International Business
This guide is a collection of resources focused on international trade between the U.S. and its trading partners as well as other international business topics of interest.
Getting Started
Trade Terminology
Export Bureau
International Chamber of Commerce
- Incoterms - is an acronym standing for international commercial terms. They are the world’s essential terms of trade for the sale of goods. Whether you are filing a purchase order, packaging and labelling a shipment for freight transport, or preparing a certificate of origin at a port, the Incoterms® rules are there to guide you.
World Trade Organization
Books
Here is a list of books you can use if you need to familiarize yourself with international trade related terms.
Dictionary of International Trade by
This reference defines the idiosyncratic terms commonly used in the international trade industry. The second half of the book lists country codes, currencies, the specifications of ocean and air freight containers, the letter of credit process, example trade documents, and other key details.
ISBN: 1885073909Publication Date: 2002-05-01
Encyclopedia of World Trade: from Ancient Times to the Present by
Written for high school or beginning undergraduate students, this four-volume reference valiantly attempts to provide a historical framework for the perhaps overly broad concept of world trade. Entry topics were selected on trade organizations, influential people, commodities, events that affected trade, trade routes, navigation, religion, communic
ISBN: 9780765680587Publication Date: 2004-12-31
Language in International Business by
Tracing the treatment of language in international business as represented in the Journal of International Business Studies, this seminal collection critically explores the conceptualizations of language that have been adopted or ignored by international business scholars over the years and showcases nine articles that have played an important role in establishing and advancing the field. In today's increasingly globalized context of business, significantly richer theories from interdisciplinary perspectives are needed to explain the complexity of the interplay between multiple facets of language and how they affect day-to-day operations. With insights from linguistics, psychology and organizational theory, Language in International Business provides an assessment of scholarly efforts to uncover the profound impact that language has on global business today and proposes some important ways in which this nascent field of language in international business may be further advanced. Chapter 9 is licensed under a Creative Commons Attributtion NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License. The Journal of International Business Studies (JIBS) is an official publication of the Academy of International Business and is the top-ranked journal in the field of international business. The goal of JIBS is to publish insightful, innovative and impactful research on international business. JIBS is multidisciplinary in scope and interdisciplinary in content and methodology. For more information, visit www.jibs.net. The Academy of International Business (AIB) is the leading association of scholars and specialists in the field of international business. A global community of scholars and researchers for the creation and dissemination of knowledge about international business and policy issues, the AIB transcends the boundaries of single academic disciplines and managerial functions to enhance business education and practice. For more information, visit aib.msu.edu
ISBN: 9783319427454Publication Date: 2016-11-20
The Oxford Handbook of International Business by
The Oxford Handbook of International Business comprises twenty-eight original chapters from the world's most distinguished scholars in the field of international business. United as a whole, these reflect both the present structure of the field and the major intellectual issues of current andlikely future interest. Demonstrating analytical insight and critical thinking, the authors are all authorities on their chosen topics and have been active as leaders in the Academy of International Business. Their chapters survey and synthesize relevant literature of recent years, ensuring that thevolume will be a primary reference for students and scholars throughout the social sciences.The book is split into five major sections, providing comprehensive coverage of the following areas: the history and theory of the multinational enterprise; the political and policy environment of international business; strategies of multinational enterprises; the financial areas of themultinational enterprise (marketing, finance and accounting, HRM, and innovation); and business systems in Asia, South America, and the transitional economies.
ISBN: 0199241821Publication Date: 2001-11-08
Terms of Trade by
Have you ever wondered what a term in international economics means? This useful reference book offers a glossary of terms in both international trade and international finance, with emphasis on economic issues. It is intended for students getting their first exposure to international economics, although advanced students will also find it useful for some of the more obscure terms that they have forgotten or never encountered.Besides an extensive glossary of terms, there is a picture gallery of diagrams used to explain key concepts such as the Edgeworth Production Box and the Offer Curve Diagram in international economics. This section is followed by several lists of terms that occur a lot in international economics, grouped by subject to help users find terms that they cannot recall.Prior to the bibliography is a section on the origins of terms in international economics which records what the author has been able to learn about the origins of some of the terms used in international economics. This is a must-have portable glossary in international trade and international economics
ISBN: 9812566287Publication Date: 2006-10-01
Please note some of these books might be reference books; reference books are only available for use in the library. You can identify those by looking at the Copies tab in the record of each book – the Location section should say Sherman Library Reference and the Status section should say LIB USE ONLY.
Books
The 30 Day MBA in International Business by
As business becomes increasingly reliant on succeeding in export markets, the need for specialist knowledge in international trade is at its highest. With thorough explanations to describe the current international business environment as well as international case studies which include IKEA, Shell, Innocent Drinks, Ford, Match.com and Ryanair, The 30 Day MBA in International Business will boost your knowledge and help you play a more rounded role in shaping the direction of your organization. The 30 Day MBA in International Business covers all the essential elements of international trade and business, including international marketing strategy, managing international organizations and selecting global strategic partners as well as finance, accounting and human resource management. The 30 Day MBA in International Business is packed with links to free resources from the top business schools as well as an online list of sources to keep you informed on all the key business issues.Online supporting resources for this book include a bonus chapter on business communication, self-test question and answers and appendices.
ISBN: 0749475420Publication Date: 2016-01-26
Cases on Internationalization Challenges for SMEs by
With the globalization process, firms are seeking to expand their activities to international markets but are also "feeling" expanded competition from abroad. Small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs), though seeking to expand abroad, have particularities that hinder their natural international expansion path due to particular barriers and challenges that most multinational firms have already overcome. Cases on Internationalization Challenges for SMEs provides a set of case studies on the internationalization of SMEs in order to share the latest empirical research findings in the field of internationalization in the context of a globalized world, and which considers a highly competitive international business setting. This includes examining the main reasons for the success or failure of the process of internationalization of SMEs and their inherent activities. Covering topics that include competitive advantage, export performance, and inward internationalization, this book targets managers, executives, and entrepreneurs concerned with how to adapt their companies to a fast-changing international business environment, how to conduct internationalization strategies, how to choose the most adequate international entry modes, and how to adapt their products and strategies to international markets. It is also suited for academicians, researchers, and students in the field of management.
ISBN: 9781799843887Publication Date: 2020-11-06
The Development of International Business by
The Development of International Businessoffers an extensive understanding of contemporary international business through detailed, engaging discussion of the development of the multinational enterprise (MNE) over the past half-century. By providing an analytically informed basis for understanding MNEs, two parallel strands of analysis in International Business (IB) are reviewed: the `theoretical' and the `practical'. Firstly, Robert Pearce identifies how the practical restructuring of the MNE as an organisational form has responded to changes in the wider global economy and how this evolution has interacted with the enrichment of theory on the topic. Secondly, by tracing the persisting dynamics of the MNE's structure and strategic positioning, he demonstrates the use of these systems and how they can help to understand and organise the future evolution of not only MNEs but of international business as a whole. Highly accessible with an informed overview of the entire IB subject area, The Development of International Business is an essential text for students and academics of business, management, economics and development. More generally, business leaders, economists and politicians will value the exceptional insight into the progression of international business and its future.
ISBN: 9781786439970Publication Date: 2017-09-29
Exporting by
"Laurel Delaney writes in a tremendous spirit of service to entrepreneurial and small business leaders navigating the opportunities of globalization. Whether leading a fresh startup, a small business, or an entrepreneurial growth company seeking greatness, the question of whether--and how--to go global must be addressed. Delaney shows yet again her passionate dedication to serving her readers with deeply practical guidance."--Jim Collins, author of Good to Great and co-author of Beyond Entrepreneurship Gain the knowledge you need to market, sell, and fulfill orders internationally, taking full advantage of the Internet and the opportunities it creates. This book is the bible for entrepreneurs and small business owners taking their US businesses to the next level of growth through exports. Exporting empowers readers with the can-do confidence to tackle the challenges and opportunities of exporting, leading to greater revenues, stability, and profitability for your business. With 70 percent of global buying power lying outside US borders, exporting is not just an option for ambitious entrepreneurs--it's an absolute must for building and sustaining a successful future. Typically, exporting first appears on the radar of small businesses as unsolicited inquiries from foreign customers on the web via your email, website, blog, or Facebook page. People outside your country want your product, and they want it now. The problem is that most small business owners do not know how to service these inquiries. What's the best way to ship goods? Do I need a license? Should I sell through wholesalers in specific countries or directly to consumers? How will I get paid? Reflecting the rapid rate of change in national and global trade regulations and economic conditions, this second edition contains extensive updates and enhancements of the first edition's data and citations; actual and prospective multilateral trade agreements, especially the TPP and TTIP; CFR, EAR, and BIS rules; interviews with trade and sector specialists; economic trends and shocks affecting export opportunities and risks in various regions and sectors; and the annotated selection of recommended exporting resource sites. Exporting: The Definitive Guide to Selling Abroad Profitably: Lays out simple steps and tips to conduct market research, find customers, open new markets, create an export business plan, get paid, and ship goods and services efficiently and profitably Shows you how to use the Internet and social media to mediate the exporting process and expand your international presence Details how the US government helps exporters and how to avoid foreign regulatory pitfalls
ISBN: 9781484221921Publication Date: 2016-10-19
Exporting Essentials by
Exporting Essentials: Selling Products and Services to the World Successfully is for entrepreneurs and small business owners--the makers, movers, and shakers in our world--interested in taking their businesses to the next level of growth through exports. This short, hard-hitting book covers just the essentials, providing the tools you need to tap new markets. And it couldn't be more timely. In the old days, creating an international business was left to relatively few--those with the wherewithal to move boatloads of goods into foreign countries. But now, thanks to the Internet, businesses of all sizes have a huge new opportunity to sell both goods and services globally. Yet only 1% of all U.S. businesses export. Why? Typically, exporting begins with unsolicited inquiries from foreign customers on the web via email, website, blog, or posting on a Facebook page. People outside your country want your product, and they want it now. The problem is that most small business owners do not know how to service these inquiries. What's the best way to ship goods? Do I need a license? Should I sell through wholesalers in specific countries or directly to consumers? How will I get paid? Help is here--Exporting Essentials, an abridged version of the author's Exporting: The Definitive Guide to Selling Abroad Profitably, equips you with the knowledge you need to sell and fulfill orders internationally. It also imparts a can-do spirit on exporting, leading to greater revenues, stability, and profitability for your business. Exporting Essentials: Selling Products and Services to the World Successfully: Lays out simple steps to conduct market research, find customers, open new markets, get paid, and ship goods and services. Shows you how to adapt your product or service for export. Provides insider tips and strategies to export efficiently and profitably. Explains how the U.S. government helps exporters. With 70 percent of global buying power lying outside U.S. borders, exporting is not just an option for ambitious entrepreneurs--it's an absolute must for building and sustaining a successful future.
ISBN: 9781484208366Publication Date: 2014-11-13
Introduction to International Business Transactions by
This innovative textbook introduces the legal concepts, regimes and actors that regulate international business transactions. The book guides readers through the major aspects of international business law using state-of-the-art teaching techniques and offers comprehensive coverage on key treaties, legal aspects of international commerce and the regulation of global trade and investment. Introduction to International Business Transactionscovers the widest range of topics in the field, including transnational intellectual asset protection, international commercial agreements, import and export regulation, foreign direct investment and planning for international business disputes. Its key features include: A thematic organisation of the material according to critical business challenges faced by those who work in the field Notes from the field written by practitioners, offering practical insights into the daily life of lawyers in different fields of international business law and what skills are conducive to success in each Policy boxes exploring the basis for the regimes and doctrines that regulate world trade and case study boxes to illustrate how these work in action Full colour illustrations outlining complex legal concepts to reinforce learning Practice essays and multiple-choice questions to strengthen understanding. Comprehensive and dynamic, this textbook will be crucial reading for students of international business transactions, as well as students of all levels in international business law searching for a broad and engaging illustration of the field.
ISBN: 9781839107412Publication Date: 2020-06-17
Principles of International Business Transactions by
Softbound - New, softbound print book.
ISBN: 9781634599399Publication Date: 2017-01-20
Please note some of these books might be reference books; reference books are only available for use in the library. You can identify those by looking at the Copies tab in the record of each book – the Location section should say Sherman Library Reference and the Status section should say LIB USE ONLY.
Books by NSU faculty
Export-Import Theory Practices and Procedures by
This book remains the sole export-import textbook aimed squarely at the academic audience. Discussing theoretical issues in depth, while maintaining a practical approach, it offers a comprehensive exploration of import procedures and export regulations. In addition to updated cases, this new edition includes: New major developments in bilateral and regional trade agreements Changes to INCOTERMS 2010 Coverage of the role of e-commerce Expanded updates on methods of payment, export pricing, and government export finance This clearly written and comprehensive textbook will ground students in theory and prepare them for the realities of a career in this fast-moving field. Suitable for upper-level undergraduates and postgraduates of international trade, the book stands alone in its blend of conceptual frameworks and cogent analysis. A related website, filled with export-import resources, opinion pieces, cases, and the latest news is located at: www.export-importtradecenter.com.
ISBN: 9780367896782Publication Date: 2021-05-01
Journals
- Critical Perspectives on International Business Peer reviewed Critical Perspectives on International Business (CPOIB) publishes high quality research that critically engages with the broad field of international business including but not restricted to, issues of globalization, international business strategies, corporate social responsibility as well as power relations both within multinational firms and between multinational firms and civil society actors.
- International Journal of Emerging Markets Peer reviewed The journal welcomes papers on: • International business and strategy • Emerging markets multinationals • Consumer behaviour • Organizational behaviour • Marketing and entrepreneurship • International trade, finance and investment • Area studies and theories of emerging markets • Ethics, corporate social responsibility and sustainability • Policy, comparative and international political economy • Operations and supply chain management
- International Marketing Review Peer reviewed IMR’s definition of international marketing is purposefully broad and includes, although is not restricted to: • International market entry decisions and relationships; • Export marketing and supply chain issues; • International retailing; • International channel management; • Consumer ethnocentrism, country and product image and origin effects; • Cultural considerations in international marketing; • International marketing strategy;
- International Trade Journal Peer reviewed The Journal’s scope includes, but is not limited to, the following: International Trade Policy International Trade Theory Multilateral Trade Regimes Globalization Exchange Rates and Currency Markets Open economy macroeconomics Development and Trade Foreign Direct Investment and Trade Transnational Corporations and Trade Emerging Markets National and Regional Studies Commercial Policy International Institutions International Financial Markets and Institutions
- Journal of International Business Research Peer reviewed
- Journal of International Business Studies Peer reviewed Journal of International Business Studies (JIBS) is a top-ranked peer-reviewed journal in the field of international business; its goal is to publish insightful, innovative and impactful research on international business. JIBS is multidisciplinary in scope, and interdisciplinary in content and methodology.
- Journal of International Entrepreneurship Peer reviewed Published for researchers of entrepreneurship & international business.
- The Journal of International Trade & Economic Development Peer reviewed Publication of high quality articles covering; theoretical and applied issues in international and development economics; econometric applications of trade and/or development issues based on sound theoretical economic models or testing fundamental economic hypotheses; models of structural change; trade and development issues of economies in Eastern Europe, Asia and the Pacific area; papers on specific topics which are policy-relevant; review articles on important branches of the literature including controversial and innovative ideas are also welcome.
- Journal of Teaching in International Business Peer reviewed The journal offers insights and perspectives to international business educators and practitioners to share concerns, problems, opportunities, and solutions to the teaching and learning of international business subjects. This journal contains original, significant, scholarly, and applied articles that: say something meaningful to international business curriculum developers; use empirical data and analysis to show the effectiveness of various approaches to teaching international business; enrich and make more effective the classroom presentations of teachers of international business; facilitate research endeavors of international business consultants, researchers, business education foundations, and institutions of higher learning.
- Review of International Business and Strategy Peer reviewed Themes covered by the journal include (but are not limited to): • Internationalization of firms and international entrepreneurship • Effects of international environment (political, social, economic and institutional) on international business activities and firm strategies • Knowledge transfer strategies and innovation in MNEs • Location strategies in international business activities
- Thunderbird International Business Review Peer reviewed
Associations and professional organizations
Required/recommended materials for selected International Business courses
|
Course |
Required or recommended materials |
| FIN 5515 |
Eiteman, David K. / Stonehill, Arthur I. / Moffett, Michael H. Multinational Business Finance. (2007) |
| INB 3550 |
Geringer, Michael. International Business. |
| INB 4300 |
Foley, James F. Global Entrepreneur 4th Edition: Taking Your Business International. (1999) |
| INB 4600 |
Luthans, Fred / Doh, Jonathan. International Management: Culture, Strategy, and Behavior. (2015) |
