International Studies

The most recent AI news releases are available on this site, as well as a complete archive of news releases since 1995. The latest AI annual report and recent reports on human rights abuses around the world are also offered.

The Center for Strategic and International Studies (CSIS) is a public policy research institution dedicated to analysis and policy impact. CSIS is the only institution of its kind that maintains resident experts on all the world's major geographical regions.

This site is sponsored by the Electronic Frontier Foundation. It is one of the most extensive lists of international, national, regional, and local governmental and government-related Web servers. Its database covers governmental institutions on the Web including parliaments, ministries, offices, law courts, embassies, city councils, public broadcasting corporations, central banks, multinational organizations, and political parties.

International Greenpeace is a global environmental campaigning organization. It organizes public campaigns for the protection of oceans and ancient forests, for the phasing-out of fossil fuels and the promotion of renewable energies in order to stop climate change, for the elimination of toxic chemicals, against the release of genetically modified organisms into nature and for nuclear disarmament and an end to nuclear contamination.

Full text of publications from the U.S. House Committee on International Relations, including committee hearings, prints such as Legislation on Foreign Relations Through (date), and legislative publications. Materials available online begin with the 106th Congress.

Human Rights Watch (HRW) is dedicated to protecting the human rights of people around the world. Human Rights Watch works to end a broad range of abuses, including summary executions, torture, arbitrary detention, restrictions on the freedom of expression, association, assembly and religion, violations of due process, and discrimination on racial, gender, ethnic and religious grounds.

The International Crisis Group (ICG) is a private, multinational organization whose mission is to assist the efforts of "actors" within the international community (states, nongovernmental organizations, international bodies, concerned individuals) in responding to world crises and problems.

This Web site features an extensive list of links to Web pages of more than 100 international organizations in alphabetical order. For some major organizations, such as the European Union and the United Nations, subdivisions are also listed in hierarchical order under the main headings.

The ISN is a one-stop information service in the fields of international relations and security. Among the services offered are: an annotated links library, a limited area search tool (ISN LASE), a selection of resources on current world affairs, and specialized fact databases.

From the Center for International Development and Conflict Management at the University of Maryland, a variety of information on politically active minority groups under threat, searchable by region. Information includes historical summaries, risk assessments, and links to Internet resources where available.

Collection of links to legal and constitutional resources for nations and territories around the world, arranged alphabetically by country/territory.

Stockholm International Peace Research Institute (SIPRI) has built its reputation and standing on competence, professional skills, and the collection of hard data and precise facts, rendering accessible impartial information on weapon developments, arms transfers and production, military expenditure, as well as on arms limitations, reductions and disarmament.

Offers information about the UN and full text of resolutions and selected publications. Includes a list of U.N. depository libraries by country, and a list of U.N. depository libraries in the U.S. arranged by state.

Web browsers such as Mozilla Firefox and Internet Explorer simply retrieve and display Web sites, and search engines simply list Web sites containing terms that you designate. They do not evaluate the accuracy or value of the Web sites, and there are sites that contain inaccurate, out-of-date, and even false information. You are responsible for determining the usefulness of a Web site. Click the link above for guidelines which will help you evaluate Web resources.

Find links to free online reference resources arranged alphabetically by subject