Why are you going to use databases?
www ≠ database
Databases are not the same as websites!
- A database is a collection of information published electronically by a credible source or publishing company. The information in a database is arranged into records that can be searched by a computer.
- While you may find a lot of results when using Google, Bing, or other search engines on the web, these results may not be appropriate to cite in your actual paper. Instead, search the internet to brainstorm ideas and then research those concepts in the databases.
- The majority of scholarly articles found within a database are not freely available on the internet.
Conflict Resolution Databases
Below you will find a list of databases that contain scholarly articles.
-
CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online)
The most comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. CIAO publishes a wide range of scholarship from 1991 onward that includes working papers from research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs.
-
PAIS Index
Provides citations and abstracts related to current issues and public affairs. Includes references to journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Websites, and more. Newspapers and newsletters are not indexed. 1972 - present.
-
ProQuest One Academic
Search four databases on one platform. ProQuest One Academic includes ProQuest Central (covering 160 subject areas), Academic Complete (a collection of 150,000 ebooks with unlimited, multi-user access), ProQuest Dissertations and Theses, and Academic Video Online (AVON), a collection of 67,000 academic videos across multiple subjects.
Social Science Databases
-
JSTOR
Full-text articles from scholarly journals are available (from Volume 1 to issues published 2-5 years ago) in the arts, business, humanities, literature, social sciences, general science, mathematics and statistics
-
Project Muse
Full-text ebooks and journals from scholarly journals and publishers in the humanities and social sciences, including arts, history, literature, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and more. All ebooks and journals are fully integrated for search and discovery.
-
Social Science Database
Full-text articles from over 340 periodicals covering the social sciences.
Newspaper Databases
-
Access World News
Access World News supports all academic disciplines by providing unique primary sources not found in other resources and extensive news coverage at local, regional, national, and international levels. This product offers complete electronic editions of thousands of authoritative U.S. and global news sources. Includes thousands of broadcast transcripts, newswires, video clips, and news blogs and it features a customizable, map-based interface and powerful search capabilities. Enables students to examine subjects geographically and over time, analyze trends and statistics, and compare perspectives.
-
US Newsstream
Citations and selected full-text for international, national and regional newspapers.