PSY 4629 Health Psychology
This guide provides access to library resources about health psychology.
Weekly Readings
Intro to Health Psychology; Interdisciplinary/Integrated Health; Theoretical Models of Health Psychology
Required:
- Boyer, B.A. & Indira Paharia, M. (Eds.; 2008). Comprehensive Handbook of Clinical Health Psychology. Hoboken, NJ: John Wiley & Sons, Inc. (Chapters 1 & 2)
- Hunter, C.L., Goodie, J.L., Oordt, M.S., & Dobmeyer, A.C. (2017). Integrated Behavioral Health in Primary Care: Step-by-Step Guidance for Assessment and Intervention (2nd.). Washington, D.C.:American PsychologicalAssociation. (Introduction, Chapters 1, & 17) Available in Print: https://novacat.nova.edu:443/record=b3361879~S13
Optional Readings:
- Bronheim, H.E. (1998). The academy of psychosomatic medicine practice guidelines for psychiatric consultation in the general medical setting. Psychosomatics, 39(4), S8-S30.
- Smith, F., Querques, J., Levenson, J., & Stern, T. (2005). Psychiatric Assessment and Consultation. FOCUS, 3, 241-251. doi: 10.1176/foc.3.2.241. Request through InterLibrary Loan (ILLiad)
Assessment and Intervention in Medical/Health Psychology; Risk Assessment in Primary Care
Required:
- Hunter, C.L., Goodie, J.L., Oordt, M.S., & Dobmeyer, A.C. (2016). Integrated Behavioral Health in Primary Care: Step-by-Step Guidance for Assessment and Intervention (2nd.).Washington, D.C.: American Psychological Association.(Chapters 2, 3 & Chapter 16) Available in Print - https://novacat.nova.edu:443/record=b3361879~S13
Optional Readings:
- Revenson, T.A., & Gurung, R.A. (eds.; 2018). Handbook of Health Psychology. New York, NY: Routledge. (Chapter 12) We do not have this title.
Psychoneuroimmunology; Stress and Coping
Required:
- Groves, M.S. & Muskin, Philip. (2019). Psychological responses to illness; In Levenson, J.L. (ed): Textbook of Psychosomatic Medicine (3rd ed.). Arlington, VA: American Psychiatric Association Publishing.
- Revenson, T.A., & Gurung, R.A. (eds.; 2018). Handbook of Health Psychology. New York, NY: Routledge. (Chapters 15 & 16,and 39) We do not have this title.
Optional Reading:
- Kiecolt-Glaser, J. K., McGuire, L., Robles, T., & Glaser, R. (2002). Psychoneuroimmunology: Psychological influences on immune function and health, Journal of Consulting and Clinical Psychology, 70, 537-547.
- Larkin, H., Shields, J.J., & Anda, R.F. (2012). The health and social consequences of adverse childhood experiences (ACE) across the lifespan:an introduction to prevention and intervention in the community external icon. J Prev Interv Community, 40(4):263-270.
Pediatric Health Psychology Basics and Special Feature on Conversion Disorders
Required:
- Boyer, B.A. & Indira Paharia, M. (Eds.; 2008). Comprehensive Handbook of Clinical Health Psychology. Hoboken, NJ: John Wiley & Sons, Inc. (Chapter 16)
- Hunter, C.L., Goodie, J.L., Oordt, M.S., & Dobmeyer,A.C. (2017). Integrated Behavioral Health in Primary Care: Step-by-Step Guide for Assessment and Intervention (2nd). Washington D.C.: American Psychological Association (Chapter 14) Available in Print - https://novacat.nova.edu:443/record=b3361879~S13
Optional Readings:
- Doss, J. L., & Plioplys, S. (2018). Pediatric psychogenicnonepileptic seizures:a concise review. Child and Adolescent Psychiatric Clinics, 27(1), 53-61.
- Reilly, C., Menlove, L., Fenton, V., & Das, K. B. (2013). Psychogenic nonepileptic seizures in children:a review. Epilepsia, 54(10), 1715-1724.
- Psihogios,A. M., Drossos, T., & Afzal, K. I. (2017). Toward Evidenced-Based Assessment and Treatment of Pediatric Psychogenic Nonepileptic Seizures. Journal of Pediatric Epilepsy, 6(01), 075-080
Pain: Physiology, Conditions, and Management & Substance Abuse in Medical Settings
Required:
- Boyer, B.A. & Indira Paharia, M. (Eds.; 2008). Comprehensive Handbook of Clinical Health Psychology. Hoboken, NJ: John Wiley & Sons, Inc. (Chapter 17)
- Hunter, C.L., Goodie, J.L., Oordt, M.S., & Dobmeyer, A.C. (2016). Integrated Behavioral Health in Primary Care: Step-by-Step Guidance for Assessment and Intervention (2nd). Washington, D.C.: American Psychological Association. (Chapter 9) Available in Print - https://novacat.nova.edu:443/record=b3361879~S13
- Kim, S. Y., Shigemoto,Y., & Neduvelil,A. (2019). Survive or Thrive? Longitudinal Relation Between Chronic Pain and Well-Being. International Journal of Behavioral Medicine, 26(5), 486–498.
- Revenson, T.A., & Gurung, R.A. (eds.; 2018). Handbook of Health Psychology. New York, NY: Routledge. (Chapters 27) We do not have this title.
Optional Readings:
- Revenson, T.A., & Gurung, R.A. (eds.; 2018). Handbook of Health Psychology. New York, NY: Routledge. (Chapters 32) We do not have this title.
- Sihvonen, R., Paavola, M., Malmivaara,A., Itälä,A., Joukainen,A., Nurmi, H., … Järvinen, T. (2013). Arthroscopic partial meniscectomy versus sham surgery for a degenerative meniscal tear, N Engl J Med, 369, 2515-2524. doi:10.1056/NEJMoa1305189
Health Behaviors, Behavior Change, and Prevention
Required:
- Bacon, L., & Aphramor, L. (2011). Weight science: evaluating the evidence for a paradigm shift. Nutrition journal, 10(1), 9.
- Boyer, B.A. & Indira Paharia, M. (Eds.; 2008). Comprehensive Handbook of Clinical Health Psychology. Hoboken, NJ: John Wiley & Sons, Inc. (Chapter 3)
- Friedman, J. M. (2003). A war on obesity, not the obese. Science, 299(5608), 856-858.
- Revenson, T.A., & Gurung, R.A. (eds.; 2018). Handbook of Health Psychology. New York, NY: Routledge.(Chapters 7, 8, 11 & 12). We do not have this title.
Optional Readings:
- Hunter, C.L., Goodie, J.L., Oordt, M.S., & Dobmeyer, A.C. (2016). Integrated Behavioral Health in Primary Care: Step by-Step Guidance for Assessment and Intervention (2nd.). Washington, D.C.: American Psychological Association. (Chapter 10) Available in Print - https://novacat.nova.edu:443/record=b3361879~S13
- Sogg, S., Lauretti, J., & West-Smith, L. (2016). Recommendations for the presurgical psychosocial evaluation of bariatric surgery patients. Surgery for Obesity and Related Diseases, 12(4), 731–749.
Cardiovascular Disease/Behavioral Cardiology & ESRD
Required:
- Boyer, B.A. & Indira Paharia, M. (Eds.; 2008). Comprehensive Handbook of Clinical Health Psychology. Hoboken, NJ: John Wiley & Sons, Inc. (Chapter 13)
- Hunter, C.L., Goodie, J.L., Oordt, M.S., & Dobmeyer, A.C. (2016). Integrated Behavioral Health in Primary Care: Step-by-Step Guidance for Assessment and Intervention (2nd.). Washington, D.C.: American Psychological Association.(Chapter 8) Available in Print - https://novacat.nova.edu:443/record=b3361879~S13
- Holley, J. (2013). General medicalcare of dialysis patients: Core curriculum, Am J Kidney Dis, 61, 171–183.
- Revenson, T.A., & Gurung, R.A. (eds.; 2018). Handbook of Health Psychology. New York, NY: Routledge. (Chapter 28) We do not have this title.
Optional Readings:
- Picariello, F., Moss-Morris, R., Macdougall, I.C., & Chilcot, J. (2016). The role of psychological factors in fatigue among end stage kidney disease patients: A critical review, Clinical Kidney Journal, 10(1), 79–88. https://doi.org/10.1093/ckj/sfw113
Sleep Medicine: Insomnia and Sleep Dysfunction
Required Readings:
- Carney, C. E., & Manber, R. (2013). Chapter 1. In Goodnight Mind: Turn Off Your Noisy Thoughts and Get a Good Night's Sleep (pp. 6–24). Oakland, CA:New Harbinger Publications, Inc. We do not have this title.
- Dement, W. C., & Netzer, N. C. (2000). Primary care: is it the setting to address sleep disorders?. Sleep and Breathing, 4(01), 0001-00XX.
- Smith, M.T., & Perlis, M.L. (2006). Who is a candidate for cognitive-behavioral therapy for insomnia? Health Psychology, 25(1), 15-19. doi: 10.1037/0278-6133.25.1.15
- Ulmer, C. S., Bosworth, H. B., Beckham, J. C., Germain, A., Jeffreys,A. S., Edelman, D., ... & Voils, C. I. (2017). Veterans affairs primary care provider perceptions of insomnia treatment. Journal of Clinical Sleep Medicine, 13(08), 991-999.
Optional Readings:
- Carlson, N. R. (2012). Physiology of behavior 11th edition. Chapter 9, pages 336-342. Pearson. We have the 12th ed. (2017) in print https://novacat.nova.edu:443/record=b3834001~S
- Morin, C.M. (2010). Chronic insomnia: Recent advances and innovations in treatment developments and dissemination. Canadian Psychology, 51(1), 31-39. doi:10.1037/aa0018715
- Roenneberg, T., & Merrow, M. (2016). The circadian clock and human health. Current biology, 26(10), R432-R443.
- Smith, M.T., Perlis, M.L., Park,A., Smith, M.S.,Pennington, J., Giles, D.E., & Buysse, D.J. (2002). Comparative meta-analysis of pharmacotherapy and behavior therapy for persistent insomnia. The American Journal of Psychiatry, 159(1), 5-11.
Psycho-Oncology Professional Position Paper and submission of journal
Required:
- Birnie, K., Garland, S. N., & Carlson, L. E. (2009). Psychological benefits for cancer patients and their partners participating in mindfulness-based stress reduction (MBSR). Psycho-Oncology, 19(9), 1004–1009. doi:10.1002/pon.1651
- Breitbart, W., Rosenfeld, B., Pessin, H.,Applebaum,A., Kulikowski, J., & Lichtenthal, W. G. (2015). MeaningCentered Group Psychotherapy: An Effective Intervention for Improving Psychological Well-Being in Patients With Advanced Cancer. Journal of Clinical Oncology, 33(7), 749–754. https://doi.org/10.1200/jco.2014.57.2198
- Ferguson, R. J., Cassel,A. G., & Dawson, R. F. S. (2010). Cognitive Effects of Cancer Chemotherapy in Adult Cancer Survivors: Cognitive-Behavioral Management. Journal of Rational-Emotive & Cognitive-Behavior Therapy, 28(1), 25–41. doi:10.1007/s10942-010-0108
- Revenson, T.A., & Gurung, R.A. (eds.; 2018). Handbook of Health Psychology. New York, NY: Routledge. (Chapter 29) We do not have a copy of this title.
Optional:
- Henoch, I., & Danielson, E. (2009). Existential concerns among patients with cancer and intervention to meet them: An integrative literature review. Psycho-Oncology, 18, 225-236. doi: 10.1002/pon.1424
- Mulick,A., Walker, J., Puntis, S., Burke, K., Symeonides, S., Gourley, C., ... & Sharpe, M. (2018). Does depressiontreatment improve the survival of depressed patients with cancer? A long-term follow-up of participants in the SMaRT Oncology-2 and 3 trials. The Lancet Psychiatry, 5(4), 321-326.
Pulmonary/Respiratory Conditions, Tobacco Cessation
Required:
- Boyer, B.A. & Indira Paharia, M. (Eds.; 2008). Comprehensive Handbook of Clinical Health Psychology. Hoboken, NJ: John Wiley & Sons, Inc. (Chapters 11 & 12)
- Hunter, C.L., Goodie, J.L., Oordt, M.S., & Dobmeyer, A.C. (2016). Integrated Behavioral Health in Primary Care: Step-by-Step Guidance for Assessment and Intervention (2nd.). Washington, D.C.:American Psychological Association. (Pages 85-91 & Chapter 7) Available in Print - https://novacat.nova.edu:443/record=b3361879~S13
- Revenson, T.A., & Gurung, R.A. (eds.; 2018). Handbook of Health Psychology. New York, NY: Routledge. (Chapters 9). We do not have this title.
Alcohol Abuse, Liver Disease, Organ Transplant, + PreSurgical Evaluations
Required:
- Boyer, B.A. & Indira Paharia, M. (Eds.; 2008). Comprehensive Handbook of Clinical Health Psychology. Hoboken, NJ: John Wiley & Sons, Inc.(Chapter 14) – Liver Disease sections ONLY
- Hunter, C.L., Goodie, J.L., Oordt, M.S., & Dobmeyer, A.C. (2016). Integrated Behavioral Health in Primary Care: Step-by-Step Guidance for Assessment and Intervention (2nd.). Washington, D.C.:American Psychological Association. (Chapter 10) Available in Print - https://novacat.nova.edu:443/record=b3361879~S13
- Revenson, T.A., & Gurung, R.A. (eds.; 2018). Handbook of Health Psychology. New York, NY: Routledge. (Chapters 10). We do not have this title.
- Olbrisch, M.E., Benedict, S.M.,Ashe, K., & Levenson, J.L. (2002). Psychological assessment and care of organ transplant patients. J Consult Clin Psychol, 70(3),771-783.
Chronic Illnesses: Diabetes, GI disorders (IBS/IBD), & HIV/AIDS
Required:
- Boyer, B.A. & Indira Paharia, M. (Eds.; 2008). Comprehensive Handbook of Clinical Health Psychology. Hoboken, NJ: John Wiley & Sons, Inc. (Chapter 14) – IBS/IBD sections ONLY
- Hunter, C.L., Goodie, J.L., Oordt, M.S., & Dobmeyer,A.C. (2016). Integrated Behavioral Health in Primary Care: Step-by-Step Guidance for Assessment and Intervention (2nd.). Washington, D.C.: American Psychological Association. (Chapter 6) Available in Print - https://novacat.nova.edu:443/record=b3361879~S13
- Revenson, T.A., & Gurung, R.A. (eds.; 2018). Handbook of Health Psychology. New York, NY: Routledge. (Chapters 13, 30, & 31). We do not have this title.
Optional Readings:
- Joint United Nations Programme on HIV/AIDS (UNAIDS; 2016). GlobalAIDS update. Joint United Nations Programme on HIV/AIDS. Retrieved from: https://www.unaids.org/sites/default/files/media_asset/global-AIDS-update-2016_en.pdf
Rehab Psychology: Spinal Cord Injury, TBI, Concussion, & CTE
Required:
- Frank, R. G., Rosenthal, M., & Caplan, B. (2010). Handbook of rehabilitation psychology (Vol. 2). Washington, DC:American Psychological Association. (Introduction, Chapters 1 & 3). Available in Print - https://novacat.nova.edu:443/record=b2066634~S13
- Wright, B. A. (1983). “Preface.” Physical Disability: A Psychosocial Approach. New York: Harper & Row. We do not have this title.
Optional Readings:
- McCrory, P.,et al. (2018). Consensus statement on concussion in sport: The 5th International Conference on Concussion in Sport held in Berlin. British Journal of Sports Medicine, 51, 838-847. doi: 10.1136/bjsports-2017-097699
- McKee,A.C.,et al. (2009). Chronic traumatic encephalopathy in athletes: Progressive tauopathy following repetitive head injury. Journal of Neuropathological Exp Neurol., 68(7), 709-735.
- Last Updated: Jul 1, 2024 12:07 PM
- URL: https://libguides.nova.edu/PSY4629
- Print Page