Panza Maurer Law Library
Library Services and Resources for College of Law Faculty
This page includes links to a variety of useful Law Library resources for NSU College of Law Faculty, including "quick links" to frequently used subscription databases, a quick link back to the Law Library's Research Guides page, and information about the Law Library's Faculty Liaison program.
Panza Maurer Law Library Hours
Monday - Sunday
8:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Monday - Thursday
8:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Friday
8:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Saturday - Sunday
12:00 PM - 2:00 PM
(954) 262-6202
Get Reference Help/Schedule a Reference Appointment
Monday - Friday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
By Phone - (954) 262-6201
By E-mail: E-Mail a Reference Librarian
Click the below button to request and schedule a reference appointment.
Frequently Used Subscription Databases
- Lexis+Lexis+ is a legal research database. Contents include state and federal cases, statutes, administrative codes, court documents, treatises, law review journals, legal forms, and other information resources. Students can evaluate case authority by using Shepard's® Citations Service.
Local and remote access for NSU College of Law only.
- Westlaw PrecisionWestlaw is a legal research database. Contents include state and federal cases, statutes, administrative codes, court documents, treatises, law review journals, legal forms, and other information resources. Students can evaluate case authority by using KeyCite.
Local and Remote for NSU College of Law only.
- HeinOnlineHeinOnline is Hein’s premiere online product with more than 120 million pages of legal history available in an online, fully-searchable, image-based format. HeinOnline bridges the gap in legal history by providing comprehensive coverage from inception of more than 2,100 law and law-related periodicals. In addition to its vast collection of law journals, HeinOnline also contains complete coverage of the U.S. Reports back to 1754, legal classics from the 18th & 19th centuries, the Federal Register and CFR from inception, complete coverage of the U.S. Statutes at Large, early English cases, and much more. Recently added databases include Multinational Sources Compared: A Subject and Jurisdiction Index by Alena L. Wolotira & Sherry L. Leysen, U.S. International Trade Library, and Preview of United States Supreme Court Cases.
Local access for all registered users. Remote access only for NSU.
Law Journal Library, Bar Journals Library, Code of Federal Regulations, and Federal Register Library are available remotely to registered alumni.
- Bloomberg LawBloomberg law is a legal research database. Contents include state and federal cases, statutes, administrative codes, court documents, treatises, law review journals, legal forms, proprietary company information, and court docket information. Students can evaluate case authority by using BCite.
Local and Remote for NSU College of Law only.
- Fastcase Fastcase puts the whole national law library on your desktop, with online access to cases, statutes, regulations, court rules, and bar publications, right at your fingertips. Local access for all registered users. Remote access only for NSU.
Faculty Liaison Program
The Panza Maurer Law Library (PMLL) offers the faculty of the Nova Southeastern University Shepard Broad College of Law (NSU Law) a variety of services designed to help them with their research, teaching, and scholarship.
A PMLL librarian is paired with each faculty member based on their research areas of interest and teaching. The faculty’s PMLL liaison is dedicated to providing them with reference and classroom support. PMLL encourages NSU Law faculty to make use of the library in the way that best meets their individual information needs.
PMLL librarians can assist NSU Law faculty with library resource and database access needs. The NSU law faculty member’s PMLL liaison can:
-
Locate information that is difficult to find
-
Find sources on legal research databases (e.g., Westlaw, Lexis, HeinOnline, Bloomberg Law)
-
Provide access to and training on available library resources
-
Set up alerts in various databases to notify you of developments in your research areas
-
Train faculty research assistants
-
Assist with the submission of articles for publication through the Law Library's account with Scholastica
Faculty are encouraged to reach out to their designated law librarian directly!
The E-Stacks
The links below are links to specific databases hosting e-book collections covering a variety of law- and interdisciplinary titles.
NOTE: User will be asked to log in using their NSU user name and Password.
- eBook Central (Proquest) Ebook Central is the new platform for accessing the NSU Libraries EBL e-books and former MyiLibrary ebook collections. Subject content includes Science & Technology, Social Sciences, Humanities, and Health & Medicine. E-books are downloadable for offline reading in both PDF and EPUB or can be read online with the e-book viewer.
- Gale eBooks Online reference library of over 500 full text reference books Includes business plan handbooks, specialized encyclopedias, directories, and other books. Covers topics related to business, education, social sciences, sciences, humanities, and more.
- Taylor & Francis eBooks Full text ebooks on the following subjects: humanities, social science, behavioral science, law and science.
- eBook Collection (EBSCO) Ebsco eBook Collection provides full-text e-books and e-audio books in all subject areas. Current collection includes over 50,000 titles. Find e-books and e-audio in all subject areas and over 90 percent of the titles are downloadable. Many titles in this collection are shared with other institutions and have single-use access.
- Cambridge Core Cambridge Core includes content from Cambridge Journals Online and Cambridge Books Online under one unified site. E-books include subjects in the Social Sciences, Humanities, Computer Sciences, and Sciences. E-books are presented in full image PDF using Adobe Reader and are supported by all popular browsers for viewing.
- SpringerLink Provides full text for approximately 1,600 subscribed journals and e-books, including Lecture Notes in Computer Science. Citations and abstracts are also available. Sources include journals, books, and reference works in many subjects, including computer science, technology, earth and environmental science, mathematics, chemistry, behavioral sciences, business/economics, biomedical/life sciences, and medicine.
Helpful NSU Library Resources
Log in to your NSU Libraries account page using your NSU ID and Password to:
- keep track of library resources currently checked out in your name
- renew items you have checked out, in accordance with applicable loan policies
- keep track of the status of any holds you have placed on items
Go to the ILL (Interlibrary Loan) page to request an interlibrary loan of an item not otherwise available through NSU libraries.