Featured Resource
Ecological Restoration Law by
Ecological restoration is as essential as sustainable development for the health of the biosphere. Restoration, however, has been a low priority of most countries' environmental laws, which tend to focus narrowly on rehabilitation of small, discrete sites rather than the more ambitious recovery of entire ecosystems and landscapes. Through critical theoretical perspectives and topical case studies, this book's diverse contributors explore a more ambitious agenda for ecological restoration law. Not only do they investigate current laws and other governance mechanisms; they also consider the philosophical and methodological bases for the law to take ecological restoration more seriously. Through exploration of themes relating to time, space, geography, semiotics, social justice, and scientific knowledge, this book offers innovative and critical insights into ecological restoration law.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781138605015Publication Date: 2019-03-01
U. S. Environmental Policy by
U.S. Environmental Policy: Domestic and Global Perspective frames U.S. environmental policy in the context of international environmental concerns. Each chapter explains U.S. policy considerations followed by an exploration of the global context of the issue. The book opens with a discussion of U.S. policy institutions and actors, followed by a discussion of the international system for multilateral environmental agreements dominated by the United Nations System. The root causes of environmental degradation - population growth, consumption patterns, and the limited carrying capacity of the Earth - are explored in the context of adequate access to water, food, and energy. Subsequent chapters survey U.S. policy and global concerns regarding air quality; water quality and access; non-hazardous solid waste; chemicals and hazardous substances; land, natural resources, and wildlife; the oceans; fossil fuels; nuclear power; renewable energy; the ozone layer; and climate change. * Environmental issues are both local and global in the 21st century. This book looks at environmental issues across both dimensions. * The importance of energy issues in the 21st century is emphasized by the inclusion of 3 full chapters on energy. * A truly global approach to 21st century environmental issues is provided through comprehensive discussions of the world's oceans, the ozone layer, and climate change. * Up to date details on the impact of the first two years of the Trump administration are reviewed.
Call Number: GE180 .R34 2019ISBN: 9781683289081Publication Date: 2018-10-31
The Controversy over Marine Protected Areas by
This book is a critical analysis of the concept of marine protected areas (MPAs) particularly as a tool for marine resource management. It explains the reasons for the extraordinary rise of MPAs to the top of the political agenda for marine policy, and evaluates the scientific credentials for the unprecedented popularity of this management option. The book reveals the role played by two policy networks - epistemic community and advocacy coalition - in promoting the notion of MPA, showing how advocacy for marine reserves by some scientists based on limited evidence of fisheries benefits has led to a blurring of the boundary between science and politics. Second, the study investigates whether the scientific consensus on MPAs has resulted in a publication bias, whereby pro-MPA articles are given preferential treatment by peer-reviewed academic journals, though it found only limited evidence of such a bias. Third, the project conducts a systematic review of the literature to determine the ecological effects of MPAs, and reaches the conclusion that there is little proof of a positive impact on finfish populations in temperate waters. Fourth, the study uses discourse analysis to trace the effects of a public campaigning policy network on marine conservation zones (MCZs) in England, which demonstrated that there was considerable confusion over the objectives that MCZs were being designated to achieve. The book's conclusion is that the MPA issue shows the power of ideas in marine governance, but offers a caution that scientists who cross the line between science and politics risk exaggerating the benefits of MPAs by glossing over uncertainties in the data, which may antagonise the fishing industry, delay resolution of the MPA issue, and weaken public faith in marine science if and when the benefits of MCZs are subsequently seen to be limited.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9783319109572Publication Date: 2014-10-17
Environmental Law & Policy Books & E-Books
River Profiles by
Centuries of mismanagement and destructive development have gravely harmed American waterways, with significant consequences for the ecosystems and communities built around them. But a range of passionate and committed people have stepped up to restore streams and rivers around the United States. A husband-and-wife scientist team in Pennsylvania lead projects to unclog the sediment left by early colonists' dams. Members of the Tulalip Tribes in western Washington State bring beavers back to headwater streams. A public servant in Milwaukee drives the sewer department to remove concrete channels and reduce flood risk. Community activists in Atlanta push for environmental justice in river restoration. Telling these stories and many more, Pete Hill-a twenty-year veteran of the field of watershed restoration-provides a deep dive into the world of river and stream conservation. He profiles the practitioners, scientists, and activists from all walks of life who take part in restoration efforts, exploring their differing, sometimes controversial approaches. Through their stories, Hill illustrates the challenges and rewards of river restoration and the evolving scientific understanding in the field. Underscoring the need for a variety of strategies adapted to different local contexts, he shows that new ideas have come from a wide range of people-from those operating the machinery to those researching stream ecology-and that Indigenous knowledge offers vital resources. At once personal and learned, insightful and inspiring, this book shines a light on the people working to heal our streams and rivers.
Call Number: QH97 .H55 2024ISBN: 9780231207645Publication Date: 2024-04-09
Advanced Introduction to Environmental Impact Assessment by
Elgar Advanced Introductions are stimulating and thoughtful introductions to major fields in the social sciences, business and law, expertly written by the world's leading scholars. Designed to be accessible yet rigorous, they offer concise and lucid surveys of the substantive and policy issues associated with discrete subject areas. This updated second edition of the Advanced Introduction to Environmental Impact Assessment offers an up-to-date exploration of the current theory and practice of Environmental Impact Assessment (EIA), a crucial tool for evaluating and mitigating the impacts of development projects on the environment. Angus Morrison-Saunders provides an overview of the key concepts, principles, and methodologies of EIA, with a focus on recent developments, emerging trends, and best practices in the field. Key Features: Fresh analyses of how environment and development intersect in EIA Exploration of the fundamental ideas promoted by the pioneers of EIA Revised content on international best practice EIA principles and how they apply today Reflections on the increasing need to adopt a holistic, sustainability-oriented approach to EIA. With accessible style, comprehensive coverage, and a practical approach, this book is an essential resource for students, scholars, and practitioners in environmental studies, environmental governance, policy and regulation, urban planning, and related fields who want to deepen their understanding of EIA.
Call Number: TD194.6 .M687 2023ISBN: 9781803922133Publication Date: 2023-10-03
Environmental Justice by
Environmental Justice: Law, Policy, and Regulation explores theory and practice in this dynamic subject, which fuses environmental law and civil rights enforcement. It covers everything from early concerns over toxic waste in minority communities to environmental justice and the range of environmental threats facing poor, immigrant, and indigenous communities; women, children, and seniors; and other vulnerable populations. This third edition provides extensively updated materials to address environmental justice concerns today, including oil drilling in the Arctic, the Dakota Access Pipeline, drinking water contamination in Flint, and the devastation wrought by Hurricane Maria in Puerto Rico. Featuring new chapters addressing disaster justice and food justice, this new edition also expands coverage of environmental enforcement, contaminated sites, climate justice, and environmental justice in Indian country, all with an eye towards identifying modern challenges and available tools for the continuing pursuit of environmental justice.
Call Number: KF3817 .R385 2020ISBN: 9781531012380Publication Date: 2020-05-01
Oxford Handbook of Comparative Environmental Law by
The study of environmental law has been relatively limited to date, with researchers either adopting a country-by-country approach, confining comparative analysis within the bounds of a basic common chapter structure, or addressing a specific area or problem in detail without seeking to encompass environmental law as a whole. The Oxford Handbook of Comparative Environmental Law fills a gap in the market by being the first comprehensive book to address comparative environmental law from an integrated perspective. In addition to the common approaches to the subject, this Handbook also addresses the fundamental systems underpinning the diversity observed across countries as well as the interactions of environmental laws and instruments with their broader legal context. The latter has received limited attention to date, while the former is important not only because such interactions may heavily influence the effectiveness and resilience of environmental law but also because some non-environmental instruments, such as anti-poverty policies, may operate as extremely powerful vehicles of environmental protection. Combining commentaries by leading academics as well as observations by a new generation of scholars who have different perspectives on the questions being addressed, this Handbook is a valuable resource for both academics and practitioners in the field.
Call Number: K3585 .O955 2019ISBN: 9780198790952Publication Date: 2019-06-25
Encyclopedia of Environmental Issues, Third Edition by
The third edition contains nearly 800 alphabetically arranged articles. They cover a wide variety of topics, including endangered animal species, air pollution, national parks, environmental legislation, oil spills, alternative energy sources, and global climate change. In recognition of the fact that people spend an overwhelming proportion of their time in human-made environments, essays also cover such topics as sick building syndrome, noise pollution, smog, and urban planning.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781642650549Publication Date: 2019-03-01
Environmental Law and Policy by
Environmental Law and Policy is a user-friendly, concise, inexpensive treatment of environmental law. Written to be read pleasurably rather than used as a dry reference source, the authors provide a broad conceptual overview of environmental law while also explaining the major statutes and cases. The updated text also describes initiatives launched by the Trump administration. The first part of the book provides an engaging discussion of the major themes and issues that cross-cut environmental law. The second part of the book examines the substance of environmental law, with separate sections on each of the major statutes. The third part of the book describes natural resources law, discussing endangered species conservation, wetlands protection, water and energy issues. Part four addresses environmental impact statements and the National Environmental Policy Act. The book has wide adoption, not only in law schools, but also in graduate and undergraduate classes outside law school.
Call Number: KF3775 .S35 2019ISBN: 9781683287902Publication Date: 2019-01-14
Examples and Explanations for Environmental Law by
A favorite classroom prep tool of successful students that is often recommended by professors, the Examples & Explanations (E&E) series provides an alternative perspective to help you understand your casebook and in-class lectures. Each E&E offers hypothetical questions complemented by detailed explanations that allow you to test your knowledge of the topics in your courses and compare your own analysis. Here's why you need an E&E to help you study throughout the semester: Clear explanations of each class topic, in a conversational, funny style. Features hypotheticals similar to those presented in class, with corresponding analysis so you can use them during the semester to test your understanding, and again at exam time to help you review. It offers coverage that works with ALL the major casebooks, and suits any class on a given topic. The Examples & Explanations series has been ranked the most popular study aid among law students because it is equally as helpful from the first day of class through the final exam.
Call Number: KF3775 .F45 2019ISBN: 9781543802290Publication Date: 2018-12-28
Review and Assessment of Planetary Protection Policy Development Processes by
Protecting Earth’s environment and other solar system bodies from harmful contamination has been an important principle throughout the history of space exploration. For decades, the scientific, political, and economic conditions of space exploration converged in ways that contributed to effective development and implementation of planetary protection policies at national and international levels. However, the future of space exploration faces serious challenges to the development and implementation of planetary protection policy. The most disruptive changes are associated with (1) sample return from, and human missions to, Mars; and (2) missions to those bodies in the outer solar system possessing water oceans beneath their icy surfaces. Review and Assessment of Planetary Protection Policy Development Processes addresses the implications of changes in the complexion of solar system exploration as they apply to the process of developing planetary protection policy. Specifically, this report examines the history of planetary protection policy, assesses the current policy development process, and recommends actions to improve the policy development process in the future.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9780309478687Publication Date: 2018-09-17
Enforcement of International Environmental Law by
The international community has generated several hundred multilateral environmental agreements, yet it has been far less successful in developing means to ensure that contracting parties honour them in practice. The subject of law enforcement has traditionally attracted relatively little attention amongst international policy-makers at the formation stage of a multilateral environmental accord. Commonly, the question of how to secure collective adherence to environmental treaty regimes might well only be considered in depth at a much later stage of an environmental agreement's evolution, if at all. At the same time, the significance of the issue of enforcement has gradually received more considered attention by states and international institutions. Providing an analysis of the nature, extent and current state of the international legal framework concerned with enhancing effective implementation of international environmental law, this book considers the scope and impact of international rules of law whose remit is to require or promote compliance by states with their international environmental legal obligations.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781351066570Publication Date: 2018-07-25
Environmental Law by
The purpose of this research guide is to introduce the researcher, whether an attorney, scholar, law student, or information specialist researching in this field, to the primary and secondary resources available on environmental law, in print and online. Specifically, this guide will explore state and federal sources of primary law including the statutes, regulations, case law, and agency decisions. Finding tools such as Digests as well as citators designed to ensure the accuracy of sources will also be discussed. This book will cover most of the numerous secondary sources available because of the complexity of environmental law, particularly its regulatory structure at the federal level. These sources include books, legal encyclopedias, treatises, practice guides, dictionaries, law journals/periodicals, and news/current awareness sources. Online research is also important in the area of environmental law. It includes electronic subscription databases with comprehensive legal research platforms such as Westlaw, Lexis Advance, and Bloomberg Law, as well as the more specialized databases such as the Environment and Energy Daily online publications. Free internet sites, such as government agency websites, provide a wealth of information and documents beyond what is available through the commercial databases.
Call Number: KF3775.A1 D95 2018ISBN: 9780837740768Publication Date: 2018-01-01
Traditions and Trends in Global Environmental Politics by
How can a divided world share a single planet? As the environment rises ever higher on the global agenda, the discipline of International Relations (IR) is engaging in more varied and transformative ways than ever before to overcome environmental challenges. Focusing in particular on the key trends of the past 20 years,this volumeexplores the main developments in the global environmental crisis, with each chapter considering an environmental issue and an approach within IR. In the process, adjacent fields including energy politics, science and technology, and political economy are also touched on. Traditions and Trends in Global Environmental Politicsis aimed at anybody interested in the key international environmental problems of the day, and those seeking clarification and inspiration in terms of approaches and theories that decode how the environment is accounted for in global politics. It will be an essential resource for students and scholars of global environmental politics and governance, environmental studies and IR.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781138633889Publication Date: 2017-08-02
Principles of Environmental Law by
Written in a conversational tone, this book familiarizes readers with the basic mechanics of the major environmental statutes, including, among others, the Clean Water Act, the Clean Air Act, the Comprehensive Environmental Response, Compensation and Liability Act, the National Environmental Policy Act, and the Endangered Species Act. It also includes a separate chapter on how these environmental statutes are enforced by the Government and through citizen suits.
Call Number: KF3775 .J6452 2016ISBN: 9780314195180Publication Date: 2015-12-15
Research Handbook on International Marine Environmental Law by
This wholly new edition of the Research Handbook on International Marine Environmental Law provides an authoritative examination of international law relating to the protection of the marine environm ent. Rather than merely revised and updated, this new edition provides completely new and original chapters that critically engage with current legal issues surrounding activities that harm the marine environment, including marine pollution, seabed activities, exploitation of marine biodiversity and climate change, and with the different legal tools and mechanisms, including environmental impact assessments and compliance and dispute settlement mechanisms, used to protect the marine environment. New chapters also address legal issues relating to the role of technology and marine scientific research as well as the application of principles such as public participation. Each chapter goes beyond a survey of existing law to identify shortcomings in the legal regime and details further work needed to ensure effective regulation and management of human activities that affect the marine environment. Written by eminent scholars and practitioners, the Research Handbook on International Marine Environmental Law is a vital resource for scholars and government and policy practitioners, as well as for lawyers, policy advisers and advocates who work at intergovernmental organisations and non-governmental organisations that address marine environmental issues.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781789909081Publication Date: 2023
Multilateral Compliance Mechanisms in EU Environmental Law by
Prompted by recent events in the EU's international environmental cooperation, this thought-provoking book explores the establishment and use of multilateral environmental compliance mechanisms as pa rt of the EU's external environmental action. Expanding upon current discussions in external relations law, this timely book uses a doctrinal approach to analyse EU engagement with a key instrument of international environmental governance. The author examines the role of compliance mechanisms in EU environmental action, from establishing these treaty-based mechanisms within EU legal boundaries, to utilising non-compliance decisions at EU level. The book concludes with an evaluation of the extent to which EU law enables the EU to preserve, protect, and improve the global environment with the aid of compliance mechanisms, as required by its own Treaties. Multilateral Compliance Mechanisms in EU Environmental Law will be an essential resource for scholars in environmental law, European law, international relations, and public international law. It will also be beneficial for EU officials and policymakers, and environmental advocates and campaigners.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781035302604Publication Date: 2023
The Future of Environmental Law by
Environmental law is evolving from negotiating and prescribing environmental policies to enforcing time-bound, measurable and achievable goals in order to secure a sustainable future. This pertinent and thought-provoking book analyses the legal instruments that have been successful in working towards requisite targets for ecological sustainability. Featuring contributions from leading scholars, this insightful book discusses the future challenges and innovative applications of environmental law to assist in achieving sustainability goals in an efficient and timely manner. Chapters focus on topics such as the role of international environmental law in the interpretation of human rights, the legal dimension of sustainability, and the proliferation of offshore renewable energy in European seas. The book concludes by analysing some key international case studies, including the issue of salinization from a legal perspective in the Netherlands, and the relevance of groundwater for the development of the Brazilian semiarid region. Providing a comparative environmental law outlook which is both ambitious and realistic, this book will be essential reading for students, scholars, and researchers in environmental law, public international law, responsible consumption, and sustainable cities and communities. This book will also be of interest to policy makers and government officials working towards the sustainable development goals.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781035314645Publication Date: 2023
Non-Doctrinal Research Methods in Environmental Law by
This timely book explores the innovative non-doctrinal methods currently being used in environmental law research. Drawing on their extensive experience, expert contributors provide insight on how cr eative approaches to research can improve understanding of law and policy, leading to more effective legal protection for the environment. Focusing on qualitative research, chapters explain how to use non-doctrinal methods in environmental law research, including in-depth examples of successful uses. Contributors identify the theoretical and practical challenges facing contemporary environmental law researchers, providing guidance on designing productive research programs. Alongside practical tips, the book examines the scholarly philosophy of environmental law research, determining how and why it differs from other areas of research. It focuses in particular on how to respect scientific principles when moving away from traditional doctrinal research methods. Non-Doctrinal Research Methods in Environmental Law will be an invaluable guide for environmental law academics and researchers seeking to expand their understanding of modern research methods. With extensive case studies and practical guidance, it will also be a useful resource for research methods scholars and teachers.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781803922768Publication Date: 2023
Research Handbook on Fundamental Concepts of Environmental Law by
This expanded and updated Research Handbook delivers an authoritative and in-depth guide to the conceptual foundations of environmental law. It offers a nuanced reflection on the underlying principle s by exploring issues such as human rights, constitutional rights, sustainable development, and environmental impact assessment within the context of environmental law. Perceptive contributions examine the emerging roles played by a range of concepts, values and objectives in environmental governance. The nature of these emerging concepts and their relationship with traditional rights and duties, which are typically reactive in nature, is of particular significance. New and revised chapters thoroughly examine the concepts at the heart of environmental law including sustainability, protection, and climate change law. This second edition further illuminates key aspects of environmental governance through the lens of their underlying dimensions: the form, structure and language of international, regional and national instruments; the function of norms, objectives and standards; and the relevance of economic analysis and of integrated policy formulation. This discerning new edition will be an ideal read for all students and researchers in environmental law and governance. Furthermore, it will be essential reading and a valuable resource for policymakers, legal drafters and those wanting to understand the foundations of the modern environmental legal system.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781839108327Publication Date: 2022
Understanding Environmental Policy after Covid-19 by
Environmental and climate problems have gained a global dimension and constitute one of the important issues of world politics and economies. The necessity of all states to act together on these problems, which threaten the present and future of humanity, and find the solution has revealed the "global" character of the process. The interdependence created by economic development and environmental problems brought a new meaning and dimension to both national and international politics. Especially the recent pandemic has made the global nature of environmental issues more understandable. In this context, it seems necessary to create a work that deals with current debates in the field, which will help identify the problems in the field and find solutions to them.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9783631867976Publication Date: 2021-12-13
A Guide to U. S. Environmental Law by
Written by two internationally respected authors, this unique primer distills the environmental law and policy of the United States into a practical guide for a nonlegal audience, as well as for lawyers trained in other regions. The first part of the book explains the basics of the American legal system: key actors, types of laws, and overarching legal strategies for environmental management. The second part delves into specific environmental issues (pollution, ecosystem management, and climate change) and how American law addresses each. Chapters include summaries of key concepts, discussion questions, and a glossary of terms, as well as informative "spotlights"--brief overviews of topics. With a highly accessible structure and useful illustrative features, A Guide to U.S. Environmental Law is a long-overdue synthetic reference on environmental law for students and for those who work in environmental policy or environmental science. Pairing this book with its companion, A Guide to EU Environmental Law, allows for a comparative look at how two of the most important jurisdictions in the world deal with key environmental problems.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9780520968066Publication Date: 2021-03-02
Rethinking Environmental Law by
Challenging historic assumptions about human relationships with nature, Jan G. Laitos examines how environmental laws have addressed environmental problems in the past, and the reasons for the laws' i nability to successfully prevent environmental contamination and alterations of critical environmental systems. This forward-thinking book offers a creative and organic alternative to traditional but ultimately unsuccessful environmental rules, highlighting that established approaches to existential threats impacting our natural environment cannot be relied upon. Calling for a rethinking of how science is best used in environmental law, it explains the need for a new generation of environmental laws grounded in the universal laws of nature which might succeed where past and current approaches have largely failed. Proposing a new algorithm for the formulation of workable environmental laws, Laitos explores the ways in which these should be linked to the laws of connection, simplicity, economy, and symmetry. This innovative book illustrates examples of this new class of laws, based not on regulations and rules, but on rights and duties. Rethinking Environmental Law will be an illuminating read for students and scholars of environmental law and policy. Suggesting an alternative role for science in developing environmental policy, it will also be of value to environmental policy makers.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781788976039Publication Date: 2021
Teaching and Learning in Environmental Law by
This unique book focuses specifically on teaching and learning in environmental law, exploring innovative techniques, tools and technologies employed across the globe to teach this ever more importan t subject. Chapters identify particular challenges that environmental law poses for pedagogy, offering a mix of theory and practical guidance to legal scholars who are seeking to take up, or improve, their teaching of this subject. Providing an examination of teaching formats and methodologies that are both innovative and particularly adapted to the teaching of environmental law, contributions explore topics such as digital learning, joint teaching, flipped classrooms and scenario-based approaches, as well as discussing teacher-based, reflective, student-centred and research-based methods. The book also considers specific contexts for teaching environmental law such as specialized postgraduate programs, supervision methods for research students, teaching within non-law programs, and teaching online. Environmental law scholars at all levels of university instruction will find this book an invaluable opportunity to learn about new methods and approaches to teaching in this area. Its insights into legal teaching methodologies more broadly will also be of interest to legal academics in other areas of the law.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781789908534Publication Date: 2021
Research Handbook on International Environmental Law by
This thoroughly updated and revised second edition combines practical and theoretical analyses to cover a wide array of cutting edge issues in international environmental law (IEL). The Research Hand book provides a comprehensive view of the complexity of IEL, both as a field in its own right, and as part of the wider system of international law. Expert contributors examine the key theories and concepts of IEL governance and provide an in-depth analysis of IEL principles, supplemented in this new edition by a consideration of the significant actors involved in international environmental law-making and governance. Chapters go on to discuss practical issues, such as dispute settlement and compliance, and analyse selected environmental protection regimes, as well as including a brand new section covering IEL litigation in relation to human rights and climate change. Providing a thorough examination of the major topics in the field, this Handbook will be an indispensable resource for scholars and students of international environmental law. Practitioners and policymakers will also find it useful for its coverage of developments in environmental litigation and the actors involved.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781786439710Publication Date: 2021
Environmental Policy by
EXPAND YOUR UNDERSTANDING OF HOW ENVIRONMENTAL POLICY AFFECTS BUSINESS, THE ECONOMY, AND YOUR LIFE WITH THIS ESSENTIAL RESOURCE Environmental Policy: An Economic Perspective offers readers a comprehensive examination of the ever-broadening scope and impact of environmental policy, law, and regulation. Editors Thomas Walker, Northrop Sprung-Much, and Sherif Goubran walk readers through a variety of subjects while maintaining a global perspective on the expanding role of environmental law. This book takes a pragmatic and practical approach to its subject matter, showing readers the real impact across the world of different kinds of environmental policy. Among other topics, Environmental Policy: An Economic Perspective tackles: Climate change legislation Water conservation and pricing Biodiversity of the marine environment Wildlife ranching Emission trading schemes Green job strategies Sustainable investing Written for undergraduate and graduate students in any field affected by environmental legislation and policy, this book also belongs on the shelves of anyone who seeks to better understand the increasingly important role of environmental policy on their business and life.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781119402596Publication Date: 2020-09-08
Global Climate Change and Environmental Policy by
Global climate change threatens human existence through its potential impact on agriculture and the environment. Agriculture is climate-sensitive, and climate variability and climate change have net n egative impact on it. Additionally, the agricultural landscape is affected by monoculture and agro-biodiversity loss, soil fertility depletion and soil loss, competition from biofuel production, crop yield plateaus and invasive species. Nevertheless, the global agricultural production system has to meet the food demands from the growing human population, which is set to exceed 10 billion by 2050. This book discusses the impacts of climate change on agriculture, animal husbandry and rural livelihoods. Further, since agriculture, forestry and other land-use sectors contribute about 10–12 gigatonnes of CO2-equivalent per year, it argues that agricultural policy must dovetail adaptation and mitigation strategies to reduce greenhouse gases emissions. This calls for a reformative and disruptive agricultural strategy like climate-smart agriculture, which can operate at all spatio-temporal scales with few modifications. The book also redefines sustainable agriculture through the lens of climate-smart agriculture in the context of the sustainability of Earth's life- support system and inter- and intra-generational equity. The climate-smart agriculture approach is gaining currency thanks to its inherent positive potential, and its goal to establish an agricultural system which includes "climate-smart food systems", "climate-proof farms", and "climate-smart soils". Climate-smart agriculture provides a pathway to achieve sustainable development goals which focus on poverty reduction, food security, and environmental health.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9789811395703Publication Date: 2020
Find Books, Journals, Media:
E-Books | Advanced Search | My Library Account | ILL - Interlibrary Loan |