Learning Through Storytelling

The ALA's American Library Service to Children has a comprehensive list of storytelling websites, books, and magazines for librarians and educators to use in their classrooms and programs.

The Florida Storytelling Association is a non-profit membership organization that supports the art and craft of oral storytelling through community and connection. Our annual festival brings members together for listening, learning, telling, fellowship, diversity, and encouraging our youth.

Illinois Storytelling, Inc. is a state-wide network of professional and emerging storytellers, as well as a large and diverse listening audience, dedicated to our mission of connecting generations, nurturing communities, and celebrating our diversity through Story.

Storytelling is an ancient and valuable art that extends around the globe. In this unit, students develop their own storytelling talents, apply the techniques of storytelling, create storytelling guides, and perform a story for an audience. This unit can be taught to an entire classroom or given as a self-directed extension activity. Each lesson is quite short, and they can easily be combined.

The National Storytelling Network is a membership organization made up of individuals and organizations involved in storytelling. Its mission is to advance all forms of storytelling within the community through promotion, advocacy and education.

Throughout history, storytellers handed oral tales down from person to person, generation to generation. This lesson borrows from that tradition by helping students take an existing story and make it their own.

The Story Tapestries’ objective is to empower people to identify and access their personal strengths and boost their areas of weakness. The organization works to inspire and motivate audiences to engage in the arts and stories.

Established in 1952, Young Audiences Arts for Learning (YA) is the nation's largest arts-in-education learning network, serving more than 5 million children and youth each year in more than 7,000 schools and community centers across the country.

The goal of YES is to inspire and nurture storytelling by and for youth. Members include youth storytelling coaches, teachers, teaching artists, librarians, full-time storytellers, and other mentors who view storytelling as a vital, essential art, as well as student storytellers who want to learn more about the art and craft of the oral tradition.

This collection of story-related activities, projects and games-developed by storyteller/author Heather Forest for her storytelling workshops with students, teachers, and librarians-can be used by educators in a school setting to encourage speaking, listening, reading and writing skills.

Begin by selecting a painting based on a story that you think will appeal. For many children, starting with an image has the advantage of the story immediately beginning to grow in the child's mind. Start by asking the children to respond and explore the painting.

Story Preservation is an educational nonprofit organization that has successfully created a new and unusual approach to student engagement, literacy, and experiential learning for students in grades K-12.

Margaret Read MacDonald breathes life into traditional folktales, sharing them in exciting performances, using them to enable beginning storytellers, and publishing them in picture books and folktale collections.

In Arabs and the Art of Storytelling, the eminent Moroccan literary historian and critic Kilito revisits and reassesses, in a modern critical light, many traditional narratives of the Arab world.

This book presents research findings on the overall process of storytelling as a social event in Japanese everyday conversations focusing on the relationship between a story and surrounding talks, the social and cultural aspects of the participants, and the tellability of conversational stories.

This study of traditional literature in Pakpak-Dairi, an endangered North Sumatran language, is based on written and oral versions of stories. Discussing the views of well-known scholars of Sumatran languages, the book includes the texts of seven stories which were collected in North Sumatra by the well-known linguist Herman Neubronner van der Tuuk (1824-1894) and are kept in Leiden University Library. The book also contains a story performed in the village of Sukarame by Sonang Sitakar, who may well have been one of the last Pakpak-Dairi storytellers. Presenting unique information on an endangered literary genre from North Sumatra.

Scholar-officials of late medieval China were not only enthusiastic in amateur storytelling, but also showed unprecedented interest in recording stories on different aspects of literati life. These stories appeared in diverse forms, including narrative poems, "tales of the marvelous," "records of the strange," historical miscellanies, and transformation texts.

Storytelling in Chefchaouen Northern Morocco includes two sets of tales told by two different storytellers with an annotated study of the oral performance,

"Storytelling plays an important part in the vibrant cultural life of Zambia in in man other communities across Africa. This innovative book provides a collection and analysis of oral narrative tradit ions as practiced by five Bemba-speaking ethnic groups in Zambia.

More than quaint local color, folklore is a crucial part of life in Aghyaran, a mixed Catholic-Protestant border community in Northern Ireland. Neighbors socialize during wakes and ceilis--informal nighttime gatherings--without regard to religious, ethnic, or political affiliation.

Documentary Storytellinghas reached filmmakers and filmgoers worldwide with its unique focus on the single most important aspect of documentary media-making: storytelling. Drawing on the narrative tools of the creative writer, the unique strengths of a visual and aural media, and the power of real-world content truthfully presented, Documentary Storytelling offers advice for producers, directors, editors, and cinematographers seeking to make ethical and effective nonfiction films, and for those who use these films to educate, inform, and inspire.

Documentary Storytelling has reached filmmakers and filmgoers worldwide with its unique focus on the key ingredient for success in the growing global documentary marketplace: storytelling. This practical guide reveals how today's top filmmakers bring the tools of narrative cinema to the world of nonfiction film and video without sacrificing the rigor and truthfulness that give documentaries their power.

Documentary Storytelling has reached filmmakers and filmgoers worldwide with its unique focus on the key ingredient for success in the growing global documentary marketplace: storytelling.

Documentary Storytelling offers a unique in-depth look at story and structure as applied not to Hollywood fiction, but to films and videos based on factual material and the drama of real life. With the growing popularity of documentaries in today's global media marketplace, demand for powerful and memorable storytelling has never been greater.

Narrative Thinking and Storytelling for Problem Solving in Science Education is an essential academic publication that focuses on the use of storytelling to respond to the fundamental need to share experiences while also inspiring world-changing solutions through the stimulation of curiosity, imagination, and reflection. Focusing on this widespread, powerful, and multifaceted form of communication, this book centers on the use of storytelling as a narrative and rhetorical technique in scientific knowledge, research, teaching, and learning.

Storytelling helps pupils develop a wide range of skills. Do they dream and fantasize? Do they lie, waffle and distract? These are not just bad habits but marvellous starting points for teaching an art that can help them to pass on experience, train and use imagination, develop language skills, promote their own confidence, communication and creativity and much more.

Planning for the Early Years: Storytelling and storymaking is a lovely book packed with adaptable ideas that can be extended for older children, or more focused for the under threes.

When teachers integrate the heritage language, such as storytelling, into the authentic literacy processes, students find that their heritage language and culture has value. They discover that their teachers encourage the traditional storytelling of their own heritage stories in the classrooms among their classmates. This brings the dual perspective of living in two distinct worlds together.

`Too afraid to have a go at oral storytelling in the classroom? This is the book for you!...The book guides you through choosing a tale you really enjoy, knowing your audience and not being afraid to adapt a tried and tested fairy tale.

Adolescents are often an overlooked clinical population. Among school-based practitioners, there is a natural inclination to focus the delivery of mental health services, assessment measures, and intervention plans on younger children, and there is a strong research base to support these programs.

This innovative and wide-ranging book shows how storytelling can open new worlds for learners with or without special educational needs. With sections that outline both therapeutic and educational approaches, the leading practitioners who contribute to this practical resource draw on their extensive experience, and distil their own approaches for the reader to use as inspiration for their own lessons.

Expert facilitator and ""story catcher"" David Lee of www.HumanNatureAtWork.com, and author of the May 2012 Infoline ""Powerful Storytelling Techniques"" shows attendees how to Make your presentations more fascinating, compelling, and memorable. Challenge people without coming across as confrontational.

This book explores the lives of young people through the lens of storytelling. Using extensive qualitative and empirical data from young people’s conversations following storytelling performances in secondary schools in the UK, the author considers the benefits of stories and storytelling for learning and the subsequent emotional, behavioural and social connections to story and other genres of narrative.

Digital Storytelling shows you how to create immersive, interactive narratives across a multitude of platforms, devices, and media. From age-old storytelling techniques to cutting-edge development processes, this book covers creating stories for all forms of New Media, including transmedia storytelling, video games, mobile apps, and second screen experiences.

Equally useful for seasoned professionals and those new to the field, Carolyn Handler Miller covers effective techniques for creating compelling narratives for a wide variety of digital media. Written in a clear, non-technical style, it offers insights into the process of content creation by someone with long experience in the field. Whether you're a writer, producer, director, project manager, or designer, 'Digital Storytelling' gives you all you need to develop a successful interactive project.

Digital effects are a part of production, and they become part of the story development process. This guide talks about how digital visual effects in film can be used to support storytelling, and argues that to consider digital visual effects as simply contributing the 'wow' factor underestimates them.

Digital stories are often considered in terms of artistic forms, as teaching and learning tools, and for their emancipatory capacity to capture the stories and experiences of marginalised social groups.

This book offers an overview of digital storytelling as well as its variations, including e-portfolios, digital photo essays, and scrapblogs. The many recommendations, overviews, and explanations of digital storytelling tools, along with lists of additional digital storytelling resources, will help educators to apply this exciting technology in their classrooms.

This book constitutes the refereed proceedings of the 11th International Conference on Interactive Digital Storytelling, ICIDS 2018, held in Dublin, Ireland, in December 2018. The 20 revised full papers and 16 short papers presented together with 17 posters, 11 demos, and 4 workshops were carefully reviewed and selected from 56, respectively 29, submissions.

Storytelling is an art as well as a skill. It allows the listener to take an idea and shape it into something that is relatable on a personal level. In The Art of Storytelling: Telling Truths through Telling Stories, Amy E. Spaulding enables the reader to learn how to develop this skill while also discovering the tradition of storytelling.

Expert facilitator and ""story catcher"" David Lee of www.HumanNatureAtWork.com, and author of the May 2012 Infoline ""Powerful Storytelling Techniques"" shows attendees how to Make your presentations more fascinating, compelling, and memorable.