COMP (Online Sections)

Review each section below and complete the quiz at the end. To prepare for the quiz, download the worksheet. The quiz is based on the questions from this worksheet. If you need assistance answering a question, please ask a librarian.

After reviewing this page, you will better understand how to:

• Identify types of information sources
• Evaluate sources
• Use library databases to find scholarly, newspaper, and magazine articles
• Ask A Librarian for help

Razor's Research Bytes is a self-paced library orientation within Canvas. It is a series of "bite-size" online modules that introduce general research concepts and illustrate how to efficiently use library resources.

1. Login to Canvas to complete Razor's Research Bytes (if you have not done so already for another class).
2. After completing the modules, come back to this page to continue.

Don't know how to login in Canvas? Follow the instructions here.

Tip: If you are unable to access the library's course in Canvas, please contact the Alvin Sherman Library at refdesk@nova.edu.

The CRAAP Test is a helpful tool for evaluating a source's credibility and deciding whether you should use it in your assignment. It uses five criteria in the acronym: Currency, Relevance, Authority, Accuracy, and Purpose.

The CRAAP Test questions are meant to serve as a guide rather than a checklist.

Let's practice using the CRAAP test to evaluate a popular source and a scholarly source. Learning how to evaluate will save you time with your research because you won't waste time reading sources that are not right for your assignment.

Click here or on the image to begin the activity. 

A library database is an electronic collection of information and documents, including newspapers, magazines, scholarly journals, and more.

Databases are not considered "the internet." We use an internet browser to access library databases, but we are not searching a website. Unlike searching Google, using a library database will allow you to:

• Limit a search by a keyword, author, date, publication, etc.
• Find scholarly or peer reviewed sources
• Avoid paywalls or other paid subscription content

The databases below tend to be helpful when getting started with topics in COMP 1500:

Tip: If you need help choosing a database, Ask a Librarian!

Now that you have completed each section of this module, submit your quiz to your COMP professor for credit! To begin the quiz, click on the link below that corresponds to your course/professor.

You may use your completed worksheet to answer each question on the quiz. When finished, click "submit."
(Note: Answers will not save unless the quiz is submitted.  Do not close the quiz window before you submit the quiz.)

Select the quiz for your course/professor:

• COMP 1500 - Alonso

• COMP 1500 - Bianchi

• COMP 1500 - Booker

• COMP 1500 - Carter

• COMP 1500 - Concannon

• COMP 1500 - D'Agostino

• COMP 1500 - Gutierrez

• COMP 1500 - Heuer

• COMP 1500 - Hoffman

• COMP 1500 - Katz

• COMP 1500 - Leon

• COMP 1500 - Panton

• COMP 1500 - Rahimi

• COMP 1500 - Weisler