Library Presentation
Library Resources
Finding Books
NovaCat is the online catalog for the NSU Libraries. Search NovaCat to locate books, ebooks, videos, DVDs, games and other material the libraries own. NovaCat will indicate the format (online or in-print), location, and availability of an item. Remember, if you are looking for articles and other types of research material you will want to consult the databases. Use the search box to begin searching NovaCat.
Search NovaCat for books and ebooks:
eBook Databases
Some of our databases contain eBooks in addition to scholarly journals. Check these databases out for fresh, relevant e-books on a variety of topics.
Relevant Databases
NSU Libraries subscribe to hundreds of databases to cover all academic programs of study. The best of these databases to use for this course for Education, business topics and psychology/behavioral health topics are:
For Education Topics:
For Business and Leadership Topics:
For Psychology and Behavioral Health Topics:
Dissertation Databases:
Databases with Tests and Measurement Instruments:
-
Sage Research Methodslearn about methodology with books, modules, journals, and videos
Newspapers and Trade Magazines
The news cycle turns so quickly that online access is the best way to get current news. NSU Libraries give you access to news outlets around the world in real time. When news articles are sourced through our databases there are no paywalls and citation is easy. Find out more about accessing newspapers from around the world in Getting Started - Newspaper Resources - Library Guide.
Here are a few examples:
Trade magazines, while not a source of scholarly articles, can be a good source of information on trends in industry. Here are a few examples, but search the Publication Finder and Flipster for more!
Statistics Resources
Databases and official government websites are excellent sources of statistics on many topics. Some of the best statistics resources for your interests are found in the Statistics LibGuide. Statistics for Business, Education, Government, and Health are explored.
Professional Development
Continue to grow your professional skillset using these valuable tools, available to NSU students, faculty, and staff.
EBSCO Learning Express - Personal Success Skills Center
-
Linkedin Learning
LinkedIn Learning is a great online educational site that includes over 13,000 expert-led, online courses and video tutorials in popular fields like web design, web development, IT, education/instruction, media production, career development, and business. Note: Linkedin Learning requires that user must be at least 16 years of age.
To log in to the LinkedIn Learning App: Click “Sign in” and everyone should just enter “nova.edu” in the Email field. That will take you to a library authentication page which you can use to enter your SharkLink ID and password or Alvin Sherman Library Card and you’ll be redirected back to LinkedIn Learning once that’s done. Click here for more information.
-
Sage Business Skills
Practice real-world and professional skills using multimedia content. These skills help provide the transition from campus to workplace.
Leisure Library Materials through the Alvin Sherman Library
Your free NSU Alvin Sherman Library Card is a gateway to a vast collection of resources, catering to a diverse range of needs and interests. Your card provides access books, media such as movies and video games, and digital content including e-books, audiobooks, and online databases. These materials and more are all free to borrow or access online with your library card! The library's commitment to providing both popular and academic resources ensures that learners and researchers are well-equipped with the latest information and tools. Check out what's new!
BOOKS - physical and electronic items for checkout from the library -NovaCat catalog
VIDEO GAMES - Check them out through the NovaCat catalog
COMICS - Comics Plus (link below)
MAGAZINES - Flipster (link below)
MOVIES - Kanopy (link below)
-
ComicsPlus Full Collection
ComicsPlus offers unlimited, simultaneous access to thousands of digital comics, graphic novels, and manga from a variety of publishers. Explore a diverse selection of titles from ABDO, Andrews McMeel, BOOM! Studios, Capstone, Dark Horse, Europe Comics, Fantagraphics, Humanoids, Image Comics, Kodansha, Lerner, Manga Classics, Papercutz, Tokyopop, TOON Books, UDON Entertainment, Yen Press, and more.
-
Kanopy
Kanopy is a video streaming database featuring more than 60,000 films. Subjects covered in our collection include the Arts, Business, Education, Global Studies & Language, Media & Communications, and the Social Sciences. Films range from documentaries, indie and foreign films, classics and blockbuster movies. Download the Kanopy app from the Apple App Store or Google Play store. Users must create an account to use as a login for the mobile app.
-
Flipster
Flipster is a next-generation digital magazine distribution service where users can access their favorite magazines from a variety of publishers through their local libraries via a web browser or a custom app made specifically for the iPad, iPad mini, Android or Kindle Fire (3rd and 4th Generation) and download magazines to read offline, anytime, anywhere.
-
cloudLibrary
Extensive collection of popular fiction and non-fiction e-books and audio books for juvenile, young adult, and adult readers. E-books are borrowed, downloaded, and read using a REQUIRED app for multiple devices, including smartphones, tablets, and desktop/notebook computers. The app is available for downloading from the Apple App Store, Google Play, Amazon Apps, Microsoft Windows App Store, Google Chrome Web Store, or the Barnes & Noble Nook/Samsung Apps on Google Play.
NSU users login to your cloudLibrary user account with Shark ID and password. NSU Alumni login into your cloudLibrary user account with N# as the Library Card ID and your last name as the Password/PIN. Alvin Sherman Library card holders login into your cloudLibrary user account with library card number as the Library Card ID and your last name as the Password/PIN.
Open Access
Open access research is "research publicly available to everyone—free of charge and without most copyright and licensing restrictions." (Full Article)
Open Society Foundations. (2012). Scientists, foundations, libraries, universities, and advocates unite and issue new recommendations to make research freely available to all online [Press release]. Retrieved from http://www.opensocietyfoundations.org/press-releases/scientists-foundations-libraries-universities-and-advocates-unite-and-issue-new
Peer Reviewed/Refereed
"Peer review refers generally to the evaluation of professional performance or products by other professionals and, more specifically, to a set of procedures for evaluating grant proposals and manuscripts submitted for publication." (Full Article)
To determine if an article has been peer reviewed/refereed, use the Ulrichsweb Database to see if the journal uses peer review. Enter the name of the journal and look for the referee jersey icon.
Mark, M., & Chua, P. (2005). Peer review. In S. Mathison (Ed.), Encyclopedia of evaluation. (p. 301). Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage Publications, Inc. doi: http://dx.doi.org/10.4135/9781412950558.n404
Primary Sources
A primary source is "an original source of data; one that puts as few intermediaries as possible between the production and the study of data." (Full Article)
Primary source. (2005). In W. Paul Vogt (Ed.), Dictionary of statistics & methodology. (3rd ed., p. 246). Thousand Oaks, CA: SAGE Publications, Inc. doi: http://dx.doi.org/10.4135/9781412983907.n1496
Secondary Sources
A secondary source is "a source that provides non-original (“secondhand”) data or information." (Full Article)
Secondary source. (2005). In W. Paul Vogt (Ed.), Dictionary of statistics & methodology. (3rd ed., p. 291). Thousand Oaks, CA: SAGE Publications, Inc. doi: http://dx.doi.org/10.4135/9781412983907.n1769
Academic Writer is a web-based suite of integrated services and tools designed to help both develop and enhance research and writing skills as well as facilitate publication. Academic Writer is the official, authoritative online resource for instruction and reference related to the application and proper use of APA Style. 17 APA Reference Books are available for use in the RESEARCH tab. Academic Writer is optimized for Firefox, Chrome, and Safari. Internet Explorer is not recommended.
To find out more about how to use Academic Writer, visit our librarian-curated Lib Guide: Academic Writer (for APA 7th ed.) - Library Guide.
To go directly to Academic Writer, click here: Academic Writer.
-
APA Style BlogThe APA Style blog is the official companion to the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Seventh Edition. It’s run by the APA Style team—a group of style experts who work with APA Style every day. We regularly publish posts to talk about what we love—writing, publishing, and APA Style. Occasionally we feature guest bloggers who write about their areas of specialty.
Fuente Académica Premier - EBSCOhost
Fuente Académica Premier ofrece acceso a más de 1000 publicaciones académicas de Latinoamérica, Portugal y España que cubren las principales áreas temáticas. La mayor parte del contenido proviene de publicaciones arbitradas y se ofrece a texto completo. (Offers access to over 1,000 academic publications from Latin America, Portugal, and Spain across most academic disciplines. The majority of resources are peer-reviewed and full text.)
Gale OneFile: Informe Académico - Florida Electronic Library Resource - Gale Cengage Learning
Gale OneFile: Informe Académico proporciona acceso a periódicos y revistas especializadas en lengua española y portuguesa. La base de datos ofrece una amplia gama de contenido de carácter académico, científico y de interés general. Gran parte de sus más de 900 publicaciones son arbitradas. (Offers access to newspapers, scholarly journals, and general interest magazines published in Spanish and Portuguese. There are over 900 resources, and many of them are peer-reviewed and full text.)