Library Guides: Diabetes and Health Care: Support & Tech

Selected Online Resources

American Association of Diabetes Educators
American Diabetes Association
A beginner's guide to carb counting
Clinical Trials - National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases
Diabetes/CDC
Diabetes Data and Statistics (CDC)
Organized by national, state, and county data
Diabetes in the U.S. Population (NIH)
Diabetes Reports from the UCLA Center for Health Policy Research
Diabetes from Nutrition.gov
Diabetes Public Health Resource
MedlinePlus-Diabetes
Videos, statistics, journal articles, etc.
National Center for Health Statistics - Diabetes
National Diabetes Education Program (CDC)
National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases
Nice Guidance Diabetes
From the British National Institute for Health and Clinical Excellence, NICE Guidance includes published guidelines, as well as those in development.
NIDDK Central Repository
Includes clinical data and documentation from NIDDK-sponsored studies, biospecimens and an associated database that identifies specimens collected from studies funded by NIDDK, genotyping data from GWAS and sequencing studies. In most cases, data must be requested.
Diabetes - NLM
Organizations and Selected Resources from the National Library of Medicine.
Obesity - NLM
Organizations and Selected Resources from the National Library of Medicine.

General Health Data Sources and Repositories

CDC Data & Statistics
Data and stats by health topic; includes interactive charts and tools, state data, etc.
AHRQ Data & Surveys
Includes Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project (HCUP), Medical Expenditure Panel Survey (MEPS), State Snapshots, US Health Information Knowledgebase (USHIK). Permissions needed to access some data.
National Center for Health Statistics
From the CDC. Includes National Health & Nutrition Examination Survey, National Health Care Surveys, National Vital Statistics System, etc.
Health Statistics - NLM
From the National Library of Medicine; includes links to general stats resources, vital statistics, specific health conditions, health economics, pharmaceutical stats, etc.
ClinicalTrials.gov
A registry and results database of clinical studies of human participants; from the National Institutes of Health.
Health and Medical Care Archive
Data archive of the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation; some permissions needed to download data.
Global Health Data Exchange
Global catalog of surveys, censuses, vital statistics, and other health-related data. From the Institute for Health Metrics and Evaluation at the University of Washington.

NCBI OMIM
OMIM is a comprehensive, authoritative compendium of human genes and genetic phenotypes that is freely available and updated daily. From Johns Hopkins School of Medicine.

Dryad
A curated general-purpose repository that makes the data underlying scientific publications discoverable, freely reusable, and citable.

Useful Articles

Using Digital Health Technology to Prevent and Treat Diabetes

Diabetes Resources, Websites and more

Links to Research and Practice Resources provided by ADA

Videos

Blood Sugar Testing (Slide Show)
Mayo Clinic
DiabetesCare.net
Diabetes videos
Diabetes Health Center
WebMD video library on Diabetes
How Diabetes affects your blood sugar
(Mayo Clinic)
UCSF Diabetes Education Online
2007-2010 symposium videos

Clinical Challenges CAMTECH

Committed to the concept of ‘Make in India’ and sourcing local health innovation, the Consortium for Affordable Medical Technologies (CAMTech) at Massachusetts General Hospital Global Health, introduced path-breaking solutions at the CAMTech Diabetes Innovation Hack-a-thon at the Indian School of Business (ISB) in Hyderabad

Diabetes Telehealth

DPP Telehealth
Diabetes Prevention Programs may be delivered to individuals with prediabetes by way of Telehealth, the distribution of health-related information through telecommunication technologies such as video conference, telephone, online presentations and videos, remote monitoring, online discussion forums, etc. Telehealth enables distance-learning and empowers lifestyle coaches to provide guidance and advice, encouragement, and remote monitoring of telehealth participants.
more...less...
A number of Telehealth programs exist in Florida:Guirand BeWell Network
Contact: Nancy Guirand, 888-480-8521, nancyg@bewellnetwork.com, www.bewellnetwork.com
Combination in-person and online; classes held throughout Florida

Prediabaid
Contact: Reginald Allouche, 305-907-5530, Reginald@prediabaid.com, www.prediabaid.com
Online phone app instruction launched in Florida

Sacred Heart Health System
Contact: Donna Ryan, 850-416-7261, donna.ryan@shhpens.org
Anyone with prediabetes in Florida may enroll as telehealth participants

Other national programs may be found on the CDC website: National DPP Telehealth Programs