Dissertations

• If you know the author or title of the material* enter it and then click "Search”.
• If you don’t find the item return to this page for tips.

Tips for searching the library catalog:

• Try searching by degree:
  • nsu dissertation PHD
  • nsu dissertation DBA
  • honors farquhar
  • nsu masters
• Try searching by school:
  • college of arts, humanities and social sciences
  • dissertation business or dissertation huizenga
  • dissertation psychology
  • dissertation oceanographic or dissertation Halmos college
  • dissertation college of engineering and computing

Note:  The library catalog has print copies of over 3,600 NSU dissertations and research projects as well as capstone projects, master's theses, and some undergraduate honors theses.

Steps

1. Begin at http://sherman.library.nova.edu
2. Click the top left "hamburger" menu
3. Select "Library Guides" under the Help section on the right
4. Scroll to the Dissertations link to view the guide

The MARP is a Fischler College of Education degree requirement. The student conducts research on a specific topic whose aim is directed toward the improvement of educational practice. The MARP itself is not purely theoretical; it is a quantitative and qualitative account distinguished by the theory-to-practice model. The database provides citations and if available, full-text documents in PDF. To search this password protected database click here.

Steps

1. Log in to the ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global
2. Pull down the Advanced Search option in the top bar. To search exclusively for NSU dissertations do the following:
3. Type “Nova Southeastern University” (or "Nova University" for dissertations from 1994 and prior) in the search field
4. Select the down arrow from the next box “Anywhere except full text –ALL” Scroll and select “University/institution --SCH field”
5. In the remaining boxes add the terms for which you are looking.
6. If you get too many results, go one step further and again Select the down arrow from the next box “Anywhere except full text –ALL” to narrow your search.

Note: NSU Alumni may purchase a print copy of their dissertation which is indexed in Proquest dissertation databases. 
If your dissertation is not located in ProQuest dissertation databases, please contact your college (e.g. College of Psychology).

Please be aware that dissertations and theses are the copyrighted property of the author. It is the author’s decision whether or not to provide a copy to the Library or ProQuest – this means that not every dissertation is obtainable.

NSUWorks is a service of the Nova Southeastern University (NSU) Libraries. NSUWorks brings together all of the University’s research, scholarly and creative works in a centralized location with the aim of preserving and providing online open access to these works.

Steps

1. Browse research and scholarship
2. Theses, dissertations and capstones
3. Under jump to choose the year that dissertation was completed
4. Browse titles to find the one for which you are looking

*For alumni who would like to access their  "NSU Access Only" dissertation published in NSUWorks, please visit the Alumni Association to update your record. Once you have your alumni library credentials, you will be able to log in and access "NSU Access Only" dissertations published in NSUWorks. 

*If your dissertation is not located in NSUWorks, please contact your college (e.g. College of Psychology).

Check the ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global Database:

• In the pull-down menu on the right, select Degree -- DG and type the type of degree such as Ed.D., Ph.D., D.B.A., D. P. A., etc. *Notice that you must include the correct punctuation.
• Select University/institution -- SCH in the pull-down menu and type Nova Southeastern University.
• Select Advisor -- ADV in the pull-down menu and type the last name of your dissertation chair.

The NSU MARPs (Major Applied Research Projects), Practicums & Applied Dissertation database, along with its contents, is available to current NSU students, faculty, staff and now, registered alumni. 

NEW! Registered alumni can access the MARPS database using your alumni library log-in credentials to access MARPS dissertations. 

However, if you prefer not to register with the NSU Alumni Association, or prefer Broward public patron access, then you can request a copy of your own Abraham S. Fischler College of Education MARP, Applied Dissertation or Practicum by downloading the Document Request Form (PDF) below, and carefully follow the instructions therein. The form must be fully completed, notarized, and mailed to the address specified.

Document Request Form