Microfilm and Microfiche
Most collections, periodicals and materials are available in print and online. However, there are some collections and older materials that are available on microfiche and microfilm. The Alvin Sherman Library at Nova Southeastern University has several collections and periodicals on microfiche and microfilm, including ERIC documents.
You can use the microform search box on the right to search for a specific book, collection or journal on microform. If the library has an item on microform that you need, the cabinets and viewers for the microfiche and microfilm are on the west end of the second floor of the library. It should be pointed out that one microform viewer is digital and allows you to save page by page. The other viewer will allow you print images instead of saving them.
Microform Collections at NSU
Here are some of the library's primary educational and historical microform collections. The library also has hundreds of journals and magazines on microfiche and microfilm as well.
Some of our collections also have print indices or guides and these can be found in the reference section on the second floor of the Alvin Sherman Library.
- American Culture Series (ACS) Subject CollectionThe Alvin Sherman Library microfilm set contains thousands of primary documents such as early books and pamphlets in various subject areas from the arts, history, languages, literature, economics, philosophy and more. Paper guides to each sub-topic may be found in the reference collection. We also have a cumulative subject guide that is housed in the reference collection.
- CoreficheThis collection includes Essays and General Literature, Short Stories, Poetry in Granger, and World’s Best Drama. Authors such as Mark Twain, Harriet Beecher Stowe, Oscar Wilde and Shakespeare are included. The print index for each is located in the Reference collection on the second floor of the Alvin Sherman Library.
- Monthly Catalog of US Government PublicationsThis is a microfilm collection of the various catalogs the United States Government published between 1895-1976. More recent government publications can be found on their website. Plus, access to publications since 1976 are available in the GDCS (Government Documents Catalog Service) which is accessible within the library from our databases.
- Readex Early American ImprintsCritical to the study of every aspect of early America, Early American Imprints contains virtually every known book, pamphlet and broadside published in America between 1640 and the first two decades of the 19th century—more than 75,000 printed items in all. We have volumes 1 to 13 in our collection.