Skip to Main Content

Juneteenth: Databases

Celebrate and learn about the Juneteenth holiday with these resources.

Need Help? Ask A Librarian!

There are several ways to ask for help when you need it.

Call 954-262-4613 (Toll-Free)

Email refdesk@nova.edu

Chat with a Librarian online

Appointment Request Form En Español

Text (954) 621-1400 (Start your question with "NSU')

Use A Database!

Can't find a book?  Search for an article online in a database! 

The databases listed below have full-text articles, images, maps, timelines, audio, interviews, and/or e-books relating to Black History: 

African-American Experience  - ABC-CLIO
Covers the African-American experience from its African origins to the present day, including contributions to science, business, education, the arts, the military, and politics. Includes primary source documents, photographs, maps, and other images.

Local access for all registered users. Remote access only for NSU Broward and Alumni.


Gale In Context: Biography - Gale Cengage Learning
Full-text database that provides biographical information on people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas.

Local access for all registered users. Remote access only for NSU Broward and Alumni.


Black Drama - Alexander Street Press
This edition of Black Drama contains approximately 1200 plays by 201 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. The database also includes selected playbills, production photographs and other ephemera related to the plays. Local access for all registered users. Remote access only for NSU and Broward users.


Black Short Fiction and Folklore - Alexander Street Press
Black Short Fiction is the most comprehensive collection yet created of stories from Africa and the African Diaspora. When complete, it will offer more than 8,000 short stories and folktales, ranging thematically from oral traditions that date back many hundreds of years to contemporary tales of modern life.


Daily Life Through History - ABC-CLIO
Provides full text information, maps, images, website links, etc. on folklore, cultures, and customs of peoples around the world from ancient times to the present.

Local access for all registered users. Remote access only for NSU, Broward, and Alumni.


World Book Online - World Book Inc.
Entry for all World Book products: Kids, Student, Advanced, Discover... all from one launch pad!

Local access for all registered users. Remote access only for NSU and Broward users.