Sport and Recreation Management
Getting started
This guide covers multiple aspects of sport and recreation management. The focus is on sport management and various business related aspects such as sales and revenue generation, marketing and communication, analytics and technology, ethics and legal aspects and more.
Introduction to Sports and Recreation
Here is a list of books you can use if you need to familiarize yourself with sports and recreation management related terms.
Dictionary of Sport and Exercise Science by
An invaluable reference book for anyone interested in the fascinating world of sport, containing over 5,000 terms relating to sport and exercise science. Coverage includes anatomy, physiology, physiotherapy, biology, sports medicine, sporting rules and regulations, governing bodies, health and fitness and banned substances.
ISBN: 9781408102053Publication Date: 2006-01-01
Dictionary of Sport Psychology by
Dictionary of Sport Psychology: Sport, Exercise, and Performing Arts is a comprehensive reference with hundreds of concise entries across sports, martial arts, exercise and fitness, performing arts and cultural sport psychology. This dictionary uses a global approach to cover philosophical and cultural backgrounds, theory, methodology, education and training and fields of application. Each entry includes phenomenon, subject description and definition, related theory and research, practice and application across sports and related performance domains. An authoritative, balanced and accessible presentation of the state-of-the-art in key subject areas, this dictionary is a must-have reference for anyone studying or practicing sport psychology. Provides a diverse cultural perspective to ensure the broadest coverage of internationalization Covers a broad scope of terms and concepts Includes extended performance domains, such as music, dance, theater arts and the circus Utilizes an alphabetical approach so entries are easily found and quickly referenced Contains entries written by leading researchers and scholars across the globe
ISBN: 9780128131510Publication Date: 2019-02-02
Key Concepts in Sport Management by
"An accessible and different guide for students and practitioners alike... I′m sure that it will become a standard reference text for sports management" - Peter Taylor, Sport Industry Research Centre, Sheffield Hallam University "A must have introductory reference guide for graduate and undergraduate sport management students"- Paul M. Pedersen, Indiana University "Provides students, practitioners and researchers in the field of sport management with a valuable compilation of sensitizing concepts, definitions and interesting references"- Michel van Slobbe, European Sport Management Quarterly Sharp, clear and relevant this book meets the needs of those studying and researching within the growing discipline of sport management. The intelligently cross-referenced entries provide a concise overview of the key concepts in the field guiding you through the important debates, sources and research methods in the management and delivery of sport. The book introduces readers to the concepts at the centre of their studies; it suggests relevant further reading and thoughts for future research and applies academic theory to business and organizational problems in a real-world context. Written for students, academics and practitioners the entries are designed to meet study needs and include: Clear definitions Comprehensive examples Practical applications Effective research methods.
ISBN: 9781412928410Publication Date: 2012-09-20
The SAGE Dictionary of Leisure Studies by
What is Leisure Studies? Who are the key figures in the field? How can we evaluate the relevance of concepts in the field? This is the first full length Dictionary of Leisure Studies. It examines the key concepts, assesses the work of central figures and helps students zero-in on essential issues and conceptual distinctions. The Book: * Provides an unprecedented critical survey of the field * Offers students authoritative, comprehensive accounts of the basic concepts and leading figures * Provides students with core resources to write essays and pass exams Written by teachers experienced with the needs of undergraduates and postgraduates in the field, the book will be quickly recognized as a vital asset in making sense of Leisure Studies.
ISBN: 9781446202326Publication Date: 2010-12-01
The SAGE Dictionary of Sports Studies by
Sports studies is one of the fastest growing fields in higher education today. The SAGE Dictionary of Sports Studies brings a timely, much-needed, and comprehensive tool for all students in this multi-disciplinary field. Each entry provides a basic definition, a guide to research themes, and a clear account of the relevance of the concept in understanding sport. Not only indispensable for quick clarification of terms, it will give students a springboard for more in-depth research and critical analysis. Key Features Offers cross referencing to assist critical thinking Includes a list of key readings for each entry Provides expert definitions drawn from sociology, history, psychology, economics, management and business, politics and policy, physical education and health, and research methods Gives concise, student-friendly, and authoritative entriesCovering sociology, history, psychology, politics, business, physical education, health and research methods, The SAGE Dictionary of Sports Studies provides the first one-stop reference guide for all students who study the social aspects of sport.
ISBN: 9781412907347Publication Date: 2008-04-14
Please note some of these books might be reference books; reference books are only available for use in the library. You can identify those by looking at the Copies tab in the record of each book – the Location section should say Sherman Library Reference and the Status section should say LIB USE ONLY.
Here is a list of books you can use if you need to familiarize yourself with sports and recreation management related terms.
The Encyclopedia of Exercise, Sport and Health by
This encyclopedia contains a comprehensive alphabetical guide for more than 2,000 entries on the full array of topics related to sports health including training, nutrition, psychology, injuries, illness, prevention, and alternative therapies. Clearly illustrated with photos and clear anatomical line drawings, this book has jargon-free explanations for thousands of questions about the health- and fitness-related aspects of exercise and sports. For those who have suffered a sports injury, have children involved in sports, are studying physical education, or just want to know about health-improving exercises, this is an invaluable reference guide.
ISBN: 1741140587Publication Date: 2004-09-01
Encyclopedia of Sport and Exercise Psychology by
How do athletes overcome fears, slumps, mental blocks, or injuries? How do they deal with stress and anxiety, be it from competitors, teammates, audiences, parents, coaches, or themselves? What psychological techniques prove effective in mental training for peak performance, maintaining concentration, motivation, and competitive drive? How can an athlete enhance his or her commitment to a training regimen, or how might the average person better adhere to a program of fitness and exercise? Readers will find answers to these questions and more in the Encyclopedia of Sport and Exercise Psychology. Features & Benefits: Entries explore the theory, research, and application of psychology as it relates to sport and fitness in a manner that is accessible and jargon-free to help readers better understand human behavior in sport and exercise settings. From personal factors to situational factors influencing performance to specific psychological techniques for enhancing performance, this work provides comprehensive coverage of the field via approximately 350 to 400 signed entries. Entries conclude with cross-references and suggestions for further readings to guide students further in their research journey. Available in print and online, this monumental work is edited by two leading figures in the field with a distinguished international Editorial Advisory Board to select and assign entries, ensuring authoritative content readers can trust. Key Themes: Career Transition Certification, Credentialing, and Roles of Sport and Exercise Psychologists Disability Emotion Exercise Health Group Dynamics History and Foundation Leadership Morality, Aggression, and Ethics in Sport Motivation Motor Control Perception and Cognition in Sport Personality and Psychological Characteristics in Sport Psychobiology Psychological Skills/Interventions Psychosociocultural Self-Concept/Self-Perceptions, and Identity Youth Sport
ISBN: 9781483332215Publication Date: 2014-01-01
Encyclopedia of Sports in America: a History from Foot Races to Extreme Sports [2 Volumes] by
Sports and leisure activities serve as a mirror, allowing us to examine the attitudes and values of everyday people. This new reference explores the development and influence of sports in American culture, as well as how sports icons, commercial enterprises, organizations, sporting events, and even fan culture have changed from decade to decade and from era to era, from the foot races of colonial times to the extreme sports of today. Each chapter focuses on key aspects of sports in American culture, including such topics as ethnicity, gender, and economics. Enhanced with numerous sidebars on the movers and shakers, key sporting trends, as well as the controversies that threatened to tear the sports world apart, this insightful reference is ideal for high school and college students who are interested in tracing the evolution of sports and American culture throughout the nation's history. Features include a timeline of important events, numerous photographs, and a bibliography of print and electronic sources for further
ISBN: 0313347913Publication Date: 2008-12-30
Sports Figures by
Packed with original biographies of 500 athletes, team owners, sports promoters and coaches, this new set covers both living and deceased individuals from the 19th century to the present day. Published in alphabetical sequence with appendixes listing subjects by sport and by era, it enables users to do research easily on a particular sport or decade. Also includes a comprehensive index. Among those profiled are Hank Aaron, Rod Carew, Phil Jackson, Jake LaMotta, Louise Suggs, Venus Williams and many others.
ISBN: 0684806657Publication Date: 2002-03-15
Sports in America from Colonial Times to the Twenty-First Century: an Encyclopedia by
A unique new reference work, this encyclopedia presents a social, cultural, and economic history of American sports from hunting, bowling, and skating in the sixteenth century to televised professional sports and the X Games today. Nearly 400 articles examine historical and cultural aspects of leagues, teams, institutions, major competitions, the media and other related industries, as well as legal and social issues, economic factors, ethnic and racial participation, and the growth of institutions and venues. Also included are biographical entries on notable individuals--not just outstanding athletes, but owners and promoters, journalists and broadcasters, and innovators of other kinds--along with in-depth entries on the history of major and minor sports from air racing and archery to wrestling and yachting. A detailed chronology, master bibliography, and directory of institutions, organizations, and governing bodies--plus more than 100 vintage and contemporary photographs--round out the coverage.
ISBN: 9781315700649Publication Date: 2015-03-26
Please note some of these books might be reference books; reference books are only available for use in the library. You can identify those by looking at the Copies tab in the record of each book – the Location section should say Sherman Library Reference and the Status section should say LIB USE ONLY.
Here is a list of books you can use if you need to familiarize yourself with sports and recreation management related terms.
Handbook of Research in Sport and Business by
This Handbookdraws together top international researchers and discusses the state of the art and the future direction of research at the nexus between sport and business. It is heavily built upon choosing, applying and evaluating appropriate quantitative as well as qualitative research methods for practical advice in sport and business research. Topics covered for analysis include sports governance, regulation and performance; media and technology; club management and team structure; place, time and spectators of sporting events; and sport branding and sponsoring. The Handbookcovers research examples from elite sport to the amateur level, and from different sports, from cycling to cricket, from ice hockey to motorsports, and from football to skiing. It will be read and used by academics and PhD students as well as sports practitioners looking for useful ways of expanding knowledge, conducting research or searching for insights into the challenges of managing sport. Contributors include: C. Anagnostopoulos, T. Andersson, A.-l. Balduck, N. Böhlke, A. Bourke, M. Buelens, S. Chadwick, B. Cornwell, V. deBosscher, M. Desbordes, M. Dibben, H. Dolles, B. Frick, H. Gammelsaeter, C. Gratton, S. Greyser, A. Guala, E. Gummesson, S. Hamil, K.K. Haugen, B. Hellau, P. Hogan, H. Jansson, B. Johnson, M. Maes, N. O Reilly, L. Robinson, A. Rudd, J. Santomier, T. Schlesinger, B. Senaux, S. Shibli, E. Skille, A. Smith, S. Söderman, H.A. Solberg, B. Stewart, T. Ströbel, J. Truyens, D.M. Turco, M. van Bottenburg, G. Walters, M. Winand, H. Woratschek, T. Zintz
ISBN: 1849800057Publication Date: 2013-06-28
Handbook of Sport Neuroscience and Psychophysiology by
Out of the broad arena of sport science and sport psychology, Roland A. Carlstedt presents a comprehensive collection on the neuroscience and associated psychophysiology that underlies and drives sport performance. Featuring sections ranging from the basics and foundations (anatomy and physiology) to the applied (assessment during competition, training, and mental training), Handbook of Sport Neuroscience and Psychophysiology is the first volume to provide students, researchers, practitioners, and coaches the latest knowledge on the brain, mind-body processes, and psychophysiological responding in the context of sport performance.
ISBN: 9781315723693Publication Date: 2018-10-09
Handbook of sport studies by
An authoritative cast of international and inter-disciplinary contributors present the best of current thinking in sports studies as the subject matures and develops academically.
ISBN: 9781848608382Publication Date: 2000
Handbook on the Economics of Sport by
This comprehensive Handbook provides a survey of all the major research areas in sports economics written by almost all of the active researchers in this field. It offers not only an accessible insight into the major findings of the literature but also pr
ISBN: 9781847204073Publication Date: 2006-12-21
Research Handbook on EU Sports Law and Policy by
Drawing on the expertise of leading academics and practitioners, this Research Handbookprovides comprehensive analysis of the EU's involvement in sport. Structured around the key themes used by the EU Commission in the field of sport, namely sport in society, the economic dimension of sport and the organization of sport, this Research Handbookis the definitive assessment of modern EU sports law and policy. The initial contributions explore the origins and sources of EU sports law and policy to provide context, while the remaining chapters address the Commission's key themes. Contributors explore the key cases shaping EU sports law, such as Walrave, Bosmanand Meca-Medina, whilst also assessing the key contemporary issues concerning the relationship between sport and the EU. Demonstrating how and why sport can make a difference to the socio-economic well-being of the EU, this Research Handbookwill be stimulating reading for sports lawyers and administrators as well as students of sports law, sports policy and sports business, and politicians and civil servants in this sector. Contributors include: J. Anderson, W. Andreff, S. Boyes, A. Cattaneo, J.-L. Chappelet, C. Coors, N. De Marco, M. de Wolff, B. García, J. Kornbeck, S. Ó'Conaill, L. O'Leary, R. Parrish, N. Partington, K. Pijetlovic, S. Schenk, E. Szyszczak, A. Tsoukala, S. Van den Bogaert, A. Vermeersch, S. Weatherill
ISBN: 9781784719500Publication Date: 2018-07-27
The SAGE handbook of sport management by
The SAGE Handbook of Sport Management draws together the best current research on the major topics relevant to the field of sports management, including leadership, gender, diversity, development, pol icy, tourism, and media.
ISBN: 9781473957961Publication Date: 2017- The SAGE handbook of sports economics by
The editors of The SAGE Handbook of Sports Economics have brought together a global team of respected scholars to create this benchmark collection of insights into sports economics. Each chapter includes a study of a specific context in which issues arise in sports economics, a critical presentation of its main theoretical contributions, an overview of current research findings, and an outline of enquiry for future research.
ISBN: 9781526470447Publication Date: 2019
World Sports: a Reference Handbook by
World Sports: A Reference Handbook covers a wide variety of sports-related controversies, including ethical, political, technological, business, and social issues related to the phenomenon of sports. Many of the larger topics are covered from multiple angles, often providing both a global and American perspective. The work provides unique insights into the commonly addressed subject of sports, supplying information that most readers will find unfamiliar and thought-provoking. Addressing forms of sports as diverse as American football, skateboarding, NASCAR auto racing, ultrarunning, and the disciplines of the Olympic Games, the title's topics are discussed in depth to illuminate the sport's specific issues and are backed with information from relevant sports organizations, biographies of important people, chronologies, and charts and graphs. The information within this handbook is based upon the latest academic research but presented in very accessible language, making it appropriate for high school and undergraduate students as well as general readers.
ISBN: 1598847791Publication Date: 2012-07-19
Please note some of these books might be reference books; reference books are only available for use in the library. You can identify those by looking at the Copies tab in the record of each book – the Location section should say Sherman Library Reference and the Status section should say LIB USE ONLY.
Routledge has an entire series of handbooks on various aspects related to sports and recreation ranging from sport communication to sport history.
Routledge Handbook of Athlete Welfare by
Athlete welfare should be of central importance in all sport. This comprehensive volume features cutting-edge research from around the world on issues that can compromise the welfare of athletes at all levels of sport and on the approaches taken by sports organisations to prevent and manage these. In recent years, sports organisations have increased their efforts to ensure athlete health, safety, and well-being, often prompted by high-profile disclosures of sexual, physical, and emotional abuse; bullying; discrimination; disordered eating; addiction; and mental health issues. In this book, contributors lift the lid on these and other issues that jeopardise the physical, emotional, psychological, social, and spiritual welfare of athletes of all ages to raise awareness of the broad range of challenges athletes face. Chapters also highlight approaches to athlete welfare and initiatives taken by national and international sport organisations to provide a safer, more ethical sports environment. As the first book to focus exclusively on athlete welfare, this is an essential read for students and researchers in sports studies, coaching, psychology, performance, development and management, and physical education. It is also a useful reference point for anyone working in welfare, safeguarding, child protection, and equity and inclusion in and beyond sport.
ISBN: 9780429513848Publication Date: 2020-10-26
The Routledge Handbook of Clinical Sport Psychology by
Clinical sport psychology is a rapidly growing field that brings together research and clinical interventions from both clinical psychology and sport and performance psychology. Complementary to sports medicine and clinical sport psychiatry, clinical sport psychology addresses the mental health needs and psychological well-being of athletes, coaches, and other members of the sport community. It offers scientifically informed conceptualizations of psychological distress as it manifests in sport settings, as well as empirically supported clinical interventions tailored to the needs of sport populations. This volume addresses the latest research findings regarding mental health among athletes and other sport professionals, including epidemiological research concerning depression, anxiety, eating disorders, and conduct and interpersonal problems. In addition, it explores the unique etiology of mental health problems among athletes, including psychological sequelae of injury and trauma, as well as concise practice guidelines for conceptualizing and treating psychological distress in sport populations. Strategies for thorough yet efficient psychological assessment of athletes, coaches, and other sport professionals are also provided. A compendium of relevant empirical research and clinical best practices for assessment and treatment, this handbook charts the course that clinical sport psychology has taken since its inception as a distinct clinical specialty and highlights future directions for this rapidly growing practice domain. It offers essential reading for psychologists and other mental health professionals who provide clinical services in sport and performance settings.
ISBN: 9781000413526Publication Date: 2021-07-29
Routledge Handbook of Sport, Gender and Sexuality by
The Routledge Handbook of Sport, Gender and Sexuality brings together important new work from 68 leading international scholars that, collectively, demonstrates the intrinsic interconnectedness of sport, gender and sexuality. It introduces what is, in essence, a sophisticated sub-area of sport sociology, covering the field comprehensively, as well as signalling ideas for future research and analysis. Wide-ranging across different historical periods, different sports, and different local and global contexts, the book incorporates personal, ideological and political narratives; varied conceptual, methodological and theoretical approaches; and examples of complexities and nuanced ways of understanding the gendered and sexualized dynamics of sport. It examines structural and cultural forms of gender segregation, homophobia, heteronormativity and transphobia, as well as the ideological struggles and changes that have led to nuanced ways of thinking about the sport, gender and sexuality nexus. This is a landmark work of reference that will be a key resource for students and researchers working in sport studies, gender studies, sexuality studies or sociology.
ISBN: 9780203121375Publication Date: 2014-03-05
Routledge Handbook of Sport and Corporate Social Responsibility by
As the role of sport in society becomes ever more prominent and as sports organisations become increasingly influential members of the global community, so it has become more important than ever for sport to consider its wider social responsibilities. The Routledge Handbook of Sport and Corporate Social Responsibility is the first book to offer a comprehensive survey of theories and concepts of CSR as applied to sport, and the social, ethical and environmental aspects of sport business and management. It offers an overview of perspectives and approaches to CSR in sport, examines the unique features of the sport industry in relation to CSR, explores the tools, models, common pitfalls and examples of best practice on which managers can draw, and discusses how CSR and corporate citizenship can be integrated into the sport management curriculum. The book covers every key issue and functional area, including implementation, strategic benefits, communication and corporate image, stakeholder engagement, and the measurement and evaluation of CSR policies and practices, and includes detailed international case studies, from the NBA and the Olympic Games to Japanese soccer. The Routledge Handbook of Sport and Corporate Social Responsibility is important reading for any student, researcher, manager or policy maker with an interest in sport business, management, ethics or development.
ISBN: 9781135011734Publication Date: 2013-07-18
Routledge Handbook of Sport and New Media by
New media technologies have become a central part of the sports media landscape. Sports fans use new media to watch games, discuss sports transactions, form fan-based communities, and secure minutiae about their favorite players and teams. Never before have fans known so much about athletes, whether that happens via Twitter feeds, fan sites, or blogs, and never before have the lines between producer, consumer, enactor, fan and athlete been more blurred. The Internet has made virtually everything available for sports media consumption; it has also made understanding sports media substantially more complex. The Routledge Handbook of Sport and New Media is the most comprehensive and in-depth study of the impact of new media in sport ever to be published. Adopting a broad, interdisciplinary approach, the book explores new media in sport as a cultural, social, commercial, economic, and technological phenomenon, examining the profound impact of digital technologies on that the way that sport is produced, consumed and understood. There is no aspect of social life or commercial activity in general that is not being radically influenced by the rise of new media forms, and by offering a "state of the field" survey of work in this area, the Routledge Handbook of Sport and New Media is important reading for any advanced student, researcher or practitioner with an interest in sports studies, media studies or communication studies.
ISBN: 9780203114711Publication Date: 2014-01-10
Routledge Handbook of Sport Communication by
The Routledge Handbook of Sport Communication is the only book to offer a fully comprehensive and in-depth survey of the contemporary discipline of sport communication. It explores communication within, through, and for sport in all its theoretical, conceptual, cultural, behavioral, practical and managerial aspects, tracing the contours of this expansive, transdisciplinary and international discipline and demonstrating that there are few aspects of contemporary sport that don't rely on effective communications. Including contributions from leading sport media and communications scholars and professionals from around the world, the book examines emerging (new and social)nbsp;media, traditional (print, broadcast and screen) media, sociological themes in communication in sport, and management issues, at every level, from the interpersonal to communication within and between sport organisations and global institutions. Taking stock of current research, new ideas and key issues, this book is an essential reference for any advanced student, researcher or practitioner with an interest in sport communication, sport business, sport management, sport marketing, communication theory, journalism, or media studies.
ISBN: 9780203123485Publication Date: 2013-03-20
Routledge Handbook of Sport History by
The Routledge Handbook of Sport History is a new and innovative survey of the discipline of sport history. Global in scope, it examines the key contemporary issues in sports historiography, sheds light on previously ignored topics, and sets an intellectual agenda for the future development of the discipline. The book explores both traditional and non-traditional methodologies in sport history, and traces the interface between sport history and other fields of research, such as literature, material culture and the digital humanities. It considers the importance of key issues such as gender, race, sexuality and politics to our understanding of sport history, and focuses on innovative ways that the scholarship around these issues is challenging accepted discourses. This is the first handbook to include a full section on Indigenous sport history, a topic that has often been ignored in sport history surveys despite its powerful upstream influence on contemporary sport. The book also reflects carefully on the central importance of sport history journals in shaping the development of the discipline. This book is an essential reference for any student, researcher or scholar with an interest in sport history or the relationship between sport and society. It will also be fascinating reading for any historians looking for fresh perspectives on contemporary historiography or social and cultural history.
ISBN: 9781000441611Publication Date: 2021-09-19
Routledge Handbook of Sport Management by
The Routledge Handbook of Sport Management is the most up-to-date and comprehensive guide to theory and practice in sport management ever published. It provides students and scholars with a broad ranging survey of current thinking in contemporary sport management, exploring best practice in core functional areas and identifying important future directions for new research. Key topics covered in the book include: managing performance marketing human resource management the economics and finance of sport strategy managing change governance of sports organizations customer relations branding and retail. With contributions from leading scholars and professionals from around the world, the book illustrates the global nature of contemporary sport business and highlights the opportunities and challenges for managers operating in an international market place. Representing a definitive survey of contemporary issues in sport management, this is an essential reference for all students, scholars and practitioners working in sport.
ISBN: 9780415587884Publication Date: 2012-01-18
Routledge Handbook of Sport Policy by
It is difficult to fully understand the role that sport plays in contemporary global society without understanding how and why governments, NGOs and other organizations formulate and implement policy relating to sport. The Routledge Handbook of Sport Policy is the only book to offer a comprehensive overview of current perspectives, techniques and approaches to the analysis of sport policy around the world. The book introduces a diverse range of approaches to policy analysis across the full range of political and societal contexts, including developed and developing economies; state-centric, mixed economy and market-led systems, and both liberal democracies and political systems characterized by a dominant elite. It is arranged into five sections addressing the key topics and themes in the analysis of contemporary sport policy, including: theory and its implications for methodology globalization, governance, partnerships and networks elite sport policy development, sport and joint policy agendas sport policy and social theory. With contributions from leading policy analysts around the world, including Europe, North America, the Middle East and Asia, this book is important reading for any student, researcher or professional working in sport management, sport development, sport and society, or mainstream public policy, policy analysis or social policy.
ISBN: 9780415666619Publication Date: 2013-08-29
Routledge Handbook of Sports Development by
Sports development has become a prominent concern within both the academic study of sport and within the organisation and administration of sport. Now available in paperback, the Routledge Handbook of Sports Development is the first book to comprehensively map the wide-ranging territory of sports development as an activity and as a policy field, and to offer a definitive survey of current academic knowledge and professional practice. Spanning the whole spectrum of activity in sports development, from youth sport and mass participation to the development of elite athletes, the book identifies and defines the core functions of sports development, exploring the interface between sports development and cognate fields such as education, coaching, community welfare and policy. The book presents important new studies of sports development around the world, illustrating the breadth of practice within and between countries, and examines the most important issues facing practitioners within sports development today, from child protection to partnership working. With unparalleled depth and breadth of coverage, the Routledge Handbook of Sports Development is the definitive guide to policy, practice and research in sports development. It is essential reading for all students, researchers and professionals with an interest in this important and rapidly evolving discipline.
ISBN: 9780203885581Publication Date: 2010-12-16
Routledge Handbook of Sports Marketing by
Sports marketing has become a cornerstone of successful sports management and business, driving growth in sport organisations and widening fan-bases. Showcasing the latest thinking and research in sports marketing from around the world, the Routledge Handbook of Sports Marketing goes further than any other book in exploring the full range of this exciting discipline. Featuring contributions from world-leading scholars and practitioners from across the globe, the book examines theories, concepts, issues and best practice across six thematic sections--brands, sponsorship, ambush marketing, fans and spectators, media, and ethics and development--and examines key topics such as: consumer behaviour marketing communications strategic marketing international marketing experiential marketing and marketing and digital media Comprehensive and authoritative, the Routledge Handbook of Sports Marketing is an essential reference for any student or researcher working in sport marketing, sport management, sport business, sports administration or sport development, and for all practitioners looking to develop their professional knowledge.
ISBN: 9781315742021Publication Date: 2015-12-22
Routledge International Handbook of Sport Psychology by
Contemporary sport psychology is a rapidly developing and theoretically rich discipline, and a sophisticated and challenging profession. The Routledge International Handbook of Sport Psychology offers a comprehensive and authoritative guide to contemporary sport psychology in all its aspects. Written by a team of world-leading researchers and practitioners from five continents, including both established scholars and the best emerging talents, the book traces the contours of the discipline of sport psychology, introducing fundamental theory, discussing key issues in applied practice, and exploring the most important themes, topics and debates across the sport psychology curriculum. Uniquely, the book presents comparative studies of the history and contemporary practice of sport psychology in ten countries, including the US, UK, China, Japan, Brazil, Russia and Israel, helping the reader to understand the cultural and contextual factors that shape international practice in sport psychology. As well as covering in depth the core pillars of sport psychology, from motivation and cognition to group dynamics, the book also includes a full section on cultural sport psychology, a vital but under-explored sub-discipline that is having a profound influence on contemporary theory and practice. With 56 chapters and unparalleled range, depth and currency, the Routledge Handbook of International Sport Psychology is an essential addition to any library with a serious holding in sport psychology.
ISBN: 9781315777054Publication Date: 2016-02-05
Please note some of these books might be reference books; reference books are only available for use in the library. You can identify those by looking at the Copies tab in the record of each book – the Location section should say Sherman Library Reference and the Status section should say LIB USE ONLY.
