A-Z Martin and Gail Press Health Professions Division Library Resources: Find Article: N

National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) : The Bookshelf is a searchable collection of online biomedical textbooks and other literature. In addition to some classic biology and medical textbooks and monographs, it also includes books and databases produced by the National Library of Medicine (NLM) and the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI). The Bookshelf is one of the many databases that make up Entrez, NCBI's powerful search and retrieval system.

The NHS Economic Evaluation Database (NHS EED) assists decision-makers in the world of professional health care by providing information on the costs and effects of drugs, treatments and procedures. Economic evaluations - the cost-benefit analysis of two or more different medical treatments - from around the world are systematically identified, described and appraised for quality while their relative strengths and weaknesses are explored and highlighted. The database contains over 6,000 abstracts of quality-assessed economic evaluations and more than 21,000 total records. NHS EED is produced by the Centre for Reviews and Dissemination (CRD) at the University of York, UK.

Gateway is 'One-stop shopping' for an increasing number of the information resources of the National Library of Medicine® (NLM). Gateway provides a single interface that searches in multiple retrieval systems. It is targeted to the Internet user who comes to NLM not knowing exactly what is available or how best to search for it. It is also a useful tool for those who wish to perform a comprehensive search on a subject.

Evidence-based resource contains over 1,000 product monographs providing up-to-date clinical information on natural and herbal medicines, and dietary supplements. Cited references are linked to PubMed abstracts when available.

Provides evidence-based information about complementary and alternative therapies. Includes information on herbs and supplements, health and wellness, allergy and immunology, condition center, brand names, and interactions.

Full-text electronic books in all subject areas. Current collection includes over 50,000 copyright-protected eBooks along with an additional 3400 public-domain texts.

Provides full page and article images with searchable full-text for the New York Times and its predecessor, the New York Times Daily News, from 1851 to 2006.

Full text of selected journals indexed in CINAHL. Subject areas include nursing, biomedicine, health sciences, consumer health and allied health disciplines.