Homeless Services & Resources: Library Resources
The purpose of this guide is to provide contact information for local, state, and national services designed to assist the homeless as well as recommended library resources.
Non-Fiction Books
Housing First by Highly readable yet informative and scholarly, this book addresses wider issues of innovation and systems change in social and human services.
Invisible Nation by Based on in-depth reporting from five major cities, Invisible Nation looks backward at the historical context of family homelessness as well as forward at what needs to be done to alleviate this widespread, although often hidden, poverty.
Serving Students Who Are Homeless by This book provides much-needed guidance to help educator and support staff support students who are homeless and highly mobile students who face significant barriers related to access and academic success.
Click here to view additional books within the NovaCat catalog.
Library Databases for Social & Human Services
Click here for the full list of related databases.
- Social Services AbstractsCitations and abstracts of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development.
- Social Work (Oxford Scholarship Online)Full-text award winning social work books reflecting a wide range of the field and the depth of its growing body of research
- Taylor & Francis e-JournalsCollection contains over 1754 journals, primarily covering health, psychology, and social sciences.
- Emerald Social Sciences eBook SeriesSocial Sciences - this comprehensive collection gives you online access to more than 300 volumes from over 40 book series titles. The collection features high profile, international authors delivering cutting-edge, cross-disciplinary research in social sciences.