Music

(to help you decide whether to use a source in your paper) 

Currency

• When was it published/posted or last updated?
• Do you need to find more current information?

Relevance

• Does it relate to your topic or answer your question?
• Who is the intended audience?
• Is the information at an appropriate level?  Too advanced?  Too easy?

Authority

• Who is the author, publisher, source, or sponsor?
• What are their credentials or organizational affiliations?
• Is the author qualified to write on the topic?

Accuracy

• Where does the information come from?
• Is it supported by evidence? 
• Has it been reviewed or refereed?

Purpose

• What is the purpose of the information? To inform, teach, sell, entertain, or persuade?
• Is the information fact, opinion, or propaganda?
• Does the point of view appear objective and unbiased? 

• American Music Therapy Society
• American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers (ASCAP) 
• Broadcast Music, Inc. (BMI)
• Center for Black Music Research
• College Music Society
• International Alliance for Women in Music
• International Association for the Study of Popular Music
• International Bluegrass Music Association 
• International Computer Music Association 
• Music Library Association 
• Music Publishers Association of the United States
• North American Folk Music and Dance Alliance 
• Society for American Music 
• Society for Music Theory 

• Doctoral Dissertations in Musicology
  DDM-Online is an international database of bibliographic records for completed dissertations and new dissertation topics in the fields of musicology, music theory, and ethnomusicology, as well as in related musical, scientific, and humanistic disciplines. 
• Encyclopedia of Music in Canada
  The Encyclopedia of Music in Canada describes the full breadth and depth of Canada’s musical culture, including the historical and current aspects of popular, folk, religious, concert and other forms of music.
• Gaylord Music Necrology
  Updated daily. Since death notices often contain conflicting dates, ages, and name forms, all are reported. Alternate name spellings are listed in square brackets. Citations follow the data they have provided. 
• Gramophone
  Classical music reviews, interviews, analysis, and audio equipment news and reviews.
• International Folk Dance Recordings
  550 recordings of folk dances from all around the globe. All are in the public domain.
• Music Theory & History Online
  Resources compiled by Dolmetsch about musical theory and other related topics.
• Musicals101: The Cyber Encyclopedia of Music Theater, TV and Film
  This site has general information for musical theater enthusiasts.
• New York Philharmonic
  This is the official website for the New York Philharmonic and specifically their digital archive collection.
• Performing Arts Encyclopedia (Library of Congress)
  The Performing Arts Encyclopedia (PAE) is a guide to performing arts resources at the Library of Congress. The PAE provides information about the Library's unsurpassed collections of scores, sheet music, audio recordings, films, photographs, and other materials. Users can find digitized items from the collections; special Web presentations on topics and collections; articles and biographical essays; finding aids to collections; databases for performing arts resources; information on concerts at the Library; and a special Performing Arts Resource Guide which contains entries for hundreds of Library collections, Web sites, databases and exhibits. (In the latter, each entry describes the resource and provides a link to it if there is an online finding aid or Web site available.
• Selected Music Resources on the Internet
  Music resources compiled by the New York Public Library. 
• Themefinder
  Themefinder is a non-profit collaborative project of the Center for Computer Assisted Research in the Humanities (CCARH) at Stanford University and the Cognitive and Systematic Musicology Laboratory at the Ohio State University. This website allows users to identify a piece of music based on the theme.

• American Choral Directors Association Founded in 1959, the American Choral Directors Association (ACDA) is a nonprofit music-education organization whose expressed purposes outline the associations dedication to the advancement of choral music.The mission of ACDA is to inspire excellence in choral music through education, performance, composition, and advocacy. 
• The Aria Database
  The Aria Database is a collection of information about opera and operatic arias. Besides providing basic information about each aria, the Database includes translations for many arias and aria texts for those that are not affected by copyright restrictions. The Database also provides access to a collection of operatic MIDI files to give visitors an idea of what each aria sounds like. Currently, the Database holds information on the complete operatic aria collections of Mozart, Verdi, Berlioz, Wagner, and Puccini as well as the partial collections of over 50 other composers. 
• The Lied and Art Song Texts Page
  The Lied and Art Song Texts Page is an archive of texts used in 64,970 Lieder and other classical art songs as well as in many choral works and other types of classical vocal pieces. The collection currently indexes 39,463 texts and includes 8,025 translations to English, French, Italian, Dutch, German, Spanish, Portuguese, and other languages.
• Musical Scores-Sibley Music Library (Univ. of Rochester)
  This online resource browses and searches thousands of scores and provides images of the scores as well.
• Opera Glass
  Opera Glass provides detailed information on many operas, including Libretti, Source Texts, Performance Histories, Synopses, Discographies, Role Creators, plus pictures, background information, and more; also commemoration calendars, special features, and pointers to other opera information sites. 
• Operabase
  Operabase has documented operatic activity worldwide since 1996, with over 220,000 performances on file. It records the work of artists in over 600 theatres, and publishes season information to opera-goers in 17 languages.