Business Administration, Management and Leadership
Collection of resources relevant to anyone who is either in a management position or aspires to one day manage a team or an organization.
Getting started
This guide is a collection of resources relevant to anyone who is either in a management position or aspires to get to that level, as well as students enrolled in any of the management programs offered at NSU.
For more content related to leadership also see the Human resources guide which also includes leadership content.
Small business owners interested in improving their management skills might also want to have a look at our Start ups and small business guide and our Entrepreneurship and innovation guide. Financial Literacy and Entrepreneur Education Workshops is also an excellent resource – it offers recordings of our You Got This! workshops, a series of free financial literacy, entrepreneur and workforce education workshops given by professionals from various backgrounds.
Introduction to Business Administration, Management and Leadership
Here is a list of books you can use if you need to familiarize yourself with management and leadership related terms and concepts.
The AMA Dictionary of Business and Management by
Now students, instructors, and professionals everywhere can find clear, authoritative, explanations of more than 6,000 key business terms. Prepared by a noted encyclopedist, The AMA Dictionary of Business and Management covers a vast range of terminology from all areas of business including management, strategy, finance, human resources, economics, marketing, sales, insurance, and international business. The book explains accounting rules, legal terminology, slang and buzzwords, acronyms, management theories, historical figures, economic concepts, performance metrics, and more-all the crucial ideas that have transformed business practices and management science in the past 25 years. In addition to concise definitions, this indispensable reference includes longer entries for ideas needing more elaborate explanations, as well as a pronunciation guide for difficult words, special sections on usage, and a thesaurus of related words. While quick definitions abound online, The AMA Dictionary of Business and Management supplies the depth and clarity lacking in most "webinitions." And it includes thousands of technical terms omitted from even premier unabridged dictionaries. From Abilene paradox to zero-based budgeting, this is an essential resource for anyone serious about business.
ISBN: 9780814420287Publication Date: 2013-04-23
The Concise Dictionary of Business Management by
This second edition of The Concise Dictionary of Business Management has been completely revised and updated to reflect the changing world of work and new technology. It has been expanded to include many new terms and buzzwords such as: contracting out, telecommuting, occupational choice, glass ceiling, superwoman, electronic brainstorming, the internet and the virtual corporation. It is the ideal quick reference guide for students and professionals wanting to cut through the jargon of business and management.
ISBN: 0203451880Publication Date: 2002-09-26
The Concise Dictionary of Management by
Thorough and uncommonly clear definitions of the most commonly-used terms in management and organization, fully cross-referenced.
ISBN: 0415055695Publication Date: 1991-06-01
Dictionary of Business and Management by
New legislation, an envigorated European community and Japanese dominance in the global marketplace have generated a host of concepts and regulations unknown to the business community a few years ago, thus creating a myriad of new terminology and often a redefining of already coined phrases. This edition features them all. It not only explains words in both general and specific terms but also compares them and refers to other similar meanings. Includes an appendix of useful tables and information.
ISBN: 0471545368Publication Date: 1992-11-04
The Routledge Dictionary of Business Management by
A fully comprehensive resource for those wanting to know about the world of business management. Students and working professionals alike can enjoy quick and accessible definitions and the extensive cross-referencing system allows readers broader access to subject areas. This dictionary covers all the topics, issues and terms in the field, including: business economics, consumer behaviour, corporate strategy, financial management, human resource management, information technology, management accounting, marketing and organizational behaviour and work psychology.
ISBN: 0415328195Publication Date: 2004-08-06
Please note some of these books might be reference books; reference books are only available for use in the library. You can identify those by looking at the Copies tab in the record of each book – the Location section should say Sherman Library Reference and the Status section should say LIB USE ONLY.
The Encyclopedia of Management 6th Ed by
This updated fifth edition of Encyclopedia of Management covers more than 300 topics in management theories and applications, written by academics and business professionals.
ISBN: 9781414406916Publication Date: 2009-03-27
Encyclopedia of management theory by
This work is designed to serve as a core reference for anyone interested in the essentials of contemporary management theory. Drawing together a team of international scholars, it examines the global landscape of the key theories and the theorists behind them, presenting them in the context needed to understand their strengths and weaknesses to apply them. In addition to interpretations of long-established theories, it also offers essays on cutting-edge research and provides concise definitions of key concepts, ideas, schools, and figures.
ISBN: 9781452276090Publication Date: 2013
International Encyclopedia of Business and Management by
Since publication in 1996 there have been tremendous advances in business and management which have necessitated the development of a new, improved second edition. IEBM 2nd Edition addresses these advances by updating all existing material as well as adding a great deal more. This revision means that the printed encyclopedia now fills 8 volumes with fifty percent more entries and four million words. Additional countries are profiled in the new edition and there are even more biographical profiles of influential management thinkers, making IEBM 2nd Edition bigger and better than ever. Full-length entries, equivalent to any secondary critical work or journal paper, serve as excellent introductions to the debates and literature of a given topic or concept. Each entry is fully cross-referenced and a further reading section is carefully annotated to indicate the level and importance of the work cited which proves especially useful for the student to take their research further.
ISBN: 1861521618Publication Date: 2002-01-01
Wiley Encyclopedia of Management by
Now in its third edition, this multi-volume Encyclopedia of Management, has been revised and updated to chart the major developments that have occurred in: digital technologies; ethics and governance-related issues; innovation; emerging markets; organizational networks; and new avenues of sustainable business growth. Provides comprehensive coverage of the field of management in one a landmark work of reference for scholars, students and professionals Now features two entirely new volumes on Technology & Innovation and Management Research Methodology The online edition links to the wider literature and to handbooks and journals in the field 14 Volumes www.wiley.com/go/weom New to this edition: Technology & Innovation Management , Volume 13, V K Narayanan & Gina O'Connor. The encyclopedia is available online through Wiley Online Library, a major database of Journals, Handbooks and reference in the field. Volume Subjects and Editors: Accounting, Volume 1, Colin Clubb & Shahed Imam Business Ethics, Volume 2, Ronald James & team, with Kenneth Goodpaster Entrepreneurship, Volume 3, Michael Morris & Don Kuratko Finance, Volume 4, Krishna Paudyal HRM, Volume 5, David Guest & David Needle International Management, Volume 6, Markus Vodosek & Deanne Hertog Management Information Systems, Volume 7, Detmar Straub & Richard Welke Managerial Economics, Volume 8, Robert McAuliffe Marketing, Volume 9, Nick Lee & Andrew M. Farrell Operations Management, Volume 10, Dr Sinéad Roden, Mike Lewis & Nigel Slack Organizational Behavior, Volume 11, Patrick C. Flood & Yseult Freeney Strategic Management, Volume 12, John McGee & Tanya Sammut-Bonnici Technology & Innovation, Volume 13, V K Narayanan & Gina O'Connor
ISBN: 9781119972518Publication Date: 2014-11-10
Please note some of these books might be reference books; reference books are only available for use in the library. You can identify those by looking at the Copies tab in the record of each book – the Location section should say Sherman Library Reference and the Status section should say LIB USE ONLY.
21st Century Management: a Reference Handbook by
21st Century Management: A Reference Handbook highlights the topics, issues, questions and debates that any student obtaining a degree in the field of management must master to be effective in today′s business world. Providing authoritative insight into the key issues covered in both undergraduate and corporate coursework, this resource offers a particular emphasis on the current structure of the topic in the literature, key threads of discussion and research on the topic, and emerging trends. The Handbook assists readers in structuring meaningful papers and presentation, selecting management areas in which to take elective coursework, and orienting themselves toward a career. Key Features: Offers a free online Teaching Resource Guide, available through the SAGE web site, to provide lecture ideas, homework assignments, ideas for in-class case studies or workshops, team assignments, and more Examines topics through the prisms of globalization and new information technologies, including issues such as remote leadership Takes and ethical and ecological approach to topics such as entrepreneurship to reflect cutting-edge interest Addresses post-September 11 security and crisis management issues Presents insights into 21st-century business issues such as excessive work and outsourcing Discusses diversity, including gender, ethnicity, and age Includes issues of managing nonprofit arts, medical, sports, and philanthropic organizations in the 21st century This authoritative reference serves students′ research needs with information that is more detailed than encyclopedia entries but without the jargon or density of a journal article. The reader who familiarizes him-or herself with the topics included in this Handbook will be at an advantage in any job interview for a position in business.Course textbooks typically are accompanied by instructor resource manuals containing suggested student assignments, activities, and lecture ideas associated with the various chapters and topics. In contrast, reference books often are delivered without such aids. So this free on-line resource manual is unique. For each chapter within Charles Wankel′s 21st Century Management: A Reference Handbook, the chapter author has developed a thought exercise, a lecture idea, a team exercise, paper topic, or similar resource to reinforce the basic ideas within the chapter through an innovative hands-on activity transcending the more constrained assignments included with many management textbooks. Thus, reference librarians can maximize use of the handbook in their collection by referring business and management instructors to this supply of ready-made activities to assist them when they direct students to specific chapters of the handbook as part of their coursework. It′s hoped that this will assist librarians in their supportive dialogues with faculty and students, and business and management subject specialists and liaisons are encouraged to share this resource with their management faculty.
ISBN: 9781412949729Publication Date: 2007-12-17
The Concise Handbook of Management by
Discover the practical tips to make you an effective, customer-oriented manager! Focusing on the pervading belief that everything a manager does must be customer oriented, The Concise Handbook of Management: A Practitioner's Approach gives you an overview of everything you need to know about managing in one practical, concise book. This plain-talking guide not only explains management theories, but also presents commonsense suggestions on the best ways to effectively manage people and things, no matter what type of business you are in. Taking a practitioner's approach of discussing management issues with customers ultimately in mind, this practical book motivates, is easily understandable, and is entertaining to boot. The Concise Handbook of Management: A Practitioner's Approach uses succinct chapters with several real stories and case studies designed to clearly illustrate each concept and suggestion. Written with the busy manager in mind, each chapter is compact, clear, true-to-life, and is always aimed at the bottom line. The book includes a small business marketing and promotion checklist, a helpful bibliography, and a useful glossary of terms. The Concise Handbook of Management: A Practitioner's Approach explores: the first three steps in becoming a good manager understanding the importance of customers getting the most from employees management competencies and styles organizational structures and cultures managing change managing conflict and stress managing teams and workgroups ethics leadership managing time written business communication mastering the skills of a presentation dealing with people in the workplace a small business marketing checklist project or program planning the marketing basicsproductstrategymarketingpricing developing external and internal customers The Concise Handbook of Management: A Practitioner's Approach proves the adage that less is more, and has already been called the undergraduate/graduate student's or practicing manager's best all-in-one source and reference for simplified management theory and skills.
ISBN: 9780789026484Publication Date: 2003-12-31
The Handbook of Cross-Cultural Management Research by
Renowned international experts Peter B. Smith, Mark F. Peterson, and David C. Thomas, editors of the The Handbook of Cross-Cultural Management, have drawn together scholars in the field of management from around the world to contribute vital information from their cross-national studies to this innovative, comprehensive tome. Chapters explore links between people and organizations, providing useful cultural perspectives on the most significant topics in the field of organizational behavior--such as motivation, human resource management, and leadership --and answering many of the field′s most controversial methodological questions. Key Features Presents innovative perspectives on the cultural context of organizations: In addition to straightforward coverage of structures and processes, this Handbook addresses locally distinctive, indigenous views of organizational processes from around the world and considers the interplay of climate and wealth when analyzing how organizations operate. Offers an integrated theoretical framework: At the start of each substantive section, the Editors provide context for the upcoming chapters by discussing how prevalent cultures in different parts of the world place emphasis on particular aspects of organizational processes and outcomes. Boasts a global group of contributing scholars: This Handbook features contributing authors from around the world who represent an outstanding mix of respected, long-standing scholars in cross-cultural management as well as newer names already impacting the literature. Provides an authoritative agenda for the future development of the field: All chapters conclude with a list of promising avenues for further research and a focus on issues that remain unresolved. Intended AudienceThis Handbook is an ideal resource for researchers, instructors, professionals, and graduate students in fields of business, management, and psychology.
ISBN: 9781412940269Publication Date: 2008-05-22
Handbook of Research on Strategic Management in Small and Medium Enterprises by
As the global economy continues to develop and new entrepreneurs take advantage of emerging markets, the small business sector plays a greater role of economic development in the international arena. The Handbook of Research on Strategic Management in Small and Medium Enterprises contributes new research to the current array of literature on small business management under diverse geographic, economic, and socio-cultural conditions. By exploring existing theories in tandem with fresh viewpoints, this book will serve as a valuable reference to students, lecturers, researchers, entrepreneurs, and policy makers investigating the use of strategic management in various scenarios and situations.
ISBN: 9781466659636Publication Date: 2014-04-30
Handbook of Strategy and Management by
New in Paperback: Publishing February 2006! `If you had to read only one book to understand the roots and branches of the study of strategy & organization, this would be it. Pettigrew, Thomas and Whittington have gathered an impressive array of contributions, which provide a comprehensive guide to the current state of the art. It′s a book that reflects a maturing field, offering thought-provoking discussions of the major issues in strategy, reflections on how they have been tackled in the last three decades, and identifying the themes, promises and challenges that lie ahead. Useful for a novice and an accomplished scholar alike, this is a remarkable effort that shows how far the Strategy field has come′ - Michael G. Jacobides, London Business School `This is an interesting, insightful and thought provoking collection. It not only comprehensively maps the field of strategic management but also offers a critical reflection on past and present work. The rich mix of contributors criticize, entice and provoke, while also scoping a future research agenda. The authors have accomplished a major and important contribution to our understanding of the history and development of strategy and research in strategy′ - David Asch, Dean of the Faculty of Business and Law, De Montfort University. `The publication of the Handbook of Strategy and Management is a major event. The Handbook not only brings together the World′s leading strategy and management scholars; it is also remarkably well-organized and future-oriented, having the right balance between focus and diversity. By critically taking stock of the field and by discussing future paths of strategy, this Handbook will serve as an important stimulus for intellectual development for years to come′- Nicolai Foss, Copenhagen Business School `Finally! We have a comprehensive, reflective and critical overview of the field of strategy in the new Handbook of Strategy and Management. The strategy literature has come of age with this "mapping of the terrain" by Andrew Pettigrew, Howard Thomas and Richard Whittington. The Handbook provides an useful overview of different streams of thought with contributions by leading scholars and researchers. Equally importantly, this Handbook provides us with reflections on the past and insights into the future of the field. Such a critique is an important aid in understanding and researching strategy for newcomers and experienced scholars alike′ - Cynthia Hardy, Head of Department of Management, University of Melbourne The Handbook presents a major retrospective and prospective overview of the strategic management field and will be an important benchmark volume for management scholars worldwide. The Handbook frames, assesses and synthesizes the work in the field and helps to define and shape its current and future development. The editors combine focus with diversity in the material and approaches covered, thus providing a powerful critical analysis and synthesis of diverse disciplinary contributions to this rapidly growing body of knowledge. Each of the four parts of this book concentrates on a specific area of strategy and management. Within these parts, leading international scholars provide historical overviews of the key strands delineating the `topography′ of their particular themes, address the central problems and approaches which have characterized these, critically assess the state and quality of current theory and knowledge, and set out agendas for future theoretical and empirical development. The resulting volume is a unique overview of the inputs and dynamics that shape the core ideas and practices of strategy and management.
ISBN: 9781412921213Publication Date: 2006-04-27
The Oxford Handbook of Management Consulting by
Management consultants of various kinds play an important role in the world of business, and within other types of organization. The Oxford Handbook on Management Consulting is a comprehensive overview of eminent thinking and research on management consultancy with contributions from leadinginternational scholars.The first section provides an account of the historical developments in management consultancy research, and how current thinking has evolved from prior work. The second section focuses on disciplinary and theoretical perspectives on management consulting, their diversities, areas of synergy, andparallel concerns. The following sections examine consulting as a knowledge business; the consultants in management fashion; and the relationship between management consultants and their clients. The Handbook concludes with an assessment of areas of future research and debate.By bringing together a wide range of research and thinking on management consultancy across different disciplines, sub-disciplines, and conceptual approaches, the Handbook provides a comprehensive understanding of both current thinking and future directions for research.
ISBN: 9780199235049Publication Date: 2012-05-23
The Oxford Handbook of Project Management by
This Handbook presents and discusses leading ideas in the management of projects. Positioning project management as a domain much broader and more strategic than simply 'execution management', this Handbook draws on the insights of over 40 scholars to chart the development of the subject overthe last 50 years or more as an area of increasing practical and academic interest. It suggests we could be entering an emerging 'third wave' of analysis and interpretation following its early technical and operational beginnings and the subsequent shift to a focus on projects and their management.Topics dealt with include: the historical evolution of the subject; its theoretical base; professionalism; business and societal context; strategy; organization; governance; innovation; overruns; risk; information management; procurement; relationships and trust; knowledge management; practice andteams. This handbook is of particular relevance to those interested in the research issues underlying project management.
ISBN: 9780199563142Publication Date: 2011-04-01
Please note some of these books might be reference books; reference books are only available for use in the library. You can identify those by looking at the Copies tab in the record of each book – the Location section should say Sherman Library Reference and the Status section should say LIB USE ONLY.
Required/recommended materials for selected management courses
| MGT 5105 | Konopaske, Robert. Organizational Behavior and Management. |
| MGT 5170 |
Hitt, Michael A.; Ireland, R. Duane; Hoskisson, Robert E. Strategic Management: Concepts: Competitiveness and Globalization. |
| MGT 5380 | Thompson, Leigh. Making the Team: A Guide for Managers. (2004) |
| MGT 5631 | Hughes, Richard L.; Ginnett, Robert C.; Curphy, Gordon J. Leadership: Enhancing Lessons of Experience. (2015) |
|
MGT 5686
|
Dyer, Jeff. Innovator's DNA. |
| LED 3000 | Daft, Richard. Leadership Experience. |
| MGT 2050 | Kinicki, Angelo; Soignet, Denise Breaux. Management: A Practical Introduction. |
| MGT 2150 | Cavico, Frank J. Business Law for the Entrepreneur and Manager. |
| MGT 3020 | Cardon, Peter. Business Communication. |
| MGT 3055 | Griffith, Brian A.; Dunham, Ethan Barrett. Working in Teams: Moving from High Potential to High Performance. |
| MGT 3100 | Palmer, Ian. Managing Organizational Change. |
| MGT 4170 |
Robbins, Stephen P. Organizational Behavior. |
| MGT 4880 | Thompson, Arthur Jr. Business Strategy Game. |
| MGT 4880 | Dess, Gregory. Strategic Management: Creating Competitive Advantages. |
