Newspaper Resources: Historical Newspapers

Historical Newspaper Sources

Find historical information from newspaper titles such as the New York Times, the Financial Times, and about historical topics such as early American life and black culture. Click one of the links on the right to search a newspaper database.

Featured Historical News Databases

Financial Times Historical Archive 1888-2009
more...less...
The Financial Times Historical Archive is the complete searchable facsimile run of the world's most authoritative daily business newspaper. Every article and advertisement ever printed in the paper, since it was first published in 1888, can be searched and browsed individually and page by page. This is an essential, comprehensive and unbiased research tool for everyone studying public affairs, and economic and financial history of the last 120 years.
New York Times (1851-2006) in ProQuest Historical Newspapers
more...less...
Provides full page and article images with searchable full-text for the New York Times and its predecessor, the New York Times Daily News, from 1851 to 2006.
Daily Life Through History
more...less...
Combines Daily Life through History, Daily Life Premium, and World Folklore and Folklife databases to provide full text information, maps, images, website links, etc. on folklore, cultures, and customs of peoples around the world from ancient times to the present. Teacher resources available.
ABC-CLIO Databases
more...less...
Provides access to two cultural resources: The African American Experience and Daily Life Through History. Includes ebooks, interviews, maps, images, audio, music files, and timelines.
Black Thought & Culture
more...less...
Provides approximately 100,000 pages of monographs, essays, articles, speeches, and interviews written by leaders within the black community from the earliest times to the present.

Florida Digital Newspaper Library

The Florida Digital Newspaper Library (University of Florida Digital Collections) exists to provide access to the news and history of Florida. All of the over 2.6 million pages of historic through current Florida newspapers in the Florida Digital Newspaper Library are openly and freely available with zoomable page images and full text.