DIY Crafting: Databases
Music Online
Did you know that the library has a database that lets you listen to music, create personal playlists, get free biweekly music downloads, and more?
Music Online (Alexander Street Press) aims to provide the most comprehensive database in streaming audio, video, reference, and scores on the web!
Use A Database!
Can't find a book? Search for an article online in a database!
The databases listed below have full-text articles, images, maps, timelines, audio, interviews, and/or e-books relating to Black History Month:
ABC-CLIO Databases - ABC-CLIO
Provides access to five cultural resources: The African American Experience, The Latino American Experience, The American Indian Experience, Daily Life Through History, and Pop Culture Universe. Includes ebooks, interviews, maps, images, audio, music files, and timelines.
Biography in Context - Gale Cengage Learning
Full-text database provides biographical information on people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas.
Black Drama - Alexander Street Press
This edition of Black Drama contains approximately 1200 plays by 201 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. The database also includes selected playbills, production photographs and other ephemera related to the plays.
Black Short Fiction is the most comprehensive collection yet created of stories from Africa and the African Diaspora. When complete, it will offer more than 8,000 short stories and folktales, ranging thematically from oral traditions that date back many hundreds of years to contemporary tales of modern life.
Provides approximately 100,000 pages of monographs, essays, articles, speeches, and interviews written by leaders within the black community from the earliest times to the present.
Black Women Writers celebrates the many voices of women from Africa and the African Diaspora. Offering fiction, poetry, and essays from three continents and 20 countries, the database gives an unparalleled view of black women's struggles through time.
Daily Life Through History - ABC-CLIO
Provides full text information, maps, images, website links, etc. on folklore, cultures, and customs of peoples around the world from ancient times to the present.
Pop Culture Universe - ABC-CLIO
Covers popular culture in America from the 1900s through present days. Teaching aids and student study guides are available.
World Book Online - World Book Inc.
Entry for all World Book products: Kids, Student, Advanced, Discover... all from one launch pad!