Finding Microforms
Most materials at the Alvin Sherman Library are available in print or online. Some materials are available in multiple formats!
However, there are some collections and materials in our library that are only available on microfiche or microfilm. These materials can be searched using NovaCat.
NovaCat Tip: Enter a keyword in Section 1 and limit your search to Microforms in Section 2.
Microform cabinets and the microform reader machines are located on the second floor of the Alvin Sherman Library, in the southeast corner of the building (same side as the reference desk).
Two microfiche machines are read only. These machines are older, and are good for viewing and reading documents.
One machine is attached to a computer and is able to read and digitize both microfilm and microfiche. You can save your documents to a flashdrive, and then print your images.
ERIC Microfiche at NSU
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) contains citations and abstracts for education literature from 1966 to present. It includes records for a variety of source types, including journal articles, books, conference papers, curriculum guides, dissertations, and policy papers. ERIC is sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences and the United States Department of Education. While most of these documents are available as PDFs through the ERIC database, some full text documents are available via microform.
The ERIC Document collection is now housed in a non-public area of the Alvin Sherman Library, and is not available to browse.
If the ERIC Document you need is not online in ERIC please submit an interlibrary loan request through ILLIAD.
- ERIC (EBSCOhost)Education and special education literature. Include journal article abstracts, conference abstracts, technical reports, policy papers, and books.
- ERIC - public websiteThe Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) contains citations and abstracts for education literature, including articles, books, papers, proceedings, and other documents from 1966-present. It is sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences and the United States Department of Education
Microform Collections at NSU
Here are some of the library's primary educational and historical microform collections. The library also has hundreds of journals and magazines on microfiche and microfilm as well.
Some of our collections also have print indices or guides and these can be found in the reference section on the second floor of the Alvin Sherman Library.
- American Culture Series (ACS) Subject CollectionThe Alvin Sherman Library microfilm set contains thousands of primary documents such as early books and pamphlets in various subject areas from the arts, history, languages, literature, economics, philosophy and more. Paper guides to each sub-topic may be found in the reference collection. We also have a cumulative subject guide that is housed in the reference collection.
- CoreficheThis collection includes Essays and General Literature, Short Stories, Poetry in Granger, and World’s Best Drama. Authors such as Mark Twain, Harriet Beecher Stowe, Oscar Wilde and Shakespeare are included. The print index for each is located in the Reference collection on the second floor of the Alvin Sherman Library.
- Monthly Catalog of US Government PublicationsThis is a microfilm collection of the various catalogs the United States Government published between 1895-1976. More recent government publications can be found on their website. Plus, access to publications since 1976 are available in the GDCS (Government Documents Catalog Service) which is accessible within the library from our databases.
- Readex Early American ImprintsCritical to the study of every aspect of early America, Early American Imprints contains virtually every known book, pamphlet and broadside published in America between 1640 and the first two decades of the 19th century—more than 75,000 printed items in all. We have volumes 1 to 13 in our collection.