Finance
This guide covers topics related to finance and the financial system, including banking, financial technology, the capital market and digital currencies.
Getting started
This guide covers topics related to finance and the financial system, including banking, financial technology, the capital market and digital currencies.
The guide is not meant to provide personal finance advice.
Introduction to finance
Here is a list of books you can use if you need to familiarize yourself with finance and financial services related terms and concepts.
1001 Financial Words You Need to Know by
Modern American life is filled with the language of mortgages, credit cards, investing, inheritances, pensions, and all the other financial situations we find ourselves in every day. A basic understanding of this vocabulary is essential in making smart money decisions. 1001 Financial Words YouNeed to Know defines and demystifies the essential terminology of money and commerce. Comprehensive but never condescending, financial expert David Bach explains every term clearly, including a sample sentence and supplemental notes for many entries. In addition, he includes a number of quickminiguides to managing your financial life that include information on understanding credit and compound interest, balancing your portfolio, making a savings plan, buying property, and purchasing insurance. The appendixes in the back contain an extensive list of common financial equations and ahelpful bibliography of business books for further reading.An ideal guide for everyone from business school students to homeowners taking out a mortgage, 1001 Financial Words You Need to Know is the perfect vocabulary-building companion to the complex world of money and finance.
ISBN: 0195170504Publication Date: 2003-11-06
The Blackwell encyclopedic dictionary of finance by Publication Date: 1997
Canadian Dictionary of Finance and Investment Terms by
Each of these very useful and up-to-date quick reference dictionaries lists and defines several thousand specialized terms alphabetically. Business students, business professionals, and savvy consumers will find a wealth of helpful information in these volumes.Approximately 3,500 terms are defined, especially as they relate to Canadian financial institutions, national and provincial regulations, and Canadian tax laws. This updated edition covers stocks, bonds, mutual funds, e-commerce, and much more.
ISBN: 0764112619Publication Date: 2000-08-01
The Complete Investment and Finance Dictionary by
This compact volume (4.75x7) comprises a financial dictionary in which the entries address key topics in finance, accounting, law, economics, estate planning and business, and how they interact and apply to making effective investment decisions. The book contains 5,000-plus definitions, 4,800 cr
ISBN: 1580623727Publication Date: 2001-07-01
Dictionary for Business and Finance by
This revised and expanded edition of the Dictionary for Business & Finance defines terms from every field of business, as well as economics, statistics, and management and many words and expressions from other fields which have been adopted for special use by the business community. In this new edition, John V. Terry has added more than two hundred terms that help define the rapidly changing global economy of the late 1990s-terms like "European Currency Unit," "Datsu-sara," and "Keiretsu." Of particular value to the student and business person alike are appendices for ratios, equations, formulas, abbreviations, and general financial and investment information. In a clear, easy-to-follow style, Dictionary for Business & Finance goes directly to the business usage of a word or term, making it unnecessary to wade through irrelevant definitions.
ISBN: 1557283443Publication Date: 1995-01-30
A Dictionary of Finance and Banking by
This best-selling Dictionary of Finance and Banking includes over 5,200 entries. The fifth edition has been fully revised and updated, and adds more than 150 new entries. These focus particularly upon recent terminology, institutions, and safety measures coined or introduced since the economiccrash of 2008-9, including reactions to the crisis such as the Asset Protection Scheme and the Financial Stability Oversight Council.The dictionary defines terms from all aspects of personal and international finance, including money markets, private investments and borrowing, central banking, foreign exchanges, monetary policy, and public and government finance. Now with expanded coverage of capital structure and corporaterestructuring. Recommended up-to-date web links for many entries, accessed via the Dictionary of Finance and Banking website, provide valuable extra information.With clear and accessible definitions, this jargon-free dictionary is a companion volume to the other financial titles in this best-selling series, A Dictionary of Business and Management, A Dictionary of Accounting, and A Dictionary of Economics, and provides accurate and valuable information forstudents, practitioners, private investors, and readers of the financial pages alike.
ISBN: 9780199664931Publication Date: 2014-05-13
Dictionary of Financial Abbreviations by
First Published in 2003. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company.
ISBN: 9781579583972Publication Date: 2002-12-06
Dictionary of Financial Risk Management by
This updated dictionary gives the recent financial vocabulary with regards to derivatives and financial risk.
ISBN: 1883249147Publication Date: 1996-10-01
Encyclopedic Dictionary of International Finance and Banking by
The Encyclopedic Dictionary of International Finance and Banking is a practical reference of proven techniques, strategies, and approaches. It covers virtually all important topics dealing with multinational business finance, money, investments, financial planning, financial economics, and banking. In addition, it explores the application of computers, quantitative techniques and models, and economics to international finance and banking. You get: Clear definitions and explanations Step-by-step instructions Statistical data, Charts, exhibits, and diagrams Checklists Practical Applications Shim presents the most current information, offers important directives, and explains the technical procedures involved in this dynamic field. This reference gives you the tools you need to diagnose and evaluate the financial situations you face on a daily basis and answers every question you may have. It provides real-life examples and suggestions for handling everyday problems. WHAT THIS BOOK WILL DO FOR YOU More than a dictionary, more than an encyclopedia, this working guide will help you quickly pinpoint: What to look for How to do it What to watch out for How to apply it in the complex world of business What to do You'll find ratios, formulas, examples, applications, exhibits, charts, and rules of thumb to help you analyze and evaluate any multinational financial decision. You will find this Encyclopedic Dictionary practical, comprehensive, quick, and useful. In short, this is a veritable cookbook of guidelines, illustrations, and how-tos. Encyclopedic Dictionary of International Finance and Banking is the resource you will reach for again and again.
ISBN: 1574442910Publication Date: 2001-06-28
A-Z of International Finance by
A guide to the essential concepts, tools and terms of international finance and investment.
ISBN: 0273625527Publication Date: 1997-03-01
A Guide to the New Language of Accounting and Finance by
The disciplines of accounting and finance have been rapidly changing in recent years. The methods and techniques being used have created a new language for managers, students, practitioners, academics. The Guide focuses specifically on the terms used in accounting and finance. Important terms and phrases are identified but with a much longer, in-depth explanation than you would normally find in a dictionary. Not only does each entry gives a thorough explanation of each term, it provides two or more references to academic articles that go into much greater depth. Hence, the entries give the reader immediate access to the literature. At the end of the book, the full reference to all the articles that have been cited in the text is given including a list of the many acronyms used in the new world of accounting and finance.
ISBN: 9781637421307Publication Date: 2021-10-15
The Handbook of International Financial Terms by
This Handbook aims to be the most comprehensive and up to date reference book available to those who are involved - or could be involved - in the world of finance. The financial world has a capacity for ingenious innovation and this extends to the often bewildering array and use of terms.Here you can find out the meaning of Circus, Firewall, Amazon Bond, Clean Float, Cocktail Swap, Butterfly, Streaker, Straddle, Strangle, and a host of other expressions.As well as defining terms the book also shows how they are used differently in different markets and countries. It also has numerous example showing clearly the use of particular calculations and instruments; and provides details of major markets, acronyms and currencies.Reflecting the development of global financial markets this Handbook will have broad appeal around the world. It will be a reliable guide for practitioners, and those in the related professions of accounting, law and management. At the same time it will be an invaluable companion for advancedstudents of finance, accounting and business.
ISBN: 0198288859Publication Date: 1997-04-17
The International Dictionary of Finance by
New edition of this comprehensive reference book, which brings together in one volume the essential vocabulary of banking and insurance as well as the money, commodity and securities markets. First published in 1989, now totally revised and updated in a new edition, the International Dictionary of Finance provides succinct, authoritative explanations of more than 2,000 terms used in financial markets across the world today. In the past decade, deregulation, globalisation and new technologies have revolutionised the international world of finance. For those working in the financial sector and for anyone who wants to understand how it works, this updated edition will be invaluable.
ISBN: 1861974787Publication Date: 2003-05-01
Key Concepts in Accounting and Finance by
Key Concepts in Accounting and Finance is one of a range of comprehensive glossaries with entries arranged alphabetically for easy reference. All major concepts, terms, theories and theorists are incorporated and cross-referenced. Additional reading and Internet research opportunities are identified. More complex terminology is made clearer with numerous diagrams and illustrations. With almost 600 key terms defined, the book represents a comprehensive must-have reference for anyone studying a business-related course or those simply wishing to understand what accounting and finance is all about. It will be especially useful as a revision aid.
ISBN: 1403915326Publication Date: 2017-05-18
The Language of Banking by
The Language of Banking includes nearly 850 everyday words, phrases, and laws used in the world of finance. Each entry provides an easy-to-understand definition and, when appropriate, a brief background on the phrase or statute. Charts are given to explain such items as annual percentage rate and ability to pay.
ISBN: 0899509193Publication Date: 1994-10-01
The Language of Money by
An easy to read guide through the maze of financial language.
ISBN: 1863739661Publication Date: 1996-07-01
Please note some of these books might be reference books; reference books are only available for use in the library. You can identify those by looking at the Copies tab in the record of each book – the Location section should say Sherman Library Reference and the Status section should say LIB USE ONLY.
Here is a list of books you can use if you need to familiarize yourself with finance and financial services related terms and concepts.
Encyclopedia of Business and Finance by
How is social responsibility viewed by U.S. based companies? How do stocks and bonds differ? Can a corporation be ethical? How has crowdfunding changed the nature of entrepreneurship? Undergraduate business school enrollment for both traditional and non-traditional students is increasing each year, while at the same time more high schools are building economic and business literacy into their curricula. Encyclopedia of Business and Finance, 3rd Edition, is designed to meet both the specific research and general inquiry needs of all of these students by providing easy to understand essays covering all of the foundational topics, themes, and theories that will be covered in their business degree curricula. Macmillan's Encyclopedia of Business and Finance is a two volume set that is organized A-Z. Each signed entry was written by a subject expert and peer reviewed. Entries come equipped with bibliographies and See Also references to facilitate further research. Designed for the non-specialist, the Encyclopedia Of Business And Finance is a two-volume complete reference covering five general areas: finance and banking; accounting; marketing; management; and information systems. Drawing on practical professional expertise as well as that of noted scholars, the contributors include academics and business scholars from leading business programs. The new completely revised second edition includes 315 signed essays. *Fully indexed and numerous cross references to make information accessible quickly and efficiently.
ISBN: 9780028662640Publication Date: 2014-06-06
Encyclopedia of Financial Models by
An essential reference dedicated to a wide array of financial models, issues in financial modeling, and mathematical and statistical tools for financial modeling The need for serious coverage of financial modeling has never been greater, especially with the size, diversity, and efficiency of modern capital markets. With this in mind, the Encyclopedia of Financial Models, 3 Volume Set has been created to help a broad spectrum of individuals--ranging from finance professionals to academics and students--understand financial modeling and make use of the various models currently available. Incorporating timely research and in-depth analysis, the Encyclopedia of Financial Models is an informative 3-Volume Set that covers both established and cutting-edge models and discusses their real-world applications. Edited by Frank Fabozzi, this set includes contributions from global financial experts as well as academics with extensive consulting experience in this field. Organized alphabetically by category, this reliable resource consists of three separate volumes and 127 entries--touching on everything from asset pricing and bond valuation models to trading cost models and volatility--and provides readers with a balanced understanding of today's dynamic world of financial modeling. Frank Fabozzi follows up his successful Handbook of Finance with another major reference work, The Encyclopedia of Financial Models Covers the two major topical areas: asset valuation for cash and derivative instruments, and portfolio modeling Fabozzi explores the critical background tools from mathematics, probability theory, statistics, and operations research needed to understand these complex models Organized alphabetically by category, this book gives readers easy and quick access to specific topics sorted by an applicable category among them Asset Allocation, Credit Risk Modeling, Statistical Tools 3 Volumes http://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/book/10.1002/9781118182635 Financial models have become increasingly commonplace, as well as complex. They are essential in a wide range of financial endeavors, and this 3-Volume Set will help put them in perspective.
ISBN: 9781118539804Publication Date: 2012-10-03
Encyclopedia of Quantitative Finance by
"What initially looked like an impossible undertaking has become a formidable achievement, stretching from the theoretical foundations to the most recent cutting edge methods. Mille bravos!" --Dr Bruno Dupire (Bloomberg L.P.) The Encyclopedia of Quantitative Finance is a major reference work designed to provide a comprehensive coverage of essential topics related to the quantitative modelling of financial markets, with authoritative contributions from leading academics and professionals. Drawing on contributions from a wide spectrum of experts in fields including financial economics, econometrics, mathematical finance, operations research, numerical analysis, risk management and statistics, the Encyclopedia of Quantitative Finance faithful reflects the multidisciplinary nature of its subject. With a pool of author comprising over 400 leading academics and professionals worldwide, the Encyclopedia provides a balanced view of theoretical and practical aspects of quantitative modelling in finance. Topics covered in the Encyclopedia include the historical development of quantitative modelling in finance, including biographies of influential figures self-contained expositions of mathematical and statistical tools used in financial modelling authoritative expositions on the foundations of financial theory and mathematical finance, including arbitrage pricing, asset pricing theory, option pricing and asset allocation comprehensive reviews of various aspects of risk management: credit risk, market risk, operational risk, economic capital and Basel II with a detailed coverage of topics related to credit risk up-to-date surveys of the state of the art in computational finance: Monte Carlo simulation, partial differential equations (PDEs), Fourier transform methods, model calibration detailed entries on various types of financial derivatives and methods used for pricing and hedging them, including equity derivatives, credit derivatives, interest rate derivatives and foreign exchange derivatives pedagogical surveys of econometric methods and models used in finance, including GARCH models, GMM, realized volatility, factor models, Mixed Data Sampling and high-frequency data empirical and theoretical aspects of market microstructure and trade-level modelling timely entries on new topics such as commodity risk, electricity derivatives, algorithmic trading and multi-fractals quantitative methods in actuarial science, including insurance derivatives, catastrophe bonds , equity-linked life insurance and other topics at the interface of finance and insurance All articles contain are cross-referenced to other relevant articles in the Encyclopedia and include detailed bibliographies for further reading. The scope and breadth of the Encyclopedia will make it an invaluable resource for students and researchers in finance, quantitative analysts and developers, risk managers, portfolio managers, regulators, financial market analysts and anyone interested in the complexity of today's financial markets and products.
ISBN: 9780470057568Publication Date: 2010-04-19
The Encyclopedia of Technical Market Indicators, Second Edition by
Today's most all-inclusive reference of technical indicators#65533;#65533;--what they are and how to use them to add value to any trading program Technical analysis has become an incredibly popular investors' tool for gauging market strength and forecasting short-term direction for both markets and individual stocks. But as markets have changed dramatically, so too have technical indicators and elements. The Encyclopedia of Technical Market Indicators provides an alphabetical and up-to-date listing of hundreds of today's most important indicators. It defines what each indicator is, explains the philosophy behind the indicator, and#65533;#65533; of the greatest importance#65533;#65533; provides easy-to-understand guidelines for using it in day-to-day trading. Broad in both scope and appeal, this one-of-a-kind reference painstakingly updates information from the previous edition plus defines and discusses nearly 100 new indicators.
ISBN: 0070120579Publication Date: 2002-11-12
International Encyclopedia of the Stock Market by
First Published in 1999. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company.
ISBN: 1884964354Publication Date: 1999-03-23
The International Encyclopedia of Technical Analysis by
- Whether you trade bonds, stocks, options, futures, or currencies, this book has it all.
ISBN: 0814404715Publication Date: 2000-03-01
Please note some of these books might be reference books; reference books are only available for use in the library. You can identify those by looking at the Copies tab in the record of each book – the Location section should say Sherman Library Reference and the Status section should say LIB USE ONLY.
Here is a list of books you can use if you need to familiarize yourself with finance and financial services related terms and concepts.
Finance and Investment Handbook by
The newest edition of this comprehensive directory and reference book for investors includes a 5,000-term financial dictionary, an analysis of 30 key investment opportunities in today's uncertain financial market, explanations for laymen on how to read corporate reports and interpret financial news, and an up-to-date directory of 600 publicly traded corporations in the United States and Canada. Readers will also find the names and addresses of all brokerage and mutual funds firms, banks, savings and loan companies, insurance companies, federal and state regulators, and major investment publications. Here is an all-inclusive financial reference volume that belongs on the bookshelf of every serious investor, both professional and private.
ISBN: 0764155547Publication Date: 2003-03-01
Extreme Events in Finance: A handbook of extreme value theory and its applications by
A guide to the growing importance of extreme value risk theory, methods, and applications in the financial sector Presenting a uniquely accessible guide, Extreme Events in Finance: A Handbook of Extreme Value Theory and Its Applications features a combination of the theory, methods, and applications of extreme value theory (EVT) in finance and a practical understanding of market behavior including both ordinary and extraordinary conditions. Beginning with a fascinating history of EVTs and financial modeling, the handbook introduces the historical implications that resulted in the applications and then clearly examines the fundamental results of EVT in finance. After dealing with these theoretical results, the handbook focuses on the EVT methods critical for data analysis. Finally, the handbook features the practical applications and techniques and how these can be implemented in financial markets. Extreme Events in Finance: A Handbook of Extreme Value Theory and Its Applications includes: Over 40 contributions from international experts in the areas of finance, statistics, economics, business, insurance, and risk management Topical discussions on univariate and multivariate case extremes as well as regulation in financial markets Extensive references in order to provide readers with resources for further study Discussions on using R packages to compute the value of risk and related quantities The book is a valuable reference for practitioners in financial markets such as financial institutions, investment funds, and corporate treasuries, financial engineers, quantitative analysts, regulators, risk managers, large-scale consultancy groups, and insurers. Extreme Events in Finance: A Handbook of Extreme Value Theory and Its Applications is also a useful textbook for postgraduate courses on the methodology of EVTs in finance.
ISBN: 9781118650196Publication Date: 2016-10-17
Financial Times Handbook of Corporate Finance, 2nd Edition by
Aims to help you understand and apply the essentials of corporate finance with speed and confidence. This topic touches various aspects of your business: from deciding which capital expenditure projects are worthy of backing for tomorrow, to the immediate and daily challenge of managing business units for shareholder value.
ISBN: 9780273726579Publication Date: 2010
Handbook of Asian Finance by
Participants in Asian financial markets have witnessed the unprecedented growth and sophistication of their investments since the 1997 crisis. Handbook of Asian Finance: REITs, Trading, and Fund Performance analyzes the forces behind these growth rates. Insights into banking, fund performance, and the effects of trading technologies for practitioners to tax evasion, market manipulation, and corporate governance issues are all here, presented by expert scholars. Offering broader and deeper coverage than other handbooks, the Handbook of Asian Finance: REITs, Trading, and Fund Performance explains what is going on in Asia today. Presents the only micro- and market-related analysis of pan-Asian finance available today Explores the implications implicit in the expansion of sovereign funds and the growth of the hedge fund and real estate fund management industries Investigates the innovations in technology that have ushered in faster capital flow and larger trading volumes
ISBN: 9780128010631Publication Date: 2014-05-15
Handbook of Blockchain, Digital Finance, and Inclusion, Volume 1 by
Handbook of Blockchain, Digital Finance, and Inclusion, Volume 1: Cryptocurrency, FinTech, InsurTech, and Regulation explores recent advances in digital banking and cryptocurrency, emphasizing mobile technology and evolving uses of cryptocurrencies as financial assets. Contributors go beyond summaries of standard models to describe new banking business models that will be sustainable and will likely dictate the future of finance. The volume not only emphasizes the financial opportunities made possible by digital banking, such as financial inclusion and impact investing, but it also looks at engineering theories and developments that encourage innovation. Its ability to illuminate present potential and future possibilities make it a unique contribution to the literature. Explores recent advances in digital banking and cryptocurrency, emphasizing mobile technology and evolving uses of cryptocurrencies as financial assets Explains the practical consequences of both technologies and economics to readers who want to learn about subjects related to their specialties Encompasses alternative finance, financial inclusion, impact investing, decentralized consensus ledger and applied cryptography Provides the only advanced methodical summary of these subjects available today
ISBN: 9780128104422Publication Date: 2017-08-03
Handbook of Blockchain, Digital Finance, and Inclusion, Volume 2 by
Handbook of Blockchain, Digital Finance, and Inclusion, Volume 2: ChinaTech, Mobile Security, and Distributed Ledger emphasizes technological developments that introduce the future of finance. Descriptions of recent innovations lay the foundations for explorations of feasible solutions for banks and startups to grow. The combination of studies on blockchain technologies and applications, regional financial inclusion movements, advances in Chinese finance, and security issues delivers a grand perspective on both changing industries and lifestyles. Written for students and practitioners, it helps lead the way to future possibilities. Explains the practical consequences of both technologies and economics to readers who want to learn about subjects related to their specialties Encompasses alternative finance, financial inclusion, impact investing, decentralized consensus ledger and applied cryptography Provides the only advanced methodical summary of these subjects available today
ISBN: 9780128122990Publication Date: 2017-08-16
Handbook of the Economics of Finance SET:Volumes 2A And 2B by
This two-volume set of 23 articles authoritatively describes recent scholarship in corporate finance and asset pricing. Volume 1 concentrates on corporate finance, encompassing topics such as financial innovation and securitization, dynamic security design, and family firms. Volume 2 focuses on asset pricing with articles on market liquidity, credit derivatives, and asset pricing theory, among others. Both volumes present scholarship about the 2008 financial crisis in contexts that highlight both continuity and divergence in research. For those who seek insightful perspectives and important details, they demonstrate how corporate finance studies have interpreted recent events and incorporated their lessons.
ISBN: 9780444594167Publication Date: 2013-01-21
Handbook of Finance by
Volume I: Financial Markets and Instruments skillfully covers the general characteristics of different asset classes, derivative instruments, the markets in which financial instruments trade, and the players in those markets. It also addresses the role of financial markets in an economy, the structure and organization of financial markets, the efficiency of markets, and the determinants of asset pricing and interest rates. Incorporating timely research and in-depth analysis, the Handbook of Finance is a comprehensive 3-Volume Set that covers both established and cutting-edge theories and developments in finance and investing. Other volumes in the set: Handbook of Finance Volume II: Investment Management and Financial Management and Handbook of Finance Volume III: Valuation, Financial Modeling, and Quantitative Tools.
ISBN: 9780470078143Publication Date: 2008-08-04
The Handbook of Financial Modeling by
The ability to create and understand financial models that assess the valuation of a company, the projects it undertakes, and its future earnings/profit projections is one of the most valued skills in corporate finance. However, while many business professionals are familiar with financial statements and accounting reports, few are truly proficient at building an accurate and effective financial model from the ground up. That's why, in The Financial Modeling Handbook, Jack Avon equips financial professionals with all the tools they need to precisely and effectively monitor a company's assets and project its future performance. Based on the author's extensive experience building models in business and finance--and teaching others to do the same--The Handbook of Financial Modeling takes readers step by step through the financial modeling process, starting with a general overview of the history and evolution of financial modeling. It then moves on to more technical topics, such as the principles of financial modeling and the proper way to approach a financial modeling assignment, before covering key application areas for modeling in Microsoft Excel. Designed for intermediate and advanced modelers who wish to expand and enhance their knowledge, The Handbook of Financial Modeling also covers: The accounting and finance concepts that underpin working financial models; How to approach financial issues and solutions from a modeler's perspective; The importance of thinking about end users when developing a financial model; How to plan, design, and build a fully functional financial model; And more. A nuts-to-bolts guide to solving common financial problems with spreadsheets, The Handbook of Financial Modeling is a one-stop resource for anyone who needs to build or analyze financial models.
ISBN: 9781430262053Publication Date: 2013-11-20
Handbook of Fixed-Income Securities by
A comprehensive guide to the current theories and methodologies intrinsic to fixed-income securities Written by well-known experts from a cross section of academia and finance, Handbook of Fixed-Income Securities features a compilation of the most up-to-date fixed-income securities techniques and methods. The book presents crucial topics of fixed income in an accessible and logical format. Emphasizing empirical research and real-life applications, the book explores a wide range of topics from the risk and return of fixed-income investments, to the impact of monetary policy on interest rates, to the post-crisis new regulatory landscape. Well organized to cover critical topics in fixed income, Handbook of Fixed-Income Securities is divided into eight main sections that feature: * An introduction to fixed-income markets such as Treasury bonds, inflation-protected securities, money markets, mortgage-backed securities, and the basic analytics that characterize them * Monetary policy and fixed-income markets, which highlight the recent empirical evidence on the central banks' influence on interest rates, including the recent quantitative easing experiments * Interest rate risk measurement and management with a special focus on the most recent techniques and methodologies for asset-liability management under regulatory constraints * The predictability of bond returns with a critical discussion of the empirical evidence on time-varying bond risk premia, both in the United States and abroad, and their sources, such as liquidity and volatility * Advanced topics, with a focus on the most recent research on term structure models and econometrics, the dynamics of bond illiquidity, and the puzzling dynamics of stocks and bonds * Derivatives markets, including a detailed discussion of the new regulatory landscape after the financial crisis and an introduction to no-arbitrage derivatives pricing * Further topics on derivatives pricing that cover modern valuation techniques, such as Monte Carlo simulations, volatility surfaces, and no-arbitrage pricing with regulatory constraints * Corporate and sovereign bonds with a detailed discussion of the tools required to analyze default risk, the relevant empirical evidence, and a special focus on the recent sovereign crises A complete reference for practitioners in the fields of finance, business, applied statistics, econometrics, and engineering, Handbook of Fixed-Income Securities is also a useful supplementary textbook for graduate and MBA-level courses on fixed-income securities, risk management, volatility, bonds, derivatives, and financial markets. Pietro Veronesi, PhD, is Roman Family Professor of Finance at the University of Chicago Booth School of Business, where he teaches Masters and PhD-level courses in fixed income, risk management, and asset pricing. Published in leading academic journals and honored by numerous awards, his research focuses on stock and bond valuation, return predictability, bubbles and crashes, and the relation between asset prices and government policies.
ISBN: 9781118709184Publication Date: 2016-03-23
The Handbook of International Trade and Finance by
International trade, and its financing, is now a key component of many undergraduate and postgraduate qualifications. For anyone involved in international sales, finance, shipping and administration, or for those studying for academic or professional qualifications in international trade, The Handbook of International Trade & Finance offers an extensive and topical explanation of the key finance areas - including risk management, international payments and currency management. This essential reference resource provides the information necessary to help you to reduce risks and improve cash flow, identify the most competitive finance alternatives, structure the best payment terms, and minimize finance and transaction costs. This fully revised and updated 3rd edition also describes the negotiating process from the perspectives of both the buyer and the seller, providing valuable insight into the complete financing process, and covering key topics such as: - trade risks and risk assessment - export credit insurance - methods of payment - trade finance - bonds, guarantees and standby letters of credit - terms of payment - currency risk management The Handbook gives a complete and thorough assessment of all the issues involved in constructing, financing and completing a cross-border transaction and is an indispensable guide for anyone who deals with international trade. It also includes a section on risk management, which plays an increasingly important role in international trade- from currency fluctuations to political risk and natural disasters.
ISBN: 9780749469559Publication Date: 2013-12-03
Handbook of Modeling High-Frequency Data in Finance by
CUTTING-EDGE DEVELOPMENTS IN HIGH-FREQUENCY FINANCIAL ECONOMETRICS In recent years, the availability of high-frequency data and advances in computing have allowed financial practitioners to design systems that can handle and analyze this information. Handbook of Modeling High-Frequency Data in Finance addresses the many theoretical and practical questions raised by the nature and intrinsic properties of this data. A one-stop compilation of empirical and analytical research, this handbook explores data sampled with high-frequency finance in financial engineering, statistics, and the modern financial business arena. Every chapter uses real-world examples to present new, original, and relevant topics that relate to newly evolving discoveries in high-frequency finance, such as: Designing new methodology to discover elasticity and plasticity of price evolution Constructing microstructure simulation models Calculation of option prices in the presence of jumps and transaction costs Using boosting for financial analysis and trading The handbook motivates practitioners to apply high-frequency finance to real-world situations by including exclusive topics such as risk measurement and management, UHF data, microstructure, dynamic multi-period optimization, mortgage data models, hybrid Monte Carlo, retirement, trading systems and forecasting, pricing, and boosting. The diverse topics and viewpoints presented in each chapter ensure that readers are supplied with a wide treatment of practical methods. Handbook of Modeling High-Frequency Data in Finance is an essential reference for academics and practitioners in finance, business, and econometrics who work with high-frequency data in their everyday work. It also serves as a supplement for risk management and high-frequency finance courses at the upper-undergraduate and graduate levels.
ISBN: 9780470876886Publication Date: 2011-12-20
The International Handbook of Corporate Finance by
This remarkable resource assembles a team of 20 internationally renowned financial professionals in one of the most complete, comprehensive, and up-to-date works on the increasingly complicated world of international corporate finance.
ISBN: 0814405428Publication Date: 2000-01-31
Routledge Handbook of Social and Sustainable Finance by
Routledge Handbook of Social and Sustainable Finance brings together an international cast of leading authorities to map out and display the disparate voices, traditions and professional communities engaged in social finance activity. With a clear societal or environmental mission, foundations, individual and group investors, as well as public bodies around the world have become increasingly eager to finance and support innovative forms of doing business. Together, founders and established businesses alike are embracing new sustainable business models with a distinct stakeholder approach to tackle social or environmental problems in what they see as a failed economic system in crisis. As a result, the topic of social and sustainable finance is at the forefront of financial economic thought. This Handbook is divided up into three parts. The first, "The Landscape of Social and Sustainable Finance and Investments", comprises of chapters from a multitude of perspectives in an effort to grasp the entirety of the landscape. The second, "Challenges, Suggestions, Critiques and Debates", focuses on areas ranging from sociological underpinnings to critical takes on markets, and the identification of specialized business models. Amongst ethical considerations, topics include the scaling of impact, an analysis of sustainability as risk prevention and comparative analyses of various methods of justification and measurement. In the third and final section, "Markets and Institutions", contributions range from various perspectives on sustainable banking to environmental marketplaces, and finally on to practical cases and country specific observations. This volume is essential reading for both academics and students in economics and finance. It is also of interest to those who study environmental economics, microeconomics and banking.
ISBN: 9781315772578Publication Date: 2016-06-23
Selling Professional and Financial Services Handbook by
An effective strategic framework for successful face-to-face selling for financial services industry professionals Times are very tough for people who sell professional services and Selling Professional and Financial Services Handbook offers a new solution proven in practice. The book describes methods the authors have used and taught since the 1990s, most recently at a major consulting firm, where they led a Global Business Development team to revenue gains of 500% over six years -- in a period that included the recession of 2008-10. The solution is not any new twist on face-to-face selling techniques or the art of persuasion. It's a strategic approach built around a simple fact: the markets are tight but far from static. Even with lean budgets, client companies must respond to urgent changes and emerging threats in their industries. Thus they will buy services from the sellers who can help them detect, understand, and cope with what's coming their way. This handbook outlines a systematic way of becoming such a valued resource. Readers learn to scan the horizon for early signs of "rock-ripple events." Major changes in the business world often spring from new developments that are little noted or heeded, at first, by the client companies soon to be affected by them. But like a rock dropped in a pond, these events set off ripples that sweep through entire industry sectors, creating must-have service needs. The book is written for everyone who sells, or is responsible for selling, professional services. This includes but is not limited to: law firms, consulting firms, finance industry, public relations, engineering, and architectural services. Readers who can benefit from the dynamic approach hold a variety of positions. They include: Attorneys, consultants and other practitioners who must sell their services as well as execute. CEOs, equity partners, practice-area leaders, functional and divisional leaders Private Equity or Venture Capital executives Sales or business-development professionals, from entry level to senior level Sales and marketing managers But the book is for sellers in every category who need a new and better approach to selling. Many, even the most skilled, simply have not adjusted to the new normal of today's economy. They persist with old strategies that cannot be as productive as they once were, such as pursuing one-off opportunities (which are too few and too hard to win in lean times) or old-style "relationship selling" (which gains little if any traction). Selling Professional and Financial Services Handbook gives all such readers a new strategic framework within which to apply their face-to-face selling skills. It is an approach that puts them in position to win -- so they can sell from ahead of the game, instead of struggling to keep up with it.
ISBN: 9781118728093Publication Date: 2013-11-11
The traits of today's CFO: A handbook for excelling in an evolving role by ISBN: 9781119548232Publication Date: 2018
Please note some of these books might be reference books; reference books are only available for use in the library. You can identify those by looking at the Copies tab in the record of each book – the Location section should say Sherman Library Reference and the Status section should say LIB USE ONLY.
Here is a list of books you can use if you need to familiarize yourself with finance and financial services related terms and concepts.
Handbook of Research on Global Aspects of Sustainable Finance in Times of Crises by
Sustainable finance has been one of the emerging areas of finance in the last decade. With its emphasis on any form of financial services that take environmental, social and governance (ESG) considerations into account in decision-making processes, it can help to improve social well-being, preserve the ecosystems and promote sustainable economic development. Furthermore, it can contribute to economic and financial resilience, along with enabling sustainable recovery against crises arising from physical or financial shocks. The Handbook of Research on Global Aspects of Sustainable Finance in Times of Crises discusses theory and concepts, focuses on practices and strategies, addresses the recent challenges and trends, and presents future prospects regarding sustainable finance. It provides a global look at sustainable finance in a variety of contexts, along with highlighting contemporary issues in light of crises such as the climate emergency and the COVID-19 pandemic. Covering a wide range of topics such as climate finance, green finance, social finance, ESG investing and responsible banking, the book is ideal for corporate managers, portfolio managers, investors, financial analysts, researchers, academicians, students and policymakers.
ISBN: 9781799885047Publication Date: 2021-11-19
Handbook of Research on Strategic Developments and Regulatory Practice in Global Finance by
The global financial crisis has called to attention the importance of financial development to economic growth as modern countries continue to struggle with debt, unemployment, and slow growth. However, a lack of agreement on how to define and measure financial development slows the development of global financial systems and markets. The Handbook of Research on Strategic Developments and Regulatory Practice in Global Finance creates a common framework for not only identifying but discussing the key factors in establishing a strong global market and financial system. This book will be a valuable reference for those interested in an in-depth understanding of the financial markets and global finance, including academics, professionals, and government agencies and institutions.
ISBN: 9781466672895Publication Date: 2014-11-30
Research Handbook on Money Laundering by
Although the practice of disguising the illicit origins of money dates back thousands of years, the concept of money laundering as a multidisciplinary topic with social, economic, political and regulatory implications has only gained prominence since the
ISBN: 9780857934000Publication Date: 2013-08-30
Research handbook on shadow banking: Legal and regulatory aspects by ISBN: 9781785362637Publication Date: 2018
Please note some of these books might be reference books; reference books are only available for use in the library. You can identify those by looking at the Copies tab in the record of each book – the Location section should say Sherman Library Reference and the Status section should say LIB USE ONLY.
Required/recommended materials for selected finance courses
| FIN 5008 | Barcharts, Inc. Business Finance. |
| FIN 5008 | Ross, Stephen A.; Westerfield, Randolph W.; Jordan, Bradford D. Essentials of Corporate Finance. (2014) |
| FIN 5130 | Brigham, Eugene F., Ehrhardt, Michael C. Financial Management: Theory & Practice. |
| FIN 5503 | Baek. Multinational Business Finance. |
| FIN 5515 | Eiteman, David K.; Stonehill, Arthur I.; Moffett, Michael H. Multinational Business Finance. (2007) |
| FIN 5540 | Saunders, Anthony ; Cornett, Marcia. Financial Institutions Management. |
| FIN 5545 |
Hull, John C. Fundamentals of Futures and Options Markets. (2010) |
| FIN 5550 | Dejong. Investments. |
| FIN 5570 |
Brigham, Eugene F.; Ehrhardt, Michael C. Financial Management: Theory & Practice. |
| REE 5880 | Linneman Associates. Real Estate Finance and Investments. |
| REE 5887 | Linneman Associates. Real Estate Finance and Investments. |
| FIN 2000 | Billingsley, Randall; Gitman, Lawrence J.; Joehnk, Michael D. PFIN 7: Student Edition |
| FIN 3010 | Ross, Stephen. Essentials of Corporate Finance. (2014) |
| FIN 3110 |
Ross, Stephen. Corporate Finance. |
| FIN 3120 | Bodie, Zvi; Kane, Alex; Marcus, Alan J. Essentials of Investments. |
| FIN 3150 |
Saunders. Financial Markets and Institutions. |
