PSY 1603 Systems of Psychotherapy

Sixty high-yield psychiatry cases helps students sharpen their diagnostic and problem-solving skills The Case Files series is an award-winning learning system proven to improve shelf-exam scores and clerkship performance. Unlike other books on the market, this series helps students learn in the context of real patients instead of simply memorizing. Case Files Psychiatry teaches students how to improve their diagnostic and problem-solving skills as they work through sixty high-yield clinical cases. Each case includes a complete discussion, clinical pearls, references, and USMLE-style review questions with answers. The fifth edition has been updated to include a new Case Correlations feature which highlights differential diagnosis and related cases in the book, andNEW CASES highlighting DSM-V diagnostic entities.

This is a thorough and well-structured piece of work, which brings in the recent work of excellent authorities such as Barbara Ingram. It is well arranged, with many examples and case vignettes, which bring the material to life in an engaging way.

Casebook of Neuropsychiatry provides a fascinating tour of the critical subspecialty of neuropsychiatry, which combines neurology and psychiatry to address organic disturbances in the central nervous system that give rise to mental diseases.

Trainee therapists need to show practical competence through the production of client reports and case studies. Reporting in Counselling and Psychotherapy is a unique hands-on guide to this element of practical work. Using clinical examples to guide the reader, and a detailed analysis of case study and process report writing, it will show how to present clear, concise and properly presented reports.

Dobson, Hays, and Wenzel examine the initial phase of treatment in cognitive behavioral therapy. Using clips from their own therapy sessions, the experts demonstrate how to effectively gather informat ion to determine a diagnosis, how to foster the therapeutic alliance, and techniques for goal setting. Following each clip, the three discuss context of when the techniques might be used as well as variations which might be used in other contexts.

Psychopathology & Psychotherapy: DSM-5 Diagnosis, Case Conceptualization, and Treatment, Third Edition differs from other psychopathology and abnormal psychology books. While other books focus on describing diagnostic conditions, this book focus on the critical link between psychopathology and psychotherapy. More specifically, it links diagnostic evaluation, case conceptualization, and treatment selection to psychotherapy practice. Research affirms that knowledge and awareness of these links is essential in planning and providing highly effective psychotherapy. This third edition incorporates detailed case conceptualizations and treatment considerations for the DSM-5 diagnoses most commonly seen in everyday clinical practice. Extensive case studies illustrate the diagnostic, case conceptualization, and treatment process in a way that makes it come alive. Written by practicing clinicians with expertise in specific disorders, this book will be an invaluable resource to both novice and experienced clinicians.

This is the type of book instructors, trainees, and clinicians need#65533;a short text that demystifies the case conceptualization process and provides a streamlined method for learning and mastering this competency. It presents an integrative model for conceptualizing cases, dispels common myths about case conceptualization, and provides straightforward guidelines and strategies for mastering this essential competency. Writing clinically useful case conceptualizations is no longer optional today, and this training guide is the only resource you will need to increase your expertise and incorporate this competency in professional practice. Five detailed clinical case studies are referred to throughout the book, and exercises are presented at the end of the last five chapters to help readers in deriving Cognitive-Behavioral, Dynamic, Solution-Focused, Biopsychosocial, and Adlerian case conceptualizations from an integrative assessment. Drs. Len and Jonathan Sperry also address cultural sensitivity and offer guidelines for developing cultural conceptualizations and selecting culturally-sensitive treatments. All techniques are easy to understand and use, ensuring that readers will master this competency and feel confident applying it to difficult cases.

Bringing together leading authorities, this volume synthesizes the breadth of current research on child and adolescent treatment into a practical handbook for students and clinicians. The book was inspired by the preeminent work on adult disorders, Clinical Handbook of Psychological Disorders (now in its fifth edition), edited by David H. Barlow. It provides a concise overview of the disorders most commonly encountered in clinical practice and details evidence-based treatment approaches, largely grounded in cognitive-behavioral therapy (CBT). Procedures for assessment, diagnosis, case formulation, intervention, and progress monitoring are illustrated with rich extended case examples, including session transcripts. The book addresses nuts-and-bolts issues such as how to set up each session, what to cover, and how to broach difficult topics with children and parents. See also Clinical Handbook of Psychological Disorders, Fifth Edition (on adults), edited by David H. Barlow.

Individual Case Formulation presents formulation as a process that can be taught systematically to trainee therapists. The book begins by discussing assorted theories of case formulation, and critiques their ability to be applied in real world situations. The individual case formulation approach is then defined and discussed as a way to integrate the best of what different theoretical orientations have to offer in conjunction with the expertise and clinical judgment of the therapist. The book proposes a systemic/functional framework that focuses on difficulties as defined by the client and emphasizes constructive solutions to problems rather than symptom reduction.

There is a long history of behavioral approaches to psychopathology. Recent work, however, has focused instead on cognitive, psychodynamic and integrative approaches. Behavioral Case Formulation and Intervention redresses this imbalance by exploring radical behaviorism and its approach to the conceptualization, case formulation and treatment of psychopathology.

WIth the ongoing pressures for psychologists to practice evidence-based care, and the requirement insurance carriers have both for treatment goals, measurement of outcomes, and a focus on brief therapy, functional analysis provides a framework for achieving all of the above. Having proven itself in treating behavioral problems in education, functional analysis is now being applied more broadly to behavioral and psychologial disorders.