Skip to Main Content

UNIV 1000 First Year Experience

Through the Alvin Sherman Library, you have access to a variety of video databases.

(Library login with your SharkLink username and password is required to access databases.)

 

Linkedin Learning - Lynda.com (LinkedIn)

This database includes over 13,000 expert-led, online courses and video tutorials in popular fields like web design, web development, IT, education/instruction, media production, career development, and business. 


Alexander Street Press (Video Collection)

Click on each discipline below for more information about the video collection available in this database:


The Alexander Street Press Art & Design database brings together the most influential creative works the world over, spanning centuries and continents to share the must-see pieces—both famed and lesser-known—that have left an indelible mark upon contemporary culture. These resources foster learning and discovery by pairing primary source artworks in a broad range of genres and formats with key commentary that explores the significance of the works in context. These resources feature the best in painting, sculpture, photography, mixed media, architecture, fashion design, and more.

Videos include:

  • Art & Architecture

  • Fashion Studies


The Alexander Street Press Diversity database features resources that illuminate the challenges, triumphs, and issues facing underrepresented, indigenous, and immigrant communities around the world. Hundreds of documentaries, interviews, biographies, performances, and lectures—which draw heavily on late 20th- and early 21st-century archival text and footage—create a rich platform for examining social, racial, and economic inequalities that shape communities at the local and global levels. Content offers opportunities for cross-cultural comparisons and localized, in-depth analyses relevant to Asian studies, black studies, LGBT studies, North American Indian studies, and women's studies.

Videos include: 

  • Asian Studies

  • Black Studies

  • Disability Studies

  • Hawaiian Studies

  • LGBT Studies

  • Women's Studies


The Alexander Street Press Health Sciences database includes instructional videos by world-renowned clinicians, practitioners, and educators that provide detailed lessons and demonstrations of skills and techniques. Interviews, documentaries, and reports from leading researchers explore both basic principles and today’s cutting-edge knowledge of health and wellness.

Videos include:

  • Counseling & Therapy

  • Dentistry

  • Health Policy

  • Medical Imaging

  • Nursing

  • Rehabilitation Therapy

  • Sports Medicine & Exercise Science

  • Veterinary Science

 


The Alexander Street Press History database brings together key documentaries, commercial and governmental newsreels, public affairs and archival footage, and much more to facilitate research and teaching in a comparative, transnational, and thematic way. Areas of focus include Trade and Exploration, The American Revolutionary Era, The American Civil War, Imperialism and Colonialism, World War I, The Jazz Age, The Post-World War II Era, The Sixties, Women’s History, Black History, and International Newsreels. 

Videos include:

  • American History

  • Letters and Diaries

  • Newsreels

  • The American Civil War

  • Women and Social Movements

  • World History


The Alexander Street Press Literature & Language database combines a variety of linguistic, cultural, and literary traditions in a way that allows users to explore and analyze themes and trends from around the world. Areas of focus include France, Spain, Germany, Russia, Japan, and China. Through interviews, biographies, and surveys of regional literature and literary periods, these titles offer a comprehensive resource for study of literature through time around the globe.

Videos include:

  • Drama

  • Film

  • Language

  • Literature


The Alexander Street Press Music & Performing Arts database combines audio and video that spans all time periods, hundreds of thousands of seminal artists, composers, choreographers, and ensembles to provide an unparalleled learning environment for the teaching of music.

Videos include:

  • American Music

  • Classical Music

  • Dance

  • Film

  • Jazz

  • Popular Music

  • Theatre

  • World Music

 


The Alexander Street Press Personal Interest database includes films that may inspire you to try a new hobby, teach a new skill, provide a window into world cultures, or help plan your next trip. This collection of high-quality films comes from top publishers worldwide, and will provide you with the hands-on tips you need to follow your interests wherever they take you.

Videos include: 

  • Cooking

  • How-To

  • Travel


The Alexander Street Press Psychology & Counseling database presents an extensive array of content -- both video and text-based -- that includes therapy sessions, documentaries, interviews, keynote presentations, transcripts, client narratives and psychological experiments. The content covers a vast range of client issues such as addiction, autism, depression, grief, obsessive compulsive disorder, post-traumatic stress disorder, and suicide. It also highlights the psychology behind human behavior with studies on conformity, power, obedience, responsibility, aggression, and conditioning.

Videos include: 

  • Counseling & Therapy

  • Psychology

  • Psychotherapy

  • Social Work


The Alexander Street Press Science & Engineering database offers a wide-ranging survey of engineering, environmental studies, natural history, and the physical and biological sciences, and focuses on their practical, ground-level applications. Thousands of documentaries, instructional materials, how-to guides, and lectures provide an engaging, hands-on framework from which to explore the inner workings of the cell, the outer workings of the solar system, and everything in between. Content also examines larger issues around scientific exploration, such as patent law and ethics, fostering interdisciplinary conversations on key themes in the humanities and social sciences.

Videos include:

  • Anthropology

  • Astronomy

  • Biology

  • Compuer Science

  • Earth Science

  • Engineering

  • Environmental Science

  • Geology

  • Oceanography

  • Physics

  • Zoology


The Alexander Street Press Social Sciences database covers a broad range of subjects concerned with humanity’s efforts to understand itself and the world. Through raw field recordings, documentaries, newsreels, counseling transcripts and sessions, and much more, users can examine and connect personal, social, and spiritual aspects of the human condition. These materials facilitate exploration into humanity’s interpersonal nature across politics, the criminal justice system, business, religion, psychology, public safety, anthropology, education, and studies of the environment and current events.

Videos include:

  • Anthropology

  • Business & Economics

  • Criminal Justice & Public Safety

  • Education

  • Environmental Studies

  • Food Studies 

  • Global Issues

  • Media Studies

  • Politics & Current Affairs

  • Psychology

  • Religion & Thought

  • Social Theory

  • Social Work

 


Bates' Visual Guide to Physical Examination Online - Wolters Kluwer Health

This database provides video demonstrations of head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination techniques.