Health Law: Bioethics
Bioethics Resources
- President's Commission for the Study of Bioethical Issues (Archived at Georgetown; Last Updated 2016)Contains reports from the Commission and information on what they were working on and considered working on.
- The Hastings CenterThe Center identified 5 broad areas: Children & Families, Aging, Chronic Conditions, and End of Life, Health and Health Care, Science and the Self, Humans and Nature "where the national and global community face serious challenges." It hosts a Hastings Bioethics Forum which posts commentaries on timely bioethics topics. "Hastings Center Bioethics Briefings contains overviews of issues in bioethics of high public interest." The chapters, written by leading ethicists, are nonpartisan, describing topics from a range of perspectives that are grounded in scientific facts. They each include experts to contact and resources."
Panza Maurer Law Library
Idea Generation
- Bioethics Research Library at Georgetown UniversityThe Bioethics Research Library at Georgetown has broad topic pages that you can drill down on to find really interesting resources.
- EthicShareEthicShare gathers stories from bioethics blogs and news sources from around the web together and adds subject headings related to bioethics.
- German Reference Centre for Ethics in the Life SciencesTheir "In Focus" section provides information on the latest state of bioethics in research around the world. Their BELIT search engine lets you search bioethics publications everywhere. Lastly, Bioethics Links has curated lists of bioethics websites from around the globe.
- bioethics.netThe website is maintained by the staff of The American Journal of Bioethics.
- World Health Organization Ethics in Health pageContains information on programs and publications, as well as international research standards.
- Law Library of Congress "Current Topics" sectionThis has a nice set of reports put together by the Law Library of Congress, with maps and footnotes, about current legal issues in healthcare.
- BioethicsBytesA blog of videos about bioethics issues.
- Bioethics.comA pretty, aggregated list of bioethics related news items.
Books We Have at NSU
Encyclopedia of Bioethics by Call Number: Alvin Sherman: QH332 .E52 2004ISBN: 0028657748Publication Date: 1905-06-01The URL links to the electronic version of this text. This new edition is a complete revision of the Dartmouth Medal-winning set last revised in 1995. Covering a wealth of topics on the ethics of health professions, animal research, population control and the environment, the set helps researchers to consider the impact of new scientific knowledge and its potential to harm or benefit present and future generations. All bibliographies have been updated and new entries added--from cloning, to issues of privacy or censorship on the Web, cell-stem research, same-sex marriage, privatization of water access, animal rights and much more.
Source Book in Bioethics by Call Number: Alvin Sherman: R724 .S599 1998ISBN: 0878406832Publication Date: 1998-06-01Government agencies and commissions, courts, and legislatures have during the past several decades produced reports, rendered decisions, and passed laws that have both defined the fundamental issues in the field of bioethics and established ways of managing them in our society. Providing a history of these key bioethical decisions, this "Source Book in Bioethics" is the first and only comprehensive collection of the critical public documents in biomedical ethics, including many hard-to-find or out-of-print materials.Covering the period from 1947 to 1995, this volume brings together core legislative documents, court briefs, and reports by professional organizations, public bodies, and governments around the world. Sections on human experimentation, care of the terminally ill, genetics, human reproduction, and emerging areas in bioethics include such pivotal works as "The Nuremberg Code", "The Tuskegee Report", and "In the Matter of Baby M", as well as less readily available documents as "TheDeclaration of Inuyama", the Council for International Organizations of Medical Sciences' statement on genetic engineering, and "The Warnock Committee Report" on reproductive technologies from the United Kingdom. Three eminent scholars in the field provide brief introductions to each document explaining the significance of these classic sources.This historical volume will be a standard text for courses in bioethics, health policy, and death and dying, and a primary reference for anyone interested in this increasingly relevant field.
Suggested Call Number Ranges
Law Library
KF 3821
Alvin Sherman or Health Professions Library
R724 (Medical Ethics)
QH332 (Bioethics)
BJ 37-68 (Ethics-Methodology-Relation to Other Topics)
Q175.35-175.37 (Science - Moral and Ethical Aspects)
Suggested Subject Headings
Bioethics Encyclopedias
Bioethics Europe
Bioethics Fiction
Bioethics Government Policy United States
Bioethics History
Bioethics Indexes
Bioethics Indexes Periodicals
Bioethics Japan
Bioethics Japan Congresses
Bioethics Juvenile Fiction
Bioethics Juvenile Literature
Bioethics Methodology
Bioethics Miscellanea
Bioethics Periodicals
Bioethics Philippines
Bioethics Philosophy
Bioethics Political Aspects
Bioethics Political Aspects United States
Bioethics Puerto Rico
Bioethics Religious Aspects
Bioethics Religious Aspects Catholic Church
Bioethics Religious Aspects Christianity
Bioethics Religious Aspects Hinduism
Bioethics Religious Aspects Islam
Bioethics Religious Aspects Judaism
Bioethics Research
Bioethics Research Case Studies
Bioethics Study And Teaching
Bioethics Subject Headings Periodicals
Bioethics Terminology Periodicals
Bioethics United States
Bioethics United States Decision Making
Bioethics United States History
Bioethics United States Periodicals
Medical Ethics
Advertising Medicine
Confidential communications Physicians
Courts of honor
Dental ethics
Euthanasia
Human experimentation in medicine
Informed consent (Medical law)
Medical records Access control
Nursing ethics
Pharmaceutical ethics
Physicians Discipline
Psychiatric ethics
Social medicine
Patients--Social conditions and Social aspects under individual diseases, e.g. Cancer--Patients--Social conditions; Cancer--Social aspects; and subdivision Social aspects under medical topics, e.g. Heart--Transplantation--Social aspects
Surgeons Professional ethics