Skip to Main Content

PSY 4629 Health Psychology: Course Readings

This guide provides access to library resources about health psychology.

Course eBook

Boyer, B. A. & Paharia, M. I., (eds.) (2008). Comprehensive handbook of clinical health psychology. Hoboken, N.J.: John Wiley & Sons.

Weekly Readings

Intro to Health Psychology; Interdisciplinary/Integrated Health; Theoretical Models of Health Psychology

Required:

Optional Readings:

Assessment and Intervention in Medical/Health Psychology; Risk Assessment in Primary Care

Required:

  • Hunter, C.L., Goodie, J.L., Oordt, M.S., & Dobmeyer, A.C. (2016). Integrated Behavioral Health in Primary Care: Step-by-Step Guidance for Assessment and Intervention (2nd.).Washington, D.C.: American Psychological Association.(Chapters 2, 3 & Chapter 16) Available in Print - https://novacat.nova.edu:443/record=b3361879~S13
Optional Readings:
  • Revenson, T.A., & Gurung, R.A. (eds.; 2018). Handbook of Health Psychology. New York, NY: Routledge. (Chapter 12) We do not have this title.
Psychoneuroimmunology; Stress and Coping
 
Required:
  • Groves, M.S. & Muskin, Philip. (2019). Psychological responses to illness; In Levenson, J.L. (ed): Textbook of Psychosomatic Medicine (3rd ed.). Arlington, VA: American Psychiatric Association Publishing.
  • Revenson, T.A., & Gurung, R.A. (eds.; 2018). Handbook of Health Psychology. New York, NY: Routledge. (Chapters 15 & 16,and 39) We do not have this title.
Optional Reading:

Pediatric Health Psychology Basics and Special Feature on Conversion Disorders

Required:

Optional Readings:

Pain: Physiology, Conditions, and Management & Substance Abuse in Medical Settings

Required:

Optional Readings:

Health Behaviors, Behavior Change, and Prevention

Required:

Optional Readings:

‚ÄčCardiovascular Disease/Behavioral Cardiology & ESRD

Required:
Optional Readings:

Sleep Medicine: Insomnia and Sleep Dysfunction

Required Readings:

Optional Readings:
Psycho-Oncology Professional Position Paper and submission of journal
Required:
Optional:

Pulmonary/Respiratory Conditions, Tobacco Cessation

Required:

  • Boyer, B.A. & Indira Paharia, M. (Eds.; 2008). Comprehensive Handbook of Clinical Health Psychology. Hoboken, NJ: John Wiley & Sons, Inc. (Chapters 11 & 12)
  • Hunter, C.L., Goodie, J.L., Oordt, M.S., & Dobmeyer, A.C. (2016). Integrated Behavioral Health in Primary Care: Step-by-Step Guidance for Assessment and Intervention (2nd.). Washington, D.C.:American Psychological Association. (Pages 85-91 & Chapter 7) Available in Print - https://novacat.nova.edu:443/record=b3361879~S13
  • Revenson, T.A., & Gurung, R.A. (eds.; 2018). Handbook of Health Psychology. New York, NY: Routledge. (Chapters 9). We do not have this title.
Alcohol Abuse, Liver Disease, Organ Transplant, + PreSurgical Evaluations
 
Required:

Chronic Illnesses: Diabetes, GI disorders (IBS/IBD), & HIV/AIDS

Required:
  • Boyer, B.A. & Indira Paharia, M. (Eds.; 2008). Comprehensive Handbook of Clinical Health Psychology. Hoboken, NJ: John Wiley & Sons, Inc. (Chapter 14) – IBS/IBD sections ONLY
  • Hunter, C.L., Goodie, J.L., Oordt, M.S., & Dobmeyer,A.C. (2016). Integrated Behavioral Health in Primary Care: Step-by-Step Guidance for Assessment and Intervention (2nd.). Washington, D.C.: American Psychological Association. (Chapter 6) Available in Print - https://novacat.nova.edu:443/record=b3361879~S13
  • Revenson, T.A., & Gurung, R.A. (eds.; 2018). Handbook of Health Psychology. New York, NY: Routledge. (Chapters 13, 30, & 31). We do not have this title.
Optional Readings:
Rehab Psychology: Spinal Cord Injury, TBI, Concussion, & CTE
 
Required:
  • Frank, R. G., Rosenthal, M., & Caplan, B. (2010). Handbook of rehabilitation psychology (Vol. 2). Washington, DC:American Psychological Association. (Introduction, Chapters 1 & 3). Available in Print - https://novacat.nova.edu:443/record=b2066634~S13
  • Wright, B. A. (1983). “Preface.” Physical Disability: A Psychosocial Approach. New York: Harper & Row. We do not have this title.
Optional Readings: