Database
Classical Scores Library contains 400,000 pages of classical scores from both in-copyright and public domain editions. The major composers output is represented, as well as many lesser known composers and works. The collection includes works spanning time periods from the Renaissance to the 21st century. Coverage of score types is comprehensive, with full scores, study scores, piano and vocal scores, and piano reductions
Music Scores
- Library of Congress Digital CollectonsThe Library of Congress Digital Collections provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. It is a digital record of American history and creativity.
- Art Song CentralArt Song Central is principally an archive and directory of free, printable sheet music for singers and voice teachers. An emphasis is placed on standard classical and traditional repertoire.
- Choral Public Domain LibraryBegun in December 1998, CPDL is one of the world's largest free sheet music sites. You can use CPDL to find scores, texts, translations, and information about composers.
- Historic American Sheet MusicThe Rare Book, Manuscript, and Special Collections Library at Duke University holds a significant collection of 19th and early 20th century American sheet music. The Historic American Sheet Music Project provides access to digital images of 3042 pieces from the collection, published in the United States between 1850 and 1920.
- IMSLP / Petrucci Music LibraryThe Petrucci Music Library is a virtual library containing all public domain music scores and/or sheet music, as well as scores from composers who are willing to share their music with the world without charge. The library currently contains over 15,000 scores.
- Julliard Manuscript CollectionThe Julliard Manuscript Collection is an extraordinary Collection of 138 priceless autograph manuscripts, sketches, and engravers proofs.
- Levy Sheet Music CollectionThe Lester S. Levy Collection of Sheet Music consists of over 29,000 pieces of American popular music. The collection spans the years 1780 to 1980, but its strength is its throrough documentation of nineteenth-century America through popular music.
- Music for the Nation: American Sheet MusicMusic for the Nation: American Sheet Music contains more than 62,500 pieces of historical sheet music registered for copyright: more than 15,000 registered during the years 1820-1860 and more than 47,000 registered during the years 1870-1885. Included are popular songs, operatic arias, piano music, sacred and secular choral music, solo instrumental music, method books and instructional materials, and music for band and orchestra.
- Sheet Music ConsortiumDigitized sheet music from UCLA, Indiana University, Johns Hopkins University and Duke University.
- Sheet Music World CenterSheet Music World Center distributes free scores from the public domain and from original composers with restricted licences. It features 12686 pieces of music to download in PDF format.
- Virtual Music Rare Book RoomThe University of North Texas Music Library’s Virtual Rare Book Room is composed primarily of digitized materials held in the Edna Mae Sandborn Music Rare Book Room. The collection is particularly strong in eighteenth-century French opera, due in large part to the influence of musicologist Lloyd Hibberd on the development of the collection.