023 | January 25, 2024 |
| August 13 or 14, 2024 | April 24, 2024 | June 12, 2024 |
| November 7 or 8, 2024 | July 24, 2024 | September 18, 2024 |
- MPRE InformationGeneral MPRE information on the NCBE website, including registration information and passing scores in each state.
- NCBE MPRE Preparation GuideNCBE guide that includes relevant rules, key words and phrases, study aids for purchase and sample test questions.
- Florida Board of Bar Examiners MPRE InformationPlease visit the Florida Board of Bar Examiners website for specific information on the MPRE within the state of Florida.
MPRE Preparation Courses
Both Barbri and Kaplan offer free MPRE preparation courses online. These are useful tools to aid in deciding which Bar Preparation course to use.
- Barbri MPRE Prep CourseModeled after the bar prep course, includes on demand lectures and simulated practice tests.
- Kaplan MPRE Prep CourseMPRE review course with downloadable outline and over 300 pages of course material.
MPRE Study Aids available at the Law Library
Strategies and Tactics for the MPRE by
Optimize your ability to pass the Multistate Professional Responsibility Exam (MPRE)! Strategies & Tactics for the MPRE is filled with questions released from the National Conference of Bar Examiners (NCBE). Thorough explanations of the correct and incorrect answers provide you with the analyses you need to master the MPRE. Strategies & Tactics for the MPRE features: Basic information about the MPRE and what to expect A recap of important terminology you will need to know Expert advice on how to avoid common mistakes and spot tricky questions 156 NCBE-released questions from past MPRE exams, all with answers In-depth, detailed answers to every question that explain not only why the correct answer is correct, but why the other choices are not Advice on how to benefit the most from the practice exam questions A detailed strategy for approaching the exam and logical rules to use to deconstruct each question
Call Number: online onlyISBN: 9781454893882Publication Date: 2017-07-26
A Short and Happy Guide to the MPRE by
This Short & Happy Guide provides students with the essential concepts and overarching themes that are most frequently tested on the MPRE. The Guide covers the rules of professional responsibility giving students the best introduction they can have as they begin their exam preparation.
Call Number: online onlyISBN: 9781634603478Publication Date: 2016-06-17
The Weekend MPRE by
The Weekend MPRE book and video course is designed to prepare users for the MPRE in a single weekend, primarily through thoughtful explanations of the most tested aspects of the rules of professional responsibility. This package includes either a softcover print book or an eBook, along with 12-month digital access to 14 videos, two practice exams, quizzes, and A Short & Happy Guide to the MPRE.
Call Number: online onlyISBN: 9781640206236Publication Date: 2018-01-17
Professional Responsibility Study Aids
Exam Pro on Professional Responsibility by
Helping law students score higher on law school tests, the Exam Pro Series offers sample exams and corresponding answers with detailed analysis. Each Exam Pro title is authored by a leading law professor and recognized expert in an area of law and contains multiple choice and essay questions based on current court decisions. Detailed explanations for each answer describe the best possible choice as well as red herring answers, which helps increase law student understanding of a topic and build exam skills.
Call Number: online onlyISBN: 9781647083847Publication Date: 2020-08-17
Examples and Explanations for Professional Responsibility by
Examples & Explanations for Professional Responsibility, Sixth Edition, is a thorough and comprehensive text that can be used by students as a study aid and by professional responsibility teachers as a class text. It covers the whole field of professional responsibility, focusing not only on the ABA Model Rules, but on the often-complex relationship between the rules and doctrines of agency, tort, contract, evidence, and constitutional law. Beginning with the formation of the attorney-client relationship, the book proceeds through topics including attorneys' fees, malpractice and ineffective assistance of counsel, confidentiality and privilege rules, conflicts of interest, witness perjury and litigation misconduct, advertising and solicitation, admission to practice, and the organization of the legal profession. Coverage includes all subjects that are tested on the Multistate Professional Responsibility Exam (MPRE), including: A chapter on judicial ethics, a subject tested on the MPRE and not often covered thoroughly, if at all, in law school professional responsibility courses. Updated discussion and examples based on recent developments in the law, including the ABA's simplification of the rules on advertising and solicitation, new Model Rule 8.4(g) on discrimination in the practice of law, the California Supreme Court's Sheppard Mullin opinion on advance waivers of conflicts, and continuing developments in the impact of technology on the practice of law. More MPRE-style multiple-choice questions in the Examples. New to the Sixth Edition: Revised and updated to reflect recent developments in the law having to do with lawyering, including new ABA rules, ethics opinions, and cases. New and revised examples and explanations in many chapters. Professors and students will benefit from: Comprehensive, updated coverage of all areas of professional responsibility, with attention to areas that are particularly challenging for students (as well as many practicing lawyers!), such as conflicts of interest and privilege and confidentiality. A study aid that without "teaching to the test," provides students with thorough preparation for the MPRE, which is the first licensing exam that many law students take.
Call Number: online onlyISBN: 9781543815191Publication Date: 2019-08-20
The Florida Bar Exam
Introduction
The Florida Bar Examination consists of
- The General Bar Examination.
- Florida Law Examination
- Multistate Bar Examination (MBE)
- The Multistate Professional Responsibility Examination (MPRE)
The General Bar Examination includes two parts split over two days.
Part A is the Florida Law Examination
Part B is the Multistate Bar Examination (MBE)
- The Florida Board of Bar Examiners websiteProvides information on admissions requirements, application information, and exam information.
* For detailed information about the non-Florida components of The Florida Bar examination, please visit the preceding Multistate Professional Responsibility Exam (MPRE) section and the following The Multistate Bar Examination (MBE) section on this page*
The Florida Law Portion
The Florida Law portion of the exam tests your knowledge of both general and Florida law. "When Florida law varies from general law, the question should be answered in accordance with Florida law"
This portion includes three essay questions and 100 multiple choice questions.
Subjects Tested in six segments.
- Will be tested in one segment:
- Florida Rules of Civil Procedure, Criminal Procedure, and Judicial Administration
- Judicial Administration includes only- disqualification of trial judges; public access to judicial branch records; minimization of the filing of sensitive information; the qualifications, restrictions, and conditions pertaining to attorneys in their representation of clients in Florida Courts; and the signature of attorneys and parties on pleadings and other papers
- May be tested in the remaining five segments (each segment contains no more than three subjects)
- Florida Constitutional Law
- Federal Constitutional Law
- Trusts
- Business Entities
- Real Property
- Evidence
- Torts
- Wills & Administrative Estates
- Criminal Law and Constitutional Criminal Procedure
- Contracts
- Articles 3 and 9 of the Uniform Commercial Code
- Family Law
- Chapters 4 and 5 of The Rules Regulating the Florida Bar
- Professionalism
- Florida Bar Exam Study GuidesThe FBBE (Florida Board of Bar Examiners) website provides essay questions and answers from prior bar examinations. Please note that the law contained in these answers may not be current, and may not be considered as a correct answer on the current exam. Sample multiple choice questions and an answer key are also included.
Florida Bar Examination books available at the Law Library
Acing the Bar Exam by
Acing the Bar Exam provides candidates with a complete guide to the bar exam -- from pre-planning considerations through bar review and sitting for the exam. It features comprehensive coverage of the Uniform Bar Exam, including an explanation of each component and how to prepare for it. Every aspect of the process is explained in detail and by example. The bar exam is de-constructed, section by section, where candidates are led through the steps they need to follow to succeed. Approaches for learning the black letter law, setting study schedules, and answering essay and multiple-choice questions are combined to maximize the likelihood of success. Each of these tasks is then configured into checklist format to help candidates navigate each step. This approach puts the candidate in control of the bar exam and not the other way around.
Call Number: online onlyISBN: 9781634608060Publication Date: 2016-06-03// Chapter 2 discusses the Florida Bar Exam
Florida Bar Exam Essay Prep by
Florida Bar Exam Essay Prep: Strategies and Study Material helps students cultivate the legal writing skills necessary to craft effective responses to the essay portion of the Florida Bar Exam. The text covers essential rules for a variety of subjects and equips students with tools and strategies for studying, memorizing, and retaining large amounts of information. The Florida Board of Bar Examiners identifies a long list of subject areas from which they create the questions on the Florida Bar Exam. This books focuses on the subject areas that have been tested more frequently than others and emphasizes rules specific to Florida. Opening chapters provide an overview of the Florida Bar Exam, basic skills for writing a bar essay, and proven study strategies. Additional chapters address intentional torts, negligence, strict liability and product liability, Florida constitutional law, contracts, real property, landlord-tenant law, family law, trusts, and professional responsibility. End-of-chapter checklists, sample essay questions, and introductions reinforce key learnings. Florida Bar Exam Essay Prep is an essential resource for law students preparing for the bar or attorneys licensed in other states who wish to practice in Florida.
Call Number: KF303.A53 2021 *Please note that this title is available behind The Circulation Desk*ISBN: 9781516591985Publication Date: 2020-04-30
The Uniform Bar Exam
The Uniform Bar Exam (UBE) is administered in 36 states across the country. It is uniformly administered, graded, and scored, and the scores are portable across UBE jurisdictions.
It includes the Multistate Essay Examination (MEE), Multistate Bar Examination (MBE), and the Multistate Performance Test (MPT). For information on the various UBE components, please visit their individual tabs.
Florida does not administer the UBE.
- NCBE UBE InformationPlease visit the National Conference of Bar Examiners (NCBE) website, for more information about the UBE.
The Ultimate Guide to the UBE (Uniform Bar Exam) Redesigned by
Addressing the relative newness of the UBE, The Ultimate Guide to the UBE provides a detailed approach to the exam, utilizes real students' past bar exam answers (including real bar exam scores), and includes commentary from expert contributors for added insight and perspective on how students can improve their own exam writing scores. In the past decade the UBE has gone from being adopted by merely a few jurisdictions to over 40, including Massachusetts, New York, Illinois, and Texas, and soon Pennsylvania in July of 2022. This encompasses a large percentage of students taking the Bar Exam. It also means that many students, as well as bar prep professionals, have questions about the UBE. We seek to provide one guide that addresses everything anyone would want to know about the UBE, most importantly, how to prepare for it. Melissa Hale, and Antonia (Toni) Miceli, and Tania Shah are experts in bar exam preparation, each having taught in the field for over a decade. As the UBE becomes more prevalent, we encounter more and more people with questions about how the UBE works and how best to prepare for each section of the UBE. This book is intended to be a "one-stop shop" for all things UBE! Professors and students will benefit from: Addressing the relative newness of the UBE, this guide provides a step-by-step process for tackling each section of the exam, utilizing real students' past bar exam answers (including real bar exam scores), and employing expert contributors' commentary for added perspective. The straightforward approach of this book appeals to students, and includes: outlines, charts, easily digestible content, and good humor to engage students in material that might otherwise seem dry or overwhelming. Above all, students want to see what an actual exam answer looks like, not just be told how to write the "perfect" (and mostly impossible) essay answer. In the Ultimate Guide to the UBE, students can see what real bar exam takers did under timed conditions. They can read expert commentary on real bar exam answers, and step into the shoes of a bar exam grader by critiquing real bar exam answers themselves. Students can see, firsthand, what separates a score of 1 from a score of 3 from a score of 6 out of 6, and learn how to push their own score up the grading scale. Memorizing rules separate from the essay-writing process is not a winning strategy; practicing writing an essay while looking up the rules enables students to hone their analysis skills and learn the rules. The online appendices provide all the substantive law students need to complete the questions in this book, allowing students to focus on the skill development piece of bar review, rather than guessing the applicable rule.
Call Number: KF303 .H35 2022// *Please note that this title is available behind The Circulation Desk*ISBN: 9781543856378Publication Date: 2022-03-23
Florida does not administer the MEE. However if you are going to a state that does, here is some information to aid in your studying.
The Multistate Essay Examination (MEE) is developed by the NCBE and consists of six thirty minute essay questions. The subject of each essay may include Business Associations (Agency and Partnership; Corporations and Limited Liability Companies), Civil Procedure, Conflict of Laws, Constitutional Law, Contracts (including Article 2 [Sales] of the Uniform Commercial Code), Criminal Law and Procedure, Evidence, Family Law, Real Property, Torts, Trusts and Estates (Decedents' Estates; Trusts and Future Interests), and Article 9 (Secured Transactions) of the Uniform Commercial Code.
- NCBE- MEE InformationPlease visit the National Conference of Bar Examiners (NCBE) website, for more information on the MEE.
- NCBE Sample QuestionsIncludes sample MEE questions with and without analyses.
NCBE Study Aids for Sale
- NCBE MEE Study AidThe NCBE MEE study aid allows you to view previous exam questions, review the NCBE model answer, and download analyses and point sheets.
MEE Study Aids available at the Law Library
A Short and Happy Guide to the Bar Exam's Multistate Essay Examination (MEE) by
A "Short & Happy Guide to the MEE" is shorter than other books on the bar exam because its sole focus is the Multistate Essay Examination. It is a one-source resource for what you need to maximize your performance on the MEE--not a generic essay writing guide, but a treasury of information, issue identification, and subject area frameworks tailored specifically for the MEE. This book is not intended to replace a bar review course for the substantive law you need to know to pass the bar exam. However, a bar review course does not show you how to turn the law into point-worthy essays. We do. We teach you everything that you need to know about preparing for and taking the MEE to achieve the highest possible essay scores, beginning with how to use the individual Subject Charts (organized by MEE subject) and Table of Issues (organized by bar administration). These charts identify every issue and sub-issue tested on the MEE over the past 14 years, thus letting you see the frequency of tested topics and gain familiarity with how they are tested. When combined with our unique strategies for writing under timed conditions, developing a well-organized answer, and writing a solid analysis, you are ready to write your way to bar passage.
Call Number: online onlyISBN: 9781683288572Publication Date: 2019-02-26
Clearing the Last Hurdle by
Chart a course for success with Clearing the Last Hurdle, Second Edition, a comprehensive text that includes substantive outlines on all Multistate Bar Exam and Multistate Essay Exam topics. With measurably positive results, author Wanda Temm guides students through the process of bar preparation with clear and organized instruction, innovative strategies, and practice questions in all formats (for the MBE and MEE). Features: How to formulate a game plan for preparing to take the bar Practice questions in multiple choice, essay, and performance test formats Score sheets with which students can assess their own progress How to use mind maps to improve memory and organize conceptual relationships Starter mind maps for all MBE and MEE topics Exam-taking tips throughout Visual illustrations of key concepts Techniques for decreasing anxiety and stress and for building confidence
Call Number: online onlyISBN: 9781454893974Publication Date: 2017-08-03
The Multistate Bar Examination (MBE) is a six hour, 200 question multiple choice examination. There are 175 scored questions and 25 unscored pretest questions.
The seven subjects tested are Civil Procedure, Constitutional Law, Contracts, Criminal Law and Procedure, Evidence, Real Property, and Torts.
- NCBE- MBE InformationPlease visit the National Conference of Bar Examiners (NCBE) website, for more information on the MBE.
- NCBE Sample MBE QuestionsA PDF featuring examples of questions similar to those appearing on the MBE.
NCBE Study Aids for Sale
- NCBE MBE Study AidYou can purchase access to three simulated MBE's plus extra subject based multiple choice questions.
Study Aids available at the Law Library
A Short and Happy Guide to Conquering the MBE by
The Multistate Bar Exam is intimidating because it covers a wide array of subjects and because it is all multiple-choice questions. If you feel overwhelmed by all the subjects and the nuances of them and have never liked multiple-choice questions, particularly in law school, then this book is precisely what you need. Practice multiple-choice questions can serve two purposes. The more common is that they allow you to have some sense of how you are doing--an assessment function. The less common but far more useful function is that they provide a structured study method for review of material. Few students use them that way, but those who do reap great rewards. This small volume will show you how to use practice multiple-choice questions to greatest advantage. That involves changing the way you approach those questions. Conquering the MBE gives you a step-by-step process for attacking every multiple-choice question in every MBE subject, with lots of examples. You will discover that most questions offer review of four concepts rather than just one, and they do so on concrete contexts, not in the abstract. You will also discover that when you do this step-by-step review, one answer, and only one answer, is correct. The authors have tutored hundreds of law students in using the method presented. It works.
Call Number: online onlyISBN: 9781647088378Publication Date: 2021-02-22
MBE Decoded by
MBE Decoded is a fresh approach to MBE study which makes the vast amount of MBE tested rules manageable and understandable. The authors fully analyzed all NCBE released MBE questions to determine rule coverage and identify common testing patterns so you don't have to. This book can be used during law school for early bar preparation or during intensive bar preparation by first-time takers and repeat bar takers who struggled on the MBE the first time. This book is a great resource for students to get essential MBE practice before they fully "know" the law, allowing students to get additional essential practice recognizing the fact patterns and testing styles that are key to passing. Pedagogically, this book encourages students to engage with the material, develop deep rule understanding, gain MBE pattern recognition, and aids in critical memorization efforts. Professors and student will benefit from: MBE black letter law subject matter outlines that are clear and concise with key terms bolded. Identification of the most frequently tested MBE rules. Summary charts to help you understand confusing topics and how they interrelate. MBE tips to improve accuracy and understanding of how the rules apply to fact patterns. Decoy tips to help you avoid picking the wrong answer when more than one good option is available. Examples, pulled from NCBE MBE released questions, which illustrate how the rules are MBE tested. Bullet point memorization cheat sheets. Guided MBE question deconstructions illustrating best MBE solving practices. A guide on how to effectively solve MBE questions with troubleshooting tips to help improve your accuracy. Guidance on effectively taking an MBE exam online.
Call Number: online onlyISBN: 9781543830910Publication Date: 2021-04-12
Strategies and Tactics for the MBE (Multistate Bar Exam) by
Strategies & Tactics for the MBE, 6E is full of up-to-date advice on how to analyze Multistate Bar Exam (MBE) questions, including details on how to handle each MBE subject, specific, step-by-step strategies for analyzing different question types, tips about how subtle differences in wording can completely change the meaning of an answer, and strategies for "rewording" questions in your mind to make them easier to analyze. Updated by Steven Emanuel, Strategies & Tactics for the MBE, 6E contains a full-length, 200-question practice MBE exam, as well as more than 325 additional questions broken down by subject a total of over 500 NCBE-released questions. The new edition also includes 70 author-generated Civil Procedure questions. Each subject begins with detailed advice on how to handle MBE questions on that subject and how to focus your studies on the most common and trickiest MBE topics. Every question has a fully explained answer that analyzes, in detail, every answer option. Features: Updated to include a comprehensive section on Civil Procedure, which was recently added to the MBE exam. This new section features approximately 70 author-generated questions. For the traditional MBE topics (Constitutional Law, Contracts, Criminal Law and Procedure, Evidence, Real Property and Future Interests, and Torts), every one of the more than 500 questions in this book represents an actual question asked on a past MBE. These questions have been reviewed for accuracy and updated.
Call Number: online onlyISBN: 9781454879619Publication Date: 2016-05-22
Strategies and Tactics for the MBE 2 by
A comprehensive resource created in the successful style of Strategies & Tactics for the MBE, Strategies & Tactics for the MBE 2, Third Edition provides over 375 additional questions to help you prepare for the Multistate Bar Exam (MBE). Success on the MBE can often influence whether you pass or fail the Bar Exam. Understanding the issues of law tested on the exam and learning how the exam questions are written to test your understanding of the law are essential skills for success. With Steve Emanuel's comprehensive explanations of why one answer choice is the best answer and why the other choices are not, Strategies & Tactics for the MBE 2 helps you gain the ability to select the best answer with certainty. New to the Third Edition: A new section on Civil Procedure with questions and detailed answers written by Steve Emanuel Many new questions in Constitutional Law, Contracts, Criminal Law and Procedure, Evidence, Property, and Torts; all are actual past MBE questions, with detailed answers written by Steve Emanuel Key features include: Over 375 additional questions and answers not found in Strategies & Tactics for the MBE, Seventh Edition Detailed, step-by-step explanations for each of the four answer choices in each question written by Steve Emanuel, Editor-in- Chief of the Emanuel Law Outlines--the outlines that got you through law school Questions organized by subject matter subtopics, so you can easily locate questions on the topics on which you need to focus Actual Constitutional Law, Contracts, Criminal Law and Procedure, Evidence, Property, and Torts questions asked on past Multistate Bar Exams; plus Civil Procedure questions in MBE-format, written by Steve Emanuel
Call Number: online onlyISBN: 9781543806298Publication Date: 2020-04-30
Strategies and Tactics for the FINZ Multistate Method by
Strategies & Tactics for the FINZ Multistate Method, Fifth Edition, is an indispensable tool for both law school exams and the Multistate Bar Exam. It features more than 1200 multiple-choice questions and detailed answers unavailable elsewhere. Students will benefit from: More than 1200 multiple-choice questions and answers: Each question contains a sophisticated and intricate fact pattern that tests your ability to pull out the essential facts and tie them to the rules and theories you've learned in class. The answers not only explain the reasoning behind the correct choice, but also why the other choices are incorrect. Coverage of first-year subjects: Questions and detailed answers for each first-year course--Civil Procedure, Constitutional Law, Contracts, Criminal Law (including Criminal Procedure), Property (including Future Interests), and Torts--as well as the upper-year subject of Evidence. Supplemental questions for your bar review: Every question is written in the Multistate Bar Exam (MBE) style for school exams or MBE preparation and complies with the latest MBE formats. If you're taking a bar review course, you still need Strategies & Tactics for the Finz Multistate Method because the questions are written in the MBE style and format, but are not actual released exam questions, so we guarantee you've never seen these questions before in your MBE review materials. Special section on how to handle MBE-style questions: The book includes an in-depth guide, "Strategies & Tactics--Playing the MBE Game to Win," on handling the MBE and MBE-style multiple-choice questions--how to break the question down to the essential facts, how to recognize the legal issues, how to avoid the examiners' traps and pitfalls, and how to pick the right answer and avoid being misled by the wrong answers. Complete MBE-style practice exam: The book comes with a complete 200-question practice exam, with detailed answers that explain the reasoning behind the correct choice and why each of the other choices is incorrect.
Call Number: online onlyISBN: 9781543813487Publication Date: 2019-05-20- Clearing the Last Hurdle by
Chart a course for success with Clearing the Last Hurdle, Second Edition, a comprehensive text that includes substantive outlines on all Multistate Bar Exam and Multistate Essay Exam topics. With measurably positive results, author Wanda Temm guides students through the process of bar preparation with clear and organized instruction, innovative strategies, and practice questions in all formats (for the MBE and MEE). Features: How to formulate a game plan for preparing to take the bar Practice questions in multiple choice, essay, and performance test formats Score sheets with which students can assess their own progress How to use mind maps to improve memory and organize conceptual relationships Starter mind maps for all MBE and MEE topics Exam-taking tips throughout Visual illustrations of key concepts Techniques for decreasing anxiety and stress and for building confidence
Call Number: online onlyISBN: 9781454893974Publication Date: 2017-08-03
The Multistate Performance Test (MPT) consists of two 90 minute essays. However, there are some non-UBE states that administer one or both of the MPTs as part of their bar exam.
The MPT is designed to test an examinee's ability to use fundamental lawyering skills in a realistic situation and complete a task that a beginning lawyer should be able to accomplish.
Each MPT includes a "File" and a "Library". The File contains source documents containing all the facts of the case and the assignment to be completed. This may include transcripts of interviews, depositions, hearings or trials, pleadings, correspondence, client documents, contracts, newspaper articles, medical records, police reports, or lawyer’s notes. The Library may contain cases, statutes, regulations, or rules, some of which may not be relevant to the assigned lawyering task.
- Instructions for taking the MPTInstructions that are included on the MPT test booklet.
- NCBE MPT Study AidsNCBE Preparation guide includes free past exams as well as study aids for purchase.
Study Aids available at the Law Library
- Acing the Bar Exam by
Acing the Bar Exam provides candidates with a complete guide to the bar exam -- from pre-planning considerations through bar review and sitting for the exam. It features comprehensive coverage of the Uniform Bar Exam, including an explanation of each component and how to prepare for it. Every aspect of the process is explained in detail and by example. The bar exam is de-constructed, section by section, where candidates are led through the steps they need to follow to succeed. Approaches for learning the black letter law, setting study schedules, and answering essay and multiple-choice questions are combined to maximize the likelihood of success. Each of these tasks is then configured into checklist format to help candidates navigate each step. This approach puts the candidate in control of the bar exam and not the other way around.
Call Number: online onlyISBN: 9781634608060Publication Date: 2016-06-03// Chapter 9 discusses the MPT
The Bar Exam in a Nutshell by
This edition walks you through the entire bar preparation process from getting a head start during your last year of law school to taking the exam. It features comprehensive coverage of the Uniform Bar Exam, including an explanation of each component and how to prepare for it, to the larger question of what "portability" really means for the bar candidate. This edition also provides guidelines for selecting a bar review course, bar planner checklists, advice on how to manage the material you cover in bar review courses, and advice on how to learn the law so you can remember it and use it to answer exam questions. It identifies the basic skills the exam tests and the precise manner in which these skills are tested, showing you how to target your study efforts to maximize results. An Appendix provides practice materials for the MPT and essays, including the MEEs, with "answer de-constructions" to explain why bar examiners chose those answers as "better than average."
Call Number: online onlyISBN: 9781634606189Publication Date: 2016-05-03// Chapter 9 discusses the MPT- Clearing the Last Hurdle by
Chart a course for success with Clearing the Last Hurdle, Second Edition, a comprehensive text that includes substantive outlines on all Multistate Bar Exam and Multistate Essay Exam topics. With measurably positive results, author Wanda Temm guides students through the process of bar preparation with clear and organized instruction, innovative strategies, and practice questions in all formats (for the MBE and MEE). Features: How to formulate a game plan for preparing to take the bar Practice questions in multiple choice, essay, and performance test formats Score sheets with which students can assess their own progress How to use mind maps to improve memory and organize conceptual relationships Starter mind maps for all MBE and MEE topics Exam-taking tips throughout Visual illustrations of key concepts Techniques for decreasing anxiety and stress and for building confidence
Call Number: online onlyISBN: 9781454893974Publication Date: 2017-08-03
Bar Success Materials
These books and study aids focus on strategies for success while taking the bar exam.
All of these resources are available online through the links below.
- Acing the Bar Exam by
Acing the Bar Exam provides candidates with a complete guide to the bar exam -- from pre-planning considerations through bar review and sitting for the exam. It features comprehensive coverage of the Uniform Bar Exam, including an explanation of each component and how to prepare for it. Every aspect of the process is explained in detail and by example. The bar exam is de-constructed, section by section, where candidates are led through the steps they need to follow to succeed. Approaches for learning the black letter law, setting study schedules, and answering essay and multiple-choice questions are combined to maximize the likelihood of success. Each of these tasks is then configured into checklist format to help candidates navigate each step. This approach puts the candidate in control of the bar exam and not the other way around.
Call Number: online onlyISBN: 9781634608060Publication Date: 2016-06-03
Bar Exam Success by
The bar exam is not just another test, and this book is not just another set of instructions. This book is your personal success guide. Whether taking a UBE or a state-specific bar, students need to not only master the material but to train and prepare for one of the toughest high-stakes exam experiences around. This book will more than prepare you to pass the bar exam; the author's words will motivate you to do what it takes to succeed in law school, on the bar exam, and in the legal profession. Particular chapters will help you to:
* Reduce Distractions, Increase Focus, and Manage and Protect Your Time
* Employ Powerfully Effective Learning Strategies
* Develop and Stick to Your Schedule
* Practice and Hone Skills for Success on MBEs, Essays, and MPTs
* Cope with Stress and Pressure, and Help Your Friends and Family to Help You Succeed
* Enhance your Positive Growth Mindset, Personal Wellness, and Sense of Belonging
* Transition with Confidence from Law Student to Professional
This book is written from the perspective of a bar mentor, your "trainer at the academic gym," with concrete advice on how to handle the many challenges facing today's law students. There are dozens of self-assessments, tools to help you face very real challenges on every level, and to organize and prepare to pass the bar exam. The book includes trustworthy advice and powerful personal examples from the author's decades of helping students pass bar exams nationwide. The book is uplifting and positive, while harnessing cutting-edge, scientific learning theories.
The time spent studying for the bar exam that so many people dread and think of as a hazing ritual can be an empowering stage, if you approach it with the right attitude, get yourself equipped for success, and then work really hard. The author calls legal education "a power tool for social change." Passing the bar and becoming licensed will allow you to wield that tool and find opportunities throughout your professional life to do well and to do good.
Whether you are first in your law school class or last, this book will help you achieve your goals and set you on a lifelong cycle of success.
"Professor Berman has written an illuminating and helpful book, drawing on cutting-edge social science, that teaches students how to master the bar exam and flourish in law school. Her insights are shaped by years of experience and advances in psychological and learning sciences. If law students read this excellent book, perhaps as early as when arriving to law school, they will develop skills they can exercise and master to achieve success."
-Victor D. Quintanilla, Indiana University Bicentennial Professor; Professor, Indiana University Maurer School of Law; Adjunct Professor, Indiana University Department of Psychological and Brain Sciences
"From helpful study tips to suggestions for minimizing distractions, this book is an excellent resource to guide students through the challenges of bar study. Professor Berman is a seasoned professional, who condenses years of experience into easy to read and follow advice, perfect for anyone serious about passing the bar exam."
-Paula Manning, Professor Western State College of Law
"Wanting to shape your destiny, this book is a must-read coaching manual with action plans to boot. Professor Berman takes the mystery out of bar prep, providing hosts of inspirational tips, courageous learning strategies, and concrete wisdom for overcoming the oft-expressed intimidation that so easily immobilizes many from achieving bar exam success--success that is well within the grasp of all law school graduates aspiring to serve as professional attorneys--none be barred. This book is not meant to be read but lived. Navigate your path through this book and you will be well on your way to passing your bar exam."
-Scott Johns, Professor of the Practice of Law and Director of the DU Bar Success Program, Denver University Sturm College of Law
"This is a must-read book for law students and law professors. It provides practical suggestions so that students can be successful in law school, law practice, and the bar exam. It is fun to read and can be used by students on their own or in a class. The self-assessment tools are particularly valuable. As a law professor, I look forward to using this valuable resource with my students."
-Jane Bloom Grise, Director of Academic Enhancement and Assistant Professor of Legal Writing, University of Kentucky College of Law
"This book is a fantastic resource. It offers an approach, starting in 1L, that can help varied types of students develop critical skills needed for success on the bar exam with a mix of skill-building and metacognitive strategies that also help students succeed in law school. I am excited to incorporate these strategies in my 1L and 2L classes."
-Nicole R. Lefton, Assistant Professor of Academic Support and Bar Preparation, Director of Academic Support and Bar Preparation, Maurice A. Deane School of Law at Hofstra University
"I love the book and use it as a personal reference to coach my students, especially those who are first generation. It captures high expectations for success and normalizes the sense of inadequacy that they all feel and fear. It helps them to acknowledge it and push past it in both substance and tone. The underlying expectation is that the reader will pass the bar exam. When they read it, it keeps them tethered to their goals and their practical strategies amidst the panic, because it builds in intentional recursiveness."
-Kimberly Williams D'Haene, Director of Law Academic Success, Georgia State University College of Law
"If I could give only one resource to someone who wants to increase the likelihood of passing the bar exam, it would be this book. Author Sara Berman tells the truth about the challenge of bar preparation while showing the taker how--through preparation, planning, and practice--success is achievable. Rather than scaring them, the book encourages bar takers. That, itself, is why I will refer all my students to it."
-Benjamin V. Madison III, Professor and Director of the Bar Passage Initiatives, Regent University School of Law
"This book is like having a personal trainer help you prepare for the bar exam. It is a doubt-busting, confidence-boosting, interactive tour guide on the road to success. Sara Berman gives practical advice on motivation, time management, financial planning, and more. This book both explains and motivates--students will be wise to take Berman's advice, encouragement, and support."
-Catherine (Cassie) Christopher, Professor of Law, Associate Dean for Bar Success, Texas Tech University School of Law
"Along with the excellent strategies on studying and test taking, Professor Berman illuminates the unspoken barrier to success, namely the student's mindset. This guide aptly describes the various barriers encountered by students and suggests interventions to maintain a positive and healthy outlook for success."
-Rodney Fong, Associate Dean for Academic Achievement, Institutional Assessment & Bar Preparation, and Clinical Professor of Law, The University of Illinois at Chicago John Marshall Law School
Call Number: online onlyISBN: 9781641054621Publication Date: 2019-11-18- The Bar Exam in a Nutshell by
This edition walks you through the entire bar preparation process from getting a head start during your last year of law school to taking the exam. It features comprehensive coverage of the Uniform Bar Exam, including an explanation of each component and how to prepare for it, to the larger question of what "portability" really means for the bar candidate. This edition also provides guidelines for selecting a bar review course, bar planner checklists, advice on how to manage the material you cover in bar review courses, and advice on how to learn the law so you can remember it and use it to answer exam questions. It identifies the basic skills the exam tests and the precise manner in which these skills are tested, showing you how to target your study efforts to maximize results. An Appendix provides practice materials for the MPT and essays, including the MEEs, with "answer de-constructions" to explain why bar examiners chose those answers as "better than average."
Call Number: online onlyISBN: 9781634606189Publication Date: 2016-05-03
Clearing the Last Hurdle by
Clearing the Last Hurdle: Mapping Success on the Bar Exam is designed as a comprehensive textbook for a for-credit bar preparation course. This all-inclusive textbook includes substantive outlines on all Multistate Bar Exam (MBE) topics and all Multistate Essay Exam (MEE) topics and is also easily adaptable for state-specific jurisdictions. New to the Third Edition: All-new essay questions (with score sheets) Improved mind maps including estates and future interests and search and seizure
Call Number: online onlyISBN: 9781543823370Publication Date: 2021-07-19
Exam Pro - Bar Prep Workbook by
Based on the premises that the bar exam essay is often different in style, length, and scoring from the law school exam essay and that organization and issue identification can best be achieved by a structured, strategic approach rather than "winging it," this book uses frameworks as a guide to writing a top-notch essay. The opportunity to practice techniques allows students to further improve their writing.
Call Number: online onlyISBN: 9780314268457Publication Date: 2010-09-30
Advanced Legal Analysis and Strategies for Bar Preparation by
Advanced Legal Analysis and Strategies for Bar Preparation presents a comprehensive and holistic approach to bar exam study and test taking, offering explicit guidance for students as they attempt to transfer what they have learned in law school to bar study. This makes the textbook unique in that it will provide instructors and students with one source that simultaneously provides the two necessary aspects of bar exam preparation: (1) an exploration and discussion of the skills associated with bar study strategies and techniques and (2) practice questions to use in applying these study strategies and techniques.
Call Number: online onlyISBN: 9781454899761Publication Date: 2019-02-01
Pass the Bar! by
Pass the Bar! provides a comprehensive overview of the pre-bar review, bar review, and bar exam process. The authors demystify the bar exam process and take readers through the steps they need to follow to succeed. Readers are given specific information about what to do during the year before their bar exams; checklists, exercises, and reflection questions; tips for studying and completing practice questions; and sample exam questions and answers to maximize their likelihood of bar exam success. The book has been designed with several uses in mind: As the text for a for-credit law school bar preparation course; As a supplemental text for an upper-level doctrinal course, allowing professors to build students' bar study skills in the context of learning a bar-tested subject; As a text for non-credit bar preparation workshops; or For students' independent study. The authors' recommendations are grounded in educational and psychological research as well as their personal experiences in designing programs and preparing thousands of students to pass their bar exams. Readers will find the text user-friendly and its recommendations straightforward and practical. "Once in awhile the perfect book comes along at the perfect time. Pass the Bar! is just such a book, arriving at the ideal time to help law students clear the last hurdle of the race they began when they started law school. The authors' approach is both logical and powerful, and would immediately enhance any bar taker's likelihood of success. I will happily recommend the book to generations of students as they prepare to cross the finish line of their challenging bar exam race." -- Professor Ruth Ann McKinney, Director of the Writing and Learning Resources Center, The University of North Carolina School of Law
Call Number: online onlyISBN: 9781611631470Publication Date: 2006-12-01
The Zen of Passing the Bar Exam by
The Zen of Passing the Bar Exam offers a comprehensive approach to studying for (and passing) the bar exam. Couched in neuroscience and Zen principles of focus, discipline, awareness, balance, and simplicity, the book provides guidance for the best daily practices for uplifting your mind, body, and spirit during the rigors of studying. A central theme is harnessing a Zen mindset to stay motivated and mentally sharp. In addition to lifestyle and mindset, the book also offers specific, practical advice for maximizing scores on the essay, MBE, and MPT portions of the bar exam. The book outlines specific organizational/formatting tips for how to write effective (and efficient) essays under bar exam time constraints. The book is ideal for adoption for any law school bar preparation course (or Academic Support Program), providing many exercises, examples, and model answers applicable to any state's bar exam.
Call Number: online onlyISBN: 9781531023539Publication Date: 2022-09-30
Bar Exam Survival by
This brief, witty book gives examinees a real taste of what the bar exam experience feels like, from the first day of bar prep through the exam days themselves. Michael Stockman provides examples from his own experience taking the NY and MA bar exams in 2010 and 2011. The author shares strategies he devised to manage BarBri, the prep courses he took twice, explaining the strategies that worked for him, from how to get organized to specific advice about condensing notes. He offers study tips and practical advice about test days (such as what to bring) and how to manage stress and anxiety. In addition to a chapter for LLM students, there is a chapter for older test takers and those returning to the law.
Call Number: online onlyISBN: 9781454837749Publication Date: 2013-06-12
Repeat Bar Takers Materials
These books and study aids focus on strategies for success for those who take the bar exam more than once.
All of these resources are available online through the links below.
- Acing the Bar Exam by
Acing the Bar Exam provides candidates with a complete guide to the bar exam -- from pre-planning considerations through bar review and sitting for the exam. It features comprehensive coverage of the Uniform Bar Exam, including an explanation of each component and how to prepare for it. Every aspect of the process is explained in detail and by example. The bar exam is de-constructed, section by section, where candidates are led through the steps they need to follow to succeed. Approaches for learning the black letter law, setting study schedules, and answering essay and multiple-choice questions are combined to maximize the likelihood of success. Each of these tasks is then configured into checklist format to help candidates navigate each step. This approach puts the candidate in control of the bar exam and not the other way around.
Call Number: online onlyISBN: 9781634608060Publication Date: 2016-06-03// Chapters 12 and 13 focuses on repeat test takers
- Bar Exam Success by
The bar exam is not just another test, and this book is not just another set of instructions. This book is your personal success guide. Whether taking a UBE or a state-specific bar, students need to not only master the material but to train and prepare for one of the toughest high-stakes exam experiences around. This book will more than prepare you to pass the bar exam; the author's words will motivate you to do what it takes to succeed in law school, on the bar exam, and in the legal profession. Particular chapters will help you to:
* Reduce Distractions, Increase Focus, and Manage and Protect Your Time
* Employ Powerfully Effective Learning Strategies
* Develop and Stick to Your Schedule
* Practice and Hone Skills for Success on MBEs, Essays, and MPTs
* Cope with Stress and Pressure, and Help Your Friends and Family to Help You Succeed
* Enhance your Positive Growth Mindset, Personal Wellness, and Sense of Belonging
* Transition with Confidence from Law Student to Professional
This book is written from the perspective of a bar mentor, your "trainer at the academic gym," with concrete advice on how to handle the many challenges facing today's law students. There are dozens of self-assessments, tools to help you face very real challenges on every level, and to organize and prepare to pass the bar exam. The book includes trustworthy advice and powerful personal examples from the author's decades of helping students pass bar exams nationwide. The book is uplifting and positive, while harnessing cutting-edge, scientific learning theories.
The time spent studying for the bar exam that so many people dread and think of as a hazing ritual can be an empowering stage, if you approach it with the right attitude, get yourself equipped for success, and then work really hard. The author calls legal education "a power tool for social change." Passing the bar and becoming licensed will allow you to wield that tool and find opportunities throughout your professional life to do well and to do good.
Whether you are first in your law school class or last, this book will help you achieve your goals and set you on a lifelong cycle of success.
"Professor Berman has written an illuminating and helpful book, drawing on cutting-edge social science, that teaches students how to master the bar exam and flourish in law school. Her insights are shaped by years of experience and advances in psychological and learning sciences. If law students read this excellent book, perhaps as early as when arriving to law school, they will develop skills they can exercise and master to achieve success."
-Victor D. Quintanilla, Indiana University Bicentennial Professor; Professor, Indiana University Maurer School of Law; Adjunct Professor, Indiana University Department of Psychological and Brain Sciences
"From helpful study tips to suggestions for minimizing distractions, this book is an excellent resource to guide students through the challenges of bar study. Professor Berman is a seasoned professional, who condenses years of experience into easy to read and follow advice, perfect for anyone serious about passing the bar exam."
-Paula Manning, Professor Western State College of Law
"Wanting to shape your destiny, this book is a must-read coaching manual with action plans to boot. Professor Berman takes the mystery out of bar prep, providing hosts of inspirational tips, courageous learning strategies, and concrete wisdom for overcoming the oft-expressed intimidation that so easily immobilizes many from achieving bar exam success--success that is well within the grasp of all law school graduates aspiring to serve as professional attorneys--none be barred. This book is not meant to be read but lived. Navigate your path through this book and you will be well on your way to passing your bar exam."
-Scott Johns, Professor of the Practice of Law and Director of the DU Bar Success Program, Denver University Sturm College of Law
"This is a must-read book for law students and law professors. It provides practical suggestions so that students can be successful in law school, law practice, and the bar exam. It is fun to read and can be used by students on their own or in a class. The self-assessment tools are particularly valuable. As a law professor, I look forward to using this valuable resource with my students."
-Jane Bloom Grise, Director of Academic Enhancement and Assistant Professor of Legal Writing, University of Kentucky College of Law
"This book is a fantastic resource. It offers an approach, starting in 1L, that can help varied types of students develop critical skills needed for success on the bar exam with a mix of skill-building and metacognitive strategies that also help students succeed in law school. I am excited to incorporate these strategies in my 1L and 2L classes."
-Nicole R. Lefton, Assistant Professor of Academic Support and Bar Preparation, Director of Academic Support and Bar Preparation, Maurice A. Deane School of Law at Hofstra University
"I love the book and use it as a personal reference to coach my students, especially those who are first generation. It captures high expectations for success and normalizes the sense of inadequacy that they all feel and fear. It helps them to acknowledge it and push past it in both substance and tone. The underlying expectation is that the reader will pass the bar exam. When they read it, it keeps them tethered to their goals and their practical strategies amidst the panic, because it builds in intentional recursiveness."
-Kimberly Williams D'Haene, Director of Law Academic Success, Georgia State University College of Law
"If I could give only one resource to someone who wants to increase the likelihood of passing the bar exam, it would be this book. Author Sara Berman tells the truth about the challenge of bar preparation while showing the taker how--through preparation, planning, and practice--success is achievable. Rather than scaring them, the book encourages bar takers. That, itself, is why I will refer all my students to it."
-Benjamin V. Madison III, Professor and Director of the Bar Passage Initiatives, Regent University School of Law
"This book is like having a personal trainer help you prepare for the bar exam. It is a doubt-busting, confidence-boosting, interactive tour guide on the road to success. Sara Berman gives practical advice on motivation, time management, financial planning, and more. This book both explains and motivates--students will be wise to take Berman's advice, encouragement, and support."
-Catherine (Cassie) Christopher, Professor of Law, Associate Dean for Bar Success, Texas Tech University School of Law
"Along with the excellent strategies on studying and test taking, Professor Berman illuminates the unspoken barrier to success, namely the student's mindset. This guide aptly describes the various barriers encountered by students and suggests interventions to maintain a positive and healthy outlook for success."
-Rodney Fong, Associate Dean for Academic Achievement, Institutional Assessment & Bar Preparation, and Clinical Professor of Law, The University of Illinois at Chicago John Marshall Law School
Call Number: online onlyISBN: 9781641054621Publication Date: 2019-11-18// Part Two focuses on strategies for retaking the bar exam
- The Bar Exam in a Nutshell by
This edition walks you through the entire bar preparation process from getting a head start during your last year of law school to taking the exam. It features comprehensive coverage of the Uniform Bar Exam, including an explanation of each component and how to prepare for it, to the larger question of what "portability" really means for the bar candidate. This edition also provides guidelines for selecting a bar review course, bar planner checklists, advice on how to manage the material you cover in bar review courses, and advice on how to learn the law so you can remember it and use it to answer exam questions. It identifies the basic skills the exam tests and the precise manner in which these skills are tested, showing you how to target your study efforts to maximize results. An Appendix provides practice materials for the MPT and essays, including the MEEs, with "answer de-constructions" to explain why bar examiners chose those answers as "better than average."
Call Number: online onlyISBN: 9781634606189Publication Date: 2016-05-03// Chapter 12 focuses on retaking the bar exam
- Pass the Bar! by
Pass the Bar! provides a comprehensive overview of the pre-bar review, bar review, and bar exam process. The authors demystify the bar exam process and take readers through the steps they need to follow to succeed. Readers are given specific information about what to do during the year before their bar exams; checklists, exercises, and reflection questions; tips for studying and completing practice questions; and sample exam questions and answers to maximize their likelihood of bar exam success. The book has been designed with several uses in mind: As the text for a for-credit law school bar preparation course; As a supplemental text for an upper-level doctrinal course, allowing professors to build students' bar study skills in the context of learning a bar-tested subject; As a text for non-credit bar preparation workshops; or For students' independent study. The authors' recommendations are grounded in educational and psychological research as well as their personal experiences in designing programs and preparing thousands of students to pass their bar exams. Readers will find the text user-friendly and its recommendations straightforward and practical. "Once in awhile the perfect book comes along at the perfect time. Pass the Bar! is just such a book, arriving at the ideal time to help law students clear the last hurdle of the race they began when they started law school. The authors' approach is both logical and powerful, and would immediately enhance any bar taker's likelihood of success. I will happily recommend the book to generations of students as they prepare to cross the finish line of their challenging bar exam race." -- Professor Ruth Ann McKinney, Director of the Writing and Learning Resources Center, The University of North Carolina School of Law
Call Number: online onlyISBN: 9781611631470Publication Date: 2006-12-01// Chapter 21 focuses on retaking the bar exam