Library Guides: Pharmacy: Barry and Judy Silverman College of Pharmacy guide: Language Learning, New Skills, Research, and More

Mango Languages

A language learning resource with over 70 languages, combining quality content, intelligent technology, and an adaptive algorithm that delivers practical phrases from real situations. You can access from your computer or app.

How to download/access mobile app:

Log in to Mango Languages with your SharkLink ID.
Create a personal account within Mango Languages.
Download the app (Apple or Android).
Log in to app with the personal account you created.

Spanish for the Pharmacy Professional (eBook)

The primary goal of this text is to provide tools for pharmacy personnel to communicate basic medication information to Spanish speakers while confirming patient understanding (Prime Questions from the Indian Health Service).

Students using this text will learn to communicate basic and more complex information to their patients while learning to enjoy some of the subtleties of the Spanish language and of Hispanic cultures.

Spanish Conversation Guide Using the Pharmacists' Patient Care Process (eBook)

The goal of this material is to provide pharmacists with a conversation guide to common Spanish phrases potentially for use while applying the Pharmacists’ Patient Care Process.

The publication provides Spanish words and phrases with side-by-side English translation to promote effective and safe communication in Spanish. Various cultural notes that may be important and relevant when caring for Spanish-speaking patients are incorporated throughout.

LinkedIn Learning

Online educational site that includes over 13,000 expert-led, online courses and video tutorials in popular fields such as web design, web development, IT, education/instruction, media production, career development, and business.

To log in to the LinkedIn Learning app: click "sign in" and enter "nova.edu" in the email field. That will take you to the NSU libraries authentication page where you will enter your SharkLink ID and password--you will then be redirected to LinkedIn Learning.

Click here for more information.

Find Articles
List of recommended literature databases, link to search tips, select pharmacy journals, and full text finder search.
Resources for Publishing
Guide with resources to help you identify potential journals to publish in, journal quality checklists, and more.
Health Data and Statistics
Guide with resources to search for and identify health data and statistics.
Sage Research Methods
SAGE Research Methods Online (SRMO) is a research methods tool created to help researchers, faculty and students with their research projects. SRMO contains books, journals and videos. Researchers can explore methods concepts to help them design research projects, understand a particular method or identify a new method, and write up their research. Since SRMO focuses on methodology rather than disciplines, it can be used by researchers from the social sciences, health sciences and more.
Sage Research Methods Cases
Sage Research Methods Cases: Search and browse this collection of case studies of real social research, specially commissioned and designed to help you understand abstract methodological concepts in practice!
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses
Bibliographic database of information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses. Citations for dissertations beginning in 1861, abstracts for dissertations published from 1980 forward, and full-text from 1997 forward.
Research Instruments
This guide provides detailed information about resources for locating research instruments.
IBISWorld
IBISWorld’s industry research reports consist of 30 to 40 pages of key statistics and analysis on market characteristics, operating conditions, current and forecast performance, major industry participants and more.
PolicyMap
PolicyMap is a U.S. national data and mapping tool and analytics platform with multidisciplinary applications. It is used in research related to social sciences, urban studies, real estate and housing analysis, community and economic development, public administration, public health, policy and political science, education, business, economics, statistics, and geography, among others. Users can leverage thousands of U.S. data indicators in PolicyMap to perform demographic and socioeconomic analysis, from a neighborhood census block group in many cases, up to a national level, as well as create custom regions, for their research and studies.
Journal Citation Reports
Journal Citation Reports aggregates the meaningful connections of citations created by the research community through the delivery of a rich array of publisher-independent data, metrics and analysis of the world’s most impactful journals included in the Science Citation Index Expanded (SCIE) and Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI), part of the Web of Science Core Collection. These expert insights enable you to explore the key drivers of a journal’s value, making better use of the wide body of data and metrics available in the Journal Citation Reports, including the Journal Impact Factor (JIF).
NSUWorks
NSUWorks is a service of the Nova Southeastern University (NSU) Libraries. Research, scholarly and creative output included in this institutional repository has been selected and deposited by NSU’s individual colleges, schools, centers and administrative departments. Online access is provided to both published and unpublished works by the NSU community. This includes journal articles, books, theses, dissertations, reports, conference proceedings, teaching materials, data sets, University publications, digital and multimedia collections. Contribution of completed works to this repository ensures long-term preservation and worldwide electronic accessibility.

cloudLibrary
Extensive collection of popular fiction and non-fiction e-books and audio books for juvenile, young adult, and adult readers. E-books are borrowed, downloaded, and read using a REQUIRED app for multiple devices, including smartphones, tablets, and desktop/notebook computers.
The app is available for downloading from an app store. NSU users login to your cloudLibrary user account with Shark ID and password.
Flipster
Flipster contains popular magazines on a variety of topics such as cooking, travel, & hobbies. It also includes Consumer Reports. Titles can be viewed via a web browser or the app.
Download the Flipster app through the app store.
Return to your browser and log in to Flipster through the library website.
Find the magazine you want to read.
Select the “Open in App” option to download the magazine to your app.
The New York Times
This guide list the steps NSU students, faculty, and staff follow to gain access to the New York Times on their device.
Kanopy
Kanopy is a video streaming database featuring more than 60,000 films. Films range from documentaries, indie and foreign films, classics and blockbuster movies.
Download the Kanopy app from the Apple App Store or Google Play store. Users must create an account to use as a login for the mobile app.
Alexander Street Press Videos
Streaming video collections include (but not limited to): Academic Video Online (67,000+ films from BBC, Broadway, CNN, PBS, and more), Classical Music in Video, Dance in Video, Opera in Video, and more.