Map Resources

Web browsers such as Mozilla Firefox and Internet Explorer simply retrieve and display Web sites, and search engines simply list Web sites containing terms that you designate. They do not evaluate the accuracy or value of the Web sites, and there are sites that contain inaccurate, out-of-date, and even false information. You are responsible for determining the usefulness of a Web site. Click the link above to guidelines which will help you evaluate Web resources.

The Geography and Map Division of the Library of Congress holds more than 4.5 million items, of which Map Collections represents only a small fraction, those that have been converted to digital form.

The focus of Map Collections is Americana and Cartographic Treasures of the Library of Congress. These images were created from maps and atlases and, in general, are restricted to items that are not covered by copyright protection.

The Exploring Florida Maps collection contains approximately 6,000 historic and contemporary Florida maps. All maps are available as GIF or JPEG files for screen display as well as in PDF for printing.

Florida Maps: Then & Now is an animated map series from the State Library and Archives of Florida. The project uses Google Earth to create animated videos using historic and modern maps, photographs, and primary source documents from our collections.

This site covers the early history of navigation and map making. Included are histories of compass roses, longitude, traditional astronomy, calendars, maps and more.

Tools for discovering the history of cartography here include recommended literature, collections, conferences, map dealers, exhibitions, map collections and collecting, globes, societies, and current research.

This website illustrates and describes a selection of original rare and historic maps chosen from the Map Collection of the University of Arizona Library.

A browsable dictionary of "abbreviations and acronyms found in various publications including maps and websites.

The Cartography and Geographic Information Society (CaGIS) is composed of educators, researchers and practitioners involved in the design, creation, use and dissemination of geographic information.

NSGIC's Mission is to promote statewide geospatial coordination activities in all states and to be an effective advocate for states in national geospatial policy and initiatives, thereby enabling the National Spatial Data Infrastructure (NSDI).