Industry Research
Books
Business information resources by
A reference book for business researchers that includes comprehensive coverage of 104 of the most significant industries in today's economy.
ISBN: 9781637005163Publication Date: 2023
Company and Industry Research by
The goal of this book is to describe information search strategies and techniques critical for business practitioners and to pinpoint credible sources of information on specific topics in company and industry research. In today's information age, businesses have an ever-growing need to obtain quality information in a timely manner and incorporate it effectively into decision making, and when such a need occurs business managers often face a situation of performing information research themselves with a limited budget. Rather than frantically running searches on random websites with much time wasted, it is imperative that they understand the nature of business information research, develop a systematic plan for data collection, and use appropriate information from credible sources. Learning and becoming familiar with the significance of these information resources is a key for successful business research.
ISBN: 9781631570377Publication Date: 2016-06-30
Industry Research Using the Economic Census by
Many business researchers, from novice to expert, have been amazed to find that the answers to their questions could be found in the Economic Censuses provided by the U.S. government. Until now, there have been no comprehensive guides to this valuable resource. Industry Research Using the Economic Census explains Census concepts, methods, terminology, and data sources in an understandable manner, and assists Census users in locating needed Census data. Designed as a working handbook, it does not duplicate the data from the census, but introduces users to the features, uses, and formats of the data. This guidebook also discusses the important changes that the 1997 and 2002 Economic Censuses introduced from previous versions. Librarians, businesspeople, researchers, faculty, and students will find this guide valuable for mining the riches found in the Economic Censuses.
ISBN: 9781573563512Publication Date: 2004-08-30
International Business Information on the Web by
With the increasing globalization of the world’s markets and economies, more firms than ever are looking for business information beyond their own national borders. Finding such information on the Web can be so overwhelming it is often hard to know where to start. The sites selected for this Web research guide are specific to the needs of the business researcher, providing rigorously evaluated and carefully annotated listings of global business information sources. Researchers will find resources that address common business needs such as finding financial information on a foreign company, identifying overseas buyers and suppliers, and finding a market research study or an industry analysis from another country.
ISBN: 0910965463Publication Date: 2001-05-01
International Business Research by
In the 21st century, most businesses participate in globalization, whether by entering new markets worldwide or dealing with competitors from around the world. In addition, the Internet and the accelerated evolution of related tools such as social media provide businesses, as well as individuals, the means to participate globally at an increasing pace. In order to identify profitable business opportunities and to recognize potential obstacles, one must have a complete picture of the global business environment. The Web and other Internet tools also give both new and traditional producers of information additional ways to deliver content to the end user, including interactive, web-based databases, digital files, or twitter updates--to name a few. Taking these trends into consideration, International Business Research: Strategies and Resources provides the basic tools that are useful for doing international business research. Following an introduction that outlines the foundation for international business activity-- money, the international monetary system, and financial markets--subsequent chapters address: essential information such as sources, organizations, and websites that list resources for specific regions and countries; how to find international company information and financial data; the major classification schemes used to find relevant industry data, including import/export statistics; and international market and industry research. Each chapter of International Business Research includes research recommendations based upon the authors' practical experiences and discusses the sources available to meet research needs, making this a valuable tool for anyone involved in the business world, particularly business school librarians, business students, and business professionals.
ISBN: 9780810887275Publication Date: 2012-01-01
Related guides
H. Wayne Huizenga College of Business and Entrepreneurship Programs
Alvin Sherman Library, Research and Information Technology Center
Getting started
This guide is a collection of resources that will help you with your industry research. Some common terms used in the literature to refer to this type of document are industry profile, industry report, industry analysis, industry overview – they might differ slightly in structure, but irrespective of the name, they will help you get a better idea about how an industry is doing now, its evolution and what to expect in the future.
You can look for ready made industry profiles or you can create your own by compiling information from different sources.
- Ready made industry profiles
Two common strategies are performing keyword searches or searching by industry code. Industry codes are numerical systems used to classify companies, organizations and traders into groupings based on how they operate.
The most popular classifications used in North America are NAICS and SIC codes. Some publishers may also create their own classification. Please note that not all resources allow searching by industry codes.
For more information on industry codes, please refer to the “Industry Codes” section of this guide.
- Creating your own industry profiles
When creating your own industry profile some of the things to look for are: market size, financial ratios, trends, main players, regulation, value chain analysis, international trade, various types of analyses such as Porter’s 5 Forces, SWOT, PESTLE, etc.
Primary vs secondary research
MaRS Market research for startups: Get to know your customers, target market and the competition – understand the difference between primary and secondary market research.
Video
Is There an Industry Report for That? Market & Industry Research - In this webinar, Library of Congress Business Reference and Research Specialists highlight resources available at libraries and Government agencies and share their research strategies and tips for finding industry information. Presentation slides available.
