PSY 4699: Positive Psychology

Required Texts:

• Snyder, C.R., & Lopez, S.J. (2009). Oxford Handbook of Positive Psychology Second Edition. New York, NY:  Oxford University Press.Not available in eBook yet
• Sonja Lyubomirsky (2008): The How of Happiness: A Scientific Approach to Getting the Life You Want, New York, NY: The Penguin Press
• Lopez. S.J. (2014) Making Hope Happen Paperback, Pocket Books, 2014

Introduction: Why do we need a positive psychology?    

• Snyder, C.R., & Lopez, S.J. (2009). Oxford Handbook of Positive Psychology:
  • Chapter 1 A Case for Positive Psychology (Lopez & Gallagher)
• Ryff, C.D. (1989). Happiness is everything, or is it? Explorations on the meaning of psychological well-being. Journal of Personality and Social Psychology, 56(6), 1069-1081.
• Fredrickson, B.L. (2001). The role of positive emotions in positive psychology: The broaden-and-build theory of positive emotions. American Psychologist, 56, 218-226.

Basic premises & Exploding myths

• Sonja Lyubomirsky (2008): The How of Happiness: A Scientific Approach to Getting the Life You Want, New York, NY: The Penguin Press
• Snyder, C.R., & Lopez, S.J. (2009). Oxford Handbook of Positive Psychology:
  • Chapters 7 Stopping the Madness: Pos Psych & Deconstructing the Illness Ideology & the DSM (Maddux)
  • Chp 8 Widening the Diagnostic Focus: A case for Including Human Strengths & Environmental Resources (Bea Wright, Shane Lopez
  • Chp 9 Toward a Science of Mental Health (Keyes)
• Duckworth, A.L., Steen, T.A., & Seligman, M.E.P. (2005). Positive psychology in clinical practice. Annual Review of Clinical Psychology, 1, 629-651. 

Beliefs as self-fulfilling prophecies I (psychology of success)

• Snyder, C.R., & Lopez, S.J. (2009). Oxford Handbook of Positive Psychology:
  • Chapters 30, Hope Theory (Rand, Cheavens)
  • Chp 31 Self Efficacy: The Power of Believing You Can (Maddux)
• H Benson (1997) Timeless healing: The power and biology of belief Not available as an eBook.

Well-being & Resilience

• Snyder, C.R., & Lopez, S.J. (2009). Oxford Handbook of Positive Psychology:
  • Chapters 17, Subjective Well Being (Diener, Oishi, Lucas)
  • Chp12, Resilience in Development (Matsen, Herbers, Reed) 
  • Chp 21 Coping Through Emotional Approach (Stanton, Sullivan, Austenfeld) 

Positive Psychology of Change

• Snyder, C.R., & Lopez, S.J. (2009). Oxford Handbook of Positive Psychology:
  • Chapters 18  Flow Theory & Research (Nakamura & Csikezentmihalyi)
  • Chp 22 Emotional Creativity (Salovey, Mayer, Caruso & Hee Yoo)
• Gilbert, D.T., Pinel, E.C., Wilson, T.D., Blumberg, S.J., & Wheatley, T.P. (1998). Immune neglect: A source of durability bias in affective forecasting. Journal of Personality and Social Psychology, 75, 617-638.
• Miller, W.R. (2004). The phenomenon of quantum change. Journal of Clinical Psychology, 60(5), 453-460.

Physical health

• Snyder, C.R., & Lopez, S.J. (2009). Oxford Handbook of Positive Psychology:
  • Chapters 51, Toughness (Diensbier, Zillig)
  • Chp 48 Role for Neuropsychology in Understanding the Facilitating Influence of Positive Affect on Social Behavior & Cog Processes (Isen)
  • Chp 49, Toward  Biology of Social Support (DIckereson, Zoccola)
  • Chp 62 Happiness Resilience & Positive Growth Following Physical Disability (Dunn, Uswatte & Elliot)
• Ryff, C.D., & Singer, B. (1998). The Contours of positive human health. Psychological Inquiry, 9(1), 1-28.
• Callaghan, P. (2004). Exercise: a neglected intervention in mental health care? Journal of Psychiatric and Mental Health Nursing, 11, 476-483.

Positive Psychology Applications

• Snyder, C.R., & Lopez, S.J. (2009). Oxford Handbook of Positive Psychology:
  • Chapters 13, Pos Psych for Children & Adolescents (Kirschman, Johnson, Bender, & Roberts)
  • Chp15, Aging well in the 21st Century (Williamson, Christie)
  • Chp 6, Positive Psych within a Cultural Context (Pedrotti, Edwards & Lopez)
  • Chp 55 Positive Workplaces (Luthans & Yussef)
• Seligman, M.E.P., Rashid, T., & Parks, A.C. (2006). Positive Psychotherapy. American Psychologist, 774-788.

Setting goals

• Snyder, C.R., & Lopez, S.J. (2009). Oxford Handbook of Positive Psychology:
  • Chapter 32, Problem Solving Appraisal & Psychological Adjustment (Heppner & Lee)
• Doskoch, P. (2005). The Winning Edge. Psychology Today.
• Csikszentmihalyi, M. (1999). If we are so rich, why aren’t we happy? American Psychologist, 54,10, 821-827.

Forgiveness & Gratitude

• Snyder, C.R., & Lopez, S.J. (2009). Oxford Handbook of Positive Psychology:
  • Chapter 40, Forgiveness (McCullough, Root, Tabak & Witvliet)
  • Chp 41 Furthering the Science of Gratitude (Watkins, Gelder & Frias)
• Emmons, R.A. & McCullough, M.E. (2003). Counting blessings vs burdens: An experimental investigation of gratitude and subjective well-being in life. Journal of Personality and Social Psychology, 84(2), 377-389.

Mindfulness

• Snyder, C.R., & Lopez, S.J. (2009). Oxford Handbook of Positive Psychology:
  • Chapter 26, Mindfulness vs Positive Evaluation (Langer)
  • Chp 57 Meditation & Positive Psychology (Shapiro)
• Shapiro, S.L., Carlson, L.E., Astin, J.A., Freedman, B. (2006). Mechanisms of Mindfulness. Journal of Clinical Psychology, 62(3), 373-386.
• Kabat-Zinn, J. (2003). Mindfulness-Based Interventions in Context. Past, Present, and Future. Clinical Psychology, 10(2), 144-156.

Relationships

• Snyder, C.R., & Lopez, S.J. (2009). Oxford Handbook of Positive Psychology:
  • Chapters 36 Relationship Connection: A Redux on the Role of Minding and the Quality of Feeling Special in the Enhancement of Closeness
  • Chp42 Love 
  • Chp 39 Empathy and Altruism

Spirituality

• Snyder, C.R., & Lopez, S.J. (2009). Oxford Handbook of Positive Psychology:
  • Chapters 23 Emotional Creativity: Toward “Spiritualizing the Passions”
  • Chp 58 Spirituality: The search for the sacred

Post Traumatic Growth

• Snyder, C.R., & Lopez, S.J. (2009). Oxford Handbook of Positive Psychology:
  • Chapter 61 Making Sense of Loss, Perceiving Benefits and Posttraumatic Growth
• Tedeschi, R.G., & Calhoun, L.G. (2004). Post traumatic growth: Conceptual foundations and empirical evidence. Psychological Inquiry, 15(1), 1-18.

Future Research: Where do we go now?

• Snyder, C.R., & Lopez, S.J. (2009). Oxford Handbook of Positive Psychology:
  • Chapters 11 Positive Ethics: Themes and Variations
  • Chp 65 The Future of Positive Psychology: Pursuing Three Big Goals