FCE SharkSources

The Abraham S. Fischler School of Education

Social Studies Resource Center

http://libguides.nova.edu/fsesharksources

 Building A Conscience

Armenian Content Links Recommended by the Armenian Genocide Commemoration Sub-Committee

                                       Chairperson:         Mr. Raffy Yaghdjian at raffy.yaghdjian@gmail.com

                                       Committee Members: Dr. Manuel Babaian

                                                                       Mr. Albert Mazmanian

                                                                       Ms. Carol Norigian

                                                                       Mr. Armen Sarkisyan

                                                                       Mr. Rouben J. Yaghdjian

                                       FSE Faculty Contact:   Dr. Daniel H. Markarian at markaria@nova.edu

This Resource List Supports State and National Standards

Common Core History/ Social Studies Standards for Grades 6-12 http://www.corestandards.org/ using Primary and Secondary Sources to learn Key Ideas and Details, Craft and Structure, Integration of Knowledge, Ideas & Range of Reading and Level of Text Complexity

National Council for Social Studies Strands http://www.socialstudies.org/standards/strands

Next Generation Sunshine Standards: Social Studies Standards

http://www.cpalms.org/Public/search/Standard ex. SS.912.W.9.3

Explain cultural, historical, economic factors and governmental policies that created the opportunities for ethnic cleansing or genocide in Cambodia, the Balkans, Rwanda, Darfur, and describe various governmental and non-governmental responses to them.

• www.genocideeducation.org
• www.TeachGenocide
• www.LearnGenocide

• https://www.facinghistory.org/
• What is Genocide:  http://www.genocide-museum.am/eng/genocide.php
• About Genocide:  http://www.genocidescholars.org/resources/about-genocide
• Cultural Genocide:  http://www.genocide-museum.am/eng/cultural_genocide.php
• Zoryan Institute http://www.zoryaninstitute.org/education.html
• Armenian Genocide and Human Rights Curricula:  http://www.armenian-genocide.org./current_category.117/resourceguide_list.html

• FAQ about the Armenian Genocide: http://www.armenian-genocide.org./genocidefaq.html
• Armenian Genocide:  http://www.genocide-museum.am/eng/armenian_genocide.php

• http://www.genocide-museum.am/eng/chronology.php

• Mapping Armenian Genocide: http://www.genocide-museum.am/eng/mapping_armenian_genocide.php
• Map of the 1915 Armenian Genocide in the Turkish Empire: http://www.armenian-genocide.org./map-full.html

• Pre-Genocide Photos: http://www.genocide-museum.am/eng/pre-genocide_photos.php
• Photos of Armenian Genocide: http://www.genocide-museum.am/eng/photos_of_armenian_genocide.php
• Stanley Kerr Photos:  http://www.zoryaninstitute.org/pdf/Stanely%20Kerr%20Archives%20158.pdf
• Photo Collections:  http://www.armenian-genocide.org./photointro.html
• Armenian Deportees: 1915-1916: http://www.armenian-genocide.org./photo_wegner.html
• Photos of Armenia: 1917-1919: http://www.armenian-genocide.org./photo_elder.html

• Roslin Art Center
• Genocide Art: http://www.legacy-project.org/index.php?page=event_detail&eventID=6

• Aram Khachaturian: http://www.khachaturian.am/eng/index.htm
• Narek.com - Armenian music, books etc.

• Filmography: http://www.genocidescholars.org/resources/filmography
• Multimedia Resources on the Armenian Genocide:  http://www.armenian-genocide.org./multimedia.html

• Publications: http://www.zoryaninstitute.org/publications.html
• Books: http://www.zoryaninstitute.org/booksforsale.html
• The Hidden Holocaust (by Ruth Rosen, 12/15/2003)
• Nothing Personal / Among the deniers (By Thomas O'Dwyer, 05/09/2003)
• A conflict conveniently forgotten and a holocaust deliberately denied (By Robert Fisk, 08/31/2002)
• Dead Reckoning; Holocausts vs holocausts (By Robert Fisk, 08/05/2000)
• Remember The First Holocaust (By Robert Fisk, 01/28/2000)

• Dictionary of genocide:  http://books.google.com/books?id=_02aVgTaFDYC&pg=PA526&lpg=PA526&dq=genocide+365&source=bl&ots=sQyZiupi94&sig=sSD2Q70yKPKFYt1A0I9aVG__UqQ&hl=en&sa=X&ei=6io3VJPwAYLJggSknoEo&ved=0CDIQ6AEwBQ#v=onepage&q=genocide%20365&f=false
• The Armenian Genocide: Context and Legacy:  http://www.armenian-genocide.org./Education.56/current_category.117/resourceguide_detail.html
• http://www.armenian-genocide.org./Education.117/current_category.117/resourceguide_detail.html Centuries of Genocide: Essays and Eyewitness Accounts
• America and the Armenian Genocide of 1915:  http://www.cambridge.org/us/academic/subjects/history/regional-and-world-history-general-interest/america-and-armenian-genocide-1915?format=PB

• Survivor Stories: http://www.genocide-museum.am/eng/personal_histories.php
• Eyewitness: http://www.genocide-museum.am/eng/eye_witnesses.php

• Armenia Network Information Center
• Armenian Directory Yellow Pages
• The Armenian Reporter Int'l.
• Aravot Daily Newspaper
• Azg Daily Newspaper
• Asbarez Daily Newspaper
• Golos Armenii Online
• Internews Armenia
• Armenian News Network
• Armenpress News Agency
• Noyan Tapan News Agency
• Snark News Agency
• Armenian Radio Online
• Radio Free Europe/Radio Liberty
• CNN Customized News Source
• The Mirror Spectator: http://www.mirrorspectator.com/about/
• The Armenian News Network Groong
• Latest Armenian News.
• Regional, Topical and World News.

• The Critical Corner
• The Literary Groong
• Review & Outlook
• Entertainment Wire
• `Witnesses' to Massacres and Genocide and their Aftermath: Probing the Photographic Record
  • By Abraham D. Krikorian and Eugene L. Taylor
• Onnik Krikorian's Series of Interviews on the Yezidi Community in Armenia
• Ruth Bedevian's Armenian House Museum Series
• Arthur Hagopian's Reports from Jerusalem
• Kay Mouradian's Voices From The Past

• http://societyforarmenianstudies.com/news-events/
• https://www.facebook.com/365facts

• The President of Armenia
• The National Assembly of Armenia
• The Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Armenia
• The Constitutional Court of Armenia
• The Central Bank of Armenia
• The Central Electoral Commission of Armenia (CEC)
• The Embassy of the Republic of Armenia in Washington D.C.
• The Office of the Nagorno-Karabakh Republic in the USA

• Resources: http://www.zoryaninstitute.org/resources.html
• Collections: http://www.zoryaninstitute.org/collections.html
• Bibliography: http://www.genocide-museum.am/eng/bibliography.php
• Media: http://www.genocide-museum.am/eng/media.php
• Quotations: http://www.genocide-museum.am/eng/media.php
• Zoryan Institute: http://www.zoryaninstitute.org/
• Encyclopedia Entries: http://www.armenian-genocide.org./encyclopedia.html
• Sample Documents: http://www.armenian-genocide.org./sampledocs.html
• UCLA Home
• UCLA Libraries, Museums & the Arts
• UCLA Humanities
• UCLA Department of Near Eastern Languages and Cultures
• The von Grunebaum Center for Near Eastern Studies at UCLA
• UCLA Social Sciences Division
• UCLA History Department
• UCLA AEF Chair of Modern Armenian History
• Bruin OnLine
• Daily Bruin
• UCLA Today

• The National Academy of Sciences of Armenia
• Armenian National Institute
• Matenadaran: Mashtots Institute of Ancient Manuscripts
• Armenian Classical Literature Digital Library
• The Armenian Educational Foundation
• The Society for Armenian Studies
• Armenian Studies at the Hebrew University
• American University of Armenia
• Erevan State University
• Haigazian University of Lebanon
• Artsakh State University
• University of Michigan Armenian Research Center
• Association Internationale des Etudes Arméniennes
• Deutsch - Armenische Gesellschaft

• The Constitution of the Republic of Armenia
• ICTJ Legal Analysis on Applicability of UN Convention on Genocides pre-1951 [pdf]
• De Zayas Memorandum on The Genocide Against the Armenians and the application of the 1948 Genocide Convention. [Executive Summary]
• The Permanent People's Tribunal In Paris  [pdf]
• Geoffrey Robertson QC's Opinion: Was There An Armenian Genocide?
• Treaties
• Armenia Diaspora Conferences
• History of House Resolution 398/596

• The Armenia Encyclopedia
• Artsakhworld
• Matenadaran
• The Library of Congress Armenia Country page
• The National Academy of Sciences of Armenia
• Djulfa Virtual Memorial and Museum

• http://www.genocidescholars.org/iags-conferences
• http://www.zoryaninstitute.org/conferences.html
• http://www.genocide-museum.am/eng/public_lectures.php
• http://www.genocide-museum.am/eng/conferences.php

• International Institute for Genocide & Human Rights Studies: http://genocidestudies.org/
• The Armenian Genocide Museum & Institute: http://www.genocide-museum.am/eng/index.php
• Near East Foundation: http://www.neareast.org/
• Armenian National Institute: http://www.armenian-genocide.org./
• Armenian Library and Museum of America: https://www.armenianmuseum.org/
• Armenian National Institute: http://www.armenian-genocide.org./
• Armenian National Institute of America: http://www.anca.org/
• Armenian Assembly of America: http://www.aaainc.org/
• Related organizations: http://www.armenian-genocide.org./links.html
• Online Exhibits: http://www.armenian-genocide.org./online_exhibits.html
• Armenian Engineers and Scientists of America
• Armenian Highland
• Armenian Language
• Hye Etch - Armenian History & Culture
• Armenian Freenet
• Armenia Tree Project
• Open Society Foundation http://www.opensocietyfoundations.org/about/offices-foundations/open-society-foundations-armenia
• Cilicia.com
• 1700th Anniversary of Christianity in Armenia
• Armenian Library and Museum of America

• http://www.zoryaninstitute.org/tad.html

• Armenian Studies Programs in the US: http://societyforarmenianstudies.com/links/
• The University of California, Los Angeles
  Home to 2 Armenian Chairs, a thriving Armenian Studies Program,, and the largest U.S. University library collection of Armenian books.
• Harvard
  Home to the oldest Armenian Chair in the United States.
• Columbia
  Home to an Armenian Chair.
• University of Michigan, Ann Arbor
  Home to 2 Armenian Chairs.
• California State University, Fresno Type "remote" at the login prompt.
  Home to an Armenian Chair and a thriving undergraduate Armenian Studies program.
• Tufts University
  Home to an Armenian Chair. Type "tulips" at the Username prompt.
• Leiden University
  Home of an Armenian Chair and library with rare holdings including the Duodecim Prophetae.
• Hebrew University of Jerusalem
  The National Library and the Mount Scopus Library are probably the best ones to access. Home of an Armenian Chair and a strong Undergraduate and Graduate Armenian Studies program.
• Also see the Armenian Assembly's Financial Aid Directory for Students of Armenian Descent.

• States: http://www.genocide-museum.am/eng/states.php
• Organizations: http://www.genocide-museum.am/eng/international_organisations.php
• Provincial government: http://www.genocide-museum.am/eng/provincial_governments.php
• Petitions: http://www.genocide-museum.am/eng/public_petitions.php
• Lectures: http://www.genocide-museum.am/eng/public_lectures.php
• Genocide Memorials: http://www.armenian-genocide.org./memorials.html
• International Affirmation of the Armenian Genocide: http://www.armenian-genocide.org./affirmation.html

• Armenian Students' Association of America
• Armenian Students Organization of the Hebrew University of Jerusalem
• Usanogh: Periodical of Armenian Students
• UCLA ASA
• UC Berkeley ASA
• UC Davis ASA
• USC ASA
• CSUN ASA
• CSULA ASA
• CSU Fresno http://www.fresnostate.edu/artshum/armenianstudies/
• GCC ASA  http://clubs.glendale.edu/gccasa/
• Stanford University ASA
• University of Toronto ASA
• University of Hannover ASA

• Armenian Assembly of America
• RA Embassy in the US
• Armenia Fund Inc.
• Armenia-Diaspora Official Site
• The Land & Culture Organization
• Armenian General Benevolent Union
• Armenian Relief Society - Armenian Red Cross
• The Official Site of the Holy See of the Armenian Apostolic Church
• Catholicosate of the Great House of Cilicia
• The Armenian Patriarchate of Jerusalem
• The Armenian Patriarchate of Constantinople
• Gandzasar Theological Center

• Camp Haiastan
• Armenian Youth Federation
• Armenian General Athletic Union & Scouts Homenetmen
• The Narod Institute
• International Sports Association for Armenia