Web Resources

GIGA - Global Invertebrate Genomics Alliance
The overarching goal of GIGA is to build an integrated, international multidisciplinary community to jointly pursue invertebrate genomic studies that customarily involve large datasets. We seek to develop tools to enable and facilitate genomic research and encourage collaboration. We will develop standards that ensure data quality, comparability, and integration across a collaborative community. By coordinating sample collecting, preservation, sequencing efforts and comparative analysis among invertebrate biology researchers we can avoid duplications of effort and leverage resources in a more efficient fashion. We envision a scientific commons where shared tools, data, data standards, and resources move the generation and analysis of invertebrate genomic data to a level not likely to be achieved with the traditional piecemeal single-investigator driven approach.
National Coral Reef Institute (NCRI)
NSUWorks
NSU Works provides open access to NSU Faculty and Student Publications including electronic copies of theses and dissertations, journal articles, government reports, and conference proceedings.

Biodiversity Heritage Library
The Biodiversity Heritage Library (BHL) is a consortium of natural history and botanical libraries that cooperate to digitize the legacy literature of biodiversity held in their collections and to make that literature available for open access and responsible use as a part of a global “biodiversity commons.” The BHL consortium works with the international taxonomic community, rights holders, and other interested parties to ensure that this biodiversity heritage is made available to a global audience through open access principles. In partnership with the Internet Archive and through local digitization efforts, the BHL has digitized millions of pages of taxonomic literature, representing nearly 100,000 titles and over 160,000 volumes.
bioRix: The Preprint Server for Biology
bioRxiv (pronounced "bio-archive") is a free online archive and distribution service for unpublished preprints in the life sciences. It is operated by Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory, a not-for-profit research and educational institution. By posting preprints on bioRxiv, authors are able to make their findings immediately available to the scientific community and receive feedback on draft manuscripts before they are submitted to journals.
FishBase
FishBase is a comprehensive database of information about fish, with 31600 Species, 279100 Common names, 49300 Pictures, 44200 References, 1770 Collaborators, and 33 million Hits/month.

CITES (the Convention on International Trade in Endangered Species of Wild Fauna and Flora)
CITES is an international agreement between governments. Its aim is to ensure that international trade in specimens of wild animals and plants does not threaten their survival.
Data.gov, An Official Web Site of the United States Government
Data.gov is leading the way in democratizing public sector data and driving innovation. The data is being surfaced from many locations making the Government data stores available to researchers to perform their own analysis. Developers are finding good uses for the datasets, providing interesting and useful applications that allow for new views and public analysis. This is a work in progress, but this movement is spreading to cities, states, and other countries.
Government of Canada - Federal Science Library
The Federal Science Library (FSL) is a one-stop, self-serve portal where you can access library services and search the print collections and repositories of seven science-based departments and agencies from a single place. Wherever possible, departmental publications, reports, data sets and other content are freely available for anyone to access or download.
Human Genome Project
Completed in 2003, the Human Genome Project (HGP) was a 13-year project coordinated by the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) and the National Institutes of Health. During the early years of the HGP, the Wellcome Trust (U.K.) became a major partner; additional contributions came from Japan, France, Germany, China, and others.
IUCN, the International Union for Conservation of Nature
IUCN, the International Union for Conservation of Nature, helps the world find pragmatic solutions to our most pressing environment and development challenges. It supports scientific research, manages field projects all over the world and brings governments, non-government organizations, United Nations agencies, companies and local communities together to develop and implement policy, laws and best practice.
NCBI (National Center for Biotechnology Information)
The National Center for Biotechnology Information advances science and health by providing access to biomedical and genomic information.
Science.gov
Science.gov searches over 60 databases and over 2,200 scientific websites to provide users with access to more than 200 million pages of authoritative federal science information including research and development results.

Charles Darwin's Beagle library
Now, for the first time, it is possible to search through the Beagle library in an instant for quotations, places, people, species and so forth. The online Beagle library consists of over 195,000 pages containing more than 5,000 illustrations.
ConserveOnline
Created and maintained by The Nature Conservancy in partnership with other conservation organizations, ConserveOnline is a no cost public repository of tools, techniques and experiences available to conservation practitioners.
DataONE Data Repository
DataONE is a federation of 30 data repositories in the natural sciences (including, for example, Dryad, NOAA's NCEI, the KNB Data repository, and LTER Europe). Some are domain-specific subject repositories, others are institutional repositories at government agencies and universities. Cumulatively, there are currently 216,425 data sets held by the member repositories in the federation, which can all be accessed from https://search.dataone.org. Data coverage is global, as can be seen on the map on the search page showing the number of data sets from each geographic region.
Everglades Digital Library
Welcome to the Everglades Digital Library, an evolving library of information resources relating to the South Florida environment. The scope of our collections includes scientific and technical reports, natural history writings, educational and interpretive materials, datasets, maps, photos, and a directory of other Internet sites relating to the greater Everglades.
ZooBank
ZooBank is a central, authoritative and comprehensive resource for scientific names in zoology. ZooBank provides an authoritative online, open-access, community-generated registry for zoological nomenclature, as a service to taxonomists, biologists, and the global biodiversity informatics community.

FASEB (Federation of American Societies for Experimental Biology)
FASEB advances health and well-being by promoting research and education in biological and biomedical sciences through collaborative advocacy and service to our societies and their members.

Biological Sciences - Undergraduate Library Resources: Web Resources

Web Resources

Quick Links

NSU Partner Libraries

Attractions

Resources

Help