Human Resources
- Home
- Books
- Journals
- Databases
- Websites
- Associations and professional organizations
- Cite your sources
- How do I ...?
Need Help? Ask A Librarian!
There are several ways to ask for help when you need it.
Call 954-262-4613 (Toll-Free)
Email refdesk@nova.edu
Chat with a Librarian online
Appointment Request Form | En Español
Text (954) 621-1400 (Start your question with "NSU')
Additional recommended websites
Economic Policy Institute
National Labor Relations Board
Bureau of Labor Statistics
Information about pay and benefits, unemployment, employment, productivity, workplace injuries, occupational requirements.
- Monthly Labor Review - Through MLR articles, economists, statisticians, and experts from BLS join with private sector professionals and federal, state, and local government specialists to provide a wealth of research in a wide variety of fields. Subjects include the labor force, the economy, employment, inflation, productivity, occupational injuries and illnesses, wages, prices, and more.
- Occupational Outlook Handbook provides information for 324 occupational profiles, covering about 4 out of 5 jobs in the economy.
-
TED: The Economics Daily - Each business day, The Economics Daily presents fresh economic information in charts and maps and highlights intriguing BLS data that you might otherwise have missed.
Clearinghouse for Labor Evaluation and Research
Employment and Training Administration
Occupational Safety and Health Administration
- Data and Statistics covers inspections, penalties, injury and fatalities reports
- Publications
U.S. Department of Labor
U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission
- Data tools and products – employment statistics, litigation statistics, reports
International Labour Organization
- ILOSTAT delivers comprehensive labour statistics for better evidence-based policymaking. Coverage includes labor supply, working conditions, wages, labor productivity, labor costs, union membership, labor migrants and more.
- ILO Library research guides cover various topics such as collective bargaining, forced labor, international labor migration, labor statistics, national labor laws, occupational safety and health and more.
- ILO Research areas include trends in employment, unemployment, labour force participation, productivity, vulnerable employment, working poverty, special issues of youth and gender, inequality, social security, organization of work and production, labour market policies.
Academy of Human Resource Development
- The AHRD Digest is published electronically once a month.
American Staffing Association
- Staffing in the News
- Staffing Industry Statistics – national staffing industry statistics, statistics by state, staffing sector profiles.
- Staffing surveys and data
- Staffing Today - up-to-the-minute staffing industry, employment, and economic news as well as legal and legislative updates and industry research.
Association for Talent Development
- ATD Research - Tracking trends, informing decisions, and connecting research to performance.
- CTDO Magazine - Quarterly magazine for talent development executives developing the next generation of talent.
- TD Magazine - ATD's award-winning monthly magazine that covers industry best practices, emerging technologies, and trends.
Employee Benefit Research Institute
- Research Publications - Issue Briefs give our most in‐depth expert analyses of employee benefit issues and trends, including data updates; emerging designs, practices, and products; and employee benefit policies and proposals. Fast Facts provide high-level takeaways of EBRI research in a condensed format so you can be quickly informed on benefits topics.
International Association for Human Resource Information Management
International Public Management Association for Human Resources
- Public Sector HR News
- Research and reports – benchmarking reports, employment outlook, state and local workforce research reports.
Labor Council for Latin American Advancement
- Reports - topics and policies of consequence to Latino workers
Society for Human Resources Management
- HR Magazine - published quarterly; provides up-to-date news, features and analysis of topics of interest to HR professionals at all career levels, and highlights HR’s essential, strategic role. 3 free articles per month.
- SHRM Research Institute - evidence-based insights, recommendations, and innovations at the intersection of people and work.
Society for Industrial and Organizational Psychology
- The Industrial-Organizational Psychologist - news, reports, and noncommercial information related to the fundamental practice, science, and teaching issues in industrial and organizational psychology.
World Federation of People Management Associations
WorldatWork
- #evolve Magazine - insights on leadership, workplace culture, employee experience and strategic HR/business topics in this quarterly publication.
- Workspan Daily - news and insights, delivered in a variety of concise, easily digestible formats. Workspan Daily provides fresh news, every weekday.
Business search engine
Enter keywords in the field above to search more than twenty business-related periodicals.
These resources were chosen because they are from respected organizations with a primary focus on business. Note that some of these sources, such as Harvard Business Review, have a limited access if you don’t have a subscription. If you are unable to open an article from the search results, search for the article title in the Alvin Sherman Library catalog.
For peer-reviewed journal articles, literature reviews, and primary source material, utilize the business databases on the Alvin Sherman Library website.
| The Atlantic | Fast Company | Inc | New York Times | Wall Street Journal |
| Bloomberg | Financial Times | International Business Times | NPR's Planet Money podcast | Wired |
| Business Insider | Forbes | MarketWatch | SeekingAlpha | |
| CNN Money | Fortune | Money | Training Magazine Network | |
| Entrepreneur | Harvard Business Review | The Motley Fool | Trend Hunter |