Skip to Main Content

COMP 2000 Advanced College Writing

Choosing Databases:

Choose a database that best matches the subject of your chosen topic. Library databases may be multidisciplinary (spanning several subjects) or subject specific (focusing on a single subject, e.g., history or medicine).

If you're stuck on what database to chose for your topic, Ask a Librarian!

Here are some database suggestions based on a sample topic:

Topic Focus Narrower Focus Subject Area(s) Database Options
College Students None Undecided? General Information ProQuest CentralAcademic Search Premier
College Students Grades Text anxiety and Academic Achievement Education; Psychology ERICAPA PsycINFO
College Students Sports Athletes and Pain Perception Medicine CINAHL CompleteSPORTDiscus


The databases on the list below are recommended for use when working on COMP assignments:

Searching For Articles

www ≠ database

Databases are not the same as websites!

  • A database is a collection of information published electronically by a credible source or publishing company.  The information in a database is arranged into records that can be searched by a computer.
  • While you may find a lot of results when using Google, Bing, or other search engines on the web, these results may not be appropriate to cite in your actual paper.  Instead, search the internet to brainstorm ideas and then research those concepts in the databases.
  • The majority of scholarly articles found within a database are not freely available on the internet.

Related Library Guides: