Skip to Main Content

Practicum in Biology | BIOL 4360 | BIOL 4960

Rubric and tutorials to complete the BIOL 4960 & BIOL 4360 Annotated Bibliography assignment

Finding Full Text with a Citation

I've got a citation. How do I find the full text of the article?

Let's use this example:

Hajipour, M.J., Saei, A.A., Walker, E.D., Conley, B., Omidi, Y., Lee, K-B., Mahmoudi, M. (2021). Nanotechnology for targeted
detection and removal of bacteria: Opportunities and challenges. Advanced Science, 8. https://doi.org/10.1002/advs.202100556

There are three methods we can use to locate the full text of this article: using a DOI Resolver, Google Scholar, or Full Text Finder. Explore the step-by-step explanations below to learn more about each of these tools and methods.

DOI Resolver

Digital Object Identifiers, or DOIs are an alphanumeric string that always point to the same object.

DOIs are:

  • a standard format
  • a stable (permanent) link
  • the easiest way to retrieve an article

Even if the object changes or moves to a different web domain, its DOI will point back to the same thing.

STEP ONE: Paste the DOI in the DOI Resolver and search.

STEP TWO: Select Direct Link next to Resource. 

 

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a web search engine that allows us to search broadly for scholarly literature across disciplines.

To make the most out of Google Scholar, we first need to set up our NSU Library Link.
STEP ONE: Start at https://scholar.google.com
STEP TWO: Select the hamburger menu in the top left, then Settings
STEP THREE: Select Library Links on the left

decorative image
STEP FOUR: Type Nova Southeastern University in the search bar and select "Search".
STEP FIVE: Select both checkboxes next to "Nova Southeastern University - Find It! @ NSU". Do not de-select Open WorldCat - Library Search.
decorative image

STEP SIX: Select save.

STEP SEVEN: Once you have your NSU Library Link established, search the title of the article.

This result gives you two ways to access the full text of the article-- via the publisher (Wiley.com) and via NSU Libraries.
Selecting Find It! @NSU will give you database options to access the full text.

As with Full Text Finder, select the database that has the date range for your article (2021). 

Full Text Finder

Full Text Finder is a tool that tells us what databases have access to which journals.

STEP ONE: 

Start your search on the library homepage. Choose "Full Text Finder" from the dropdown menu next to the search bar.

 

STEP TWO:

Type in the name of the journal and select "Search".

STEP THREE:

Look for a database that has the date range for your article. A journal can appear in multiple databases, and different databases can contain different date ranges of a journal. For our example, all of these results should contain our publication date, 2021. 

STEP FOUR:

Select the database and login to access your article. You may need to search by article title or use the rest of the citation information to access the full text.