Library Guides: Pharmacy: Barry and Judy Silverman College of Pharmacy guide: Find Articles

Search for articles on your topic/question

Use the databases listed on this page to begin your search for scholarly articles.
These resources allow you to search multiple journals at once for articles on your topic.
Need help using the databases? Use the search tips guide or ask a librarian.
If the full-text of the article is not available next to the citation/abstract, use the "Find It" button to locate it.
If the database does not provide a limiter/filter option for peer-reviewed articles, use Ulrichsweb to confirm if the journal the article is published in is peer reviewed. Still not sure? Ask a librarian.

Recommended Databases

PubMed
More than 30 million citations for biomedical articles from MEDLINE and life science journals. Citations may include links to full-text articles from PubMed Central or publisher web sites.
MEDLINE (EBSCO)
Citations and abstracts to medical literature including clinical medicine, nursing, dentistry, allied health, health care services and administration, biological and physical sciences, etc.
Embase
Information on pharmacological and biomedical literature from EMBASE (since 1947) and from MEDLINE (since 1966). Includes Medline and other unique title indexing. Includes : EMTREE tool medical terminology thesaurus.
International Pharmaceutical Abstracts (IPA)
Citations and abstracts covering all aspects of drug therapy, clinical drug studies, and pharmaceutical information. Topics covered include information on biopharmaceutics & pharmacokinetics, new drug delivery systems, pharmacist liability, legal, political & ethical issues, and many others. A unique feature of abstracts reporting clinical studies is the inclusion of the study design, number of patients, dosage, dosage forms, and dosage schedule.
CINAHL (Cumulative Index of Nursing & Allied Health Literature)
Generally considered to be a nursing database, CINAHL is an excellent source for all kinds of health science information, including the roles of health providers.
Alt Health Watch
Full-text database focused on complementary, alternative and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. Multiple source types.
APA PsycINFO
Citations and abstracts to literature in psychology, the behavioral sciences, and other related disciplines. Includes psychological research and its applications.
ClinicalKey
ClinicalKey offers searching of over 1000 books, 500 journals, and 2500 procedural videos, evidence-based and peer reviewed.
Web of Science
Provides abstracts, cited references, times cited, and links to full text when available for peer reviewed articles in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Tools allow citation tracking, exporting of citations, etc. Includes Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index which can also be searched separately.

Click here to browse all of NSU databases

Featured pharmacy/pharmacology journals. Click here to search all journals we subscribe to.

American Journal of Health-System Pharmacy (AJHP)
Full text access from 1996 to present
Annals of Pharmacotherapy
Full text access from 1999 to present
Annual Review of Pharmacology and Toxicology
Full text access from 1961 to present
Clinical Pharmacokinetics
Full text access from 1997 to present
Hospital Pharmacy
Full text access from 1999 to present
Journal of Clinical Pharmacy and Therapeutics
Full text access from 1997 to present
Journal of Pharmaceutical Sciences
Full text access from 1996 to present
Journal of the American Pharmacists Association (JAPhA)
Full text access from 2010 to present
Nature Reviews Drug Discovery
Full text access from 2002 to present
Pharmacology & Therapeutics
Full text access from 2009 to present

If you found an article you want to read but cannot locate the full text, use the citation information and follow the steps below to check the NSU libraries' resources for the article:

In the search box below, enter the title of the journal the article is published in (not the article title). Click search.
If we have the journal, check the date range (make sure it matches the year your article was published in) and click on the appropriate link.
Once you are in the journal, locate a search box (it's different for every journal) and copy and paste the title of the article and search.

*If we do not have access to the article, click here to request it from another library through Interlibrary Loan (ILL) department.*

Need help? Ask a librarian. We are here to help!

The NSU Libraries license over 500 electronic databases.

Because pharmacoeconomics is a highly multidisciplinary science, the literature you need may be in a "business" database or "health sciences" database, or in an interdisciplinary database that includes several areas of science.

This page includes some commonly used literature databases in these subjects. Certain research areas may also require the use of additional databases from other disciplines. Contact Kristin Kroger, the Pharmacy Liaison librarian, to get recommendations for additional databases to use for your specific question.

Health Sciences

These databases focus on articles describing the clinical practice of healthcare. They have some coverage of health-related economics and other business factors, but the majority of the articles are on clinical and scientific advances.

PubMed
PubMed provides access to millions of citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. This version is customized for USC users to find the full-text of articles.
Embase (Elsevier)
Embase provides access to over more than 29 million citations for biomedical articles and conference proceedings.
International Pharmaceutical Abstracts (EbscoHost)
Worldwide coverage of pharmaceutical science and practice literature. Includes coverage of drug development, pharmacoeconomics, toxicity, regulation, and technology.

Business

These databases include materials written by and for the individuals involved in the business of healthcare, such as operating health facilities or administering insurance plans. These databases are selected for their specifically detailed coverage of healthcare-related materials, as opposed to other types of businesses.

Business Source Ultimate (EbscoHost)
Includes academic journals and trade journals with rich coverage of pharmacoeconomics-related content on a national and global scale. After searching, consider limiting your search by Source Type.
ABI/INFORM Collection (Proquest)
Business information, including journals, newspapers, magazines, trade publications, dissertations, conference proceedings, and market reports. Covers 1971-present. Includes US and international information.

Interdisciplinary

Web of Science
An interdisciplinary collection of journal articles, conference proceedings, and books. Collection of seven online databases: Conference Proceedings Citation Index, Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Index Chemicus, Current Chemical Reactions, and Book Citation Index. Coverage is 1900-present.