Signature Gallery Event Recordings and Exhibit Descriptions

Recorded April 30, 2024
In this virtual session, explore conflict resolution databases to find Holocaust resources available through the Sherman Library.

Recorded April 11, 2024
Incidences of race-based violence surround us--on the news, on the Internet, on our phones.  How can we research the number and kind of incidences that occur using Sherman Library databases, academic resources, non-profit organizational reports, and government information sources? In this session, we will define the term “race-based violence”, describe the manner and form of selected documentation, and recommend sources that examine the societal impact of this plague. 

Recorded March 20, 2024
Join us to learn more about the Visual History Archive (VHA), a streaming collection of primary source video testimonies from survivors of and witnesses to genocide. The collection is the largest digital archive of its kind in the world, and offers insight into life before, during, and after the interviewee's experience with genocide. The collection includes information on:
-Anti-Rohingya Mass Violence (August-October 2017)
-Armenian Genocide (1915-23)
-Cambodian Genocide (1975-1979)
-Central African Republic Conflict (2012-Present)
-European Holocaust (1939-1945)
-Genocide against the Tutsi in Rwanda (1994)
-Guatemalan Genocide (1978-1996)
-Nanjing Massacre (1937)
-South Sudan Civil War, (2013-present)
-War and genocide in Bosnia & Herzegovina (1992-1995)